Mobile, AL 
Langan Park Share
Uploaded By: ninja-don Hole #11
5 / 335ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nicest in town

1    7/12/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: KNIGHT
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course layout was challenging, but not over challenging. Concrete tee pads on all holes with good signage. Best in town, this wasn't saying much in my opinion seeing that on most courses in town didn't even have tee signs.
Cons: The course did not have many shots that were a real challenge, it had a real throw this disc twice then putt mentality the whole time I played. Some holes did have odd or difficult transitions and could use some signage that points to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I played with a great group of players that I picked up with that made the experience much more enjoyable. The course had few flaws but does need some diversity and this game doesn't have to be all distance to be difficult.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Finally played this course...

1    4/30/2014   5/2/2014
Review By: hammerhead611
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2014
Pros: *Nice mix of short tosses among trees and long bomber throws
*Nice usage of water hazards (I'd heard horror stories of the water when I first stsrted playing years ago but they weren't that bad)
Cons: *The small bridges on the last few holes didn't feel very sturdy
*Couple of confusing holes (think it was) #7 and one of the last holes that I had trouble finding
*Several holes were missing the tee signs (posts were there but the actual signs were missing. Don't know if they were blown off in the storm or if someone decided to take them).
Other Thoughts: I wish I would have played this course a long time ago. I really enjoyed the variety of hope distances and arrangements, ranging from short to long throws, water hazards to wide open throws.

Surprisingly, the course was in fairly good condition. There area a couple of places still holding water and were very damp, but I was very surprised that it wasn't as wet as I thought it would be especially after the epic rainfalls we had this week.

 Fun February Frolfing

1    2/6/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of lefts and rights, short and long holes
Concrete tee pads
Signs denoting baskets and yardage for each hole
Water hazards make it interesting
Well maintained, not much trash at all and no overgrowth (though I did play in February)
Baskets in good condition
Fairly easy to navigate
Friendly locals
Ample parking
Cons: No real doglegs or tight skill shots
No major elevation changes (Can't ask for much being near the coast)
7 holes with water hazards! (I know I put it as a pro as well, but I can imagine many people lose discs)
Other Thoughts: Played this course on the way through town and had a great time. Most shots are pretty wide open, making it a good course for beginners and good opportunities for birdies for more advanced players. I'm much more used to wooded courses so this was a fun change. On a few where I could just bomb it and not worry about hitting much.

The water definitely adds a sense of risk to big drives, but I didn't have to go swimming.

I would have given it a higher rating if there were more skill shots involved (most holes had a straight shot open), but that has more to do with the park's trees than the course itself.

No tight fairways was a change for me, but overall a very fun course. Will definitely play again if I'm in the Mobile area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A course with decent variety

1    10/2/2010   2/5/2012
Review By: The Drake
Played: 90  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Langan park tests the complete golfer. Set in a public park the course utilizes a wide variety of the terrain in the park.

There are a good mix of shots on this course. Though primarily an "open" course there are plenty of holes which utilize natural trees and other obstacles to provide designated fairways. A few holes even play near some water adding a little sphincter effect to the shots. There are some great hyzer/anzyhzer shots. A good course to practice rollers, sidearms, and nearly any other shot you may need in a standard game. Multiple routes typically exist for almost every hole. I was not bored while playing this course.

Tee signs are present on every hole with seemingly accurate distances and "next tee" directions.

Tee pads themselves are excellent. Concrete, flush to the ground and wide enough for a good run-up for some of the longer holes.

Primarily a course for testing control and accuracy off the tee there are a couple of nice bomber holes in the more open areas which allow you to air it out.
Cons: Like most of the course I have played in the Mobile area this course is pretty flat. Though not always a big deal I personally feel as though elevation is a must to take a course up a notch.

It has been a little while since I have played the course but I do remember it being difficult to navigate. As the course encompasses a wide area of the park and is pretty open the location of tee pads is not always intuitive from the previous pin.

I played during a random weekend when there was a local cross country meet taking place. I have driven by the park a few other times and have gotten the impression that it can be a very busy course which may make for some extended rounds as you wait for non-golf patrons to safely get out of the way.

Otherwise not a lot of negatives about the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course. Not flashy but well designed in terms of providing for some cool shots. Hole 18 is definitely a tough hole to end on which really tests every part of a good disc golfers game.

I would definitely suggest this course to play if you're in the area. A great complement to the other wooded courses in town. The only reason it does not get higher marks it because I compare it to all of the other courses I have played and reviewed and it is not quite to their level.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Park Course

1    12/26/2010   1/17/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large grassy park with open fields, areas with scattered trees, and some areas that have denser trees and some brush to contend with. That makes for some nice variety throughout the course, with some open bomber type shots to stretch your arm, some holes where you have multiple lines to choose from through the trees, and a few tunnel type shots. There are several water hazards in play, and they're used well to make challenging but fair holes that will punish errant drives. A couple holes have risky basket placements near the water hazards, making for some fun greens.

There is a decent mix of hole shapes on the shots that have more defined lines. you'll need to throw some different shots to be successful on the tighter parts of the course. There is good length variety here, with a few holes long enough to really stretch out your arm and some shorter ace run shots mixed in.

The park is well cared for in general, with not a lot of trash or vandalism. The tees are nice concrete pads with enough texture that they're not slippery even with a little water on them. The signs are basic, but have plenty of information to know where to throw for the most part. The course flows well enough that there are only a couple spots that aren't obvious where to find the next tee. Even then, those couple spots aren't all that hard to figure out.
Cons: The alternate pin placements looked like they would change up the course nicely, adding some variety and different looks to the course, but with some hidden pins from the tees it would be nice for the signs to indicate the current pin position. There are a few holes where you'll have to walk up to see exactly where to throw. It looked like the alternate tees would change things up too, but with natural pads I can't see them getting all that much use compared to the nice concrete set.

The course gets a little repetitive at times, with several holes that are mostly open field shots with just a few trees. There are some great holes here, but there are also a few that really just feel like they're only there to get you to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park course with some cool holes, but also some boring, typical park holes. Beginners might find it a little long, and some of the water hazards could be intimidating for newer players. More experienced throwers will find some cool challenges and some holes to air it out a little more, but it's a little lacking in different challenges to be a top notch course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great time at Muni

2-4    6/12/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TheCarGuy
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
Pros: Very pretty park and fun to play. Has a good variety of shots. Water is in play on multiple holes and forces you to choose your shot carefully. There are plenty of opportunity's to birdie or bogey. There is usually more than one route to the basket which forces you to think.
Cons: Can be very crowded, Very open so there is not a lot of shade. I could see where pros might find it on the easier side.
Other Thoughts: Very fun to play. I played it the day before a tourny and then again during the tourny. I would highly recommend playing this and USA if you are in the Mobile area.

 Decent course...

1    6/26/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Madmoojuice
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
Pros: - Good variety of skill shots for all
- Very good use of water hazards!
- Good looking park
- Not too crowded in the morning
Cons: - Watch for runners/walkers!
- Very good use of water hazards!
- Occasional hole is hard to find if not familiar
- Not completely out in the sun, but a lot is
Other Thoughts: Overall, I'd recommend this course to anyone looking to play in the area. It was a good all-round course. Watch for the water on a few of the holes, especially 18. The basket is on a very small island. If you miss, its going into muck...deep, thick muck.

 Good course

2-4    3/20/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Probably the best tee boxes in the area

2) Challenging shots across and beside water.

3) Very Clean Course

4) Multiple tees on almost every hole

5) A Wide Variety of challenges from sheer distance, to water hazards, to accuracy through trees.

6) Hole 18 is the single most challenging hole i've ever played
Cons: 1) Course has an odd layout, Hard to navigate without some help (which is normally not a problem on the weekends, because the course can be a little crowded)

2) with 500+ foot par 3 holes, it's tough for relatively new players to get anywhere near par

3)To get to hole 15 from hole 14, you must cross over holes 16 and 17 (odd layout)

4)can be very Muddy after rain

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/2/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Slugger
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for all levels of play. The concrete tee boxes are in great shape and even have extensions on a few of the long holes. Many of the holes have multiple basket locations that they change out every now and then. There are signs on each whole that give distances to both basket locations as well as a preferred shot.
Cons: The creeks that run through the course need to be cut on a regular basis during the summer months. The brush is real thick and if you throw a disc in the brush you better now right where it is or it is most likely gone. Definitely watch out for snakes. As of yesterday the bridge to get to the basket on hole 15 was covered with thick brush so be careful.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I love playing it. There is always someone there playing it so at times it can be crowded. I recommend to play this course if you're ever in Mobile.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Do you like DISTANCE????

1    11/16/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite "PRO" of any course is when they are free, and this one was free!!!
Signs are pretty nice, they show you where the tee's are, and the baskets... which there are more than one placements on most of the holes as well as the direction to the next hole. They have a line on them to show the recommended path of the flight.
The course is very clean, and has plenty of friendly people on it. Well maintained grass, trees, etc...
Holes were very challenging, but not impossible... most of the time you could see or move to where you could see the baskets from near the tee (with the help of the tee signs).
Cons: Some of the signs show basket placements that are incorrect.
No course map. (pay attention to the tee signs for the direction to the next tee.)
The tee signs had dual distances on most of them, but didn't tell you witch was the correct distance, also they had optional tees on the signs, but no tee pads for those tees, or distance from them.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome, very open. Can be very deceptive on the distance, especially if you've played on courses that are small and cramped.
PAY ATTENTION TO THE TEE SIGNS if it is your first time playing here, it will help you find the next tee. The tees are very easy to see, but you may not be looking at the right tee.
I was debating putting this under CONS, but it's not too bad I guess... But the 9th hole ends across the park from the 1st tee, so if you were only planning to play 9 holes, you'll want to park somewhere in the middle.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.