Course Extinct
Olalla, WA 
Dalaiwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 130ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Dalaiwood

5+    7/27/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Alternate pin locations
-good signage
-good course layout
-nice variety of holes, some great open holes which seems to be a rarity in the wooded pacific NW
-excellent pro shop with the best selection of discs to buy in the area
Cons: -A couple holes have some tricky underbrush, keep an eye on your disc and/or have a spotter
-A lot of the holes criss cross each other so keep an eye out for other players
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and well maintained. I'll be making a trip back there again for sure. Its variety of holes really allows a beginner or an expert to enjoy themselves and improve their game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dalaiwood Land

1    9/7/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: ShibbyStan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very quiet and low-key course.
Cons: Since it's a private course, you must call before playing. This caused a problem for me because I have wanted to play the course for so long but could never get an answer over the phone until recently(which was my first time playing the course).
Other Thoughts: The first few holes are pretty much open but not real long or challenging. But after about hole #4 it starts to get more technical and the difficulty increases. Overall I thought I was a great course, very fun, just wished I lived closer so I could play it more!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A little slice of Disc Golf Heaven is located in Olalla, WA...

1    6/7/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: spletts
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.7 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I don't even know where to start with this course...so, here goes some rapid fire praise on this disc golf mecca...

1. Private course with a HUGE dose of TLC shown evident by the owners.
2. A wide variety of terrain!! Nice!!
3. Challenging!!! This ain't your grandma's course...
4. Great layout, maximizes the trees, hills and valleys on the property!!
5. Pro Shop in the owners garage ON SITE!!! Fully stocked disc selection might I add (had to pick up an R-Pro Dart...quite fun!!) with shoes, bags, hats, mini's...
6. Not busy on a Sunday afternoon?!?!? I'd have expected there to be a million people here...
7. Great signage! What a feeling NOT being lost and being new to a course!!
8. Friendly locals...Willing to lend a hand looking for a disc if nearby and most were courteous when thowing in our general direction.
9. Clean! The owners passion for a little litter free 'pack it in, pack it out' course is evident. I'm a smoker and am proud to say that I didn't see ANY cig butts on ANY OF the holes...and DID see either ash tray buckets or garbage cans all almost all the holes! Kudos for this!
10. Excellent layout that didn't cater to either a backhand or forehand player. I was MADE to throw a fairly even number of backhand to forehand throws with a ton of Hyzer/Anhyzer combos needed to thread the trees!
Cons: The only real cons that I can think of are a lack of cement tee pads...and this is just my stretching to be objective. If there were some teepads that weren't just dirt/roots...this course would be higher than a 5 rating in my books.

**Caution if you have any speedy players behind you...one of our group's member's was hit in the back of the head with a drive while we were walking from the basket on #1 to the tee pad on #2... In their defense...it was a completely BLIND shot from the tee to the basket on #1...but, just be wary that it's a very blind shot. The folks that hit my buddy were really nice about it, very apologetic, etc...and we ended up with a chuckle out of it...
Other Thoughts: Can't even complain about the distance from Seattle for this course. I'm SO GLAD I've finally had a chance to play this course (twice in a day it was THAT MUCH FUN!!!)
The variety of shots, the way the course wraps around the fences/barns was enjoyable. I loved the last 5 holes the most...with a valley shot that was killer!
All the baskets were in the 'B' position when I was there yesterday...and I'd imagine that the baskets in the 'A' positions would make the course completely different. I plan on making this course a REGULAR stop now that I've fallen in love. Bring a variety of discs...it's great to use everything in the bag!!!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 The lama

5+    5/4/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: Rolly
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Tests your best shots and makes you develop new ones.
-Great flow.
-A thinkers course.

-A Pro Shop on site.
Cons: -Plenty of trouble to get into
-Come prepared or suffer a long afternoon.
-Prepare to look for lost discs.
Other Thoughts: -Very fun, and positive place to be. CLEAN UP AFTER YOURSELF. We are PRIVILEGED TO PLAY HERE Keep that in mind. Don't get sloppy, this is not a public park. HAVE FUN!!
On 5/4/09 I aced Hole 3a with an FLX Challenger. WOOHOO!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dalaiwood- Awesome Course and Pro Shop

5+    2/20/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: burnsondrywallrepair
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a great course in its hole variations. There are long holes, short holes, hyzers, and anhyzers. Most are very challenging, the course still is not boring to me and I've been playing it for over a year. The setting is very nice with the course running through woods and somewhat open pasture areas. The pro shop is amazing (great prices, huge selection), and the Papas (owners) are both VERY helpful.
Cons: Sometimes it can be quite full, especially on nice weekends. Beginners may lose discs easily as there is a lot of underbrush on some holes. Not a lot of cons though, my favorite course so far.
Other Thoughts: The OB areas are very easy to hit, which adds a nice challenge to the course. The events are great, just keep an eye on the board in the barn.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Down on the farm

2-4    9/17/2006   9/9/2008
Review By: Huck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 27.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a course that will test you. Very well laid out in a very logical progression. This course has everything (even a llama). Hard to imagine being bored playing this course.
Cons: Privately owned so not always open.
Other Thoughts: Scott Papa is one of the nicest people you will meet. The proshop will have dropping $$$ like there is no tomorrow and happy about it.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun (advanced) course design

5+    5/31/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: Aragorn
Played: 36  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very pretty rural setting. Definitely bring your entire bag of tricks, rewarding for people who like that kind of round. Two holes throw across a steep ravine in the dense woods, interesting. The owner and course pro, Scott, is definitely a nice friendly guy with a fully, and I mean FULLY, stocked pro shop. Trash cans on every other hole. Well marked signs with whole layout at each tee.
Cons: Untill you learn the course you may get frustrated with its technical nature. But after a couple of rounds you should understand each hole layout and feel like par or even birdies are attainable (even aces if you really know the right line to take!). Don't really see many Cons.
Other Thoughts: An interesting mix of different hole layouts. Mainly short technical throws. A few open field throws and many holes in the dense woods. The woods holes have dogleg rights and lefts as well as strait forward holes. Some of the woods holes are Very short and Very dense with tree trunks. Some people may get frustrated with the density of tree trunks on some of the holes but they are also short par threes. So your really Aren't supposed to throw at the basket from the tee. If you plan your tee shot to get SOME distance to the basket you can then try to make a great birdie or lay up for par. If instead you get frustrated because you try for the basket from the tee, only to get rejected by a tree, I would call that poor planning.

The course pro has designed a challenging "thinking persons" course and I think that is really cool.

Park along the street outside the property.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2008   5/30/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tremendous technical difficulty, this course forces you to throw both ways, controlled and at a great variance in distance.
Great use of the land, superb design.
Good elevation changes.
Baskets and tees are both solid.
Great explanatory tee signs and "next tee" signs navigation was easy.
Challenging and creative use of O.B. on several holes.

Cons: only a few holes where you can really crank a drive, even for shorter throwers.
can be a bit luck based if you don't know the course, some holes seem like you're just throwing into a wall of trees.
Might be frustrating for beginners, it's easy to lose discs and fairways are punishingly tight.
Other Thoughts: This course is truly unique and unlike any course I've ever seen, it challenges both your technical and mental game. Scott Papa runs the course very well and the Pro shop there is really sweet, great selection of all disc brands. It's great to see a course where the 500 foot throwers are on the same level as all the 300 foot throwers out there. The course simply flows well and has no free birdies or boring holes.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

2/16/2008   2/19/2008
Review By: timk86
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Nice long baskets. Nice and quiet. The difficulty, obstacles and terrain made this course a blast.
Cons: No hole lay-out at the tee's and they are not marked very well.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.