Mobile, AL 
Langan Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGlueGunner Hole #8
5 / 555ft.   3 / 555ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Enjoyed this course.

2-4    7/16/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Preach
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 38.2 Years
Pros: Played this course twice on my way through Mobile. Once I located the opening hole it was relatively easy to navigate. The holes provided a nice mix of skill and distance. There was some water on several holes with number 18 the most challenging for me. You tee out of a tunnel and then chip to a hidden basket on an island. The jumper hole, "A", was great for my forehand style.
Cons: The tee marker for number 14 was not there.
Other Thoughts: Will certainly play this course again if I get a chance.

 Fun course

5+    12/2/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: tank4141
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short easy hole up to long pro holes with open rolling hills and few pine trees. Perfect course for the big arms off the tee with one hole over 600ft.
Cons: Every hole is a par 3 but I've always played the 525+ft holes as par 4's but they can be done in 3.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Par5

1    10/9/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: WaterLogged
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice open well maintained park. Long holes to practice distance drives. A good variety of lefts and rights. Open tee area for driving.
Cons: Very long holes. Makes for a nice walk through he park.
Other Thoughts: Hazards arent too bad and i never had to look for my disc.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One Of Mobile's Best

5+    9/30/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: BamaBlake
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course, layed out and designed very well. Brings all shot variety into play. Always kept up and clean. 8 foot concrete tee pads and nice hole markers on every hole.The finishing hole is on an island surrounded by water and muck which makes for an interesting finish.
Cons: There really isn't any cons about this course. The only thing I can think of is that for some players, alot of the holes are going to be long and hard to par from the regular tee pads, but if that is the case, they have red tees that shorten the long holes significantly. There is also snakes at this course, but I have only seen them down in the ditches and in the water, but alot of the holes play around the ditches, and I actually know a guy in our league who was bitten by one trying to get his disc out of one of the ditches.
Other Thoughts: This is really a great course. This course will make you have to throw every shot in your bag. It has a 660 foot par 3, and another 590 foot par 3 that requires two great anhyzers to reach the basket, which has about a 20 foot drop off into muck if you can't get your second shot to hold it's line. I am a local, and if you are asking about the course in Mobile, it is know as "Municiple Park" and not Langan.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great but not a par 3 every hole.

1    3/30/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: Great course with many different shots included. Every level can enjoy this course. You can let your disk really fly for many holes.
Cons: Many holes should have been at least a par 4. Last 4 holes were very confusing by the layout of the course. Directional signs need to be updated.
Other Thoughts: Loved this one but skipped holes because of the layout of the last 4. Soon as that is fixed this will be a perfect course.

 Try and finish strong! 17 and 18 are TOUGH

1    12/31/2009   1/5/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Huge concrete trapezoidal tees. Always a staple to make me enjoy my round a little more.

2) Benches and garbage were visible in many spots. Not essential aspects of a good course but it generally does keep the course cleaner, and on busy days would mak your round a little more enjoyable.

3) DGA Signs are in pretty good shape. I like these tee signs in that they show some obstacles and the general routing of the hole. They list the distances and the hole # making finding your next hole easier.

3) DGA baskets with # plate and they always are facing the tee, which is something I think needs should have attention paid to it on many courses. It really helps the first timer to find the correct basket.

4) Course has a pretty interesting layout. There are some cool parts of this property and all of them are used in the design.

5) Water was used on several occassions which is an asset because this course is definitely lacking in elevation change. It is a fairly flat property so having water and tucked baskets (and sometimes combinations of both) goes a long way in making this course enjoyable.

6) Park has a classic open feel with wall to wall turf but with spotty trees placed (I know the baskets are placed around the trees but it is easier to say this way) to force you to pick your lines.

7) Portopotty by the ampitheatre is acceptably close to the 1st tee and also to hole #7.

8) The closing holes on this course are the hardest of the day. Tight fairways (not just with trees but also with water). Setting the 18th basket where it is took some imagination and forethought, from the fairway the landing area looks tiny but I found it to be bigger than it looked from that distance . . . and I parked my approach from about 150 to give myself a drop in par . . . I was very thankful.

9) Artificial OB and a mando give some interest to holes 9 and 10.

10) Turf and grounds are in good shape, the trees seem to be well maintained and the park is obviously a priority for the municipality. It is massive and open and includes all sorts of activities and amenities. I could spend all day here if I wasn't on the road.

11) Beginner friendly course because of its open feel. The last few holes might be tough for beginners because of how close the basket are to water and trouble, but they just have to be aware of the areas.

12) Variability in hole distance is large. This is a big bonus here also because it forces you to throw different discs and have different length approaches. Some of them are not reachable in 2 shots for many people so that third shot is crucial to limiting yourself to a 4.
Cons: 1) Compaction and erosion are visible in many spots on the course. It isnt surprising because of the local soils. It is going to happen, but it does take away from the course.

2) No really tight wooded holes which I generally feel is essenial to an all around course. It fortunately does have the water and the key basket placements to make it pretty diverse. The elevation changes are very subtle on each hole, there isn't much rolling it is just usually gently uphill or gently downhill.

3) Road comes into play on hole A which isnt a huge issue but worth noting because it is a danger for people driving. It is virtually throwing over a turnaround so I would hope people watch when to throw and when to wait for the car to move on past before throwing.

4) Course variety isn't the best in shot selection. You can generally just throw your drive out there layup and make the short putt for par. I like to play different courses and I would every day if I could because I thoroughly enjoy standing on the tee and picking what I want to do and how I want to shape the shot, and where the best approach would come from.

5) One hole does cut across a large field which likely would be crowded with a soccer game or kids playing football, this could create some dangerous issues and also keep you from playing the hole on occassion.

6) Course is set into 4 or 5 different areas which could create some confusion for first timers. I didnt struggle too much except in finding #15. It didnt take long for me to realize where the tee was but it is always a little strange when you have to walk past other holes to get to the one you are supposed to be playing.

7) Portopotty has a little hole drilled out right about pecker height over the urinal area. Someone shoved toilet paper in there to block the hole but it must have been some pervert who wanted to compare his package to others. The other portopotty is butted right up to it however, so it would be impossible to get in between them, but if it ever gets moved look out!
Other Thoughts: All in all I really enjoyed this course. It has that classic feel of being mostly open with basket placements that bring an appropriate amount of trees into play. Some of the baskets are tucked tightly and many of the holes have water brought into play too. It lacks only major elevation changes and the tight wooded shots that really balance a course. The shot selection is fairly open to your own liking because of this open feel, which allows more people to have a good day out there (not discriminating against lefties or FH or BH players. Pick your shots and execute them.

Some of the basket locations bring a lot of trouble in play and I love it. This course can challenge you but I could also see some longer throwing eating up many of these holes even if the tougher ones get you to bogey or worse.

Get out and play it if you have the chance and are in the area. You will enjoy it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  A great course to play alone or in a group.

2-4    11/11/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: spyder123
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only thing I can think of that this course does not have is a heavily "wooded" hole or section save the tee-off at 18). So, if you really only love those courses that are in heavy woods, you might want to check out the Cottage Hill Park course. If woods are not a must-have though, the couse is a real beauty. Solid concrete tees on every hole, good signage at every tee, and sturdy baskets for holing-out make for a pleasant experience. This course features a variety of hole types including short hops over or near water (hole 3, 4, and 5), long, mostly open holes that test your muscle (hole 8 and 17), and a few with "hidden" baskets that test your accuracy and approach around bushes (holes 1,7, and 12). The course is well-kept and has always been clean when I have played it. Well-spaced trees and shrubs and enough obstacle to challenge you but not too much to overwhelm.
Cons: Hole 18 is a monster that doesn't let you off the course with a gimme like many others I have played. This could be a pro depending on your point-of-view. Personally, I see it as both. You tee off looking at a tight tunnel shot where accuracy is priceless. Water lies along the entire length of the hole's left side from start to finish. To the right sits a long fenced in out-of-bounds area for tennis courts. The basket lies in the center of an island that doesn't allow too much room for error. Even though it always makes me want to pull my hair out, I love this hole.
Course can be crowded at times (weekends especially), but other than these, I can't think of too much negative to say.
Other Thoughts: Well-designed. Well-kept.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Langan

2-4    6/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: Sparkyant18
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the tee boxes here. The A shaped concrete boxes give you plenty of options and room to work with. Almost every hole has about 5 different options for an approach toward a good second shot. Nicely spread out with a very good range of distances on the holes. Very nice chains. Played it twice today and it was nice to see how much better it is after your first time through. That is with most courses though.
Cons: I was lucky to have played it on a nice day when it hasn't rained in a while. This course would be awful after a rain. You might have to wait a week before you play it after a good rain shower. Hole 18 is just terrible. If I play this course again, I'm skipping it. It's almost guaranteed to go into the marsh. Luckily there is an extra hole between 2-3, so if you agree with what I said about 18, you have that option. Bugs are bad but you're gonna get that anywhere down south.
Other Thoughts: I could see this being a long day for short throwers if you played from the long tees. It's nice that they have the red tees and I saw a lot of people playing those. I saw some ladies doing some work on the red tees, and that's always nice to see. Overall, beats out U. South Alabama in my opinion by just a notch. I'd pick South Alabama after a good rain though for sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 May 2009 Review

5+    5/8/2009   5/8/2009
Review By: poling2482
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love how each tee offers something different. With water, trees, distance, and concrete tee boxes this course is defently one of Mobile's best.
Cons: If you do throw one in the water good luck getting it out. I myself got staph infection getting a disc out. Hole 18 is awful, you start in the woods and really has no good way out. Hole 7 I beleive is 655 feet and rated par 3?
Other Thoughts: On a windy day you will have a tough time with this course. Its wide open so the wind plays a major factor. Overall this course is a lot of fun for any leval.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/31/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: Wheat
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great clean course, Multiple tee pads, Benches on most holes. It is a diverse course mixing extremely long holes with tighter technical ones.
Cons: Some of the par 3 holes are too dificult for most, and there are plenty of chances to loose a disc along the way.
Other Thoughts: It is a great, fun course that will teach you alot. If you have the chance, go play it, it will be worth your time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.