Rainier, OR 
Trojan Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #18 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Meltdown on the Columbia

1    5/22/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 34.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Much as the Tumwater section of the Wenatchee River would frighten my kayaking persona as I drove by, so Trojan Park gave me the willies the few times I saw the course before playing it. Fortunately, for the sake of both my mind and my wallet, I waited long enough to have the experience to control my drives well, THE CRITICAL ASPECT to having a good round here.
The course abuts both the Columbia River[you'll never notice] and Hwy 30[tough to ignore on 5-7 and 10,11], and borders on being both beautiful and treacherous. Formerly the site of the Trojan nuclear power plant, the skyline was once dominated by a 500' cooling tower[imploded in 2006]: the irregularly-shaped pond, the basis of so much water-angst here, was storage area for cycling the tower's waters.
With mature trees, finely manicured grounds, and the low slanting sunlight of early morning/late afternoon, Trojan has a very dreamy, estate-like feeling, as if you might be playing on a multi-millionaire's private links. There's lots of under-the-canopy drives early[rollers!] and late[hyzers!], with the open drives [6-14] having the greatest water-risk.
The only holes of any great length are #5[two drives] and #s 8 & 13[drive & longish upshot], and the same three holes + #s 10 & 14 are the only holes with little shade. There's a swath of disc-hunting undergrowth outlying the fairways right of 5, 12 & 13 and left of 15-18.
But that's summer, and those perfect sunny days that happen randomly the rest of the year. Winter, with its riverside fogs and endless drizzles, can be muddy, oppressive, mentally disturbing, and filled with government-financed lies, like your own private Chernobyl.
The course winds in an oblong infinity symbol[a nod to Oppenheimer], the tees are cement and baskets are good, and there's benches and trashcans to be found at the start/end, and along those long walks between 8-9 and 12-13.
Cons: Navigation/signage: One can only hope that the Worlds notoriety also brings an urge to make this course discernable for the general public/course baggers. On the other hand, stay home, kids & newbs--you'll wet your pants[and everything else] on this course. Literally.
Water: The water, and its challenge, isn't a con itself. But its relentless[#s 6 through 14], its deep[step off the bank and you're in over your head], golden retrievers are useless, and floaters,well---float away. So very, very far away.. Sob sob sob.
In good weather fisherfolk can be found on 1, 3, 9, 18----oh hell, you shouldn't bother to try to play here on summer weekends/holidays. Though why anyone would want to eat a 3-eyed fish named Blinky...
Other Thoughts: On Hwy 30 there's the Goble Tavern 1 mi. south, and Rainier with bars and stores 2 mi. north. Camping 1 mi. north at Prescott State Park. Yankton, Rainier and McCormick nearby, and all should be played for different reasons.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 home

5+    9/2/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: mbkart3
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging
Water
Great fairways
Solid baskets
Fun
Cons: No tee signs
Other Thoughts: This course is home, beautiful and fun. Love the challenge the water brings. After playing the lame courses in the area Trojan has become home for this noob.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Trojan was great!

1    10/18/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: disc-maverick
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A little isolated, so no people. Plus, it is October 18th. Great layout, medium to difficult, and very well kept.
Cons: Water, but that makes it part of the fun. Not too many cons for me.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure what everyone is talking about. While we paused for a minute or two to figure out which tee box was which, we gambled based on how the flow "should" go. And, we were right. Two intermediate, non-tournament experienced discers did just fine and did not lose a disc. We played conservative on the "scary" holes, but ended up with decent scores for our first trip. Definitely going back.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/11/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: k2trcs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: great course, very challenging...requires course management skills over power.
Cons: requires high skill and course management otherwise your plastic will dissapear into the murky depths...like a couple of mine have.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyed It More Than I Thought I Would!

1    8/4/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I arrived being really prepared to dislike this course. I absolutely hate losing discs. But I totally enjoyed my Trojan Park water experience. Not having a strong arm, I was worried about all the long throws over water. But in reality, the throws over water are fairly short. On #'s 5, 6, 10 and 11, you need to keep it straight in order to stay out of the water. I was able to navigate the course fairly easily with the map I had printed on-line. The park is closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. I was there on a Tuesday and there were other people in the closed part of the park, fishing, bicycling, etc. I don't know exactly how rigid park officials want to be about having folks here when the gates are locked.
Cons: Obviously, watching your favorite discs sinking to the bottom of the lake is a problem for some players. In my mind, that pretty much eliminates this course for beginners. It is flat with no elevation. I can see picnickers getting in the way. Some of the teepads are a little tough to find. Some are painted onto sidewalks or streets.
Other Thoughts: I came prepared bringing 4 or 5 throw-a-way discs. But I was playing by myself and wasn't exactly worried about getting the lowest score possible. If playing serious rounds here, I know that I would probably average, at least, one lost disc per round. That could get mighty frustrating and costly too.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golfs Pebble Beach

5+    9/19/2008   3/19/2009
Review By: olydiscgolf
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has almost every shot a PROFESSIONAL disc golf course should have! Beautiful design bringing shot selection into play on every hole. Risk reward is very cliche' these days, but very relevant here! This course makes "smart" golf your only option! (or lost disc's).
Cons: As far as terrain goes, there isn't any elevation to play with, it's fairly flat. Its a young course, signs are hard to come by. Play it once and you won't have any trouble the next time. I wouldn't, or couldn't afford, to have this as my home course. I lost six disc's in one day. The next time I didn't lose any and shot even.
Other Thoughts: Great core of golfers who do a lot of work out there. The first couple of times I was there, I seen locals painting tee pads. I know concrete is in the future, if its not there already. A great destination course, I drive over two hours to play here. I also bring the hip waders!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I love PGE!

1    11/5/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: senatorjoe
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Every hole is like opening up a Christamas present.
*The water makes it unique and untouchable in this area
*Great mix of distance shots and short, tight placement shots
*Each hole is fair-- a good shot rewards you with birdie putts
*Of course, bad shots will be punished with lost discs and frustrating bogeys
*Beautiful course
*Well-defined fairways and hazards call for specific shots and lots of cold-blooded courage
*Deserted, which makes for fast play


Cons: *Goose poop
*No signage/distance
*Inconsistent teepads
*Too darned far away from PDX
*The course's water hazards are fun, but the bottom drops off quickly, so my friends lost discs
Other Thoughts: *Built on former nuclear reactor site, so there are lots of three-legged ducks
*This course needs to have a major tournament, complete with alternate teepads
*It's a blast, make the drive!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Improved since last review

1    10/27/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: tybutton
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a pretty challenging course. It is also a beautiful walk. Now the teepads are actually blacktop which should make it more playable in the rainy season.

It is nice to have a few longer holes. Lots of courses in the area are smaller and don't really afford as much room.

It is far anough out that it isn't crowded. I have driven past many times and seldom see anyone on the course.
Cons: The tee pads aren't numbered, just the baskets so in a couple spots it is easy to play the wrong hole without realizing it until you hit the basket.

There is no clear way to tell what is par for any given hole. Some signange would be much appreciated.

Other Thoughts: The course is probably 45 minutes outside pdx on highway 30. I suspect this makes it a tough for most folks to make the drive, However, if you do, I think it is well worth it. Bring a picnic and a fishing pole and make a day of it. The larger park is closed in winter, but the disc course remains open.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.