Disc Golf Center
Lac Du Flambeau, WI 
Sandy Point Resort DG Ranch Share
Uploaded By: illyB420 Hole #22 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #22 Mid-Fairway to Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
The gem of the Northwoods

1    5/29/2016   6/1/2016
Review By: Badger45
Played: 67  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - First impression as you drive in is that everything is well maintained. Nice driveways, nice teepads, great looking cabins, bathroom / laundry, and proshop.

- Parking right next to the Proshop and Hole 1 are a great way to start a round!

- All teepads had brooms, but were cleaned and ready to go for us.

- Garbage cans throughout the course, but not on every hole.

- Teepads and baskets are in great condition. Never once did I have to think about my footing on a drive.

- Fairways are clean of garbage and decently smooth in most areas. Some stumps to watch for, but not enough to matter. Terrain can be played with a cart, but there are a few areas to be careful.

- Safe landing zones off the ends of tee areas that need them.

- Course is designed to make you play through many of your shots. A good mix of long / med / short, as well as right / left / straight drives. and uphill / downhill drives. The rough is not going to be an easy out, but most areas allow you to at least get out in one throw.

- This course could be enjoyed by a range of players. Beginners would have a tough time on many holes, but would most likely enjoy the scenery and the challenge. Int - Open level players will find some fun challenges, mixed with opportunities for ace runs.

- Owners are great people who love the game. They took time to talk with us in the shop and are clearly passionate about what they do. Sandy Point is run well and with great care, which can't be said of many private courses.

- Cabins on-premise, or camping / rentals nearby around the Mont Du Lac and Minoqua areas.
Cons: - If I'm being very nit-picky, there was a long walkway over water between 4 and 5 that had a section loose. Everyone walked over just fine, but it looked a little scary. Nothing to worry about there, and I imagine it will be repaired very soon.

- Not really a con, but a caution - bring bug spray. It's just the way things are, so plan for it.
Other Thoughts: Sandy Point has been one of my best disc golf experiences to date. I would completely recommend that you try to get there at least once...so you get hooked and return many times. It embodies the charm of the Wisconsin Northwoods, but doesn't feel run-down or dirty, as many places tend to be. The $5 to play is a great value. The proshop is full of great discs that you probably are not going to see inside a B&M store. Lots of Innova Factory Store and Airforce discs were on the shelves, as well as CFRs and a huge selection of stock discs, accessories and gift items.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Northwoods Heaven

5+    4/17/2005   1/7/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 82  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 22.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is quite simply one of the most beautiful places on earth (and really, isn't that as much what disc golf is about as any technical aspects?). The course is not the longest, but the technical challenges are exceptional. It's densely wooded and modestly elevated with the water of nearby lakes in play on several holes.

You will not find a greater disc golf challenge on the planet in this distance range. Many courses are longer and force you to throw 3 of the same shots just to reach a hole, but this course will wear you out by testing your ability to throw a variety of shots from a variety of stances and around unusual obstacles.

You won't be disappointed.
Cons: Just about the only con to playing in WI in the summer in the northwoods is mosquitos. Be prepared.
Other Thoughts: It is pay for play, but it's also a lush vacation resort that includes free play when you stay in their cabins.
The amazing Highbridge Hills is only about 45 minutes away, as well as the wonderful city of Ashland and the South Shore Brewpub.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wisconsin Northwoods gem by the lake.

1    11/7/2015   11/20/2015
Review By: jasonc
Played: 147  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Excellent elevation and variety throughout this 27 hole course. Most holes are moderately to heavily wooded. Water hazards courtesy of Squaw Lake on 26 and 27 provide a nice finishing touch.

--Private course with a pro shop next to Hole #1. Well worth the $5 green fee to squeeze in as many rounds as you can in a day.

--This is a very well maintained piece of property. Much time and effort has been put into this course and it is evident throughout the round.

--Tee signs were good and included distance to ALL pins. Easy enough to follow for short and long tee pads.

--Teepads were excellent, long concrete pads with a plenty of room for a follow thru. Brooms were also provided, which is a nice touch.

--Routing/navigation. Maps are available at the pro shop but there are plenty of next tee signs to ensure that you don't get lost out.

--Baskets are solid and catch well with number plates on top.

--Signature hole(s). #11 with the big elevation change and super tight fairway. #15 with a number of guardian trees at 530' from the long pad. Also, #26-27. Risk/reward factor is high on both holes with the baskets sitting very close to the lake.

--High fun factor if you enjoy wooded courses.
Cons: Not much but....

--No true "grip it and rip it" type of hole for those who prefer them.

--If you are unable to stay on the fairways, you're going to have a bad time...especially from the long tees.

--I heard the bugs are bad during the summer months, but I was here in early November and didn't see 1 mosquito.
Other Thoughts: When you arrive at Sandy Point, you know you are in for a real disc golf treat. From the pro shop to the course and everything in between, Sandy Point should be on your wish list if you ever get an opportunity to travel to Wisconsin.

--The proshop includes a large selection of plastic, shirts, bags, etc along with books and jewelry for those interested in something other than disc golf.

--Rent a cabin for a night or 2 while you are here to fully immerse yourself in the Wisconsin northwoods.

Mike & Michelle Cozzens...thank you so much for a truly unique disc golf experience! Hope to get back up there soon!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and in great shape

2-4    9/4/2015   9/4/2015
Review By: jeremyhilss
Played: 23  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: BEAUTIFULLY maintained - tee boxes are in great shape, nice benches at every hole, no long grass or weeds, trash cans

Pro shop on site

Challenging - lots and lots of narrow, long lanes to hit - and number six. Oh boy number six will eat you up and spit you out if you are not dead on

Elevation - I can't even count how many tees are at the top of a ravine, and you shoot across or down it. A few shoot steeply up them as well.

Beautiful location, the woods that this course is in are magical

Water holes - if you can make it when 26 and 27 are open, they are awesome. Not long but the pins are precariously close to the water which of course is OB


Cons: A couple more open holess would even out the experience a bit

In all honesty, I think a COUPLE trees could be removed here and there. It makes it extremely challenging, but I think there's a bit of spray and pray on a few holes
Other Thoughts: Overall gorgeous course, one of the best maintained I have EVER been to thus far, and will be sure to provide a great time

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    7/18/2015   7/18/2015
Review By: rsulli03
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nicely wooded, yet well groomed. It was a pleasure to walk through the moss covered woods. Signage is well placed. Didn't have any trouble navigating the course the first time through.
Cons: Unless I missed it, something to show which hole placement is in use would be great, but as many of the holes are of reasonable legnth, taking a few steps to scout the pon location is not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: I'll return next time I'm within range.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

the hosts with the mosts

1    6/10/2015   6/10/2015
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 278  Reviewed: 271  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- area is largely disc golf exclusive. Some holes throw near the amenities and cabins but are separated enough to keep them "safe." The lake holes (26/27) are closed in the summer due to increased traffic and need to keep the beach safe from disc hits.

Teesigns-- Nicely done old school DGA signage gets the job done. Shows distance to ALL pins. Easy enough to follow. Long and short tees both have signage.

Teepads-- Some of the best out there. long concrete teepads with a gravel box for follow through. These are especially needed on the front 12 as there are plenty of tees that "overlook" the valleys where you could fall down a hill with a bad throw. Multiple tees in play on many holes keep the excitement factor high.

Routing/nav-- let me first start out by saying the map uploaded here is out of date. However, the proshop will readily give you a map and help to guide you through the course. Secondly, the abundance of next tee signs don't ever let you get lost out here, along with nicely worn paths through the woods.

Baskets-- DGA baskets with orange neck bands. Flags are used in areas where the basket could be hard to see in the thick woods

Rough-- the rough here is a tricky bitch but for the most part, finding a disc is pretty easy. The trick is, (of course) to keep it on the fairway, but with the over abundance of trees, bouncing out is always a challenge.

Signature holes-- #15 is the signature hole per the staff. I kind of look at this hole as a Jurassic Park hole. It looks like something out of a long-forgotten time. Very bright fairway (a definite change from the darker valley holes) with a LOT of guardian trees. Hole plays 500+ from the longs, in any course that's a challenge, in a heavily wooded course, bring your A game. And the lake holes, although we didn't make it to the lake holes due to mosquito anemia, the lake holes are the true signature here. Make it to the lake holes before they close for the summer, the window is VERY narrow.

Challenge/ Variety/ Elevation-- the challenge here comes from the variety. The front half is dominated by elevation in the form of many many valley holes, uphills and downhills with tight fairways. The back half is more flat but doesn't disappoint with the challenge factor. There is always the constant threat of trees and other fun in the woods.

Drainage-- the course drains nicely as it is mostly sand. It rained quite heavily the night before and the only real wet spots were the creek bed and surrounding. Other than that, there was no concern of soaked shoes.

Upkeep-- Immaculate. Not only were the fairways and greens freshly cut and easy to navigate, there were plenty of recycle/garbage cans throughout the course. This course screams pride in ownership and pride of locals.

Amenities-- Benches throughout were greatly appreciated as the course is a little physically punishing (not overly). The hall of fame, proshop, cabins (each with a practice basket), the communal practice basket and everything else truly add to the experience.
Cons:
Very few cons here, and some of them are minor and/or uncontrollables.

Bugs-- Holy crap. bug spray bug spray bug spray, about every 10 minutes or so. Bring 100% DEET if you can, and they may give you a little longer respite. the front half was definitely worse than the back as a creek runs through the front half and the areas are much lower but by the time we were done we were both about a quart low.

Out-of-Towner disadvantage-- It would be nice to have a list of what pin position the pins are in before you hit the course. It's not a huge deal as many drives here are placement shots but it would be nice to have as some of the alternates are on different sides of the fairway from the others.
Other Thoughts:
Mike and Michelle are unbelievable hosts. Not only did I get to meet and talk to both of them about our road trip but I was able to talk plastic with them!!! The proshop is amazing having a wide variety of plastic for sale (and some of my trip stamps now, wink wink) and I saw they got grip bags in the day we were there, shortly after

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Heaven

5+    9/5/2014   3/17/2015
Review By: Pinhigh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Perfect combination of elevation and scenery. Cabins and facilities on site as well as a pro shop. Unique holes ( car hole, lake holes, etc). It's easy to see why many call this place disc golf heaven
Cons: too far away from my home, but well worth it

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Sandy Point

1    7/28/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: michaelzenith
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful lay out of 27 holes
Each hole has a very unique personality
Multiple concrete pads for each hole that are clearly marked with a broom at each tee.
All throws must be used
Very clean, many trash and recycle cans through out the course.
All holes are very well marked. We never had to guess where the next pad was.
Pro shop and bathrooms were some of the best I have ever used on a course, great personality.
Very friendly staff.
Stunning views
Cons: Bugs, If it is spring and summer you must play with heavy duty bug spray. Our second time playing we ran out and needed to leave after 12 holes. We ran out of spray and just called it a day.
The course is on a beautiful resort so parking can be an issue.
The course will take some travel time to get there, but worth it.
Other Thoughts: Sandy Point gets very high grades with it's personality. If you want to know what the northwoods of Wisconsin can offer I encourage you to check this gem out!
My wife had played about 5 rounds with me before this course and seemed interested in the sport. AT HOLE 18 SHE TURNED TO ME AND SAID. "I GET IT, I'M HOOKED."
Since that time she has worked daily on her game. So Sandy Point gets huge points in my book for this alone!
Well done Sandy Point! Outstanding course, fantastic setting, wonderful experience.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty much as good as it gets

2-4    7/3/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 218  Reviewed: 152  Exp: 12.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is laid out in beautiful Lac Du Flambeau. There are huge, level grippy concrete tee pads on every hole. Four holes have long and short tee locations. These holes are 6, 8, 14 and 15. There is some great elevation changes here with many up and downhill shots throughout. The course is very well marked with lots of next tee signs throughout which is always nice. They also provide you with a very detailed map in the pro shop before you start your round and have no problem answering any questions you may have. The pro shop is the best I've ever seen at any course. It's open from 10 A.M. to 5 P.M. daily. They've got hundreds of discs to choose from as well as stickers, towels, hats etc. There's multiple pin locations on all but 3 of they 27 holes. Theres a few with 3 different locations and hole 11 even has four possible pin locations. There are very nice Mach 3 baskets on every hole. These are all in excellent condition and catch great. There are a few outhouses throughout the course as well which is always nice to see. They also have brooms by most of the holes to brush any dirt or debris off the tee before you throw. This is an awesome little touch. Theres a pretty decent variation in hole length though most are on the shorter side. They can range anywhere from 134 feet up to 570 feet. Though most holes are shorter there are a number of extremely challenging lanes you need to hit to score well. Unlike some courses, these lines are challenging yet doable with most offering a few lines to choose from. They are garbage and recyclable cans throughout the course if you can't pack it out. The tee signs have hole #, a basic hole layout with the multiple pin locations shown, and distances for all pins as well. The Wisconsin disc golf hall of fame is located right behind hole 25's basket. This is a pretty cool little thing to check out while you're here. There are never too many people playing here at any given time making it a very peaceful, tranquil round of golf. The landscaping is also top notch, with there being bridges over any of the water that flows through the course and nice routes down and up the various hills you will traverse. It would be pretty hard to lose a disc here unless it really gets away from you. For as heavily wooded as it is the rough really isn't that thick. The old 54' Pontiac on the left side of hole 22's fairway is a cool little touch as well. Just an all around top notch course on a beautiful piece of property.
Cons: The two lake holes aren't open all year. Also the course is only open from the beginning of May to the beginning of November. There could be a few longer holes in an ideal world but that's not what this course is about. This is a tight extremely wooded course that will test your accuracy more than your distance. The only other thing I got is that the parking lot only has 5 spots. However I've never seen all 5 being used at once so again not that big of an issue.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area or even have to go out of your way to play this course I would strongly recommend it. This is probably the nicest course I've played to date in Wisconsin. And that's 75 courses so far. Totally worth the $5 to play all day. The only reason I gave it a 4.5 is that I haven't played every course so I don't give any course a 5. So a 4.5 speaks to how awesome this course is. A must play for any serious disc golfer.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Way too many trees!

1    9/8/2012   3/23/2013
Review By: Jmpviper
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 26 Not
Pros: Some of the holes have a nice view. The water holes are good.
Cons: So many hills and trees that the holes start to bleed together. There aren't any holes where you can just throw the disc as hard as you can without worrying about losing your disc in the trees or water. Not enough parking.
Other Thoughts: I suggest playing a different course. There are so many better ones out there and this one doesn't deserve to even be in the discussion for best in Wisconsin.

0 of 26 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.