Rainier, OR 
Trojan Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #5 (Taken 5/2010)
4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A rare water find in the rainy NW

2-4    3/1/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Trojan Park has some really great natural features for a disc golf course: sections of light to moderate treed areas in the midst of rolling grassy stretches all along the banks of a few interconnected ponds. In my NW experience thus far, a genuine water course like this is a rare find in the Northwest, but Trojan is good enough and is centrally located to provide both Oregon and Washington golfers with their fix for the wet stuff.

Challenge - As I stated earlier, water hazards present a unique challenge for golfers in this area; contrived "false-lake" OB just doesn't give the thrower the same rush as the experience of throwing over water. Just like trees and distance, emotional challenge will factor into the overall difficulty of these holes. However, gold level golfers who have developed hard and set composure under these circumstances, with a few exceptions, will probably not be adequately challenged by most holes on this course.

For Silver and Gold players who haven't developed this mental composure, a lot of these shots strike a really great balance between the hole difficulty (which under normal circumstances would be quite easy) and requiring those players to rise to the challenge of consistent and accurate shot-making under pressure. For example, hole 6 is the first water test that the golfer comes to which is a simple midrange turnover for RHBH or rather short sidearm with a pretty much forced fairway over water. You've got all the room in the world on the left side and trees lining the shore on the right. Its not a difficult shot to make……BUT any error will result in a penalty and, very likely, another toss over the water.

Fun - Lets be honest here, its just plain fun to throw holes with water hazards; especially with a group of friends; and especially when you aren't the one landing in the drink : )
Cons: Navigation - As other reviewers have stated, you will want the map when finding your way around here, there are several twists and turns and a section where you loop around lakes in a figure 8 pattern. The teepads are flush with the ground so you'll really have to look around at some points in the course even with the map. Having said that, if you have the map, you should be able to find everything without too much trouble - so…print the map!!!

Beginners probably aren't going to like this course very much. If you can't throw 200 feet and/or keep a disc from hyzering hard at the end of a RHBH throw, you are in for a frustrating and probably expensive round. Several of the holes don't really have reasonable "safe" routes for true beginner players and often have water danger on the left side of the fairway in prime areas for hyzers that fall too short - but note that these are "Pro's" for higher skill levels.

Mud - It should be fairly obvious but, with most of the holes bordering the ponds and being fairly low and flat land, the place gets quite wet and muddy after it rains. Not a huge con really, just bring your boots and a towel.
Other Thoughts: As I've stated earlier, this course is suited to a wide range of skill levels except for novice and elite level professionals but should offer at least a fun round for all except the true beginner.

I've been to the park on two weekends this winter (2009-2010) and have found it pretty much empty - sounds like it gets very busy in the summer.

Warning: Watch out for the water beyond the basket on hole 7 - each time I've played here, I've totally forgotten about it and only worried about water lining the left side of the fairway.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Trojan Park

1    3/7/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 183  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Trojan Park in Rainier, Oregon is just minutes away from the border of Washington State and is located in a beautiful park setting which surrounds water. The course is mostly flat, with trees and other native foliage spread out along the grassy fairways. A walking path meanders throughout the park (primarily along the water) which means that one must constantly be on the lookout for pedestrians whom are walking, biking, picnicking, or fishing. Because the course is isolated from much of the other courses in or near the Portland area, most of the time you will find very few other disc golfers playing. However, the locals I did come across the day I played were extremely helpful, whether it was helping with navigation or lost discs.

Course maintenance at Trojan Park was fantastic! The fairways were all mowed, trees and bushes were well manicured, there were several trash cans placed throughout the park, and there was also a gazebo toward hole #9 that had benches and tables. The cement tee pads on the course were fairly new, large, and in great shape. Baskets too seemed fairly new, sturdy, and well taken care of.

The design of the course seemed to challenge players of all skill levels, especially amateur. I found many of the holes were well thought out and required a lot of strategy. Pin and tee placement added to much of the challenge, and deflections from the trees could be fatal to both your score and discs (splash)! This course had some of the best holes I have yet played, including holes six, eight, and twelve. All three were high-risk high-reward, with tee pads on one side of the water and pins on the other. The holes require you to throw toward the pins which were all positioned on the end of a peninsula. These holes were great in the sense that they could create a lot of separation in player scores which is what makes this course so great!
Cons:
Even though this course truly had some epic holes, there were some that just seemed thrown in. Hole one was wide open and gave little to no challenge. Hole ten was extremely short and boring, and hole eleven was extremely narrow and like ten, VERY muddy! During the winter months I could see skipping these holes and continuing on with the rest of the course.

Navigation is a serious issue too. There are no tee signs or arrows pointing first timers toward the next tee pad. Getting to tee pad 9-11 could be rather difficult, making a round at Trojan that much more frustrating. However, once played it is much easier to navigate. Hopefully it is just a matter of time before these issues are taken care of. It is obvious that the local scene is doing a lot around this course, improving it all the time.

Lost discs can be a problem on this course so just know that you are going to most likely lose at least one (especially your first time). This would be a very tough home course to have with so many chances to lose discs. With twelve of the eighteen holes having water on it, one must really think about each and every shot. It wouldn't hurt to keep some cheap dx plastic in your bag just in case.

Last, geese poop. I know others mentioned it earlier but I really didn't think much of it till I played here. It is everywhere, and gets on everything! Extra towels are a must, and hand sanitizer could go a long way. I found myself slipping on tee pads because it was all over them.
Other Thoughts:
I have wanted to play this course for sometime. I must say that Trojan did live up to it's hype as the Fountain Hills (AZ) of the Northwest. Over time I can see this course getting better and better. With such a dedicated local scene in the Portland area, and continual improvements, this course's rating will continue to climb.

I played here when it was raining and still had a great time. I can only imagine how amazing this course plays during the summer months (especially during the Rose City Open). I look forward to coming back and playing this hidden gem as it was worth every minute of my time. If traveling near Portland this is a must, as well as Pier and Horning's Hideout.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/23/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: joshkns
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Water hazards
-Kept fairways & nice baskets
-Never crowded
-High Risk
Cons: -Must have course map
-Couple of holes not playable in the wetter months
-Fishermen can come into play
-Flat
Other Thoughts: I love this course!! The water hazards make this course great. One of the more relaxing places, during the week the place is empty.In the summer the fisherman can get in the way of a few holes but seem pretty cool & the Mosquitoes can be a b*tch. Trojan is one of my favorite courses, I am thankful I live so close

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/7/2010   2/10/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Trojan is a beautiful course set around a lake. As we all know there are several spots on this course to lose a disc but I believe the pictures online make it look worse then it is. I played using a bag with discs I have either never thrown or haven't throw in quite some time and had no idea what to expect out of them and I lost two discs but they were both on shanks that might have been lost in bushes or something else at a forested park. If I would have brought my regular bag of discs I most likely wouldn't have lost any discs in the water. There are safe areas to throw to on every water shot if you are willing to take a par or bogey but I would recommend bringing some discs you don't care about just to try and throw the water shots because it's fun. The place is quite pretty with a great little walking bridge near hole twelve, there are plenty of opportunities to take wonderful pictures.
Cons: Well the water shots are a con for some; mostly the ones who end up in the water, hehe. There are a couple of tee pads that could have been moved to make the water come into play more in a couple of areas and they chose not to do so which is too bad because these couple of holes are the only clunkers on the course really. You are going to need a guide or the course map to find your way around as there are some long walks between holes; mostly on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: I can imagine that during the summer months this course could get hard to play as this looks like a great place to enjoy a nice walk through the park or have a picnic, so I'm sure the course gets busy with non disc golfers. As I mentioned before the water shots aren't all that bad and you can avoid them if you are willing to not get a birdie. This isn't a great place to take beginners to and advanced players should be under par as long as you keep it out of the water.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Water holes and more water holes

1    6/9/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: TrailBoss
Played: 149  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 37.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course starts out with a handful of easy holes around groups of trees, which is great to get your mojo and flow going before things get technical. Very challenging course due to all of the holes adjacent to lakes and ponds. Risk/Reward is very high on all of these holes. I loved the whole vibe and setting of the course. Very rare to play courses that have so much water hazards and provide that level intensity and focus. Very cool. Course is well designed and utilizes is terrain very effectively
Cons: Absolutely need a map to find your way around. With the map, we had no real problems navigating the course. If you did not have one, you would be challenged. I did not find the walk outs to be an issue. They were necessary to get from point A to point B.
Other Thoughts: Holes 8 and 13 are the signature holes of the course. Awesome pin placements out on the edge of peninsulas with tee shots over water. I found the course mentally demanding due to all the water hazards, but this is what made the course so appealing to me and worth the drive to get to it. This course would be frightening if windy. We caught it under perfect conditions. Definitely recommend this course.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Very solid, enjoyable course

1    6/9/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well designed in every aspect
Excellent use of available space
Great use of ponds/water--Holes 8 and 13 are classic examples
Good variety of hole configurations
Creative basket placement to take advantage of trees
Forces strategic throw/disc/path selection
Classic holes with baskets very close to the water for very tangible risk/reward shots
Beautiful setting
Very fast course
Cons: Tees are not marked and most are not very obvious...a couple of large gray garbage cans at them...they are invisible in the grass...make sure you download and print the map, you'll definitely will need it
These two "cons" are not the fault of the course or design, just facts to be aware of:
1) Very flat course...if you like big elevation changes, you won't find them here--but the course is so well designed you won't miss the elevation (and I LOVE elevation changes)
2) Fowl poop...especially on hole one...bring an extra "throw-away" towel
Other Thoughts: This course is well worth the drive and isn't that far from Portland...if you do a road trip to Portland, this should be on your itinerary

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 water, water, water.

1    3/8/2008   3/8/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 156  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2009
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Scenic beauty
-60% of holes have water hazards
-Good baskets
-Brand new tee pads installed by local DG club (fall 2008).
-Quite challenging, but not ridiculously so.
-NEVER crowded.
-Great test of mental fortitude, throwing over water can be very stressful.
-Best place in the NW to practice for The Memorial!
-Can be windy, add the water hazards and you've got a very challenging round.
Cons:
-No maps, no markers, no teesigns! (no guide, no way).
-Bit of a flooding problem at rainy times.
-Due to stagnant water and flooding, this place has a HORRIBLE mosquito problem in the spring and early summer. I highly suggest some type of insect repellant.
-Bad shots equal lost discs in the lake.
Other Thoughts:
This is a very fun place for advanced and pro golfers. Having the water come into play so closely on so many holes brings a whole new aspect of decision making into your round. Do I really want to throw my money disc? Do I really want to try to birdy it? etc. It's great to play out there and watch golfers change their game out of concern for losing discs. Most people lose at least one disc per round when they play here!

If you're planning on playing The Memorial in Arizona some day, Trojan Lake is by far the best course in the NW to practice on. The wind can kick up and it can feel very similar to Fountain hills, and even Shelley Sharpe.

Trojan lake is a great test of skill and the all important "head game". The only thing really lacking at the course is markings. There is no indication of where hole one is, where hole two is, etc. And there are no tee signs once you find the tee pad. It's a good idea to try to contact someone that knows the course before heading out there for your first time. With proper signage, this will be a fantastic course.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.