Sumner, WA 
Riverside Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 543ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Riverside Disc Golf Park

2-4    4/24/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Riverside Disc Golf Park is a beautiful wooded course located near the Puyullap River in Sumner, WA. Although there are 24 baskets on site, there are four 18 hole course layout options. There are a variety of different types of baskets, but all are of quality and in good shape. Tee pads are all cement, and vary depending on the course layout being played. Many of the blue tee pads correlate with the green tees, and the red tee pads I am guessing go along with the orange layout? Tee signs are wooden and painted according to which pad you are playing from, providing hole number, distance, and most major obstacles. They are not the best in clarity, but suffice considering the amount of signs needed to separate the madness.

The general course design is split in to four 18 hole courses, red, blue, green, and orange, and vary in overall length and difficulty in the order mentioned. The red course is the most frequently played, easiest to navigate, and plays fairly tight and technical. The blue course is also played frequently, playing somewhat longer than the red but just as tight and technical. The green and orange layouts are much longer in distance and require the combination of distance and consistency.
Each layout is challenging and will the even the best of players. Fairways are well defined and the maintenance of the foliage is apparent on each hole but if your drive is even slightly off course you disc will be next to impossible to find as the underbrush is very dense. Elevation is hardly apparent, but what is there is utilized. The course has a variety of hole distances, challenge, and tight technical and open bombs. The course is appropriate for all skill levels alike.

Benches are located throughout the course, and trash cans as well as a port o potty can be found on site near the gazebo. Inside the gazebo is where you can find updates regarding the course and upcoming tournaments at and around the area. Parking is aplenty, but is close to hole #2 so watch out for errant drives hitting your car.
Cons:
The course layout at Riverside Disc Golf Park is an absolute mess. With fairways crossing all over due to the multiple layouts, discs are always being thrown at or near you. Not only is safety an issue, but navigation is horrible with or without a map. Much of the time I was not sure if I was throwing at the right basket until I was close by it. The only way I knew was due to the markings on the baskets that were color coordinated. Also, due to so much growth off of the fairways, tee pads were often difficult to locate and when you thought you had found it, it was to the wrong layout.

Foliage maintenance on the backside of the course was an absolute joke. The fairways were extremely narrow, and any minor deflection could mean spending several minutes if not more looking for your disc. With some clearing of some plants on this course and a few less layouts, navigation and lost discs would be much less of an issue.
Other Thoughts:
Similar to Lake Fenwick, the first thing I noticed besides the friendly locals was how vibrant and beautiful the course appeared. It is just a shame how confusing this course gets for first timers and those who don't play it much. It would be nice to not have to spend so much time searching for the next hole as I am out there to play. I hope to see future progress of this course and the reduction of layouts for everyone's sake.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Reminds me of....

5+    3/2/2010   3/2/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Reminds me alot of my home course but with some differances. The challenge of the course makes this not a very beginner friendly course but will make you a better golfer if you have time to put up with it. The mix of technical shots along with the other holes will make you think about what you are doing and make you execute your game. Not very busy so you can practice tons of shots. There is just abut every shot that you will need to perfect here so you will get your practice in. I think the different layouts are a positive but can get confusing if you dont want to figure them out. There are many lines making all levels of players fell equal here.
Cons: The navigation can get a little tough here but if you take your time you can figure it out. The river is a disc eater but thts ok everyonce in awhile and makes you think about a bad shot. Adds a little pressure which I think is a good thing.
Other Thoughts: The different layout thing is a kick in the shorts a little bit but it seems like a thing in this area so I got used to it. I put up with it at Fort Steilacoom and learned a great course for my troubles. Another must hit if in the area but not the best.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 very very confusing

1    10/27/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: The_luthers
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a pretty park, with lots of big trees, a few differnent courses to follow, and challenging holes, it would be a good place to play if you know the area or someone who does. not great for beginners
Cons: it was extremely confusing. There were no signs, the holes seemed to be overlapping, the river will steal your disks before you can rescue them, it seemed that the area was over grown and not kept up. we spent more time looking for holes and tee pads then actually playing
Other Thoughts: the locals were helpful, and with some tlc and some good markers and maps it would be alot of fun to play here but i dont know if we will ever go back :(

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fort Steilacoom all over again...

2-4    4/24/2010   7/21/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of hole length here and enough technical holes to make it fun. If you make this your home course it will be hard to get bored of playing this course with the many layouts.
Cons: This course has the same problem as the Fort Steilacoom course has and that is the multiple layouts which make a first time player never want to go back with how confusing it is; I mean who wants to spend 2 hours searching for baskets and tee pads when you could be playing! Basket sharing is a pet peeve of mine and it is bad at this course, it makes for a cluster of a course. Don't get off of the fairway at this course or you are losing your disc; underbrush is a serious problem here.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure but it seems like the same people run this course also run Fort Steilacoom. There is no sympathy for the first time player. This place has lots of potential but with all of the added layouts all that was really added was confusion.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Could be Nice but Very Confusing!!!

1    6/17/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: ibrude
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes are challenging, with a good mix of long and short, lots of trees to shoot around and mostly open fairways. We went on a weekday morning, and there was no other players, just a few dog walkers. We picked a course color (blue, as it seemed to be the best marked) and tried to find our way around.
Cons: The course was very confusing and seemed uncared for. It felt overgrown and neglected, with rude graffiti and everything dirty. It looked like a place vagrants would hang out. There were no maps, and signage was inconsistent. We spent more time looking for tees and baskets than we did actually playing. We completely lost the course and had to make it up for holes #13 - #16.
Other Thoughts: There was nothing there to entice me to play there again. I got my first-ever ace on #17, so that was great, but we had to double-check to make sure we were playing the correct basket, so it took some of the fun out of it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Very confusing layout

2-4    4/10/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: vballkid77
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I could see where this would be a very good technical course, but could definately use a good dose of signage or at least a local in your group that actually knows the holes/course. Or at least a good amount of maps for people to grab and use and follow.
Cons: First time went to play this course there wasnt much for signage or direction on which course was which. Spoke to a few people along the way and it seemed most people were standing on a tee pad and picking a hole that seemed close to what they were looking for. Eventually you have 2-3 groups shooting at the same hole. Flooded this last winter so the area is quite a bit silted over.
Other Thoughts: Good location, was busy, just felt a bit disorganized

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flat Course by the River

5+    7/13/2008   7/14/2008
Review By: Aragorn
Played: 36  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 8/16/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New signage helps with the multiple layouts. The Red and Blue layout seem to be fairly well signed. The baskets are well marked with the hole number for each layout. Many trees come into play but there is space between most of them to find a line to the basket. The swift flowing Puyallup River along a few holes.
Cons: Multiple layouts can be confusing. Unless you know the layouts you will be walking up to the basket to see if it is the right one. Like Fort Steilacoom, you have to be a regular to have the slightest clue as to which tee goes to which basket on which layout.
Other Thoughts: The Red course seems to be the main course played and the Blue course gets play as well. After that there is the Green and Orange course that is marked on the baskets and some tees. I have also seen maps for a white course and even a few more. If you are new to the course play the Red or Blue.

I usually don't play when it is crowded but it looks like it could be dangerous if people are playing different layouts at the same time. Heads up, or more appropriately, DUCK!!!

I think this course is pretty fun and one of the best and most complete rounds I ever had was playing the Red course. For my luck this is also a course that I spend some time looking for my disc on. The fairways are actually pretty open but the rough is a disc hiding jungle of bushes and vines. One time I had a disc kick off a tree and launch into the Puyallup River. The salmon are probably using it at the Octopus Garden DGC at the bottom of Puget Sound.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Choices aplenty

6/27/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: HarbDeaf
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played 4 rounds in 3 days. Off the Blue & Red tee. Extremely technical course. Strong fairways within a treed forest with scattered rough. Mostly around 300 feet. Punishment for hitting the rough wasn't too horrible.

Riverside has 4 color tees. Blue, Red, Orange and Green. Blue is the primary. Red is similar, shorter and more technical. I imagine if I was a local and bored w/ Red and Blue, hey why not hit green etc? Each basket has a color code and a number on the pole, you just have to look.

Weekend traffic was pretty good, there are people around but the holes are separate enough that you feel isolated.
Cons: There is cross traffic, and the people that I saw were pretty understandable about waiting for you. Patience for others is a safety must. A must need/have for newcomers - Maps out front. Pick the right color before you start.

Some of the baskets are out of sight or you can be looking at the wrong basket which is in plain sight but your actual basket is out of sight behind the trees. Newcomers, have to run out to the basket look at the color on the pole and double check the number so they KNOW they're throwing to the right basket.
Other Thoughts: At Blue No. 17 is the only open hole, but you have to do a massive hyzer around a huge cedar tree, the parking lot is OB. Blue No.15. is over 600 feet, but nice to play. Blue No. 6 is right by the river, your choice red tee or blue tee. On the left there's a short steep treed bank, and it goes right into very fast moving Puyallup river. Don't lose your disc there stay on the fairway.

Across the park is a BMX bike course for kids. They got a drinking fountain over there. Also there was a flood a few years back, and the park is growing back nicely there's pockets of sand throughout the park.

Newcomers, watch for the white concrete entrance to the park on the right, painted on it says BMX Riverside, it's easy to miss!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wet Day at Riverside

5/31/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of options, which some people find annoying. But, if you play the same course all the time, you like to have options, and Riverside does that. Even though it was raining when I started the round, the canopy of trees kept me pretty dry until the rain stopped.
Cons: Although the markings are constantly improving, there is definitely some more improvement needed as far as marking the course. I probably spent 45 minutes or so wandering around after finishing some holes looking for the next pad, or in some cases, the next hole after finding the pad. I caught up to a couple of locals on 11 and followed them through the end of the round, making my life easier, although slower.
Other Thoughts: I usually play Riverside only if there is some sort of event at Fort Steilacoom, but most of the times I have gone out there, I have enjoyed myself. I wish there were a couple of more wide open holes to really air out a drive or two, but then again, I did play the red course today, which I think is a little shorter and more technical. The grass can be really long at times out there, but it looked like someone had just finished mowing within the last couple of days, and the course looked fabulous in that regard today.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Too Many Courses Here!

5+    7/21/2007   2/21/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2009
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is built along a nice, natural setting bordering the Puyallup River. On the two main courses, Blue and Red, there are many challenging holes with a couple allowing for some big air throws. Blue plays longer while Red isa little shorter and more technical. The course has a rustic, older shelter which is a perfect meeting place for tournies, etc. All the courses play mostly under a canopy of shade trees. I like that there are holes which are "aceable" for the average player and that the local players keep it fairly litter-free. The course plays better in fall or spring when the underbrush is not so grown up.
Cons: There are too many lay-outs here with no less than 12 or 13 different course designs running every which way. This not only makes it impossible for the first time player to find their way but it's also a safety hazard with discs flying in all different directions. Also on nice days you often have to wait as different groups approach the same basket from different tees. The last time I played Riverside, I noticed an overall dingyness to the course. I don't feel the local club keeps up the maintanance quite as well as they once did.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot but feel that a visitor should be able to play the course for the first time and find his way around without a great deal of aggravation. This is not the case at Riverside. This course would rate higher with just two main layouts to play.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.