Lac Du Flambeau, WI 
Sandy Point Resort DG Ranch Share
Uploaded By: illyB420 Hole #20 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 263ft.   3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Sandy Point

1    7/28/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: michaelzenith
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful lay out of 27 holes
Each hole has a very unique personality
Multiple concrete pads for each hole that are clearly marked with a broom at each tee.
All throws must be used
Very clean, many trash and recycle cans through out the course.
All holes are very well marked. We never had to guess where the next pad was.
Pro shop and bathrooms were some of the best I have ever used on a course, great personality.
Very friendly staff.
Stunning views
Cons: Bugs, If it is spring and summer you must play with heavy duty bug spray. Our second time playing we ran out and needed to leave after 12 holes. We ran out of spray and just called it a day.
The course is on a beautiful resort so parking can be an issue.
The course will take some travel time to get there, but worth it.
Other Thoughts: Sandy Point gets very high grades with it's personality. If you want to know what the northwoods of Wisconsin can offer I encourage you to check this gem out!
My wife had played about 5 rounds with me before this course and seemed interested in the sport. AT HOLE 18 SHE TURNED TO ME AND SAID. "I GET IT, I'M HOOKED."
Since that time she has worked daily on her game. So Sandy Point gets huge points in my book for this alone!
Well done Sandy Point! Outstanding course, fantastic setting, wonderful experience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pretty much as good as it gets

2-4    7/3/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is laid out in beautiful Lac Du Flambeau. There are huge, level grippy concrete tee pads on every hole. Four holes have long and short tee locations. These holes are 6, 8, 14 and 15. There is some great elevation changes here with many up and downhill shots throughout. The course is very well marked with lots of next tee signs throughout which is always nice. They also provide you with a very detailed map in the pro shop before you start your round and have no problem answering any questions you may have. The pro shop is the best I've ever seen at any course. It's open from 10 A.M. to 5 P.M. daily. They've got hundreds of discs to choose from as well as stickers, towels, hats etc. There's multiple pin locations on all but 3 of they 27 holes. Theres a few with 3 different locations and hole 11 even has four possible pin locations. There are very nice Mach 3 baskets on every hole. These are all in excellent condition and catch great. There are a few outhouses throughout the course as well which is always nice to see. They also have brooms by most of the holes to brush any dirt or debris off the tee before you throw. This is an awesome little touch. Theres a pretty decent variation in hole length though most are on the shorter side. They can range anywhere from 134 feet up to 570 feet. Though most holes are shorter there are a number of extremely challenging lanes you need to hit to score well. Unlike some courses, these lines are challenging yet doable with most offering a few lines to choose from. They are garbage and recyclable cans throughout the course if you can't pack it out. The tee signs have hole #, a basic hole layout with the multiple pin locations shown, and distances for all pins as well. The Wisconsin disc golf hall of fame is located right behind hole 25's basket. This is a pretty cool little thing to check out while you're here. There are never too many people playing here at any given time making it a very peaceful, tranquil round of golf. The landscaping is also top notch, with there being bridges over any of the water that flows through the course and nice routes down and up the various hills you will traverse. It would be pretty hard to lose a disc here unless it really gets away from you. For as heavily wooded as it is the rough really isn't that thick. The old 54' Pontiac on the left side of hole 22's fairway is a cool little touch as well. Just an all around top notch course on a beautiful piece of property.
Cons: The two lake holes aren't open all year. Also the course is only open from the beginning of May to the beginning of November. There could be a few longer holes in an ideal world but that's not what this course is about. This is a tight extremely wooded course that will test your accuracy more than your distance. The only other thing I got is that the parking lot only has 5 spots. However I've never seen all 5 being used at once so again not that big of an issue.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area or even have to go out of your way to play this course I would strongly recommend it. This is probably the nicest course I've played to date in Wisconsin. And that's 75 courses so far. Totally worth the $5 to play all day. The only reason I gave it a 4.5 is that I haven't played every course so I don't give any course a 5. So a 4.5 speaks to how awesome this course is. A must play for any serious disc golfer.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Way too many trees!

1    9/8/2012   3/23/2013
Review By: Jmpviper
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: Some of the holes have a nice view. The water holes are good.
Cons: So many hills and trees that the holes start to bleed together. There aren't any holes where you can just throw the disc as hard as you can without worrying about losing your disc in the trees or water. Not enough parking.
Other Thoughts: I suggest playing a different course. There are so many better ones out there and this one doesn't deserve to even be in the discussion for best in Wisconsin.

0 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Over Rated

5+    8/7/2012   1/19/2013
Review By: ActionJackson
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: People who run this place are great! To have a good course this far up North Wisconsin is awesome. Landscape and scenery is nice and the water holes when open are a lot of fun.
Cons: Short and a lot of repeat throws. When it's busy the parking is not good. It's a decent course but in no way deserves the rating it has.

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Finally Made it to Sandy Point

1    11/3/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice DGA baskets.
2) Excellent large concrete teepads are a necessity to the enjoyment of this course as it would be tough to throw on dirt or grass on many of these holes.
3) Plenty of benches around the course for those interested in a nice relaxing round or for any tournament round.
4) Directionals are used very well to help guide you through the course.
5) There are some garbage cans around the course for those unable to pack it in and pack it out.
6) Brooms placed at every tee and attached to the tee-signs.
7) Yet another course with the use of an easement of some sort to create a cool and unique hole. This one is a tough slightly downhill and then uphill 15' wide fairway that is dead straight. I would recommend two mid-range shots that land flat with no skip.
8) Incredible shot selection on this course with all of the holes. 27 holes and not a single hole felt the same.
9) Water, trees, some moderately open shots, left to right, right to left, etc etc etc. There is enough variety here to make this an extremely fun course.
10) This course most definitely gets a private course/ambiance boost. The mystique of this course has been around for a while (much like Flip City) and I think it affects people as they come to play the course. This does not mean the course is any less than its rating, but at Sandy Point it is all about the experience . . . coupled with the disc golf. If I were to have only played this course at the Northwoods Open, I might rate it even higher than I did with this review, done very close to the close of the course for the season.
11) Beginner friendly . . . which may not be expected on such a highly rated course, but because they can do short, challenging, scenic, and still fun, beginner's will not want to miss this course. I think it is a little bit of a testament to how this course will stand up over time (again like Flip City). Old school players still love it, beginners can still enjoy it, and for a tournament course the ambiance is incredible. It is simply uniquely Northern Wisconsin.
12) Just an incredible piece of property for disc golf. This land couldn't be used for a big development, it couldn't be a sportsfield or a municipal park . . . it is so perfectly crafted for disc golf. Although they have thrown in some cabins and the disc golf hall of fame . . . it all is simply just a great place for disc golf . . . with a little resort on the side.
13) Nice elevation change on this course. It is always a huge benefit to be albeit to have to throw shots up and down and across the existing hills. I did not expect as much elevation as was available on this course so I was pleasantly thrilled.
14) Very nice landscaping on this property! Whoever was involved has put in some time out here.
15) Cabins for rent right on the property .. . it is called Disc Golf Ranch!!!!
16) 27 holes of fun and challenge and the North Woods
Cons: 1) There is a bit of monotony of the hole distances on this course. It is mostly short with a handful of longer holes. More variety is better, but I can still enjoy all the short holes too.
2) There could be a few more garbage cans, but I assume they are just taking care of it without charging us and adding more locations. Either way the bathroom is appreciated.
3) There are all sorts of stumps all around the course to potentially trip you.
4) There are a large amount of "potholes of the earth" where old trees must have lived or the soil has moved tremendously. I am not sure of the impact of this on you, but it is worth noting.
5) There are some areas where compaction has left the area with bare soil. I imagine this would be slick when wet, but it also leads to further erosion because there is nothing to resist the movement of the soil. This is an issue on every disc golf course and Sandy Point is no different, but it is something every course should address when funds are available. Erosion is one of the worst thing that a disc golf course causes at least environmentally speaking.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed my round at Sandy Point, even in spite of the fact I got a $175 speeding ticket just mile short of the course. Darn city folk coming to the country!!!! This is the perfect course for my tastes, lots of trees and mostly wooded course. It has elevation, water, variety of foliage and foliage density, and a whole lot more. It just has a little of everything. The holes are short enough for me to reach most, but still often times challenging. It makes execution extremely important and is a lot of fun when you pull off that great shot to get a birdie or even when you make an outstanding recovery shot to save par.
With this said, I was mildly disappointed compared to everything I had ever heard about Sandy Point. I can say that it is likely because all of the stories I have heard about this course and how awesome the place is, are coming from people who come up here to play the Northwoods Open. It falls on Labor Day Weekend and the whole event is just an experience on its own. I think those that play the Northwoods Open get a little "extra credit". The disc golf is 4.0-4.5 disc worthy, but the experience of the Northwoods, the hospitality of the Cozzens family, and the feeling of the Northwoods of WI add to that rating. This is not really a criticsm of the course or my experience, I just think my impression was super elevated because of all of the stories.
Did I have fun? Absolutely. Was it an awesome course? Yes. Would I come back again? If the State Troopers allow me to, Yes. Is the course one of the best in WI? Yes it still is one of the best courses in WI. But did it meet my lofty expectations? No, but only by a small margin. Had the Cozzens family been there, had I been able to browse the WI Hall of Fame and the proshop, had I had 30 of the top WI and beyond pros standing there while I throw my shot down to the lake on #26, and had I been able to hangout with all of my disc golf friends for an entire 3 day holiday weekend, I am sure my assessment of Sandy Point would match all of those stories that I have heard.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Sandy Point

5+    8/31/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 48  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 hole layout.
Multiple tees.
Multiple pins.
Nice maps on all the tees.
Multiple practice baskets.
Lots of elevation changes.
Very well groomed.
Private course.
Sandy Point Hall of Fame room/game room on-site.
Garbage cans.
A couple holes play near the water.
Pro shop with a nice selection.
Cabins for rent.
Beautiful north woods country.
Cons: A bit of a walk from one hole to another in a few spots.
Water holes closed in summer when the beach and dock are being used.
Pay to play, but well worth the cost
Bugs get pretty bad.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course that plays through some beautiful north woods forests. The layout is 25 holes with the two water holes as bonus holes. There are multiple practice baskets, multiple tees, and multiple pin locations. All adding to the very high replay value of this course.
Most of the fairways require a decent amount of accuracy, as the trees are abundant here. A few holes are tight and long, but most just require some nice touch. The use of elevation is nice on this course, with some tees built into the side of hills and others at the base of hills. There is a nice mix of left to right, right to left, and straight tight shots.
This course can be a challenge, but is also very fun for families and groups. There is a half dozen or so cabins for rent on the same property. There is lake access and a nice dock as well. Another nice feature is the hall of fame room/rec room, offering a nice look at some amazing disc golf memorabilia and a place to play a few games.
All in all this is a great course with amenities galore, and enough layout combinations to never get repetitive. A little in the middle of nowhere, but the area offers enough to keep most people occupied for at least a few days.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The True Beauty of Wisconsin's Northwoods

5+    5/24/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: Ishb83
Played: 93  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the kind of course that you take someone to who doesn't understand your passion for the sport and for certain courses and as soon as they are finished playing it will silence all their doubts. This course highlights the true beauty of Wisconsin's northwoods. This course offers up ample amounts of fun for both the beginners and the experts. Multiple pin settings are always a plus in my opinion and it also has some holes with multiple pads to add challenge for the better players. This course is a must play for me at least once a year if not twice. It truly allows you to step away from the real world and just enjoy nature and disc golf. The course also allows for a great exercise with all the up and downs among its terrain. I am a big fan of wooded courses that take you away from the real world and this course goes far and beyond succeeding in that. In the past few years a couple of new tee pads have been added to give a couple of holes even more challenge which shows me that the owners of the course are interested in continuing to improve the already outstanding course. This course has short holes, long holes, holes that finish up hill, holes that finish downhill, holes to the right, holes to the left...it has it all. If you are lucky enough to play it, especially in spring or fall, then you will be able to experience their two water holes. Hole 27 may be my favorite hole to date. 300+ along a beach line with the basket on a peninsula with a creek behind it. The biggest pro at this course is that every year I go there it seems to get better and improve and I love seeing that in a course. There is also a pro shop located right next to hole one for another plus.
Cons: Only cons here is that the water holes, 26 and 27, are not open all year so if you happen to stop there in summer you may miss out on two of the most fun holes there.
Other Thoughts: If you have the chance to make it there do not hesitate. This course is well worth the trip. There are cabins located on the property that are available for rent and if you get a group together it is well worth the trip. Also, if you get a chance to play in one of their tournaments do not hesitate either because they are always a great time. Typically a gallery of people enjoying the sun on the beach and watching people from other divisions throwing hole 27. Just an all-out great experience every time. Also the course changes a great deal in challenge from the short pins to the long pins and this is an added benefit.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Summer 2012

1    6/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: sunnya527
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Nice course long enough to get some good walking in. Love the uphill throws. I am newer to discing but completely thought this was fun and challenging.
Cons: For people who don't know where to look for the "next tee" signs you have to look up in the trees. some are hidden a bit as I had to help some people figure out where to go. 2 holes I was looking forward to close for summer. could use more garbage cans and maybe porta potties.
Other Thoughts: Little confusing sometimes on pin position. Bring good bug spray. Don't wear flip flops or lose shoes and there are some spots you can slide easily.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Woods Course!

1    6/9/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course at Sandy Point is set on the type of land you would expect to find in northern Wisconsin- beautifully wooded, a secluded feel, pristine nature, crisp clear air, and land made for disc golf with just the right amount of elevation mixed in. The course is very-well manicured and has that perfectly aged and mature look and feel. This is basically your shorter technical woods course, but is easily one of the best of this type anywhere. The is a perfect mix of left, straight, and right holes combined with elevation of flat, up and down along with a decent variety of hole distances allowing each hole to be different from the rest (not easy to do for 27 holes in the woods!) Most obstacles will of course be trees, and there is enough rough to punish errant shots, but not so stupid thick to swallow discs for good. I loved that both the fairways and paths to the next tee were well-worn making navigation a breeze. The baskets and tees are great. Tee signs were adequate.

I found this course to be extremely fun, relaxing, and enjoyable. There are lots of birdie opportunities, but no gimmees. The owners are what make this course special. It is obviously the love and passion they have for their course and the sport as a whole. The entire family works at the resort, they know disc golf and love to talk disc golf with you, and were delighted to have us come play. (I have to point out here the contrast to the owner of nearby Highbridge who does not actually play disc golf himself and it is easy to see the difference that makes in a course.) Be sure to check out the pro shop- they have an incredible collection of collector and out-of-production discs both on display and for sale. The pro shop was run by their daughters who also know their disc golf! SPDGR is also home to the Wisconsin Disc Golf Hall of Fame- but I did not check that out.

I did not stay here, but the resort offers luxurious cabins for rent. (Again in contrast to nearby Highbridge which offers housing options on the more rustic side of the scale, of which may be preferred.) There are other activities here as well including a swimming beach, boating, fishing, etc. The nearby town had lots to offer tourists- shops, restaurants, etc. This is a really nice place to bring the whole family.
Cons: Barely any- the course is just about as perfect as it can be with what the land has to offer. But the tee signs are older. And some of the next tee signs seemed to point slightly in the wrong direction, but with the worn paths and the course map, navigation was fine. It was really hard to find #23 and 24, which are the two holes set completely apart from the rest of course along the edge of the lake and the swimming beach- if Mrs. Owner had not seen us wondering around we probably never would have found them. These holes are not in character with the other holes and are not playable all the time. I would consider them more of a novelty, or bonus holes. The 2 baskets are right on the water, but it is super shallow and clear and easy to get your disc if not totally launched out to sea.
Other Thoughts: It is $5 a day to play, which may be a little high in my opinion, but not unreasonable seeing that the amount of work that goes into the course. If playing Highbridge again, I would actually consider staying here and then making the 1.5 hour drive, rather than staying in the Honka House, but I prefer more modern accommodations. However, the price of the cabins are on the high side from I am used to paying for comparable cabins.

Hole numbering- after 4, there is 4a - 4b - 4c, and then 5, which is how there is 27 holes. (Although since then there is a note on their webpage that the holes have now been renumbered 1-27).

I highly recommend playing this course if also coming to Highbridge. The course itself is probably more like a 3.5, but the resort as a whole, especially the passion displayed by the owner and his disc golf loving family made for one of the best disc golf experiences I have had, boosting my total rating to a 4.0. Be sure to read the excellent recent reviews of ZMan, TallPaul, and Mashnut as well as I agree with everything they say about this place.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Wooded Course

1    6/9/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Seclusion: Sandy Point is located on a small resort property...but you feel like you are far away from everything. The course is calm and quiet. The air is fresh and crisp. It is an amazing piece of property and well cared for.

Design: While the holes are not long, there is an abundance of fairway shapes. There are tight anhyzers, long tunnel shots, and then a few open holes near the end.

Closing Holes: I suggest that if you play this course, try to make the trip before the busy season, during which 23 and 24 may not be playable. These holes offer a very unique feel in comparison to the rest of the course. #23 is a daunting tee shot....even though you are probably throwing a putter. As for hole #24: I have seen a number of shots that border a lake...but very few with a beach-type waterfront. The pin position is also incredibly challenging as it rests on a tiny inlet.

Score Dispersion: Any good course must have a solid score dispersion. When you are having a great day, you should shoot about 5 or 6 strokes better than your average day. When you are off, 5 or 6 strokes worse. I have played a number of courses where, after playing, I could go back and estimate my score to within a 4 stroke spread and be right 99.9% of the time. Sandy Point offers this without the length. The fact that most of the holes are short does not make them easy. I could see myself shooting a -10...or a +4. I like that aspect of this course a lot. Accuracy reigns supreme here.

Navigation: Maps are available but almost unnecessary. Navigation was very straightforward. While the course is almost exclusively wooded, paths are well-worn. It would be hard to lose your way.
Cons: There really aren't many cons. The course is almost totally wooded. If wooded courses are not your "cup-of-tea" then you probably won't like the course. Personally, I am not a huge fan of wooded courses, but this is the best predominantly wooded course I have ever played.

While most of the course is easily navigable, finding the final two holes is a little tricky. Just follow the road to the back of the resort and you should find #23 tee. This is just a minor issue.
Other Thoughts: Sandy Point Resort is a spectacular place with amazing terrain and great views of the lake. The course is solid using excellent variety and changes in elevation. Honestly, as I previously stated, I have never played a better course that was predominantly wooded. This place has a very special vibe.

I really struggled with this rating as I really want to bump the score up to a 4.5 due to the pro-shop, friendly staff and other resort amenities. However, since this is a "course" review, I feel confident in my assessment of Sandy Point as an "excellent" course.

We played this course on our way home from Highbridge. Highbridge has some amazing courses. If I was to compare this course to a Highbridge course it would be Woodland Greens. However, the Sandy Point course is much better in my opinion than Woodland Greens. Highbridge has the space for larger, more open courses. But Sandy Point is not to be overlooked if you are traveling through Northern Wisconsin and you have discs with you.

They always say that a good coach brings out the best in his players. The designers and crew at Sandy Point have gotten the most out of this property with regards to the disc golf course. I cannot think of a single design aspect I would change. It is truly a gem.

If you are in the area, definitely check this course out. I don't think you will be disappointed...unless you throw 600 feet and that is your only disc golf related skill. $5 is not bad at all for this cool secluded course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.