Layout Extinct

Seatac, WA 
Seatac DGC Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #1
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Accuracy and Creativity Rewarded!

2-4    3/19/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: bleds
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This is a very well-designed course with ample room for each hole and very little chance of bumping into other disc golfers or pedestrians (though there are paths across some holes you have to keep an eye on).

- A variety of tight, technical, and open, long holes with a great mix of left and right doglegs and strategically placed--but natural--obstacles keeps you on your toes for every shot.

- Nice large wooded experience for being in an urban area.
Cons: - Signage on the course could be improved. I've run into other players new to the course having a very difficult time successfully navigating.

- No practice baskets, warm-up area.

- Probably not the best beginner course. I say that even though I'm relatively new to serious play and enjoy the course. But I have played other courses as difficult, or more, when I was brand new to the sport and it was so frustrating as to not be fun.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, challenging course that puts a premium on accurate throws and creative shot-making.

As a relative beginner, I still find it tough challenge; both from a distance and accuracy standpoint. But that makes it all the more rewarding when you nail a shot.

This is one of the premier courses in Washington State and with the ongoing maintenance and improvements that Chainbangerz Golf Club provides, it's only going to get better! They really want to develop this into a bona fide championship course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Get ready to throw bombs...

2-4    3/10/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: erikktlog
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-Maintained
Concrete Pads
Does not favor BH/FH players
Challenging layout... this course is indeed long
Course Layout is relatively easy to follow (Map at Park Entrance)
Playing disc golf while jets fly over you is a pretty cool experience
Cons: Lack of elevation
Not a beginner course
Small Parking Lot @ Entrance
Other Thoughts: Bring your A game when you come to Sea-Tac. This a tourney caliber course requiring large and accurate drives (This could be a pro or con depending on your style). Each hole has a decent fairway, however an errant shot will punish you dearly. It's not so much the course's length that makes it difficult but the rough in addition to it makes it that much more challenging. You'll use a steady variety of shots throughout the day. I feel good making par on most of these holes since I don't have a huge arm. However it's well-maintained and I will continue to go back and improve my score. Plus I just enjoy the quiet scenery with the occasional jumbo jet flying right over you. (The course sits right off of the Sea-Tac Runway)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Planes, rains, and tree shots

1    1/28/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: Monkeypaws
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Nice map available to help a first-timer.
•Nice large concrete tee-pads.
•Great layout; some courses send you marching all over the place to the next tee. Here the flow was pretty logical - nice.
•You want challenging? Lots of tight fairways, strategically placed trees, etc.
•Some of the best views of ginormous low flying airplanes you'll ever get.
•Opportunity to shoot left, right, straight with accuracy.
•Strange remnants scattered throughout.
•Accessible by bus, the 132 to Burien, about 40 minutes from downtown.
Cons: •Flat. Not much you can do about it.
•Drizzly Seattle weather. Again, it is January, so again not a flaw of the course.
Other Thoughts: I got lucky and beat the rain today. This course starts out deceptively easy, and just gets harder - some of my problems were due to unfamiliarity, not knowing where the baskets were.

Still, if there was a tree in the way, I nailed it; if there were bushes as an obstacle, I landed behind them. The course designer would have had a ball watching me.

The back nine really kicked me up and down the backside. Seeing where the 18th pin is, and where I had to go to catch my bus, I replayed 2-9, and it went much better, parring pretty much every hole, planning shots and actually executing them. Maybe I was just getting warmed up.

I'd love to return and play this course again in sunny warm weather. That happens in Seattle sometimes no? :-)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Toughest course in town

5+    11/5/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: Phlick
Played: 53  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging
-Nice Tees and Baskets
-Hardly ever crowded
-Interesting location (airplanes overhead, reclaimed neighborhood)
Cons: -Lack of signage/next tee signs makes navigation tough for first timers
-NOT a beginner friendly course
-No bathrooms/trashcans
-Not city/county maintained (very often anyway)
-Parking is scarce, but there is plenty of on street parking - and I've heard prowling is/can be an issue
Other Thoughts: This is easily the toughest course in Seattle and one of the tougher courses I've EVER played overall (and I've played a few over 30 years). For first timers it can be very difficult to locate next tees, the best indicator is electrical tape on most of the baskets giving you the general direction of where you should head next. There continues to be talk (it's been going on for about 10 years now) of expanding this course out to 27 holes and making it into a true destination/world class course, I hope that happens. In its current state though it's a soul crusher of a course. The first 13 holes are pretty fair, but the last 5 are just ridiculously tough. Not just long, but TOUGH. Go into the rough and you're going to take a stroke just to get out. It's gotten a lot better over the past couple of years as side veg gets beaten down and losing a disc isn't a sure bet as it used to be, but it can still happen. If/when it's expanded out to 27 holes I'd like to see these tougher holes spread out and not lumped together at the end so that when you finish you're just deflated. The course plays just north of the SeaTac runway, so you can have planes taking off or landing just a couple of hundred feet overhead, then just as you've forgotten about it you'll hear the backwash cracking overhead, which is pretty cool. The course is constructed on reclaimed housing neighborhod which was demolished 20+ years back because it was too close to the airport and is now being reclaimed by nature, so you'll find interesting architectural and non-native trees/plants on the course which is interesting. The course is managed by chainbangerz and works with the county to maintain/mow the course, I think it's only done twice a year, so depending on when you go, it can play very differently. Trash cans are few and far between and are maintained by good sam. Please pack out what you bring in! Print out a map or find a guide for your first time and bring all your discs, as you're going to need every shot in your bag, and likely a couple you don't. While this course lacks almost ANY amenities (trashcans, restrooms, water, signage) - what it does have is a great layout, solid pads and baskets and ALWAYS a challenge. Playing here will certainly elevate your game - if it doesn't break you first.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Glad I Finally Made it

1    9/18/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: Dadio
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a monster, tough course. It is well established and feels like a mature, worn in course. State Championships were last weekend so I was seeing the course at it's best and I was impressed.
Tees are cement, a good length to be comfortable for longer throws, and well placed. Pins are placed so there are always lanes to get to them, but it is seldom easy. Fairways are long and tight and shots into the rough are punishing.
Cons: Some of the things that I really expect to see on top courses are missing here. Tee signs are missing on quite a few holes, pins aren't numbered, no bathrooms.
The map at the kiosk seems off on some of the back 9 and didn't list pars.
Kinda a con and a pro are the very thick roughs. Add to difficulty but I lost a bright orange disc that should have been fairly obvious. Looked for an hour, just gone. Not unusual for western Washington courses.
Other Thoughts: I knew this was a longer course so waited until later in summer and I was glad. I was having an off day but even on a good one would have been happy with a +8 or so. Have been told the neighborhood is questionable but I was by myself, saw more dog walkers and joggers than disc golfers and all were polite.
Despite lack of some polish I really liked this course and look forward to playing it again, but won't bring any noobs. Bring your A game, this course will test it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My first experiance at Seatac, Chainbangers doubles tournie

1    2/4/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An awesome course overall with huge technical shots that require alot of different BIG confident shots to make par.
I love the cool old foundations and steps to no where showing the signs of an ancient neighborhood. The course has a vary cool feel to it you can see where peoples plants that used to be landscaping borders have been used beautifully as obstacles. Something about it being in a ghost neighborhood gives it a special quality.
The whole park is beautiful and i very much look forward to the next tounrney.
Cons: Lack of any big elavation change makes for mostly flat play with few minor exceptions. Although some holes still have that epic feel to them. The only real con about this course is its relative distance to where i live, like 85 miles. :(
Other Thoughts: Me and my partner were happy to get 8 over par on two rounds of play on our first time playing the course. Seeing the local DGC sceane made the experiance that much better, super sweet for sure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/16/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: oidhchegaoth
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The terrain was great, loved the use of trees, when available the tee box map's where great!. Lots of benches, sheltered from the wind, fun an challenging.
Cons: Not much parking near the first tee box. As a first time player if the tee box map was missing following the course was difficult so spent ~40 minutes trying to figure out where we were going.
Other Thoughts: loved the old house foundatins made an extra level of fun for the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Tough but rewarding

5+    2/28/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: valkcro
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice layout. Some people say it favors a lefty but it's fairly balanced without any holes intersecting each other.
-Not crowded. Other local courses get the majority of play probably because Seatac is so difficult.
-Some holes have nice wooden benches.
-Sheltered from the wind because it's somewhat enclosed and flat.
-Fun and challenging. A three on some holes(12,14-18) feels like a solid birdie and many people consider a two to be more impressive than an ace on most other courses.
Cons: -Signage, it could be better but there is some vandlalism on the course. Not all the distances posted are accurate and it can be tough to navigate for the first time.
-No restrooms. There are some restrooms by the baseball fields north of the course and some south of the course by the soccer/baseball fields but don't bank on it, they most likely won't be open.
-Parking. There are only six stalls in the lot by tee one but there is plenty nearby along the road. Unlike other reviews I would try to park in the lot to help minimize a possible break in.
-Many fairways have walking trails intersecting them.
-No practice basket.
Other Thoughts: -The jet wash from the airplanes (flying directly overhead) can be loud and affect your shots.
-The course designer calls every hole a par three but many holes play much tougher.
- There are several fields south of the park if you need to air out your arm before your round.
-Barring a windy and wet day, this course plays easier during the winter months.
-Course plays on an old housing development so you might find some old foundations and random slabs of concrete throughout your round.
-There are future plans to make improvements on this already solid course.
-This in not a beginner course. Sometimes I finish a round feeling defeated, but I always come back to try to reach that elusive 54.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Hell of a Course!

1    1/30/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: tawill7
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this course was a blast to play, and the layout of the course was excellent. There are some really challenging holes, and some holes that are pretty easy birdies as well. No hole looks the same, and the layout uses the land provided perfectly.
Cons: There is not a whole lot of negatives to say about this course. I played it in the dead of winter, and it was as dry as a bone, I was able to find my way around pretty easy for my first time there, and my two year old son was able to walk around the course just fine with no problems.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all skill levels, but definately would not call it easy. I would highly recommend playing it if you have not played it before!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 True Pro Course

5+    1/15/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: ScottyZ
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Front nine is challenging, but gets you warmed up before facing the extremely difficult back nine. The front nine has some shorter holes, but will throw in a difficult dogleg like #7 at you. It's a great course to practice at because you will use every disc in your bag and every technique that you know at some point while playing here.
Cons: The park can get overgrown in late summer, making it almost unplayable. It is a high crime area and car prowls are far too common. Park on the street in plain view and you won't become a victim.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and it's fun and can be frustrating at the same time. If you practice here other courses will seem easy.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.