Disc Golf Store
Sumner, WA 
Riverside Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn  
Course Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Riverside DGC in Sumner

5+    6/11/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: klurtoris
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good varied length holes - Hole 2 is over 600' while hole 10 is under 200'. Challenging basket placement on most holes. New cement pads laid recently (only 2 holes have rubber matting for tees - holes 9 and 10). Layout used to be a problem here, but the new course layout is much easier to follow.
Cons: Very high grass in some places makes errant throws difficult to find. Hole 11 is a boomerang to the left - I only know this by running into one of the individuals who laid out the course. Abundance of underbrush and blackberries on several holes. Crossing disc paths on holes 7 and 11 can be an issue. Do NOT follow the maps on this website for this course, they are not accurate.
Other Thoughts: Currently there are temporary tee signs, donations are being accepted for permenant signs. A new map of the course would be nice for those who haven't played here before. I've only been playing this sport for under a year and since I've started, this course has improved quite a bit. Overall I would've given the couse a 4 if grass and some underbrush were maintained a little better.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 CHALLENGING

5+    1/4/2011   1/4/2011
Review By: S3R14L_K1LL4
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun and Challenging!
Not overly crowded
Well maintained
Friendly Faces
Cons: Some bigger groups don't allow smaller groups to pass through.

THE RIVER LOVES DISCS
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challenging course, giving way to multiple types of throws. The random layouts, allow plenty of hole variety. The course is spread out enough, that you needn't worry about over crowding...yet compact enough to make for multiple rounds, if desired, BEWARE THE RIVER

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 WOW

1    5/19/2009   9/16/2010
Review By: Bakenstine
Played: 66  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Amazing layout with many options of play, interesting obstacles, and a nice local following.
-Challenging and intriguing around every turn
-Weathered the floods prior to my playing the course and appeared to be rebounding (I missed out playing there this past May, but I WILL be back).
-Fairly good signage given the complexity of the layout
Cons: -It can be difficult to navigate, and if it weren't for locals helping us out, we might not have stayed on the tracks for playing one of the 3 18 hole arrangements
-Lots of treacherous and snaggly rough, watch errant discs carefully!
-Some cross-hole interferance between other groups throwing and your own flight path
-A few points of hazard for pedestrians as well.
-Some parts were clearly hit hard by the floods, I do not know how the current conditions are first hand, but it would appear flooding may be a recurrent problem in the future
Other Thoughts: Might be best served to set a permanent 27 holes here, yet I think that this idea for the multi-option layout, though not unique, is rare and interesting to see. I suppose if I were a local I would love the opportunity to choose a new way to play each time I went out to mix it up!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Less Confusing Now

2-4    7/23/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: jeromy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet and secluded, challenging course. I think there is a little bit for everyone here. Its shaded pretty well, and is a cool place to play on a hot day.
Cons: Poor signage. Some trash and stuff, needs a little TLC.
Other Thoughts: I couldnt find my way around the first time I played either, so I made a map for everyone to use. It is available here:
http://docs.google.com/leaf?i...hkey=CPeM_aQM
cheers!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Choices aplenty

6/27/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: HarbDeaf
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played 4 rounds in 3 days. Off the Blue & Red tee. Extremely technical course. Strong fairways within a treed forest with scattered rough. Mostly around 300 feet. Punishment for hitting the rough wasn't too horrible.

Riverside has 4 color tees. Blue, Red, Orange and Green. Blue is the primary. Red is similar, shorter and more technical. I imagine if I was a local and bored w/ Red and Blue, hey why not hit green etc? Each basket has a color code and a number on the pole, you just have to look.

Weekend traffic was pretty good, there are people around but the holes are separate enough that you feel isolated.
Cons: There is cross traffic, and the people that I saw were pretty understandable about waiting for you. Patience for others is a safety must. A must need/have for newcomers - Maps out front. Pick the right color before you start.

Some of the baskets are out of sight or you can be looking at the wrong basket which is in plain sight but your actual basket is out of sight behind the trees. Newcomers, have to run out to the basket look at the color on the pole and double check the number so they KNOW they're throwing to the right basket.
Other Thoughts: At Blue No. 17 is the only open hole, but you have to do a massive hyzer around a huge cedar tree, the parking lot is OB. Blue No.15. is over 600 feet, but nice to play. Blue No. 6 is right by the river, your choice red tee or blue tee. On the left there's a short steep treed bank, and it goes right into very fast moving Puyallup river. Don't lose your disc there stay on the fairway.

Across the park is a BMX bike course for kids. They got a drinking fountain over there. Also there was a flood a few years back, and the park is growing back nicely there's pockets of sand throughout the park.

Newcomers, watch for the white concrete entrance to the park on the right, painted on it says BMX Riverside, it's easy to miss!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.