Layout Extinct

Seatac, WA 
Seatac DGC Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #1
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

1    8/16/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: oidhchegaoth
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The terrain was great, loved the use of trees, when available the tee box map's where great!. Lots of benches, sheltered from the wind, fun an challenging.
Cons: Not much parking near the first tee box. As a first time player if the tee box map was missing following the course was difficult so spent ~40 minutes trying to figure out where we were going.
Other Thoughts: loved the old house foundatins made an extra level of fun for the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Really?

1    8/24/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: steezejenkins
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: The only pro that I can give this course is that if you live in seatac, it's close to home.
-If you like long and drawn out field shots, this is your place!
-The parking is inviting
Cons: -Super ghetto
-Confusing layout
-Flat and boring
-Run down park
-Just all out lame
Other Thoughts: I do not plan to ever play this course again. Lakewood is just a few minutes away. I plan in the near future to play that course again. The Chainbanger crew knows what's up and the course and pro shop is tops.

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Nice layout, lacking signage

1    8/15/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: JJBladester
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The course layout was very nice. There were some easy holes, but a majority of them were fairly challenging. There were a mixture of concrete and dirt approaches and frequent benches to sit on if you get tired. I would go here again if I was in the area.
Cons: Signange was missing on most of the holes making navigation very difficult. I was lost for about 25 minutes through the course of playing all 18 holes. I had to constantly walk around trying to find the next hole.
Other Thoughts: The owner of the course has anger issues. He wrote a very long and CAPITALIZED letter on the entrance sign of the course about his problem with people breaking brances. In the letter, he is rude and offensive. I understand how frustrating it must be to have people break branches instead of taking a penalty shot, but let's not turn a peaceful game into a shoutfest.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Tough but rewarding

5+    2/28/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: valkcro
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice layout. Some people say it favors a lefty but it's fairly balanced without any holes intersecting each other.
-Not crowded. Other local courses get the majority of play probably because Seatac is so difficult.
-Some holes have nice wooden benches.
-Sheltered from the wind because it's somewhat enclosed and flat.
-Fun and challenging. A three on some holes(12,14-18) feels like a solid birdie and many people consider a two to be more impressive than an ace on most other courses.
Cons: -Signage, it could be better but there is some vandlalism on the course. Not all the distances posted are accurate and it can be tough to navigate for the first time.
-No restrooms. There are some restrooms by the baseball fields north of the course and some south of the course by the soccer/baseball fields but don't bank on it, they most likely won't be open.
-Parking. There are only six stalls in the lot by tee one but there is plenty nearby along the road. Unlike other reviews I would try to park in the lot to help minimize a possible break in.
-Many fairways have walking trails intersecting them.
-No practice basket.
Other Thoughts: -The jet wash from the airplanes (flying directly overhead) can be loud and affect your shots.
-The course designer calls every hole a par three but many holes play much tougher.
- There are several fields south of the park if you need to air out your arm before your round.
-Barring a windy and wet day, this course plays easier during the winter months.
-Course plays on an old housing development so you might find some old foundations and random slabs of concrete throughout your round.
-There are future plans to make improvements on this already solid course.
-This in not a beginner course. Sometimes I finish a round feeling defeated, but I always come back to try to reach that elusive 54.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Hell of a Course!

1    1/30/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: tawill7
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this course was a blast to play, and the layout of the course was excellent. There are some really challenging holes, and some holes that are pretty easy birdies as well. No hole looks the same, and the layout uses the land provided perfectly.
Cons: There is not a whole lot of negatives to say about this course. I played it in the dead of winter, and it was as dry as a bone, I was able to find my way around pretty easy for my first time there, and my two year old son was able to walk around the course just fine with no problems.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all skill levels, but definately would not call it easy. I would highly recommend playing it if you have not played it before!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 True Pro Course

5+    1/15/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: ScottyZ
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Front nine is challenging, but gets you warmed up before facing the extremely difficult back nine. The front nine has some shorter holes, but will throw in a difficult dogleg like #7 at you. It's a great course to practice at because you will use every disc in your bag and every technique that you know at some point while playing here.
Cons: The park can get overgrown in late summer, making it almost unplayable. It is a high crime area and car prowls are far too common. Park on the street in plain view and you won't become a victim.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and it's fun and can be frustrating at the same time. If you practice here other courses will seem easy.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good test of your skills

1    12/18/2010   12/18/2010
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: challenging layout
clean park
friendly locals
strategic thinking required
Cons: be nice if you could really air it out a couple of times
tough navigation without a map
Other Thoughts: course found every weakness in my bag
but I still had a great time

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Tough but sweet course

5+    8/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: patrickje
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is really my local go-to course. I play this course more than any other. There are almost never wait times on any of the tee, in fact sometimes the course seems almost deserted. The front nine (really 10) are well laid out and approachable for beginners. The back nine are where the course starts to become a monster. Some of the holes are so long, it's like drive,drive, medium shot, putt, if you're lucky.
Cons: As many people have said, this course is not in the best neighborhood. You get homeless people around the course, especially the pad for #14. I've never had any run-ins, but it can get sketchy, play with a partner and you should be fine.

The holes can be very discouraging for beginners or anyone without a straight drive (that includes me :( ). Also, the playability of the course varies tremendously on whether the course has been maintained recently or not. Both the grass and brambles can make this course very difficult, and there are areas on holes that discs should never go.

Also I play as a par 3 course (since there are really no markers on any of the pads), really some of the holes should be played 4 or 5 (I'm looking at you #14)
Other Thoughts: Overall this park has a very laid back vibe with some very challenging holes. I've heard people say Downriver is harder, but for my money this is the hardest course in Washington.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 First Course in Seattle Area

1    6/5/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 151  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I recently moved out to the Seattle area and heard about this course. It was definetely a course to play if you are an intermediate to advanced player. Great course which can make you a little frustrated at times. Patience is definetely a virtue. Great mix of shots that can you can birdie as well as holes where you need to relax and play smart. The beginning of the course you can definetely birdie most of the holes, but accuracy and a long throw are needed. The second half of the course requires to be technically sound.
Cons: The one thing that really bothered me about the course was knowing where to go after each hole. Many of the tees are absent which can leave one confused if playing for the first time. Also when I played a lot of the course was not mowed so it was hard to find some shots even though they landed in the fairway. Also there are not any restrooms/water fountains.
Other Thoughts: Being the first course I've played in Washington, I am very happy. Challenging course that can be unforgiving. I would suggest playing with a partner, especially if you are not an adnvanced player. A pro course for sure that is a lot of fun. Bring a map of the course and maybe a coat for the rain and enjoy a really fun course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Just missing a second players level

1    5/8/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 437  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome layout, and very challenging. It is challenging because you really have to keep it in the fairway, if you don't then you will be punished! Awesome variety of holes, just a top notch course.
If you play this course regularly you will improve your game, and you can't say that about a lot of courses.
Cons: This course needs either short tees or short baskets so that it can welcome the rec to mid level play because as it stand now it's more advanced. If they put in double tees and double baskets, this would be a destination course.
Other Thoughts: This made the trip from the east coast to the Seattle area worth it.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center