Sumner, WA 
Riverside Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
improved layout

2-4    3/17/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: John M. Fretz
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 29.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great scenery (river was fast and furious)
friendly and helpful locals
better signage and layout than the last time I was there
some challenging and long holes, and some technical shorter ones. Fun course
Cons: I don't remember seeing any bathrooms
Easy to get turned the wrong way at hole 11 or 12, (pay close attention to map on tee-sign)
pretty far from my home or I would play it more
Other Thoughts: Previous reviews mentioned the horrible layout, lack of signage, and the confusion of different course layouts criss-crossing each other. I didn't see any problems with the current layout that u can follow the signs thru. I saw evidence of old teepads and holes, but if you get lost here, you just aren't paying attention. Each tee sign has a map for the hole you're on and on that map theres an indicator of where the next tee will be. Pretty simple

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing at times and flat, but fun

1    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: b-mart
Played: 44  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through a fairly large park, and the course part of it seems to be for disc golf only. I can't imagine it being used for much more unless you just wanted to walk your dog or something. The park is pretty isolated as well, so there are few distractions during your round.

Most of the teepads (with the exception of holes 9 and 10) are concrete, and the baskets were in great condition. They appeared to be a mix of Innova DiscCatchers and Lightning-style baskets.

There is plenty of parking available. I played in the pouring rain so the course was empty, but I'm guessing that parking will be available even if it is packed.

The signs at each teepad are phenomenal, offering many different lines and giving different baskets that you can throw to and the distances to them. All of the teepads have benches as well, and there are several trashcans spread throughout the course.

Now for the course design itself:

The designer of this course did a spectacular job with the land available to them. Although there is zero elevation change on this course, there is plenty of challenge due to the trees, and they did a great job of creating lines and fairways where many would have just seen a large, wooded area. Most of the holes on the course are in the 300-350' range, so this is a great course for the average amateur golfer. A few holes have multiple teepads and/or pins to throw to (hole 13 has two of each), so this course will never get stale. There are enough trees wanting to challenge your drive and approach that this course will never get stale anyway. I would liken it to a flatter (and probably more challenging) White River.
Cons: The biggest con has to be the navigation. While they seem to be working on fixing this problem, it still isn't easy for a first time visitor. Putting signs on the tees is a huge help, and having those signs point you to where the next tee will be is as well, but the baskets need to be marked and they need to add tape to point you in the right direction. The few "next tee" arrows scattered throughout the course aren't quite enough.

I never did find the official teepad for 12. My phone wouldn't load the map either, so I just had to throw backwards from one of the teepads for hole 5. Apparently the real hole 12 is much longer than that though.

The map on here needs to be updated. Most of it is accurate, but hole 11 doesn't match what I saw on the course. Maybe that's why I couldn't find 12?

As has been stated by previous reviewers, the rough can be very unforgiving for errant shots or shots off of trees. I nearly lost a disc on two holes, and without a spotter I would have spent a lot more time slogging through the tall grass in search of my discs. These are some of the narrowest fairways that I've played due to the tall grass/rough, with hole 18 probably being the toughest. I understand that 18 can't be mowed and I'm fine with that, but spending as much time looking for discs and teepads as you do playing does start to wear on you.

The river really only comes into play on one hole, and that's a super easy RHFH mid-range shot. I was hoping for a hole like number 13 at White River that you dread every time that you play it, but then celebrate every time that you survive.
Other Thoughts: Based on the marking on the pavilion, this is in a flood plain. I'll also assume that this is the case because many of the baskets near the river (like 8, 9, and 10) are on stands and chained to trees rather than being cemented into the ground. This isn't a con because I'm sure that flooding is a rare situation, but it needs to be mentioned that it can happen.

Hole 1 is on the far left of the open area you'll see on your right when you pull in. Look for the pavilion and then just look to the left of it. You'll see two benches and tee signs. One of those is hole 1.

A kiosk with a map really needs to be installed somewhere. The pavilion looks like it will have one, but it doesn't. There should also be a "lost discs" box somewhere. Any course with this much lost disc potential should have one.

Pay extra close attention to the tee signs. It helps a lot to memorize where the next tee will be based on the arrows on the signs.

While this course is a good drive from Seattle, it makes for an enjoyable round. I won't necessarily become a regular here, but it is absolutely worth a return trip... With a spotter and bright discs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ready for a Challenge

5+    2/15/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: LouTran-45383
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has been through a lot in the last few months, but it is finally joined the list of must play courses in Western Washington. There are lots of big holes that could be considered par 4's which allow big arm players to pull out the big dog. There are also lots of technical shots which require precises aim and distance control. Riverside is very tricky, and birdies do not come easy, but this course will make you a better player.
Cons: Over growth can make it hard to find discs during spring and summer. Also, the Puyallup River is in play and will eat your disc if you let it. There are multiple tee pads that are no longer in use after the revamping, which is a shame because they are nice and grippy. Navigating the new course is still one of the problem that needs to be addressed. With the new layout Riverside is now aimed for the advanced to professional player, rec players may find it a bit over there head
Other Thoughts: There are some that drag this course through the mud because of over growth of vegetation, and the fact that losing discs is a possibility. But i think it is time to start looking at the good aspects instead of the bad. the locals have worked hard to turn this land into a tournament quality disc golf course, and it is definitely being steered in that direction

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flat Course by the River

5+    7/13/2008   7/14/2008
Review By: Aragorn
Played: 36  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 8/16/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New signage helps with the multiple layouts. The Red and Blue layout seem to be fairly well signed. The baskets are well marked with the hole number for each layout. Many trees come into play but there is space between most of them to find a line to the basket. The swift flowing Puyallup River along a few holes.
Cons: Multiple layouts can be confusing. Unless you know the layouts you will be walking up to the basket to see if it is the right one. Like Fort Steilacoom, you have to be a regular to have the slightest clue as to which tee goes to which basket on which layout.
Other Thoughts: The Red course seems to be the main course played and the Blue course gets play as well. After that there is the Green and Orange course that is marked on the baskets and some tees. I have also seen maps for a white course and even a few more. If you are new to the course play the Red or Blue.

I usually don't play when it is crowded but it looks like it could be dangerous if people are playing different layouts at the same time. Heads up, or more appropriately, DUCK!!!

I think this course is pretty fun and one of the best and most complete rounds I ever had was playing the Red course. For my luck this is also a course that I spend some time looking for my disc on. The fairways are actually pretty open but the rough is a disc hiding jungle of bushes and vines. One time I had a disc kick off a tree and launch into the Puyallup River. The salmon are probably using it at the Octopus Garden DGC at the bottom of Puget Sound.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wet Day at Riverside

5/31/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of options, which some people find annoying. But, if you play the same course all the time, you like to have options, and Riverside does that. Even though it was raining when I started the round, the canopy of trees kept me pretty dry until the rain stopped.
Cons: Although the markings are constantly improving, there is definitely some more improvement needed as far as marking the course. I probably spent 45 minutes or so wandering around after finishing some holes looking for the next pad, or in some cases, the next hole after finding the pad. I caught up to a couple of locals on 11 and followed them through the end of the round, making my life easier, although slower.
Other Thoughts: I usually play Riverside only if there is some sort of event at Fort Steilacoom, but most of the times I have gone out there, I have enjoyed myself. I wish there were a couple of more wide open holes to really air out a drive or two, but then again, I did play the red course today, which I think is a little shorter and more technical. The grass can be really long at times out there, but it looked like someone had just finished mowing within the last couple of days, and the course looked fabulous in that regard today.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.