Layout Extinct

Seatac, WA 
Seatac DGC Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #16 (Taken 8/2008)
4 / 550ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
SeaTac vs. Lakewood KC

1    9/14/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: dmarsh27
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: I had one day in the Seattle-Tacoma area and used this website to narrow down two courses to play. I chose SeaTac and Lakewood King County (Lakewood KC) because there wasn't a course nearby that was obviously much better than these two, and they are less than 3 miles apart.

If you're looking for privacy, a wooded experience, or a disc golf challenge, show up with what you need, including the google course map from this website, and get ready to work hard for par at SeaTac.

If you're looking to show up with only a pair of shoes and buy discs, snacks, drinks, a bag, and have a local give you some advice and a paper map, then get ready for a thoughtful course with decent variety in a typical city-park setting at Lakewood KC. This is also a good course to rack up the birdies.

SeaTac was hard to only play once. I wanted to play it again and knock some strokes off my score. Lakewood KC isn't that complicated, and I don't know that I'd do any better by trying again - it's basically all right there to figure out on the first go around.

Both courses are struggling a bit with upkeep. Lakewood KC seems to be struggling to hold onto 18 solid holes as they have other shareholders in the park impose their interests on them. SeaTac is just due for some new and better signage and more course wear.

SeaTac was relatively easy to navigate thanks to my smart phone and the google course map available through this website. Without it, I think I'd still be turning circles in those woods. I still had to basket search some, because it is a forest. The landing jumbo jets keep you oriented though.

If you can't throw as you intend, you'll probably spend too much time at SeaTac in prickly bushes searching for your disc. My stroke difference on the two courses was about a dozen, and I can see from this website that it's not uncommon to need 20 or 30 more throws to play SeaTac compared to Lakewood KC.

Really, though, what I recommend is playing Lakewood KC first, fill up with all the things you need, start your day feeling good about your play, and then take on the SeaTac challenge.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good, but be careful!

1    11/5/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: jbl39
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Pros for this course definitely outweigh the cons:

-The baskets are placed particularly well in relation to the trees and force the player to really know what they are doing. Luck really doesn't come in to play here.
-There ARE elevation shots, despite what other reviews say. They are definitely more subtle, though.
-The fairway layout is nicely designed. Really some of the most discernible fairways in Washington. It really *does* matter if you throw it in the rough.
-The airplanes flying so low above make for a neat experience. It might annoy some golfers, but it's obvious when they're taking off and they ripple through the trees. Don't do any do-or-die shots when they're right above you.
-Area is wooded but it remains obvious which flight path to attempt.
-Some absurdly long shots in the back 9. I think one or two of them were about 600'.
Cons: -It *is* a difficult course. The shots themselves require a certain level of skill that could get greener players in big trouble.
-There are some trees that are so dense that they will keep your disc. Be very careful with your drives, especially at the first couple of holes.
-Parking is limited at the first hole. Very, very limited.
-You need to know where you're going or else you will get lost. Not the, "where is the next hole?" kind of lost, but just plain lost. Which is scarier, given the fact that it's in a somewhat seedy part of town.
There is a fenced area by some of the holes, where you could easily throw it over and have to climb for it.
-Very wet course in the winter. Cold, too. Dress appropriately. This course is rugged.
Other Thoughts: The cons sound a lot of worse than they really are. You have to work for this course. If you're not of a sober mind or don't have your head in the game, it could be a miserable experience. But if you're on your A-game, the course is extremely rewarding. Additionally, you could get lost in the wilderness if you don't know where you're going.

If you are prepared for this course, in terms of knowing where the holes are and playing at a particularly high level, this course is as fun as any course I've played. But It does have some glaring flaws that made the experience less enjoyable for a few people in my party.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 there is no fairway....

1    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: nbrownell
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: consitently long and technical. Birdie opps on a good number of holes if you have a solid drive.
Cons: there are no fairways and its not marked very well.you could very possibly lose your disc from a great drive in what you thinkis the fairway.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/16/2009   1/17/2009
Review By: gwillim
Played: 158  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Good Teepads
-Kiosk at hole 1 with map
-Baskets in good shape
-Great mix of hole lengths from under 250 to over 500.
-Many of the holes had benches.
-Very fair Lefty vs. Righty with big dog-legs in both directions.
-Decent course flow (if you've got a map)
-True par 4s (although they are all stated as 3, argh)
-Lot's of LONG tunnel shots, often times finishing with dog-legs.
-I don't know what else to say, the course forces you to decide where you are wanting to land for your next shot, not for your upshot or your putt, but often times for your next drive. That's golf!
Cons:
-Vandalism rampant
-Tee signs are mostly vandalized or missing
-Without a guide or map, you'd be SOL.
-I think it's too challenging for the average player to enjoy.
-Didn't see any facilities for water/restroom
-Fair amount of trash strewn about.
-Course is listed as a par 54, which is ridiculous, probably closer to a par 59.
Other Thoughts:
Seatac is an amazing Pro course. It's a playground of difficult shot after difficult shot. The back nine has probably 4-5 par fours on it, many of which dog-leg to the left or to the right. Often you can't see the basket from the teepad, and I don't see this as being a bad thing at all. I had heard that Seatac was the most challenging course in WA and I haven't found any evidence otherwise. It was amazingly fun. I thoroughly enjoyed my round, and I stopped keeping score about halfway through because I was shooting so poorly.

If you plan on heading to Seatac for the first time, MAKE SURE YOU PRINT OFF A MAP. Read the other reviews below and see why, there are some teepads that are tricky to find, and some teepads face towards baskets that aren't the basket you're actually shooting at. It's a little confusing. So get a map, or better yet, a guide, and get ready for more double bogeys than you've ever had.

If the course was taken care of better, I would rate Seatac 4.5 stars. This is the best course I've played in Washington state, and I can't wait to go back.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.