Lac Du Flambeau, WI 
Sandy Point Resort DG Ranch Share
Uploaded By: illyB420 Hole #24 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 353ft.   3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #24 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  The True Beauty of Wisconsin's Northwoods

5+    5/24/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: Ishb83
Played: 93  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the kind of course that you take someone to who doesn't understand your passion for the sport and for certain courses and as soon as they are finished playing it will silence all their doubts. This course highlights the true beauty of Wisconsin's northwoods. This course offers up ample amounts of fun for both the beginners and the experts. Multiple pin settings are always a plus in my opinion and it also has some holes with multiple pads to add challenge for the better players. This course is a must play for me at least once a year if not twice. It truly allows you to step away from the real world and just enjoy nature and disc golf. The course also allows for a great exercise with all the up and downs among its terrain. I am a big fan of wooded courses that take you away from the real world and this course goes far and beyond succeeding in that. In the past few years a couple of new tee pads have been added to give a couple of holes even more challenge which shows me that the owners of the course are interested in continuing to improve the already outstanding course. This course has short holes, long holes, holes that finish up hill, holes that finish downhill, holes to the right, holes to the left...it has it all. If you are lucky enough to play it, especially in spring or fall, then you will be able to experience their two water holes. Hole 27 may be my favorite hole to date. 300+ along a beach line with the basket on a peninsula with a creek behind it. The biggest pro at this course is that every year I go there it seems to get better and improve and I love seeing that in a course. There is also a pro shop located right next to hole one for another plus.
Cons: Only cons here is that the water holes, 26 and 27, are not open all year so if you happen to stop there in summer you may miss out on two of the most fun holes there.
Other Thoughts: If you have the chance to make it there do not hesitate. This course is well worth the trip. There are cabins located on the property that are available for rent and if you get a group together it is well worth the trip. Also, if you get a chance to play in one of their tournaments do not hesitate either because they are always a great time. Typically a gallery of people enjoying the sun on the beach and watching people from other divisions throwing hole 27. Just an all-out great experience every time. Also the course changes a great deal in challenge from the short pins to the long pins and this is an added benefit.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Paradise

5+    4/18/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: Sneaky Alligator
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Every hole is extremely wooded with excellent use of elevation. The fairways are rather tight and technical with punishing roughs. 4 holes have alternate tees, with #4B and #12 (new as of 2010) adding considerable difficulty. Of the 27 holes, only 4 lack alternate pin locations, and holes 8,9,14,20, and 21 have 3 pin placements. During the summer, there is a good mixture of long and short pin placements that make the course enjoyable for serious and recreational disc golfers alike. The course is constantly changing, with new holes, tees, or pin placements being added yearly before the annual Northwoods Open.
Cons: Only 2 holes reach 400 ft (both of these are over 500 ft). Holes #23 & #24 are not playable during resort season (May - Labor Day). There are a couple of blind pin placements (4B short, 5 long, 11, 13, 20 long 21 mid).
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best maintained course I have ever played, and certainly the only one with a full time greenskeeper (props to Stu!). This is one course where you can instantly see where your $5 greens fee is going!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Without a doubt, my favorite

2-4    9/5/2010   2/22/2011
Review By: falkenbd
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The land is beautiful. The course is kept up very well: tee pads are great, signage is great. Trash and recycling receptacles are available throughout the course. It is VERY obvious someone spends a lot of time cleaning up fallen trees, branches and other debris. Closest thing to a disc golf country club that exists. Other amenities are available as well

The course itself, requires one to use all the different shots you know. The holes tend to have a lot of trees, but defined fairways. Missing the fairway can be very punishing.
Cons: The 2 holes on the lake aren't up year round
Other Thoughts: If you get the chance, stay & play at Sandy Point. Nothing compares.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in the World!

5+    6/15/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: mcbrandt
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Extremely well-manicured course - fairways are well-defined and clean. Greens are well-defined and just as clean, if not cleaner, than the fairways. Garbages and recycling cans all over the course. Cement tee pads on every hole. Broom on each hole for sweeping tee off. Pro shop is awesome!! Tons of disc and other disc golf-related stuff. Cold beverages, too. Course makes you pull out many different shots/discs out of your bag. Probably the funnest course I've played.
Cons: There's only one 27-hole set-up. Not that this is really a con. It's better than eighteen holes, and eighteen is alright by me. Also, these are 27 great holes. Not one hole is 'weak' ... never was one hole created just because another one needed to fit in somewhere - if they wanted to pack 'em in, they could have 54 holes, easily.
Other Thoughts: Quite the technical course, but it also rewards distance off the tee from the long tees that are out there, as well as some of the long pin placements - Stu's Cafe (holes 4a, 4b & 4c) is a must-play. 4b from the long tee is awesome. Especially when the long pin is in!!! The owners, the Cozzens', are awesome, too. Great people who will surely make your experience there more than worthwhile. Also, Stu, yes, the guy who the Cafe is named after, is the course pro/greenskeeper/etc. He makes the course as beautiful as it is, year-round. He also has been adding new tees on some pre-existing holes...making some really long and tough holes out of what used to be good deuce opportunities...thanks a lot, Stu...

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 best course

2-4    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: discin311
Played: 75  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2009
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What can i say this is one of the best i have played everything is great
short and tight holes with some longer open holes very wooded
nice tees with 2 or 3 pin loc
Cons: not much here maybe some bug spray and can be wet from a while with most of the holes deep in the woods hard to dry up
Other Thoughts: i wish i could play here more but it is 5 and 1/2 hour from my house

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

5/19/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: kvanorsdel
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.3 Years
9 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It is hard to put into words the qualities of this course, but I will do my best. This course is very technical and long drivers are not needed to score well. You need to play smart to get a good score here. The facilities are top notch and the owners are great people. The course is well maintained and provides a great experience.
Cons: Bugs
Other Thoughts: This was my 2nd trip to Sandy Point with my family. My entire family enjoyed playing the course even my 6 and 2 yr old daughters. This is a must play course and if you get a chance to actually spend a couple days here you will not be sorry.

9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with a unique feel

9/21/2007   7/13/2008
Review By: -HUC-
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.2 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tucked away up north is a gem of a disc golf course. The course is tight and technical that feels very secluded and wild. It is heavily wooded with well used elevation changes. There is a big variety of length on the holes. They gradually build as you play further along the course.

There are pro and am tees, multiple pin placements on some holes, and tee signs. It is easy to navigate and because of the lack of under story plants it is easy to find your disc. There are concrete tee pads, nice baskets, and a custom score card. There is camping, fishing, boating, a pro shop, and the Wisconsin disc golf hall of fame. There is even a brewpub and a casino in addition all kinds of outdoor activities nearby.

The course is tight but fair, You need to bring every kind of shot with you to this course. It demands that you have good command of you drives or you will find yourself dumping back into the fairway. It can be tough to save par but you know you can make a run on the next hole. It separates good players from great players in a hurry. It is challenging while still being incredibly fun. All of it looks great and I love the signature hole.
Cons: The course is pay to play, but with 27 holes you get a lot for your money. The front nine are pretty short but the course gets progressively harder and longer so get your birds early. It is hard to get to but it is well worth the trip.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the funnest courses I have played. It is easily the best technical courses I have ever played. When I play holes that have tight woods I always compare them to this course. It is off the beaten path but it easy to make a weekend with so much to do in the area.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.