Disc Golf Store
Lafayette, LA 
Acadiana Park - Ace Run Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #10 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 244ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Baby Wooded Monster

1    12/30/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 2.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I don't feel like Acadiana Park's "Ace Run" course is aptly named - yes, the hole lengths are short, but there aren't the kind of gimme lines here that the phrase "ace run" suggests. The course is mostly thickly wooded, and even the more open holes put you on legitimate lines rather than giving you easy paths to the basket. In general, this course offers a challenge that, though somewhat tempered by the predominantly shorter holes, could nevertheless catch you off guard if you come expecting a walk-in-the-park birdie fest.

The course's shorter hole lengths are counterbalanced by smart lines and challenging windows. Also noteworthy is the presence of legitimate elevation, to an extent which I've rarely seen this far south. Everything from marked uphill shots to sloping fairways is encountered, which really helps spice up AP-AR. Taken together, these characteristics make the course play far more engagingly than its length would suggest: many of the ~200' holes' length seemed just about right, which I wouldn't have expected. You're really made to focus on line shaping in a distance range that isn't often driven to so much variety and nuance. It really goes to show how smart lines, worthwhile pin placements, and great terrain can challenge your game at almost any length. Acadiana Park's Ace Run is easily the best short course I've ever played, and this unique distance/shot-making combination makes it a memorable course for me.

Bathrooms are readily available, parking is plentiful, and the course is easy to find. Navigation is for the most part straightforward. Great access to other quality courses: Duzee, another 18, is on site, and Pa Davis and Heymann are less than 3 miles away. Makes for a great day trip.
Cons: The shorter hole lengths will likely drag this course down for some. There's no chance to really stretch out a shot in Ace Run (although Duzee offers a few opportunities). I feel like the presence of Duzee plus other longer, nearby courses such as Pa Davis makes it easier for Ace Run to be so particular in what it does, but the course itself doesn't provide a ton of variety in the distance spectrum, which caps its ceiling for me.

This lack of distance is partly exacerbated by the fact that the pro tees seem like an afterthought. They're natural tees to the concrete ams, and not nearly as well marked or signed as the ams - I only spotted about half of them on the course, and I was looking. What I did see suggested that these were added after the original, shorter tees had been designed and installed: they often seemed wedged into the back of the fairway behind the concrete tees, and as such, their windows and lines were as much a byproduct of convenience as of design. There are a few exceptions to this, particularly on the more open holes, but my general sense was that the pro tees aren't well-integrated into the course, which would have helped to add to the variety.

While being concrete is a plus, especially in wet Louisiana, the am tees were too short for my tastes. It's true that you don't need a big run up here, but I still think 2-3 more feet would go a long way towards making these tees more comfortable. Additionally, they were often not level with the ground, making it hard to begin your drive from behind the tee. I had an occasional trip and slip on these, though nothing major.

Blind shots are common, which can grow tiresome. The thick woods and winding fairways often had me walking the entire length of the hole to spot the basket. The rough isn't disastrously thick, or at least wasn't in December (summer may be a different story), so you don't have to worry too much about hunting endlessly for discs, but so many blind shots bumps the luck factor up a bit at times.
Other Thoughts: In case you can't tell, I really enjoyed this course. It reminded me of a mini version of the wooded monsters I've played up north: pervasive elevation, and some tight windows and challenging lines that force an array of shots. Its shorter hole lengths and tight windows mean it's not for everybody: big arms could want to stretch out more than Ace Run allows, and newbies could get frustrated with the emphasis on line shaping. But for me, Ace Run offered something welcomely unique to southern Louisiana disc golf with its thick woods and varied elevation. The quirky combination of challenge and short distance that added to its memorability was just gravy.

If making a day trip to Lafayette, I'd recommend this course and Pa Davis the most - I played both Acadianas and Pa Davis in less than five hours (by myself), with a lunch break and gratuitous reshots throughout. If you were to play only one Lafayette course, I'd probably recommend Pa Davis for its greater length and more conventional challenges, but if you place a premium on wooded settings and don't mind the shorter length, Acadiana Park's Ace Run is your destination. Don't let the short hole lengths fool you: this course is not a pitch and putt. AP-AR is definitely worth a visit!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    8/5/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 2.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ace Run is the better of the two courses on the site. It is more technical, and has a little bit more challenge. The lines off the tee are tight but fair; when they came in and cleared trees there was a lot of strategy that came with taking down certain trees. It could have been a hit or miss and I think it was a hit.

There are a few elevation holes, a few blind shots, and a little of both on a few holes. The tee signs are good and the concrete pads are fair.
The course is secluded which means you do not have to worry about walkers like you would at other city park courses.
#18 ends very close to the tee of hole 1 on Duzee. It makes it easy to play another 18.
Cons: I was not a fan of the the hanging basket or the 18th basket which was on the little spring post. There was money put into those and the money could have been used elsewhere.
The big problem with this course is repetitive, short holes. The course is less than 5000' and if the majority of shots come from in the trees it will be hard to diversify the course.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot more fun at this course than Duzee. The course is fun to play and really tests your control and accuracy off the tee.

I do think that Pa Davis is the best course in town but this one is definitely second and with another course on site this may just be the better destination course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Short, technical course.

1    8/19/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very short, very technical course. A selection of putters will suffice on more than half of the holes. The tight fairways and punishing underbrush require accurate throws to precise distances. There very few open shots and even those require shot shaping. But even the name lets you know that your distance drivers really aren't needed.
Cons: #1 - This is not a course for first timers. Many (well over half) of the holes involve blind shots and you have virtually no chance of hitting a basket that you cannot see if you have never played the hole before.

#2 - Blind shots lead to blind trouble spots placed very close to baskets in some cases. On one hole, there is a creek with a large drop off right behind a basket that you cannot see from the tee box. A ladder is provided for you to get down to the creek. If you like throwing blindly into trouble, you'll love this hole.

#3 - Hole 2 brings with it the added bonus of throwing blindly into oncoming traffic. You cannot see if a car is coming but you have to throw at it anyway. Bring a friend to spot (you'll need the friend on other holes too).

#4 - Some of the concrete tee boxes are a bit too short.

#5 - Minor navigation issues that could be solved with better signs.
Other Thoughts: There is a hanging basket on 6. Why? I have no clue. It looks to have taken a lot of time, effort and money to hang a basket directly above a mounting collar! The basket is a couple of inches lower than if it had been properly mounted on a pole and the whole thing just looks silly while adding absolutely nothing to the hole itself. It doesn't affect the difficulty level or any other part of playing the hole. It also appears that the support points weren't high enough to allow the basket to be hung at the correct height.

Another basket is mounted on a couple of springs. It will move if you make it (why you would do that is beyond me). Otherwise, it just sits there. If you are fascinated by springs, you might find it interesting. If not, well, it's another silly looking basket.

Some people think these additions are "cool." But they do not affect play at all.
A lot of time, effort and resources were apparently spent on those two baskets that could have been spent on a few better tee boxes for a few of the longer holes.

In any event, this can be a fun course to play if you have someone with you. I don't think I'd want to play it again without someone to help spot for oncoming cars and to help locate errantly thrown discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice tight course

2-4    6/14/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: dyerjol
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good scenery.
Well-worn paths.
Well-maintained fairways.
Loved the ladder down to the creek, had to use it both times I played.
Good trail marking.
Interesting, but not too difficult.
Cons: No long or open holes for variety.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Difficult but fun

1    4/6/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: KimD
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: BEAUTIFUL! Even if I weren't playing I would enjoy just walking the paths and taking in the scenery. TONS of trees, in fact this is the first course I've seen that is carved out in the woods. I really liked the hanging basket.
Cons: Difficult for Lefties.
Needs more trashcans, and the pro tees aren't marked very well. (My husband uses the pros, not me!)
Some of the signs are missing and it was kind of confusing to know which one was next in line.
Other Thoughts: Gorgeous park with a lot of things to do. The baskets are in good condition and the park is really clean, despite not having many trashcans. We encountered a crew working to improve it while we were there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Road Trip worthy

1    6/8/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: trobbii
Played: 61  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very technical and especially more challenging for the lefties. I really enjoyed it. Most courses are lefty friendly but this one, woooaaaahhhhh watch out!
Cons: Maybe a new bridge or so. Few more trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Very unique basket placements and mounting points. Loved the one hung by chains and the one on the big spring. Looked like an old school thingy I used to spring back n forth on at the local parks. Very Cool!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Do you love it short and tight?

1    4/27/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is for players who love tight and technical. It's slightly deceiving since you start open enough working by the woods on the first few holes, but then you hit number three and you feel like you're in a whole other secluded world. That's impressive since the day we played there were probably 100+ college kids yelling and screaming by the basketball courts, and you didn't even hear or notice them when you're in the trees. I believe #6 has the upward sloping fairway up to a hanging pin - it's a nice touch, and many of the holes such as #16 have alternate placements that give the drive off the tee an entirely different feel.

The park itself has basic amenities to keep people happy and looks to receive a fair amount of traffic. This isn't a big deal, because the course plays away from these areas, and even #18 is only mildly close to the park action. There are concrete tees and quality signage, albeit a bit short for my taste. However, it's a short course so run-ups aren't a big deal. The layout is easy to follow, so first timers shouldn't have an issue.

BEST HOLE/S: #6; #10; #16
Cons: The main con is obvious for a course in this style - it meets the needs for people like me, but doesn't have that open hole/s that big arm players can open up on. With the length barely over 4000', many could argue that it's simply too short. Me, I love it, but tight and technical simply isn't everyone's cup of tea. Other than that - the course is great fun, but just doesn't meet that championship caliber that people would expect from the top courses in America.

Also, on a personal note - I think someone switched the names of the two courses. This was the tougher course with much fewer chances at an ace. Having played Duzee first, I finished thinking, if Duzee was that open to an ace every few holes then this course should be a breeze. Ahh, no. My suggestion is play Ace Run first, and then go hit Duzee for that ace.

WORST HOLE/S: #18
Other Thoughts: It took me longer than usual to write my Acadiana reviews, because of all of the courses I played on my mini-road trip this was the park I would have loved to have hit again to get a better feel for it. I personally liked Duzee just slightly better for the higher combination of open shots mixed with tight lines and interesting layouts. Having said that however - both courses great fun for a causal round.

There's enough elevation to keep things interesting, and it's just hard enough to make you gun for bird but be happy with par. I would definitely make the stop here when traveling through Bayou country. Two quality courses in one location and surrounded by a million Cajun places to eat at afterwards - sounds like a winner to me.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, wooded short game challenge

1    5/4/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded with a protective canopy. There is good variety to the look of the holes and shot shapes. Many of the shots require shapes and finesse that isn't required on most courses. It's a very pleasant walk through the woods and each hole is separated visually from the rest of the course.

The course provides a good test for all skill levels. Expert players can still have their games challenged by the tight lines and shot shapes.

Navigation is very easy.
Cons: All par 3's and little opportunity to throw with power. The rough is pretty thick and it's possible to lose discs.

Many of the holes are blind from the tee and require walking up to view the target before throwing. There are a few places where tees are a little too close to baskets.

Hole 2 is dangerous, throwing down a road. Hole 18 brings the adjacent soccer field into play.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 bring bug spray!!!

1    4/25/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: killjoy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Great layout, great amounts of shade,on site campground if you want to make a weekend of it. Good level of technique shots, balanced with finesse. Really enjoyed my time here.
Cons: Bugs bugs bugs. I have some many mosquito bites i think i counted 25. heavily wooded areas easy to lose discs. Dirt tees, although still not too bad, could get muddy.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this course to anyone who is tired of throwing disc to catcher in a straight line. Not boring at all.

  

5+    7/16/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: Dgkid1230
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beginner friendly course with plenty of shade for the hot Louisiana summers. Concrete tees on every hole and Innova baskets that are in good condition. Has lots of different shots and tight lines through the wooded fairways of this course. Finally this course has multiple pin positions and their are no long walks from hole to hole.
Cons: The concrete tees are a kind of short for the average x-step run-up, as well as can become very slippery after a rain. The layout is also a little short and is about not that challenging, especially for the pro level player. Mosquitoes can be extremely bad, so bring bug spray. Finally the foliage and rough on the course is deep and thorny, ie be careful.
Other Thoughts: Bathrooms facility on holes 1 and 11.
Handful of ace runs as name implies
Another course in the same park.

P.S. good benches on most holes

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.