Sumner, WA 
Riverside Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
rough in winter but still fun

1    1/15/2014   1/15/2014
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of parking. All holes have pads and good signs showing you approx. where the basket is. And if you look at the sign closely you can see the general direction of the next tee box.
Cons: It would help if the baskets had a number painted on them because you can see a lot of baskets from almost every pad. Lot's of pads in the park but you play the ones that have a sign. Number 11 pad faces the wrong way so you at first will throw to the wrong basket, which we did. Then we couldn't find 12. Fortunately we found a couple of players and they told us how we had played it wrong. 11 basket is down along side of river then in on the right.
Winter made the course look ugly, leaves and branches everywhere. I'm thinking summer would be nice. Again there are a lot of pads so remember you need to find the signs at the pads.
Other Thoughts: Download a map if this is your first time. I think I'll download for my second time which there will be one. Could be interesting throwing on some holes in the summer when the vegetation has grown out...like number 11 :) Fun course for an afternoon on a sunny day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside Disc Golf Park

2-4    4/24/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Riverside Disc Golf Park is a beautiful wooded course located near the Puyullap River in Sumner, WA. Although there are 24 baskets on site, there are four 18 hole course layout options. There are a variety of different types of baskets, but all are of quality and in good shape. Tee pads are all cement, and vary depending on the course layout being played. Many of the blue tee pads correlate with the green tees, and the red tee pads I am guessing go along with the orange layout? Tee signs are wooden and painted according to which pad you are playing from, providing hole number, distance, and most major obstacles. They are not the best in clarity, but suffice considering the amount of signs needed to separate the madness.

The general course design is split in to four 18 hole courses, red, blue, green, and orange, and vary in overall length and difficulty in the order mentioned. The red course is the most frequently played, easiest to navigate, and plays fairly tight and technical. The blue course is also played frequently, playing somewhat longer than the red but just as tight and technical. The green and orange layouts are much longer in distance and require the combination of distance and consistency.
Each layout is challenging and will the even the best of players. Fairways are well defined and the maintenance of the foliage is apparent on each hole but if your drive is even slightly off course you disc will be next to impossible to find as the underbrush is very dense. Elevation is hardly apparent, but what is there is utilized. The course has a variety of hole distances, challenge, and tight technical and open bombs. The course is appropriate for all skill levels alike.

Benches are located throughout the course, and trash cans as well as a port o potty can be found on site near the gazebo. Inside the gazebo is where you can find updates regarding the course and upcoming tournaments at and around the area. Parking is aplenty, but is close to hole #2 so watch out for errant drives hitting your car.
Cons:
The course layout at Riverside Disc Golf Park is an absolute mess. With fairways crossing all over due to the multiple layouts, discs are always being thrown at or near you. Not only is safety an issue, but navigation is horrible with or without a map. Much of the time I was not sure if I was throwing at the right basket until I was close by it. The only way I knew was due to the markings on the baskets that were color coordinated. Also, due to so much growth off of the fairways, tee pads were often difficult to locate and when you thought you had found it, it was to the wrong layout.

Foliage maintenance on the backside of the course was an absolute joke. The fairways were extremely narrow, and any minor deflection could mean spending several minutes if not more looking for your disc. With some clearing of some plants on this course and a few less layouts, navigation and lost discs would be much less of an issue.
Other Thoughts:
Similar to Lake Fenwick, the first thing I noticed besides the friendly locals was how vibrant and beautiful the course appeared. It is just a shame how confusing this course gets for first timers and those who don't play it much. It would be nice to not have to spend so much time searching for the next hole as I am out there to play. I hope to see future progress of this course and the reduction of layouts for everyone's sake.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Reminds me of....

5+    3/2/2010   3/2/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Reminds me alot of my home course but with some differances. The challenge of the course makes this not a very beginner friendly course but will make you a better golfer if you have time to put up with it. The mix of technical shots along with the other holes will make you think about what you are doing and make you execute your game. Not very busy so you can practice tons of shots. There is just abut every shot that you will need to perfect here so you will get your practice in. I think the different layouts are a positive but can get confusing if you dont want to figure them out. There are many lines making all levels of players fell equal here.
Cons: The navigation can get a little tough here but if you take your time you can figure it out. The river is a disc eater but thts ok everyonce in awhile and makes you think about a bad shot. Adds a little pressure which I think is a good thing.
Other Thoughts: The different layout thing is a kick in the shorts a little bit but it seems like a thing in this area so I got used to it. I put up with it at Fort Steilacoom and learned a great course for my troubles. Another must hit if in the area but not the best.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fort Steilacoom all over again...

2-4    4/24/2010   7/21/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of hole length here and enough technical holes to make it fun. If you make this your home course it will be hard to get bored of playing this course with the many layouts.
Cons: This course has the same problem as the Fort Steilacoom course has and that is the multiple layouts which make a first time player never want to go back with how confusing it is; I mean who wants to spend 2 hours searching for baskets and tee pads when you could be playing! Basket sharing is a pet peeve of mine and it is bad at this course, it makes for a cluster of a course. Don't get off of the fairway at this course or you are losing your disc; underbrush is a serious problem here.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure but it seems like the same people run this course also run Fort Steilacoom. There is no sympathy for the first time player. This place has lots of potential but with all of the added layouts all that was really added was confusion.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Too Many Courses Here!

5+    7/21/2007   2/21/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2009
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is built along a nice, natural setting bordering the Puyallup River. On the two main courses, Blue and Red, there are many challenging holes with a couple allowing for some big air throws. Blue plays longer while Red isa little shorter and more technical. The course has a rustic, older shelter which is a perfect meeting place for tournies, etc. All the courses play mostly under a canopy of shade trees. I like that there are holes which are "aceable" for the average player and that the local players keep it fairly litter-free. The course plays better in fall or spring when the underbrush is not so grown up.
Cons: There are too many lay-outs here with no less than 12 or 13 different course designs running every which way. This not only makes it impossible for the first time player to find their way but it's also a safety hazard with discs flying in all different directions. Also on nice days you often have to wait as different groups approach the same basket from different tees. The last time I played Riverside, I noticed an overall dingyness to the course. I don't feel the local club keeps up the maintanance quite as well as they once did.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot but feel that a visitor should be able to play the course for the first time and find his way around without a great deal of aggravation. This is not the case at Riverside. This course would rate higher with just two main layouts to play.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.