Disc Golf Store
Dickinson, ND 
Patterson Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: Deke Guff   (Taken 6/2014)



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Could be great with organization

2-4    5/30/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: LevinTBlack
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long, varied and challenging holes that range for distance, trees, water and open windy areas. Very advanced course that is well designed.
Cons: IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO NAVIGATE. There is little to no navigation as to where the basket actually is. With such a massive course you are often teeing off and having 3-4 baskets that could be the one you are supposed to aim for. Problem is there is no guide and the baskets aren't numbered. You have to guess or, as I did, keep pulling out your phone to look at the guide on this site. I followed as best I could guesstimate but not even sure I played it exactly as designed.
Other Thoughts: If this course had someone post signs at the tee offs with a simple outline of where to look and then having a number on the basket (Sharpie, spray paint or stickers would work) it would be one of the best I have played. I've played on over 60 courses from Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, South Carolina, Louisiana and North Dakota.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long

1    8/23/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Situated along the banks of Patterson Lake and looking out at the dam beyond, this is a scenic course.
There are some huge distances on many holes, but they aren't just grip and rip holes. Placement is important, and OB is common.
The signature hole is #9, a throw across a chasm where you need to decide how far you can throw and still get the disc to fade back onto land. Steep cliffs and the lake border to the right with an OB road to the left. I wimped out in the still headwind.
One of the holes around the middle of the course (13?) features a nice island green with the lake looming behind.
A couple holes have some very technical aspects. Hole 6 (I think) is a 600+ foot hole where you need to nail a 3-foot gap right off the tee. Nice mix of accuracy and distance with the trees getting in your head.
Tees were concrete, and it appeared that there are multiple pin positions (and sometimes multiple tees).
Cons: Long distance is required on many holes, and a few are not possible for lower-level players. On hole 11 I didn't tee off from either tee because I wasn't certain I could clear the cat tails. There were three holes in the trees, but I could have used a few more technical holes.
Hole 14 was a very cool shot snaking through some trees to a very long pin placement. But after I searched for my disc for a few minutes on my drive, I didn't bother with more shots on this hole since none of it was mowed.
The tee signs were just laminated paper that appeared to be for a recent tournament, as they gave directions for what to do in each round and what constituted OB. Distances were given, but the locations of the pins were not shown. Many of the holes were so long that the basket was not visible.
Other Thoughts: The park entrance fee is $3. This is not a good course for beginners, and I'm not sure the other two courses in town could really prepare you for this. But it was a fun place to play, and overall I liked the design.
This is one of the prettier parts of town.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Looong but solid!

1    5/5/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly long holes, ranging from 500-1000 feet, with a few shorter holes that require more technical shots. The long holes are usually fairly open or have pine trees dotting the hole but some, such as holes #8, #9, #11 include big water hazards that can be difficult to avoid unless you play conservatively.

The entire course layout is done really well and it will require you to think through your throws and use most of the plastics in your bag.

All the teeboxes are concrete pads and in great shape and the posts provide complete information about the hole (distance, par, O.B., mandos) but they lacked a picture of some sort to reference for the layout of the hole.

The elevation change throughout the course is moderate and easy to manage for even the most casual of players. Hole #9 is of course the biggest elevation hole since you are throwing it off a cliff down to the beach.

Almost impossible to lose a disc with this well maintained park, except when you find yourself 30' out in the lake.

There was very few people playing when I went (and it was a gorgeous weekend day) so I figure that this could be the norm on this course so you shouldn't have any issues with slow play.

Cons: My biggest complaint were the teebox posts. They did provide a lot of information on each hole, except where to find the hole.... I would think they would have this taken care of on a tournament course.

The numerous O.B. lines on the majority of holes is kind of a pain, but they do make the course much more challenging and require you to make shots you may not be comfortable with.
Other Thoughts: Use the map provided in the Links section for this course, it will definitely help you figure out where to go for tees and holes. Or else talk to a local that can guide you.

Read the teebox posts thoroughly so you can understand the technicalities of each hole.

Be prepared to walk a long distance and bring water, there is some shade but a lot of it is right in the open so you'll be hot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/4/2011   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout with good variety of hole types and distances. Some cool shots that go right along the cliffs and the lake comes into play on a few holes, so there's a good amount of challenge. Well signed.
Cons: The OB. It seems like the OB is just there to make the course harder, not because it's actually necessary. One of the holes you have no choice but to throw over the OB.
Other Thoughts: Would have given this a better rating if not for the unneccesary OB.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Take a guide!

1    5/31/2010   4/1/2011
Review By: Fat Samson
Played: 93  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing challenge. Getting a 3 on the triple mando shot was one of the highlights of my trip!

Wide open for play. Eight of us rolled through Memorial weekend and were the ONLY people on the course.

Risk/Reward: If you play a smart game here you can really pull away from your card.

The Cliff Shot: You'll know it when you play it. Big brass ones can get you a deuce- or can leave you in 40' of Lake Patterson.

Solid Variety: While in general most shots are long, there are some short technical ones to bring you back to basics. Long arms are definitely favored, though, especially on the 1000'er.
Cons: Navigation: While each pad is marked, the course itself isn't. Nor is where to start. And the people at the gate to the park seem to have no idea that there's a course there.

"THAT'S a mando"? Granted, this is a bit of personal preference, but when I see a mando I want it to be there for a legitimate safety/speed of play reason. NOT because you're trying to make a field shot challenging by mowing the grass different lengths and setting them as arbitrary mando.

Plays amidst and RV park. Really slows game play at times on an already long playing course.
Other Thoughts: When we stopped here we had a heckuva time finding a course map or even a solid set of directions. I'd really recommend trying to get in touch with someone local to show you around, explain certain mandos, etc.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    9/6/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: Bebop01
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: An excellent variety of wooded and open holes that will test every type of shot/player. Some very long holes that will allow anyone to unleash the bomb. Unforgiving very challenging OB's.
Other Thoughts: One round with five people took five hours (with a few holdups) during the ND State Championships

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.