Mobile, AL 
Langan Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGlueGunner Hole #9
5 / 398ft.   3 / 398ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    3/5/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: HogieBogey
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The only course that accommodates a big wind up with really big tee-pads. It's an absolutely beautiful walk through the park, and has 2 separate post spots for the baskets.
They put good use to the small streams and ponds running through the park, and make for some really interesting shots, but if your not careful you'll end up in the mucky muck.
This was one of my first courses to learn on and I now consider it my home course, even though I no longer live in Mobile. I would highly suggest checking it out if your in the area.
Cons: Very popular so you might get behind a pretty big group
Lots of water holes, so pretty high risk of losing a disc
Other Thoughts: I've played this course several times, and I would never get tired of it, and I'm still working on mastering a couple of the holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Favs!

5+    12/21/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything is done really well at this coarse. The tee boxes are a great length and some of them have extensions for the longer holes. The sinage is perfect and there are multiple pin placements so sometimes the hole will be moved to an alternat spot which keeps you on your toes. The coarse is well kept and is a great place to work on you long shots, especially hole 8.
Cons: If it rains then you will be dealing with a lot of mud. There is a lot of water but that is just part of the game. There aren't enough technical shots. If you have an arm then you will shoot well.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite coarses. Great people, great challenge, great fun.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The best course in the MOB

5+    11/1/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.4 Years
Pros: I got my start at Langan Park, also known as Muni or Municipal Park to local. This course is hands down the best in Mobile, which has a great variety of 11 courses within 30-45 minutes of my home. This is the course I play most often, because it is the total package of what I'm looking for in a DGC> Good variety, lots of open distance with light trees. Hole 1 is a short ace run whole over azalea bushes, hole 2 is a hyzer skip ace run at about 300 feet. the "A" hole has water in play on the left side pitching toward the pin out on a peninsula, hole 3 plays back over water and shule to another pin on a peninsula. Hole 4 plays down a tunnel shot between trees with water in play on the left, basket sits right on the water in alternate pin placement. Hole 5 is a 385 footer between lots of trees with a creek/ shule in play on the left. Hole 6 plays about 360, with a giant live oak creating a tunnel shot route off the tee or a big hyzer out over the OB road. Hole 7 is a sweet one with wind always in play, about 250 past pines and over shrubs. Hole 8 is a beast, 685 with two levels of mature pine trees to navigate en route to the pin with OB in play on the left. Hole 9 is long and wooded with a ditch in play on the left and an OB parking lot on the right. Hole 10 is a mando ani window shot for 350+ with many trees in the fairway. Hole 11 plays 350+ with an open but treed fairway with a ditch in play on the left, road OB on the right and the basket sittin across the ditch deep. Hole 12 plays as a booming hyzer for about 400 feet or an ani over the OB road with huge red oaks in the fairway deep near the basket. Hole 13 is shorter, about 240 feet, with an old trainer airplane in the background (the plane hole to locals). Hole 14 plays either a booming hyzer or ani around trees and OB road on the left with a real live full scale fenced steam locomotive in play on the right (the train hole to locals). Hole 15 is about 400 feet downhill to the pin on the other side of a creek with a ditch in play on the left. Hole 16 is back up hill under some trees, about 280. Hole 17 is rough, a 700 footer from elevation, through a tunnel with bad shule and creek on the left, more shule and creek on the right, with the pin hiding in a wooded alcove at the other end of the island. Hole 18 is terrible, throwing a tunnel shot from an island, over a creek with the creek in play on the left and a fence OB on the right, throwing to a pin on another island and over another creek. All in all, just great variety. Plenty of difficulty, but lots of chances to just get out the cannon and open it up on the long shots. Some unbelievable winds blowing up off the lake give great opportunities to reall finesse a lot of distance. Well maintained public park with restrooms at the other end, pretty safe area altogether. Plenty of signs and benches, tee pads are really, really nice A-line pads poured smooth with concrete. Tees have extensions on longer holes. Local club changes the pins up to alternates every once in a while, and they change things enough that it keeps the course interesting. Can be busy on weekend, but not before about 1 p.m. so get there early or play on a weekday. The Municipal Gold course, listed on this site as a separate course, is across the lake so you can pretty much play 28 holes without ever getting in your car. Good picnic areas as well, really everything anyone could want in a disc golf course. I really feel lucky to have this course 4 minutes from my house.
Cons: A few teepads have ugly dropoffs, but nothing too bad. It's hard to find much bad to say about this couse, it's the class of the Mobile DG scene.
Other Thoughts: Bring distance drivers because you'll need them. Rollers may come in handy, lawns are generally well kept and aside from pine cones, are great for rollers. As I mentioned before, the GOld course is on the other side of the lake, and the University of South AL, the 2nd best course in town, is literally 3 minutes away. Awesome for all skill levels, if you're in the MOB it is a must play.

 Great Coarse

2-4    10/29/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: chainbanger14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I loved this coarse. each hole had its own unique characteristic! Long and short shots, pretty open coarse. Loved the 649 ft hole! Go play this coarse!
Cons: Nothn too bad really! Didnt have too much trouble finding holes. Pins were hard to pick out on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Watch out fo gators!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.