Redmond, WA 
Juel Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 304ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

1    1/17/2009   1/17/2009
Review By: Lost in the Brambles
Played: 67  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Signs at each tee showing pin location
- Easy to navigate
- Good course for beginners
- A good place to practice your drives, with no trees in your way
Cons: - All but two tee pads are gravel and very bumpy (other two are pavers)
- So wide open, not challenging
- Very wet during fall/winter months (plenty of standing water)
- No elevation changes
Other Thoughts: For me it was just too simple, part of the fun of a course is shooting around obstacles. It would be nice to expand to 18 holes, and use the wooded area surrounding the park adding some technical shots.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good 'ol Juel

5+    11/13/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: spletts
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open shots, minimal obstacles (other than the winter water that has officially returned) and a great course to practice your drives. For me personally, it's a few blocks from my house, so, it offers convenience in Redmond and has a lot of good regulars who love the sport.
Cons: It's wide open with few obstacles...so, if you're looking for a place to practice elevation shots, or looking for a CHALLENGE...this is not the course.
Other Thoughts: It's my home course, so I'm biased...but it's a fun little 9 hole that has a lot of nice regulars that play there. There has been a lot of chatter about the course closing down in the next few years to make way for Microsofts (screw 'em) cricket fields and a big family park. This would be disappointing if it goes through..but, hopefully Redmond finds enough money in it's deep pockets (read MICROSOFT) to relocate the course to a different park somewhere in town where the east side crew can still get out and enjoy a round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A new design soon...?

6/25/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I guess I caught the course at a good time. I played a quick round with a couple of locals (Evan and Lizzy) who guided me around and gave me lots of bonus information about the park/course. The parks department was out today with two trucks, working on tee pads and mowing the fairways. According to Evan, it was the most work he had ever seen done on the course. There are A and B tees, though you would have to have a guide to figure out a few of the B tees, I would guess. The park had a couple other golfers out, while we were there, but was pretty uncrowded. I am sure that not many non-disc golfers use the park for much right now.
Cons: This is a pure open course, with trees only coming into play a couple of times and not really ever being much in the way, usually only if you are way off track would you hit any woods, so having a little touch with your distance is much more important than accuracy and control (as far as forehand/backhand, hyzer/anhyzer, etc).
Other Thoughts: Evan did tell me they are thinking about re-doing the whole course and the designers are taking lots of inputs from the locals, which is a good start. Based on the shape of the park, it isn't really clear how much more you can do, however. Also, I was here on a Wednesday, and was told there would be a tournament later in the day, but that this was supposed to be a secret. Apparently the parks department found out about the tournaments and ordered them stopped, since they didn't like the idea of money changing hands. I am not really sure why they care, but that is certainly a Washington-government type reaction.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wet

4/30/2008   5/1/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has some really large trees in the center and around the edges. It is easy to find, and the city put out a porta pottie. There are some big open throws, the course should be good for low scores.
Cons: This course is in desperate need of cement tee pads. The tee areas are way too wet to throw from and you have to move over to do it. Hell, even the areas around the baskets are too wet to stand in. The problem with the muddy tee areas is that nobody stands in them and they just get bigger and bigger each with each passing season.
Other Thoughts: The course plays in the area of a large open field. There are trees in the perimeter and in the center that are taller than any tree I've ever seen. If the course could somehow play in those, it would be amazing. There is a creek by number eight and an old abandoned farm building which I would think would make for more interesting obstacles. But, I'm sure they have their reasons.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Put Some Microsoft $ Into This Course!

1    4/26/2008   4/27/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely easy to follow course. The course plays around the perimeter of a large, open field. Most of your drives are wide open, just let em rip! The signs are easy to read and follow.
Cons: This course could really use some concrete tee pads. The tee pads were uneven and some were too muddy to throw from. Since this course now has concrete teepads, I'll update my review and add 1/2 point. Parts of the course are fairly marshy. I don't think I'd want to play here in the winter.
Other Thoughts: I would think players might grow bored with the basic 9 hole course fairly quickly. And I was wondering why the course designers didn't stick a technical wooded hole or two in the trees. They probably have an excellent reason for not doing so. I'm not criticizing, just wondering.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Play it all the time

3/1/2008   3/5/2008
Review By: Disc Golf Fanatic
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Several nice, long drives. Pleasant and easy to get in a quick 9. Excellent B and C tees and backwards course.
Cons: Lacks variety on A course. Gets pretty swampy and during rainy season easy to lose discs on hole 9.
Other Thoughts: Our best friends' home course. Gotta love it! Very convenient to Microsoft workers...

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Juel Park

5+    8/12/2006   2/12/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
For only using the outside of the perimeter the course is layed out well. The course provides a few challenging holes with a lot of birdie holes in between. The course is easy to find and the tee signs are easy to read. There are some great chances for ace shots!
Cons:
The course is fun but is easy to score low on. The park is beautiful so a lot of people come to play on the fields in the center of the park. During the summer months there are cricket games, so at times hole 1 is hard to play.
Other Thoughts:
If you are looking for a quick game to hone in on your skills than this is a great course to do it. A full round takes about a half hour. I don't play this course much anymore considering there are a lot of other 18 hole courses around. In playing 9 holes there I scored - 7, birding all but 2. This course is a great way to bring self confidence to your game.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.