Lac Du Flambeau, WI 
Sandy Point Resort DG Ranch Share
Uploaded By: illyB420 Hole #17 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 134ft.   3 / 134ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Summer 2012

1    6/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: sunnya527
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Nice course long enough to get some good walking in. Love the uphill throws. I am newer to discing but completely thought this was fun and challenging.
Cons: For people who don't know where to look for the "next tee" signs you have to look up in the trees. some are hidden a bit as I had to help some people figure out where to go. 2 holes I was looking forward to close for summer. could use more garbage cans and maybe porta potties.
Other Thoughts: Little confusing sometimes on pin position. Bring good bug spray. Don't wear flip flops or lose shoes and there are some spots you can slide easily.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Woods Course!

1    6/9/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course at Sandy Point is set on the type of land you would expect to find in northern Wisconsin- beautifully wooded, a secluded feel, pristine nature, crisp clear air, and land made for disc golf with just the right amount of elevation mixed in. The course is very-well manicured and has that perfectly aged and mature look and feel. This is basically your shorter technical woods course, but is easily one of the best of this type anywhere. The is a perfect mix of left, straight, and right holes combined with elevation of flat, up and down along with a decent variety of hole distances allowing each hole to be different from the rest (not easy to do for 27 holes in the woods!) Most obstacles will of course be trees, and there is enough rough to punish errant shots, but not so stupid thick to swallow discs for good. I loved that both the fairways and paths to the next tee were well-worn making navigation a breeze. The baskets and tees are great. Tee signs were adequate.

I found this course to be extremely fun, relaxing, and enjoyable. There are lots of birdie opportunities, but no gimmees. The owners are what make this course special. It is obviously the love and passion they have for their course and the sport as a whole. The entire family works at the resort, they know disc golf and love to talk disc golf with you, and were delighted to have us come play. (I have to point out here the contrast to the owner of nearby Highbridge who does not actually play disc golf himself and it is easy to see the difference that makes in a course.) Be sure to check out the pro shop- they have an incredible collection of collector and out-of-production discs both on display and for sale. The pro shop was run by their daughters who also know their disc golf! SPDGR is also home to the Wisconsin Disc Golf Hall of Fame- but I did not check that out.

I did not stay here, but the resort offers luxurious cabins for rent. (Again in contrast to nearby Highbridge which offers housing options on the more rustic side of the scale, of which may be preferred.) There are other activities here as well including a swimming beach, boating, fishing, etc. The nearby town had lots to offer tourists- shops, restaurants, etc. This is a really nice place to bring the whole family.
Cons: Barely any- the course is just about as perfect as it can be with what the land has to offer. But the tee signs are older. And some of the next tee signs seemed to point slightly in the wrong direction, but with the worn paths and the course map, navigation was fine. It was really hard to find #23 and 24, which are the two holes set completely apart from the rest of course along the edge of the lake and the swimming beach- if Mrs. Owner had not seen us wondering around we probably never would have found them. These holes are not in character with the other holes and are not playable all the time. I would consider them more of a novelty, or bonus holes. The 2 baskets are right on the water, but it is super shallow and clear and easy to get your disc if not totally launched out to sea.
Other Thoughts: It is $5 a day to play, which may be a little high in my opinion, but not unreasonable seeing that the amount of work that goes into the course. If playing Highbridge again, I would actually consider staying here and then making the 1.5 hour drive, rather than staying in the Honka House, but I prefer more modern accommodations. However, the price of the cabins are on the high side from I am used to paying for comparable cabins.

Hole numbering- after 4, there is 4a - 4b - 4c, and then 5, which is how there is 27 holes. (Although since then there is a note on their webpage that the holes have now been renumbered 1-27).

I highly recommend playing this course if also coming to Highbridge. The course itself is probably more like a 3.5, but the resort as a whole, especially the passion displayed by the owner and his disc golf loving family made for one of the best disc golf experiences I have had, boosting my total rating to a 4.0. Be sure to read the excellent recent reviews of ZMan, TallPaul, and Mashnut as well as I agree with everything they say about this place.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Wooded Course

1    6/9/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Seclusion: Sandy Point is located on a small resort property...but you feel like you are far away from everything. The course is calm and quiet. The air is fresh and crisp. It is an amazing piece of property and well cared for.

Design: While the holes are not long, there is an abundance of fairway shapes. There are tight anhyzers, long tunnel shots, and then a few open holes near the end.

Closing Holes: I suggest that if you play this course, try to make the trip before the busy season, during which 23 and 24 may not be playable. These holes offer a very unique feel in comparison to the rest of the course. #23 is a daunting tee shot....even though you are probably throwing a putter. As for hole #24: I have seen a number of shots that border a lake...but very few with a beach-type waterfront. The pin position is also incredibly challenging as it rests on a tiny inlet.

Score Dispersion: Any good course must have a solid score dispersion. When you are having a great day, you should shoot about 5 or 6 strokes better than your average day. When you are off, 5 or 6 strokes worse. I have played a number of courses where, after playing, I could go back and estimate my score to within a 4 stroke spread and be right 99.9% of the time. Sandy Point offers this without the length. The fact that most of the holes are short does not make them easy. I could see myself shooting a -10...or a +4. I like that aspect of this course a lot. Accuracy reigns supreme here.

Navigation: Maps are available but almost unnecessary. Navigation was very straightforward. While the course is almost exclusively wooded, paths are well-worn. It would be hard to lose your way.
Cons: There really aren't many cons. The course is almost totally wooded. If wooded courses are not your "cup-of-tea" then you probably won't like the course. Personally, I am not a huge fan of wooded courses, but this is the best predominantly wooded course I have ever played.

While most of the course is easily navigable, finding the final two holes is a little tricky. Just follow the road to the back of the resort and you should find #23 tee. This is just a minor issue.
Other Thoughts: Sandy Point Resort is a spectacular place with amazing terrain and great views of the lake. The course is solid using excellent variety and changes in elevation. Honestly, as I previously stated, I have never played a better course that was predominantly wooded. This place has a very special vibe.

I really struggled with this rating as I really want to bump the score up to a 4.5 due to the pro-shop, friendly staff and other resort amenities. However, since this is a "course" review, I feel confident in my assessment of Sandy Point as an "excellent" course.

We played this course on our way home from Highbridge. Highbridge has some amazing courses. If I was to compare this course to a Highbridge course it would be Woodland Greens. However, the Sandy Point course is much better in my opinion than Woodland Greens. Highbridge has the space for larger, more open courses. But Sandy Point is not to be overlooked if you are traveling through Northern Wisconsin and you have discs with you.

They always say that a good coach brings out the best in his players. The designers and crew at Sandy Point have gotten the most out of this property with regards to the disc golf course. I cannot think of a single design aspect I would change. It is truly a gem.

If you are in the area, definitely check this course out. I don't think you will be disappointed...unless you throw 600 feet and that is your only disc golf related skill. $5 is not bad at all for this cool secluded course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 perfect middle of nowhere

5+    5/15/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 702  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Top of the line wooded/finesse course.
Two sets of tees. (I'm not sure why hole info does not show this; and I don't have info available to me, to add). Shorts will allow very new players to enjoy this wooded, northern Wisconsin gem. Both sets usually used for nearly all divisions during tourney play; meaning you need to score big from short tees. Sandy Point is one course that seems intent on keeping Steady Ed's philosophy of disc golf being a fun, recreational activity, in full force.
Multiple pin placements. See cons for possible ramifications of short course.
Maintained to the highest degree; brooms for sweeping of tees on all tees. (Sandy Point is sandy....though it does not really seem to affect upshots like other "sandy" courses I've played).
Two very nice water holes. (There are times when these two are pulled.)
Old car in fairway, a nice, sculptural, touch.
Couple pins secured into tree stumps a nice touch.
Elevation used very well. Many holes either up or down hill. With that said, there are few "killer hill climbs."
Recent times have seen a couple new, longer pin placements or tees. Some footage is being added.
Pine forest. Birch forest. Nice walks and play through both of these; as well as more balanced variety of forest areas.
Wonderful cabins of various price ranges available. Cheapest is very affordable for two or three guys splitting cost.
Game room...movie rental....awesome pro shop...boat rental....swimming area....sandy, beech area volleyball court....
Easy navigation with only a few blind pins.
Hole shooting to the huge American Flag on the back of the club house is a nice, patriotic touch; and a fun ace run.
Course is well designed from a shot balance point of view. There are a few, throw far holes; #s 4B, 8, and 21. These are some of the signature holes in my mind.
Beautiful hand crafted practice basket.
Disc golf only seclusion to the highest degree. (Much of this course is bordered by Native American land).
Hand crafted jewelry, made by owner, Michelle, (among others, I assume), available in pro shop.
This is a place you can bring your family or just your significant other, even if he/she doesn't play disc, and enjoy a very relaxing weekend. I have been here with just the guys, as well as weekend's with my wife; and both are wonderful.
After the Northwoods Open, CTP/Ace option is available where you are boated out to a floating tee (outdoor carpet on pontoons). This thing rolls with the waves on the lake and you shoot to a basket on the shore, @170 ft. Fun shot!, I've never seen this anywhere else.
Cons: This course is short, when pins are in short position. The one poor rating here must have played the course when this was the case. Quite short; when shooting short tees to short pins.
No camping on site.
Sandy Point is one course, that I have heard from at least one veteran who has been waiting for years to play here (for some reason?); that it did not live up to expectations. The particular person I am speaking of, happened to play the course when most pins were short; and found the course relatively easy. In fact, he got an ace during his first visit. Therefore, if you're a highly rated player; I suggest you email or call first to find out details; or, simply realize there is this possibility and you need to score big, if the course is set up this way. As I noted; pros usually play a short tee round during tourney play; they simply know they need to score big.
Other Thoughts: In Wisconsin, this course has had sort of a Flip reputation for many years. Largely, it has lived up to expectations. Annual tourneys fill; (S.P. has hosted the end of year; state tour finals more than once, as well).
This is a well loved course that some tourney players have been returning to for the better part of 20 years; including Barry Schultz most years. A team tourney, with players from all over the country was an annual feature here for years; and was enjoyed by all. Mike brought an early love of disc with him from NorCal and made this a destination spot immediately.
If you want to throw big, this may not be the course for you. If you want to see wooded disc golf at it's finest (unless you consider long wooded to be the best); this is a top notch place to do so.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 The Best I've Played in Wisconsin

5+    7/20/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2008
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The proprietors, Mike and Michelle Cozzens, are two of the nicest people you'll ever meet, and their two kids are right there with them. This course has everything. You want multiple tees? Got 'em on one hole. More pins? Yep. Pro shop? Oh, yes, and a great one! Maps? Scorecards? Bathrooms? Benches? Cabins for rent? Yes! Tournaments? Ever heard of the Northwoods Open? I could go on, but I'm going to go to their web site a book a spot for next year.
Cons: I live 3+ hours away. If I lived that for North (and I used to), I'd play there every day.
Other Thoughts: It costs about $5 for a day of all the golf you can play if you aren't staying there or sporting a yearly pass. If you think Mike and Michelle didn't earn every penny and then some, you're confused. Also, Michelle is an accomplished journalist and author. Read her books! If you can succeed on this course, go back home and play your local league to see how much you've improved.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.