Disc Golf Store
Moscow, ID 
University of Idaho Share
Uploaded By: cefire  



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    10/22/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: fuegoador
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short and open, good for a quick round when you don't have a lot of time to mess around.
Cons: First three holes go over a large gravel parking lot that can trash your discs even if you have a good throw. University has decided that they are going for a "natural" look to the course so they don't mow the grass on several of the holes. This can result in it being hard to find discs in the fall.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Super-Unique-atast-i-lastic

1    3/22/2009   3/22/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the title says, you are not soon going to forget playing a round at the University of Idaho course. The main feature of the course is the fact that you play directly through old boarded up buildings for several of the holes. I've added a couple of photos so everyone can take a gander at the craziness here! The other really nice characteristic of this course is that it is up on a relatively open hill which, in addition to creating a few nice elevation-laden holes, gives great views of the surrounding city and parts of the campus and nearby Kibbie-Dome. Because of the low tree cover, you'll be able to have a lot of flexibility in choosing your approach line off the tee and will mainly have to yield only to the whim of the wind when deciding what shot to throw.
Cons: The large open holes near the start of the course are incredibly dangerous as they play very, very close to an area designated for RV's and other football party folks. We skipped the most dangerous of these holes, but while we were there, we saw a dog get hit with a big sky-hyzer destroyer and another gentleman nearly get hit while sitting in a lawn chair next to his RV. He laughed it off not realizing that he might have had a pretty painful welt if he were mere inches in the wrong direction. Other than the danger factor, the shots required off the tee are pretty generic and other than a few holes with big distance, players aren't going to feel very challenged unless you land directly against a building or the winds are really kicking.
Other Thoughts: If you are a course-bagger or otherwise seek non-traditional disc golf experiences, I'd highly recommend University of Idaho for a quick stop. You'll remember (and perhaps laugh at) the quirkiness of this course forever! If you are looking for more challenge, drive down the road to the nearby Pullman course which has a more traditional (and better) layout.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 mmmmmk

1    7/3/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting disc golf experience playing this course. I've never seen a course use buildings as obstacles, at least not on purpose. There is elevation changes on the latter portion of this course that is somewhat fun and challenging. The first couple of holes will challenge your distance driving game with long open bombs.
Cons: Holes one through three are long, open, boring and use the same fairway so if a group tees off behind you while you are in this stretch of the course you will have to wait for each other and be patient but it slows down play for sure. they had plenty of land so I'm not sure why this was done this way. Flow is a bit strange and when you are done you will have to make the trek back to the car. On holes one and three you are throwing into a fairway that is dirt, concrete and rocks and chews up discs worse than your dog!
Other Thoughts: This is kind of a strange course but would be fun to play if you went to school here. It seems as if there was a layout change not too long ago.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Moscow

5+    9/2/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: jcbnxll
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --Events: There seems to be a good community of golfers here. It's easy to find out what the disc golf haps are by using the bulletin board or by asking the slew of regulars that frequent the course.
--There are a few neat holes and some elevation changes
--Great for beginners, learners
Cons: --Holes 2 and 3. I skip 'em every round. What a waste of my time and arm.
--The tall grass: Keep an eye on your disc if you see it head towards that tall grass.
--A couple holes shut down in the late summer for outdoor plays.
--Not much variety
Other Thoughts: The rating says it all; this course is "passable." I usually play it as a warm up before I go to Sunnyside (or before/after ultimate frisbee on Sundays & Wednesdays). I lived down in Lewiston and while I never got a chance to actually play in any of the meetups there certainly seemed to be a fair number of them. This seems like an excellent course to start on.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.