Layout Extinct

Seatac, WA 
Seatac DGC Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #10 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
SeaTac vs. Lakewood KC

1    9/14/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: dmarsh27
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: I had one day in the Seattle-Tacoma area and used this website to narrow down two courses to play. I chose SeaTac and Lakewood King County (Lakewood KC) because there wasn't a course nearby that was obviously much better than these two, and they are less than 3 miles apart.

If you're looking for privacy, a wooded experience, or a disc golf challenge, show up with what you need, including the google course map from this website, and get ready to work hard for par at SeaTac.

If you're looking to show up with only a pair of shoes and buy discs, snacks, drinks, a bag, and have a local give you some advice and a paper map, then get ready for a thoughtful course with decent variety in a typical city-park setting at Lakewood KC. This is also a good course to rack up the birdies.

SeaTac was hard to only play once. I wanted to play it again and knock some strokes off my score. Lakewood KC isn't that complicated, and I don't know that I'd do any better by trying again - it's basically all right there to figure out on the first go around.

Both courses are struggling a bit with upkeep. Lakewood KC seems to be struggling to hold onto 18 solid holes as they have other shareholders in the park impose their interests on them. SeaTac is just due for some new and better signage and more course wear.

SeaTac was relatively easy to navigate thanks to my smart phone and the google course map available through this website. Without it, I think I'd still be turning circles in those woods. I still had to basket search some, because it is a forest. The landing jumbo jets keep you oriented though.

If you can't throw as you intend, you'll probably spend too much time at SeaTac in prickly bushes searching for your disc. My stroke difference on the two courses was about a dozen, and I can see from this website that it's not uncommon to need 20 or 30 more throws to play SeaTac compared to Lakewood KC.

Really, though, what I recommend is playing Lakewood KC first, fill up with all the things you need, start your day feeling good about your play, and then take on the SeaTac challenge.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Airport course

1    5/12/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: nickrew1
Played: 70  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging, long holes, long teeboxes, creative lines and pin placements, fair but tricky lies if you have a bad drive.
Cons: Lack of tee signs, several long walks between holes, no garbage cans or water fountains, repetitive terrain, lack of elevation.
Other Thoughts: An interesting course for sure, but it definitely lacks the touch of any course rated better than a 3. Frustrating that neither the tee pads or baskets have number plates or tee signs. If it wasn't for the little arrow-indicators on the trees, you would have trouble playing this course. The course itself is challenging and 3 is a nice score on several holes. If you have time to kill before a flight, I definitely recommend playing here. Otherwise, skip this course until it gets the "touch" it deserves.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good place to stop by...

1    3/24/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 108  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well placed holes that force you to play the game properly.
- Right nearby the SeaTac airport!!
- Front 9 are bit easy to play and follow. Back 9 are hard and bit challenging.
- Some tees area are cool. Like one of the holes has nice artworks along the wall next to the tee.
Cons: - No restrooms.
- Parking lot is limited or best to park on street.
- No clear tee signs to show where basket is at and how many feet it is.
- No "next tee" signs.
Other Thoughts: Good course for experience players but not recommended for newbies.

Its the first place that you can go when you step out of the airport. Less than 10 min from there!

Don't mind to go there again when visiting Seattle in the future.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Accuracy and Creativity Rewarded!

2-4    3/19/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: bleds
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This is a very well-designed course with ample room for each hole and very little chance of bumping into other disc golfers or pedestrians (though there are paths across some holes you have to keep an eye on).

- A variety of tight, technical, and open, long holes with a great mix of left and right doglegs and strategically placed--but natural--obstacles keeps you on your toes for every shot.

- Nice large wooded experience for being in an urban area.
Cons: - Signage on the course could be improved. I've run into other players new to the course having a very difficult time successfully navigating.

- No practice baskets, warm-up area.

- Probably not the best beginner course. I say that even though I'm relatively new to serious play and enjoy the course. But I have played other courses as difficult, or more, when I was brand new to the sport and it was so frustrating as to not be fun.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, challenging course that puts a premium on accurate throws and creative shot-making.

As a relative beginner, I still find it tough challenge; both from a distance and accuracy standpoint. But that makes it all the more rewarding when you nail a shot.

This is one of the premier courses in Washington State and with the ongoing maintenance and improvements that Chainbangerz Golf Club provides, it's only going to get better! They really want to develop this into a bona fide championship course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Get ready to throw bombs...

2-4    3/10/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: erikktlog
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-Maintained
Concrete Pads
Does not favor BH/FH players
Challenging layout... this course is indeed long
Course Layout is relatively easy to follow (Map at Park Entrance)
Playing disc golf while jets fly over you is a pretty cool experience
Cons: Lack of elevation
Not a beginner course
Small Parking Lot @ Entrance
Other Thoughts: Bring your A game when you come to Sea-Tac. This a tourney caliber course requiring large and accurate drives (This could be a pro or con depending on your style). Each hole has a decent fairway, however an errant shot will punish you dearly. It's not so much the course's length that makes it difficult but the rough in addition to it makes it that much more challenging. You'll use a steady variety of shots throughout the day. I feel good making par on most of these holes since I don't have a huge arm. However it's well-maintained and I will continue to go back and improve my score. Plus I just enjoy the quiet scenery with the occasional jumbo jet flying right over you. (The course sits right off of the Sea-Tac Runway)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Planes, rains, and tree shots

1    1/28/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: Monkeypaws
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Nice map available to help a first-timer.
•Nice large concrete tee-pads.
•Great layout; some courses send you marching all over the place to the next tee. Here the flow was pretty logical - nice.
•You want challenging? Lots of tight fairways, strategically placed trees, etc.
•Some of the best views of ginormous low flying airplanes you'll ever get.
•Opportunity to shoot left, right, straight with accuracy.
•Strange remnants scattered throughout.
•Accessible by bus, the 132 to Burien, about 40 minutes from downtown.
Cons: •Flat. Not much you can do about it.
•Drizzly Seattle weather. Again, it is January, so again not a flaw of the course.
Other Thoughts: I got lucky and beat the rain today. This course starts out deceptively easy, and just gets harder - some of my problems were due to unfamiliarity, not knowing where the baskets were.

Still, if there was a tree in the way, I nailed it; if there were bushes as an obstacle, I landed behind them. The course designer would have had a ball watching me.

The back nine really kicked me up and down the backside. Seeing where the 18th pin is, and where I had to go to catch my bus, I replayed 2-9, and it went much better, parring pretty much every hole, planning shots and actually executing them. Maybe I was just getting warmed up.

I'd love to return and play this course again in sunny warm weather. That happens in Seattle sometimes no? :-)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Toughest course in town

5+    11/5/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: Phlick
Played: 44  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging
-Nice Tees and Baskets
-Hardly ever crowded
-Interesting location (airplanes overhead, reclaimed neighborhood)
Cons: -Lack of signage/next tee signs makes navigation tough for first timers
-NOT a beginner friendly course
-No bathrooms/trashcans
-Not city/county maintained (very often anyway)
-Parking is scarce, but there is plenty of on street parking - and I've heard prowling is/can be an issue
Other Thoughts: This is easily the toughest course in Seattle and one of the tougher courses I've EVER played overall (and I've played a few over 30 years). For first timers it can be very difficult to locate next tees, the best indicator is electrical tape on most of the baskets giving you the general direction of where you should head next. There continues to be talk (it's been going on for about 10 years now) of expanding this course out to 27 holes and making it into a true destination/world class course, I hope that happens. In its current state though it's a soul crusher of a course. The first 13 holes are pretty fair, but the last 5 are just ridiculously tough. Not just long, but TOUGH. Go into the rough and you're going to take a stroke just to get out. It's gotten a lot better over the past couple of years as side veg gets beaten down and losing a disc isn't a sure bet as it used to be, but it can still happen. If/when it's expanded out to 27 holes I'd like to see these tougher holes spread out and not lumped together at the end so that when you finish you're just deflated. The course plays just north of the SeaTac runway, so you can have planes taking off or landing just a couple of hundred feet overhead, then just as you've forgotten about it you'll hear the backwash cracking overhead, which is pretty cool. The course is constructed on reclaimed housing neighborhod which was demolished 20+ years back because it was too close to the airport and is now being reclaimed by nature, so you'll find interesting architectural and non-native trees/plants on the course which is interesting. The course is managed by chainbangerz and works with the county to maintain/mow the course, I think it's only done twice a year, so depending on when you go, it can play very differently. Trash cans are few and far between and are maintained by good sam. Please pack out what you bring in! Print out a map or find a guide for your first time and bring all your discs, as you're going to need every shot in your bag, and likely a couple you don't. While this course lacks almost ANY amenities (trashcans, restrooms, water, signage) - what it does have is a great layout, solid pads and baskets and ALWAYS a challenge. Playing here will certainly elevate your game - if it doesn't break you first.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Glad I Finally Made it

1    9/18/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: Dadio
Played: 74  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 29.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a monster, tough course. It is well established and feels like a mature, worn in course. State Championships were last weekend so I was seeing the course at it's best and I was impressed.
Tees are cement, a good length to be comfortable for longer throws, and well placed. Pins are placed so there are always lanes to get to them, but it is seldom easy. Fairways are long and tight and shots into the rough are punishing.
Cons: Some of the things that I really expect to see on top courses are missing here. Tee signs are missing on quite a few holes, pins aren't numbered, no bathrooms.
The map at the kiosk seems off on some of the back 9 and didn't list pars.
Kinda a con and a pro are the very thick roughs. Add to difficulty but I lost a bright orange disc that should have been fairly obvious. Looked for an hour, just gone. Not unusual for western Washington courses.
Other Thoughts: I knew this was a longer course so waited until later in summer and I was glad. I was having an off day but even on a good one would have been happy with a +8 or so. Have been told the neighborhood is questionable but I was by myself, saw more dog walkers and joggers than disc golfers and all were polite.
Despite lack of some polish I really liked this course and look forward to playing it again, but won't bring any noobs. Bring your A game, this course will test it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My first experiance at Seatac, Chainbangers doubles tournie

1    2/4/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An awesome course overall with huge technical shots that require alot of different BIG confident shots to make par.
I love the cool old foundations and steps to no where showing the signs of an ancient neighborhood. The course has a vary cool feel to it you can see where peoples plants that used to be landscaping borders have been used beautifully as obstacles. Something about it being in a ghost neighborhood gives it a special quality.
The whole park is beautiful and i very much look forward to the next tounrney.
Cons: Lack of any big elavation change makes for mostly flat play with few minor exceptions. Although some holes still have that epic feel to them. The only real con about this course is its relative distance to where i live, like 85 miles. :(
Other Thoughts: Me and my partner were happy to get 8 over par on two rounds of play on our first time playing the course. Seeing the local DGC sceane made the experiance that much better, super sweet for sure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good, but be careful!

1    11/5/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: jbl39
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Pros for this course definitely outweigh the cons:

-The baskets are placed particularly well in relation to the trees and force the player to really know what they are doing. Luck really doesn't come in to play here.
-There ARE elevation shots, despite what other reviews say. They are definitely more subtle, though.
-The fairway layout is nicely designed. Really some of the most discernible fairways in Washington. It really *does* matter if you throw it in the rough.
-The airplanes flying so low above make for a neat experience. It might annoy some golfers, but it's obvious when they're taking off and they ripple through the trees. Don't do any do-or-die shots when they're right above you.
-Area is wooded but it remains obvious which flight path to attempt.
-Some absurdly long shots in the back 9. I think one or two of them were about 600'.
Cons: -It *is* a difficult course. The shots themselves require a certain level of skill that could get greener players in big trouble.
-There are some trees that are so dense that they will keep your disc. Be very careful with your drives, especially at the first couple of holes.
-Parking is limited at the first hole. Very, very limited.
-You need to know where you're going or else you will get lost. Not the, "where is the next hole?" kind of lost, but just plain lost. Which is scarier, given the fact that it's in a somewhat seedy part of town.
There is a fenced area by some of the holes, where you could easily throw it over and have to climb for it.
-Very wet course in the winter. Cold, too. Dress appropriately. This course is rugged.
Other Thoughts: The cons sound a lot of worse than they really are. You have to work for this course. If you're not of a sober mind or don't have your head in the game, it could be a miserable experience. But if you're on your A-game, the course is extremely rewarding. Additionally, you could get lost in the wilderness if you don't know where you're going.

If you are prepared for this course, in terms of knowing where the holes are and playing at a particularly high level, this course is as fun as any course I've played. But It does have some glaring flaws that made the experience less enjoyable for a few people in my party.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.