Disc Golf Store
Lac Du Flambeau, WI 
Sandy Point Resort DG Ranch Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #19 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 228ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Sandy Point

1    7/28/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: michaelzenith
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful lay out of 27 holes
Each hole has a very unique personality
Multiple concrete pads for each hole that are clearly marked with a broom at each tee.
All throws must be used
Very clean, many trash and recycle cans through out the course.
All holes are very well marked. We never had to guess where the next pad was.
Pro shop and bathrooms were some of the best I have ever used on a course, great personality.
Very friendly staff.
Stunning views
Cons: Bugs, If it is spring and summer you must play with heavy duty bug spray. Our second time playing we ran out and needed to leave after 12 holes. We ran out of spray and just called it a day.
The course is on a beautiful resort so parking can be an issue.
The course will take some travel time to get there, but worth it.
Other Thoughts: Sandy Point gets very high grades with it's personality. If you want to know what the northwoods of Wisconsin can offer I encourage you to check this gem out!
My wife had played about 5 rounds with me before this course and seemed interested in the sport. AT HOLE 18 SHE TURNED TO ME AND SAID. "I GET IT, I'M HOOKED."
Since that time she has worked daily on her game. So Sandy Point gets huge points in my book for this alone!
Well done Sandy Point! Outstanding course, fantastic setting, wonderful experience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pretty much as good as it gets

2-4    7/3/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is laid out in beautiful Lac Du Flambeau. There are huge, level grippy concrete tee pads on every hole. Four holes have long and short tee locations. These holes are 6, 8, 14 and 15. There is some great elevation changes here with many up and downhill shots throughout. The course is very well marked with lots of next tee signs throughout which is always nice. They also provide you with a very detailed map in the pro shop before you start your round and have no problem answering any questions you may have. The pro shop is the best I've ever seen at any course. It's open from 10 A.M. to 5 P.M. daily. They've got hundreds of discs to choose from as well as stickers, towels, hats etc. There's multiple pin locations on all but 3 of they 27 holes. Theres a few with 3 different locations and hole 11 even has four possible pin locations. There are very nice Mach 3 baskets on every hole. These are all in excellent condition and catch great. There are a few outhouses throughout the course as well which is always nice to see. They also have brooms by most of the holes to brush any dirt or debris off the tee before you throw. This is an awesome little touch. Theres a pretty decent variation in hole length though most are on the shorter side. They can range anywhere from 134 feet up to 570 feet. Though most holes are shorter there are a number of extremely challenging lanes you need to hit to score well. Unlike some courses, these lines are challenging yet doable with most offering a few lines to choose from. They are garbage and recyclable cans throughout the course if you can't pack it out. The tee signs have hole #, a basic hole layout with the multiple pin locations shown, and distances for all pins as well. The Wisconsin disc golf hall of fame is located right behind hole 25's basket. This is a pretty cool little thing to check out while you're here. There are never too many people playing here at any given time making it a very peaceful, tranquil round of golf. The landscaping is also top notch, with there being bridges over any of the water that flows through the course and nice routes down and up the various hills you will traverse. It would be pretty hard to lose a disc here unless it really gets away from you. For as heavily wooded as it is the rough really isn't that thick. The old 54' Pontiac on the left side of hole 22's fairway is a cool little touch as well. Just an all around top notch course on a beautiful piece of property.
Cons: The two lake holes aren't open all year. Also the course is only open from the beginning of May to the beginning of November. There could be a few longer holes in an ideal world but that's not what this course is about. This is a tight extremely wooded course that will test your accuracy more than your distance. The only other thing I got is that the parking lot only has 5 spots. However I've never seen all 5 being used at once so again not that big of an issue.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area or even have to go out of your way to play this course I would strongly recommend it. This is probably the nicest course I've played to date in Wisconsin. And that's 75 courses so far. Totally worth the $5 to play all day. The only reason I gave it a 4.5 is that I haven't played every course so I don't give any course a 5. So a 4.5 speaks to how awesome this course is. A must play for any serious disc golfer.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Finally Made it to Sandy Point

1    11/3/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice DGA baskets.
2) Excellent large concrete teepads are a necessity to the enjoyment of this course as it would be tough to throw on dirt or grass on many of these holes.
3) Plenty of benches around the course for those interested in a nice relaxing round or for any tournament round.
4) Directionals are used very well to help guide you through the course.
5) There are some garbage cans around the course for those unable to pack it in and pack it out.
6) Brooms placed at every tee and attached to the tee-signs.
7) Yet another course with the use of an easement of some sort to create a cool and unique hole. This one is a tough slightly downhill and then uphill 15' wide fairway that is dead straight. I would recommend two mid-range shots that land flat with no skip.
8) Incredible shot selection on this course with all of the holes. 27 holes and not a single hole felt the same.
9) Water, trees, some moderately open shots, left to right, right to left, etc etc etc. There is enough variety here to make this an extremely fun course.
10) This course most definitely gets a private course/ambiance boost. The mystique of this course has been around for a while (much like Flip City) and I think it affects people as they come to play the course. This does not mean the course is any less than its rating, but at Sandy Point it is all about the experience . . . coupled with the disc golf. If I were to have only played this course at the Northwoods Open, I might rate it even higher than I did with this review, done very close to the close of the course for the season.
11) Beginner friendly . . . which may not be expected on such a highly rated course, but because they can do short, challenging, scenic, and still fun, beginner's will not want to miss this course. I think it is a little bit of a testament to how this course will stand up over time (again like Flip City). Old school players still love it, beginners can still enjoy it, and for a tournament course the ambiance is incredible. It is simply uniquely Northern Wisconsin.
12) Just an incredible piece of property for disc golf. This land couldn't be used for a big development, it couldn't be a sportsfield or a municipal park . . . it is so perfectly crafted for disc golf. Although they have thrown in some cabins and the disc golf hall of fame . . . it all is simply just a great place for disc golf . . . with a little resort on the side.
13) Nice elevation change on this course. It is always a huge benefit to be albeit to have to throw shots up and down and across the existing hills. I did not expect as much elevation as was available on this course so I was pleasantly thrilled.
14) Very nice landscaping on this property! Whoever was involved has put in some time out here.
15) Cabins for rent right on the property .. . it is called Disc Golf Ranch!!!!
16) 27 holes of fun and challenge and the North Woods
Cons: 1) There is a bit of monotony of the hole distances on this course. It is mostly short with a handful of longer holes. More variety is better, but I can still enjoy all the short holes too.
2) There could be a few more garbage cans, but I assume they are just taking care of it without charging us and adding more locations. Either way the bathroom is appreciated.
3) There are all sorts of stumps all around the course to potentially trip you.
4) There are a large amount of "potholes of the earth" where old trees must have lived or the soil has moved tremendously. I am not sure of the impact of this on you, but it is worth noting.
5) There are some areas where compaction has left the area with bare soil. I imagine this would be slick when wet, but it also leads to further erosion because there is nothing to resist the movement of the soil. This is an issue on every disc golf course and Sandy Point is no different, but it is something every course should address when funds are available. Erosion is one of the worst thing that a disc golf course causes at least environmentally speaking.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed my round at Sandy Point, even in spite of the fact I got a $175 speeding ticket just mile short of the course. Darn city folk coming to the country!!!! This is the perfect course for my tastes, lots of trees and mostly wooded course. It has elevation, water, variety of foliage and foliage density, and a whole lot more. It just has a little of everything. The holes are short enough for me to reach most, but still often times challenging. It makes execution extremely important and is a lot of fun when you pull off that great shot to get a birdie or even when you make an outstanding recovery shot to save par.
With this said, I was mildly disappointed compared to everything I had ever heard about Sandy Point. I can say that it is likely because all of the stories I have heard about this course and how awesome the place is, are coming from people who come up here to play the Northwoods Open. It falls on Labor Day Weekend and the whole event is just an experience on its own. I think those that play the Northwoods Open get a little "extra credit". The disc golf is 4.0-4.5 disc worthy, but the experience of the Northwoods, the hospitality of the Cozzens family, and the feeling of the Northwoods of WI add to that rating. This is not really a criticsm of the course or my experience, I just think my impression was super elevated because of all of the stories.
Did I have fun? Absolutely. Was it an awesome course? Yes. Would I come back again? If the State Troopers allow me to, Yes. Is the course one of the best in WI? Yes it still is one of the best courses in WI. But did it meet my lofty expectations? No, but only by a small margin. Had the Cozzens family been there, had I been able to browse the WI Hall of Fame and the proshop, had I had 30 of the top WI and beyond pros standing there while I throw my shot down to the lake on #26, and had I been able to hangout with all of my disc golf friends for an entire 3 day holiday weekend, I am sure my assessment of Sandy Point would match all of those stories that I have heard.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Sandy Point

5+    8/31/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 48  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 hole layout.
Multiple tees.
Multiple pins.
Nice maps on all the tees.
Multiple practice baskets.
Lots of elevation changes.
Very well groomed.
Private course.
Sandy Point Hall of Fame room/game room on-site.
Garbage cans.
A couple holes play near the water.
Pro shop with a nice selection.
Cabins for rent.
Beautiful north woods country.
Cons: A bit of a walk from one hole to another in a few spots.
Water holes closed in summer when the beach and dock are being used.
Pay to play, but well worth the cost
Bugs get pretty bad.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course that plays through some beautiful north woods forests. The layout is 25 holes with the two water holes as bonus holes. There are multiple practice baskets, multiple tees, and multiple pin locations. All adding to the very high replay value of this course.
Most of the fairways require a decent amount of accuracy, as the trees are abundant here. A few holes are tight and long, but most just require some nice touch. The use of elevation is nice on this course, with some tees built into the side of hills and others at the base of hills. There is a nice mix of left to right, right to left, and straight tight shots.
This course can be a challenge, but is also very fun for families and groups. There is a half dozen or so cabins for rent on the same property. There is lake access and a nice dock as well. Another nice feature is the hall of fame room/rec room, offering a nice look at some amazing disc golf memorabilia and a place to play a few games.
All in all this is a great course with amenities galore, and enough layout combinations to never get repetitive. A little in the middle of nowhere, but the area offers enough to keep most people occupied for at least a few days.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome place to play

1    6/7/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This beautiful private course plays through a heavily wooded and hilly piece of Wisconsin forest. More than half the holes have at least some elevation in play, and a few have severe ups or downs adding some great variety to the course. The majority of the holes play down wooded fairways with dense trees and brush waiting off the fairway to snag an errant shot and cost you a stroke. A few holes play in a more park style setting with scattered mature trees and no brush, and the last two holes bring the lake and docks into play. These last two holes are a lot of fun, and though they don't fit in with the rest of the course they definitely add to the variety and fun factor, especially with the last hole having the entire intended flight path over the lake.

There is an excellent variety of hole shapes here, with left and right turning shots, you'll need to hit lots of different lines to score well. This is even more the case when you look at the multiple pin positions and the few holes with alternate tees adding even more variety and in some cases more challenge. The course has some very unique holes, like the shot over the 50s Pontiac wrecked on the fairway (it's even on the course map!), or the flag hole shooting an ace run through some trees right at a large flag on the side of a cabin.

The course obviously puts the user fee to work here, with great maintenance and improvements. Every hole has at least one nice concrete tee, and several have two, all with good texture for grip. There is a broom at every tee pad to sweep the pad, nice touch. There are basic hole signs, that when combined with the course map make the flow extremely easy to follow, especially with some strategically placed next tee signs. The pro shop is well stocked, and the staff I came in contact with went out of their way to help. They opened up the shop an hour and a half after closing, then got a map and circled all the current pin positions.
Cons: The course is lacking a little length. The holes are almost all within range of a mid shot for better players, so there isn't as much challenge as there could be. It seems like that is slowly changing with the addition of long tees on many holes though, so this may not be a con for too long. Though the friendly staff marked our map with the current pin positions, without that there is no way of knowing, especially on the holes with new positions not on the hole signs (though it's awesome that they're constantly adding new tees and pin locations). This means if you don't have a map and some help, you'll need to scout on the many blind holes to know where to throw. The last two holes are a long walk away from the rest of the course, and are closed in the busy season, but are definitely worth playing if you have the chance.
Other Thoughts: This course is secluded and beautiful, and has some fun technical holes. It's definitely worth a stop on your way to Highbridge, and worth going out of your way for all on it's own. Beginners may find it technical and tough, with disc losing potential off the fairways. More experienced players won't find enough length to keep it from being a bit of a birdie fest at times, but it's a fun round nonetheless with some excellent shots.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding, not missing much

5+    5/26/2010   9/7/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2010
15 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Woods, water, low traffic, tranquil beauty - this course setting is gorgeous. The owners/designers are true disc golfers who know how to design a course for disc golfers who lover disc golf with a wooded challenge. Each hole offers a few routes to the pin. Multiple pin placements vary the difficulty. The rough here is also not as bad as Winter Park or other extreme/wooded type courses. The course winds it's way through the property and utilizes many different ridges and valleys for great holes with varied elevation. Tees are concrete and well kept up and there is even a broom at each one to clean off for your drive. The tee signs are very nice and flow/direction of play is easy to follow. Some of the more memorable holes are long tunnel shots along a power line ROW, throwing to the penninsula green with the lake bordering the entire right side (special tournament hole only), and numerous holes that require threading the needed through all the trees. Amenities like benches are are nice as well. More than 18 holes here definitely makes it worth the trip to the remote (but scenic) location. Try a late fall trip up here - it is quiet and amazing up here in late October!
Cons: Water holes not always in play, and no huge downhill ripper holes - that's about all. Only that SMALL bit of balance and variety that is missing from this amazing course. I typically complain about the concrete tees because I feel erosion and a lip on any side of the tee can lead to rolling an ankle. And the tees are typically not long enough either. Plus, concrete is always slippery when wet. I guess the same goes for the tees here, but it's really a personal con of mine - I'm in the minority of people who dislike concrete tees.
UPDATE: Oh yes, pay to play here is a con. Not because I don't like to pay for a great course, but because I then expect a whole new level of unique landscaping, amenities, etc. A few more elevated tees, terraced greens, ponds, landscaping etc, would be what I expect from a pay to play course. In this regard SPDGR falls short and hampers getting that 5 disc rating (but it IS oh so close). And the resort is simply not a disc golf complex, such that the amount of property does not yield a course with amazing variety - LONG holes, wide open rippers, downhill bombers, etc, etc.
Other Thoughts: Would be a 5 without question if it had at least one huge downhill ripper hole, and a few more 'beautification' items. Plus, the water holes are only in play off peak tourist season or for tournaments. These holes offer the complete balance one would look for. Everyone loves to air it out on those. Otherwise this course is a disc golf lovers paradise (beside being at a northwoods resort where many patrons do NOT disc). Taking the time to play this course, along with a trip to Highbridge, is a GREAT idea. This course has quiet, tranquil beauty of the WI northwoods. You get elevation, tight woods, long, short, and water hazards here. Sandy point is EXCELLENT! I love this type of wooded wonderland. Don't take any of the cons or nitpicking the wrong way (especially the pay to play con) because I LOVE this course and would play it if I were anywhere within an hour drive. The course itself is amazingly well designed, the property is gorgeous and unique with ravines and ridges propogating through a wooded wonderland. It simply lacks all the variety (long open holes, huge downhill bombers, uphill brutality, more water OB, etc) I seek to rate it a 5. It is however a destination course and a wooded course lovers dream come true.

15 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Pay the 5

5+    7/17/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.7 Years
16 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Paying $5 is nothing compared to the experience of playing here.

Just an outstanding course. Great fairways through the woods, with almost every possible challenge presented (elevation, obstacles, water, distance, etc). Presents both a challenge and an opportunity for every golfer who steps on the course. Looking at one hole, you might see a definite advantage for a power RHBH thrower, but a less powerful left-hander might have a different path with nearly equal success. Likewise, a first-time golfer can play this course, learn the game, and have a good time (not so with some other pro courses).

Multiple pin placements are nice for repeat trips, and different tee-pads provide different experiences on many holes.

The course continues to evolve, with additional holes being added as time goes on. I don't see this course as being limited to 27 holes in the future.

Again, really nice folks at the pro shop, with a huge selection of discs and other items. Spend some time talking with them; they designed the course and are avid golfers themselves.

Cons: Opportunities to lose discs are numerous. This being a pay-to-play course, however, the likelihood of your disc returning to you eventually is good.

Bugs are an issue, no lie. To me, the course is worth it. Bring bug spray. Wear or bring long pants. When things are really bad (like after a rain), a mosquito net hat is a good idea.

Lakeside holes (26 & 27) are closed during the peak summer tourist season.
Other Thoughts: This course is what disc golf is really about. Most courses you play would strive to be this course.

16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

  Do Yourself a Favor

7/19/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: Stubborn McFunkly
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: $5 is nothing to pay for the pure enjoyment of playing at Sandy Point. Located relatively near Highbridge, you would drive by it if you weren't looking for it. But, you know, if you were to take a weekend trip to northern WI, Sandy Point is a must-see. In fact, it may just end up being the high point of your entire weekend.

When you drive up, you see what is a meticulously manicured span of forest floor, complete with beautiful log cabins, the Wisconsin Disc Golf Hall of Fame (worth seeing just to say you did it), a nice parking area, and a complete pro shop. This is not just some dude selling discs out of his pickup. There are new and used discs, clothes, bags, souvenirs, and the owner of the place, who is a very kind and knowledgeable guy. Then comes the course.

Each hole is, in my opinion, perfectly thought out. That is to say, they fit perfectly with the surrounding landscape. Pin placement is generally interesting, and definitely gets harder as you progress through the course. I feel that the man who designed this course has great insight into this landscape, and therefore he is able to design in a very natural way, as if the course is a natural occurrence and has always been there. This sounds dramatic (and it is), but really, it's a beautiful course. Score cards are provided and each tee is cleanly swept (really, there is a broom hanging next to every tee). There are a couple of outhouses along the way, and they are some of the best outhouses I've seen.

Holes are on the short side, and because of the tree canopy, there's only so high you can hurl a disc. The trees can be difficult obstacles, and at times it is smart to play it conservative. Nonetheless, it is a lot of fun.
Cons: Very difficult to think of cons in this case. Mosquito content is high, though mileage may vary. I imagine skilled players will find this course to be pretty easy, but I also suspect that the sheer enjoyment of playing here will outweigh this potential downside.
Other Thoughts: I was hesitant to include a description of the pro shop, the cabins, and the outhouses in this review. They do not necessarily reflect the quality of the actual course. However, the way I see it, going to Sandy Point is a complete experience. If you're going to drive up there (and you should), it's nice to know it's more than just some pins in the ground. So, take my description of the grounds with a grain of salt. If it had been just pins in the ground, I may very well have rated Sandy Point a 4.5 anyway.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.