Redmond, WA 
Juel Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 196ft.   3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Flooded Practice Course

5+    1/26/2011   1/31/2011
Review By: Bstylin
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of room to unleash and work on your power: with concrete tee pads, signs with correct distance lengths.
Cons: It floods for the majority of the year and boots are a must. Very few technical shots and nearly all the holes are reachable on a drive. Too easy
Other Thoughts: Just a fun little course to practice on, but I wouldn't make the trip out there if it wasn't my closest course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Easy course and great for practice

2-4    11/14/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: johncourt
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is great for practicing your throws and a casual game. It is also a really fun course to bring people for their first time.

Hole 2/11 & 3/12 are my favorite by far because of their interaction with the surrounding vegetation which makes them stand out from the rest.
Cons: Wet and repetitive.

This course is always wet - always. Bring a sturdy pair of shoes that can get dirty. Also bring a towel for your discs.

The back 9 should have been designed better. The back 9 are identical to the front 9 except for slightly larger distances. They could have easily put tees for the back 9 facing other baskets to make a unique 18 hole course. This versus the two (almost identical) 9 hole courses here now.

Which brings me to the repetition. Because all the holes are wide open and duplicated, the course can get very repetitive, fast.
Other Thoughts: Ruined new pair of shoes here because I am an idiot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 *update* getting better...

5+    6/4/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: rybob42
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice teepads and signs
- Two interesting holes
- Maintained and mowed by someone, with two recent basket placement changes (thanks!)
- Hard to lose a disc
Cons: - So wet during the wet seasons! Bring your rain boots!
- Very open and flat
- "Holes" 10-18 are just 1-9 with alternate teepads only 20-50 feet away from the original. Few alternate teepads makes for a more interesting shot - mostly just longer.
Other Thoughts: After wondering if this course would ever dry out, it finally happened in July and became more tolerable to play. In addition, some of the baskets placed in really boggy areas were just moved, and perhaps it won't be a problem in the wet times like it was this last spring. You'll still have hard-to-miss boggy and muddy spots, but at least it won't be unavoidable (like right around the basket, as it was).

Of the nine holes, there are only two where the basket is protected by some trees, three with a tree or two but not really blocking or protecting the fairway to basket, and the final four are as open as can be. I still don't understand the alternate tees (or holes 10-18) -- they're too close to the original that they add little value to the course.

I decided to update my review for the care that's going into the course. Moving the baskets was wise. That's impressed me and helped the course, and I have hope for things getting better over time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Soggy and Simple

5+    4/20/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: rstaats
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice tee pads, pavers hemmed in with wood
- Decent lengths
Cons: - wet most of the time
- wide open, very little obstruction
- very busy
Other Thoughts: The most difficult part of this course is waiting on the group in front of you. If you swing by on the way home from work on any remotely nice weekday, there's generally 2-5 groups playing the course.

This course is a mud pit when it's been raining, and remains soggy for quite a while.

The course is wide open, very little to no obstructions what-so-ever. This does make it a great place to work on throws you'd normally not feel comfortable with in a narrower, groomed course as your worst throws are still going to have line of sight to nearly every basket on the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New to the Area

1    3/3/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: Tromavilcitizen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy
Cons: Wet and Muddy
Other Thoughts: It was the first course I played this season and the first course I tried out in this area im new to the area and come from Moses which has one course and thats it and i perfer that course much more The course is bearable

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/17/2009   1/17/2009
Review By: Lost in the Brambles
Played: 67  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Signs at each tee showing pin location
- Easy to navigate
- Good course for beginners
- A good place to practice your drives, with no trees in your way
Cons: - All but two tee pads are gravel and very bumpy (other two are pavers)
- So wide open, not challenging
- Very wet during fall/winter months (plenty of standing water)
- No elevation changes
Other Thoughts: For me it was just too simple, part of the fun of a course is shooting around obstacles. It would be nice to expand to 18 holes, and use the wooded area surrounding the park adding some technical shots.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A new design soon...?

6/25/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I guess I caught the course at a good time. I played a quick round with a couple of locals (Evan and Lizzy) who guided me around and gave me lots of bonus information about the park/course. The parks department was out today with two trucks, working on tee pads and mowing the fairways. According to Evan, it was the most work he had ever seen done on the course. There are A and B tees, though you would have to have a guide to figure out a few of the B tees, I would guess. The park had a couple other golfers out, while we were there, but was pretty uncrowded. I am sure that not many non-disc golfers use the park for much right now.
Cons: This is a pure open course, with trees only coming into play a couple of times and not really ever being much in the way, usually only if you are way off track would you hit any woods, so having a little touch with your distance is much more important than accuracy and control (as far as forehand/backhand, hyzer/anhyzer, etc).
Other Thoughts: Evan did tell me they are thinking about re-doing the whole course and the designers are taking lots of inputs from the locals, which is a good start. Based on the shape of the park, it isn't really clear how much more you can do, however. Also, I was here on a Wednesday, and was told there would be a tournament later in the day, but that this was supposed to be a secret. Apparently the parks department found out about the tournaments and ordered them stopped, since they didn't like the idea of money changing hands. I am not really sure why they care, but that is certainly a Washington-government type reaction.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wet

4/30/2008   5/1/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has some really large trees in the center and around the edges. It is easy to find, and the city put out a porta pottie. There are some big open throws, the course should be good for low scores.
Cons: This course is in desperate need of cement tee pads. The tee areas are way too wet to throw from and you have to move over to do it. Hell, even the areas around the baskets are too wet to stand in. The problem with the muddy tee areas is that nobody stands in them and they just get bigger and bigger each with each passing season.
Other Thoughts: The course plays in the area of a large open field. There are trees in the perimeter and in the center that are taller than any tree I've ever seen. If the course could somehow play in those, it would be amazing. There is a creek by number eight and an old abandoned farm building which I would think would make for more interesting obstacles. But, I'm sure they have their reasons.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.