Layout Extinct

Seatac, WA
Seatac DGC Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #17 (Taken 8/2008)
4 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 I've Aced EVERY tree...

1    4/6/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: SilverbackBob
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: * Great mix of shots: fairways, dog legs, long, and short.
* Interesting mixed wooded terrain. This includes old housing foundations, a walking path on the outskirts and large commercial planes flying appearing to fly about 10 feet over your head!
* Lots of benches.
* The woods keep the wind down to a minimum.
Cons: * Navigation can be difficult; really difficult for first timers. I took a picture of the Map Board with my cell phone so I could refer back to it.
* Heavily wooded. If you're an Am3 or lower, consider this place a trick shot course and chase your discs to see where they land.
* High Probability of losing a disc. Watch them close, and employ a spotter!
* No bathroom facilities, unless you count the bushes as such... PLEASE pack it out if number 2 calls...
* Animal Control heavily patrols the area. I mean, they get sneaky, roving around through the woods in their trucks and taking video! Keep that pup licensed, vaccinated, and on a leash or suffer the ticket!
* I've been told the underbrush gets really dense during the summer, and to reserve this as a winter course.
Other Thoughts: A couple of Pro/Am tournaments have been held here now. It's a privately maintained course directly under the flight landing path of SeaTac Int'l Airport. Play here with people that are better than you and you'll learn so much. Bring a pair of gloves in case you have to go into the brambles for your disc!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge

5+    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: aarikc17
Played: 75  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2010
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome layout, and very challenging. It is challenging because you really have to keep it in the fairway, if you don't then you will be punished! Awesome variety of holes, just a top notch course.
If you play this course regularly you will improve your game, and you can't say that about a lot of courses.
The course is set on what used to me a subdivision check out the old foundations, ect.
Cons: Vandalism is somewhat of a problem. Some holes might be hard to navigate to and from, but there is signage on most holes.
Other Thoughts: This course really is a par 59 or 60 course, opinions are a many.
Try this course out for a real challenge.
I would rate this course a 4.25

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 TwoFace

5+    3/20/2011   9/29/2009
Review By: cefire
Played: 624  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pro's:

Test of the mental game - I absolutely love the way this course has two distinctly different sides, each with its own personality. The front side tests your ability to "go for it" and rack up some birdies while the back side tests patience and damage control.

The front 10 are all par 3s which vary in difficulty from hole 1 which is a 300' relatively open hyzer to hole 4 which is a long and somewhat tight, low ceiling & winding fairway (this hole probably averages about 4 strokes).

The front side is the optimistic side - your drives can be big and bold. Little trouble is found on most of the birdie holes (1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10), but all of these require very skilled shots to get 2's and bogeys are easily be found on any of the front 10 holes with a poor drive or upshot.

Heading into the back side, you hopefully have tallied up enough birdies to counter the bogeys which are likely on their way. Upon reaching hole 11, the course demeanor immediately changes. If the front side were described as "be here FOR birdie", the back side would be "be here OR bogey".

Hole 11 is a high bombing right to left shot that plays easier for a big lefty/sidearm. However, if you don't have a big arm, you will be navigating many short pines to find good placement for par. If you haven't reached the obvious landing zone, you'll be navigating a lot of trees and a fast green that slopes away from you on the upshot.

Similarly hole 12, the first par 4 of the course, requires a medium range hyzer through woods to a landing zone which sets up for a low-ceiling midrange or putter shot to an enclosed green. The drive and approach by themselves should be quite easy in isolation, but combining them both on this hole makes it a challenge to get a 3.

From hole 14 onwards, you have almost 0 chance of an eagle 2 and also little chance of running all five holes without one or several 4's or 5's. Each of these holes requires both a well-placed drive and a great upshot for 3. These holes can slaughter a great round. Going in you can be 5 or 6 under par and still come out at or above par with a few bad shots.

Tees/Baskets - The baskets are a mix of Mach's and homemades which are all high quality and catch well. The concrete tee pads likewise are very high quality.

Luck - I put this in the pro's section because there are a few holes where luck is required; however, these are holes where you can create your own luck in the long-run. Hole 14 is probably the most complained about hole on the course - with some legitimate reason. You drive from an elevated tee across a mostly open field for about 280 feet and then enter tight woods with little visible fairway. However, it should be noted that there are distinct pockets and landing areas that make getting a 3 more likely. Yes, you will get bad kicks on good drives, but in the long run the more often you can find the high percentage areas, the better your average score will be.

Navigation - It is fairly easy to find your way around this course and there are usually tee signs to direct you to the next hole. Even if these are removed from time to time, a first-timer should be able to find their way around.

Variety - To score well, you'll likely be throwing a large variety of shots both off the tee and to save pars. There are several great sidearm or backhand favoring holes, several which require high booming shots, several low-ceiling, and several which are well suited to a controlled or distance roller.

Maintenance - This can be a pro or a con depending on when you visit. So far this year, every time that I have played this course, it has looked great. I know the volunteers down south are doing A LOT of mowing, weed whacking, and general maintenance to keep this place in check. From what I hear, in past years the course is barely playable in the summer because the fairway grass is so tall.

Jet wash - Because you are so close to the airport, on some days you'll see/hear/feel the effects of plane jet wash which is pretty cool. You do learn to hold up on shots for a few minutes after a really close plane because the ensuing mini-tornado can wreak havoc on your shot!
Cons: Vandalism/Trash - This park is not in the best of areas and because parts of it are quite secluded (like #14's teeing area) you'll find a lot of vandalism and trash from bored kids. In addition, lately there is a tree hacker who is going to town trying to make the course fit his game. The course is pretty resilient but the continued chopping is starting to ruin some of the fairways L

Skill level - My opinion is that this course plays great for the silver and lower gold rated players, but probably not to the elite professionals. Most of the par 4's probably seem quite simple and somewhat boring to the elite player but still mostly out of range for realistic eagle attempts. All levels will certainly be challenged on some of the holes out here but the elite pro's will probably find holes like #12 #15, or #16 somewhat boring while players below 1000 will find them challenging and fun. This course will also likely frustrate players who have not yet developed a consistent, controllable shot. There is a lot of rough out here and it would not be fun to walk through it for an entire round.

My one hole design beef - two really tiny issues on hole 18. First of all, there is a paved path which runs along the left side of the fairway for the approach shot. Currently, across the path is played as IN bounds for reasons which I cannot understand. It may help to lay out the shot: On your drive, the righty must throw a low ceiling hyzer or skip shot which hooks hard left around a patch of thorns to a clearly defined placement area. The second shot is usually a high booming turnover which stalls and drops over the top of the basket. Poor approach shots or shots attempted from outside of the landing area frequently lose turnover and fade left across said path. I think this deserves the extra punishment of an OB stroke so players will evaluate their ability to throw this shot safely from their current position. It will set up a risk/reward scenario in which poor placement on the drive necessitates safe play for 4 rather than a no-risk pump over the trees. Currently, good drive placement is being somewhat compromised by the lack of adequate punishers later on in the hole (reward/no reward). In addition, the path is clearly defined (no question about OB or not OB) and is used by pedestrians which poses a safety hazard as this approach is a blind shot.

My second tiny design beef is the little OB pond (about 4 feet by 2 feet) which is directly in front of the basket on 18. I think it is a fun and quirky little OB area but tends only to punish relatively good shots that are on target. I'd prefer a bunc'r type ruling for this rather than an extra stroke punishment on a good throw that gets unlucky. That's it! The rest of this course is pure gold IMO.
Other Thoughts: If I were to recommend one course to play near Seattle on a trip through the area, I'd recommend Seatac. It is very well laid out, the most challenging, and easiest to find your way around on.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Caught in the Jetwash

5+    4/27/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the longest and most challenging courses in the state of Washington. The course par could realistically be set at a 60-62, as many of the holes play like par 4's. It's good to keep in mind that you will need both length and accuracy to score well, so beware that you cannot just crush every shot, as it can be gnarly if you are caught in the rough, and 5's will become common. The fairways are shaped primarily by woods and shrubs along the edges with grassy fairways, and a just enough of shrubs and trees in the fairways to force creative shot-making. This length plays more like ball golf in that it often requires 2-3 accurate shots to make it to the green for your putt. The course is mostly flat (unfortunately), but it makes up for it in length and difficulty level.

This spring they placed little green "next tee" arrows on the ground to help guide the way - suggest printing a map just to be safe!
Cons: The jets overhead can be distracting, but once you accept their presence, it is fine.

Vandalism has destroyed many of the tee signs and litter can be a problem, but local volunteers have been placing buckets at the tees and been haulin' trash away - thanks!

Probably best not to play alone, as there was a recent incident where a disc golfer was robbed of his bag by hoodlums.

Not for beginners or people who don't like to walk far - it's physical, and some of the rough is disc-eatin'.
Other Thoughts: There needs to be an update of the pars here, so that many won't leave this place cursing at themselves and the course. Of course, revamping the tee signs would be a good accompaniment as well.

I have upgraded my score by one full point, as when the course is in it's prime (like the Duel Nature tournament I played this weekend), it is really a marvel. They have improved the "next tee" signs and the fairways and rough are so much kinder than they used to be.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 there is no fairway....

1    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: nbrownell
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: consitently long and technical. Birdie opps on a good number of holes if you have a solid drive.
Cons: there are no fairways and its not marked very well.you could very possibly lose your disc from a great drive in what you thinkis the fairway.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I don't think it lived up to the hype...

1    6/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very, very challenging.
-Good variety of shots.
-Nice course map with detail.
-Green signs pointing to the next tee.
-Baskets and tees are in good shape.
Cons: -The grass is too tall! Mow the fricken grass!
-Trash, broken glass, etc all over the place.
-Bad neighboorhood, homeless and other sketchy characters everywhere.
-Very flat, little elevation change.
-No parking here, there was only 4-5 spots and they were full when I came.

I think my main con was the grass. There was no fairway and tons of time was wasted searching for even good throws. It made the round miserable.
Other Thoughts: I loved Kingwood park and this one fell short of other reviews. If you are a pro looking for a challenge come here but if you are not don't come here.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/5/2014   6/9/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An excellent amount of challenge for even the well advanced or pro players with a good amount of distance throws and technical holes that will challenge your long and short game. Good amount of dog legs both left and right. Huge park that seems like it was intended for disc golf and there is very little traffic other than your fellow golfers.
Cons: The park is in a crummy neighbor hood and if you play here you will see the homeless camping out in this park at times, one time I was playing it and there were four or five homeless men drinking and sitting by a fire they had made five feet next to a basket! Vandalism is everywhere. The grass gets very long in the summer time and they don't maintain the park very well. The first time out it could be hard to find all of the holes. This place is right next door to the airport so the planes are very loud which can screw with your concentration at times especially on putts.
Other Thoughts: This is a great park to test your game at, even great players can get frustrated here and there are many par threes that could easily be par fours especially for the novice so don't bring newbies here! If they were to maintain the park and kick out the bad elements this has the potential to be a 4.5 or higher. This course is very close to Lakewood DGC in Seattle and I usually make the drive and play both in the same day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Challenge

5+    5/20/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: python6114
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful with a lot of tree cover, which is great for the privacy of disc golf. This course is narrow and the shots are tough the challenge is enjoyable, but can be frustrating if you aren't on your A game.
Cons: Jets fly over your head, but it is no big deal. If you are going for your first time try and link with someone who knows where to go.
Other Thoughts: Par is as good as birdie on most of these holes and sometimes it makes me feel like a worse disc golfer then I am. But it is certainly the best course I've played and I imagine that even the best pros might struggle to shoot under par here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My tour of Washington

1    5/20/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Big Bob
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lot of long par 3's
Narrow fairways!
Lot of long par 3's
Narrow fairways
get the point!
Playing this course will improve your game!
Cool settings!
Cons: You feel like your in Shea stadium!
Benny and the JETS!!!
Tall grass, donated custom dyed Max, left of hole 3!
Other Thoughts: Meet a couple of locals Jason and Vance who showed us the course!
Managed a 10 over with a lot of tree Love!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sleepless in Seattle

1    2/5/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: 1ChainBanger
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great mix of shots required from straight as an arrow drives to large over the trees annies with a few forehands thrown in too.
-Requires creativity to score well.
-Friendly locals helped me navigate my way around.
-Very green w/nice foliage. I really like asthetically pleasing courses.
-54 is a good score here.
Cons: -Didnt see anywhere to refill water bottles
-A little bit of jet wash never hurt anyone...did it?
-I'm fairly certain a lefty concocted this little gem of a course, but I'm not mad atcha.
Other Thoughts: Typically longer more difficult courses garner harsher reviews and I think thats probably happened here. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and if nothing less than a 10 under will do for you, then this is not the course for you. A nice blue level course awaits that forces placement, control, and some distance. I will come back to play this course in the future I hope.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.