Mobile, AL
Langan Park Share
Uploaded By: ninja-don Hole #13
4 / 262ft.   3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great time at Muni

2-4    6/12/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TheCarGuy
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
Pros: Very pretty park and fun to play. Has a good variety of shots. Water is in play on multiple holes and forces you to choose your shot carefully. There are plenty of opportunity's to birdie or bogey. There is usually more than one route to the basket which forces you to think.
Cons: Can be very crowded, Very open so there is not a lot of shade. I could see where pros might find it on the easier side.
Other Thoughts: Very fun to play. I played it the day before a tourny and then again during the tourny. I would highly recommend playing this and USA if you are in the Mobile area.

 Decent course...

1    6/26/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Madmoojuice
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.9 Years
Pros: - Good variety of skill shots for all
- Very good use of water hazards!
- Good looking park
- Not too crowded in the morning
Cons: - Watch for runners/walkers!
- Very good use of water hazards!
- Occasional hole is hard to find if not familiar
- Not completely out in the sun, but a lot is
Other Thoughts: Overall, I'd recommend this course to anyone looking to play in the area. It was a good all-round course. Watch for the water on a few of the holes, especially 18. The basket is on a very small island. If you miss, its going into muck...deep, thick muck.

 

1    3/5/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: HogieBogey
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The only course that accommodates a big wind up with really big tee-pads. It's an absolutely beautiful walk through the park, and has 2 separate post spots for the baskets.
They put good use to the small streams and ponds running through the park, and make for some really interesting shots, but if your not careful you'll end up in the mucky muck.
This was one of my first courses to learn on and I now consider it my home course, even though I no longer live in Mobile. I would highly suggest checking it out if your in the area.
Cons: Very popular so you might get behind a pretty big group
Lots of water holes, so pretty high risk of losing a disc
Other Thoughts: I've played this course several times, and I would never get tired of it, and I'm still working on mastering a couple of the holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great but not a par 3 every hole.

1    3/30/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: Great course with many different shots included. Every level can enjoy this course. You can let your disk really fly for many holes.
Cons: Many holes should have been at least a par 4. Last 4 holes were very confusing by the layout of the course. Directional signs need to be updated.
Other Thoughts: Loved this one but skipped holes because of the layout of the last 4. Soon as that is fixed this will be a perfect course.

 Good course

2-4    3/20/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Probably the best tee boxes in the area

2) Challenging shots across and beside water.

3) Very Clean Course

4) Multiple tees on almost every hole

5) A Wide Variety of challenges from sheer distance, to water hazards, to accuracy through trees.

6) Hole 18 is the single most challenging hole i've ever played
Cons: 1) Course has an odd layout, Hard to navigate without some help (which is normally not a problem on the weekends, because the course can be a little crowded)

2) with 500+ foot par 3 holes, it's tough for relatively new players to get anywhere near par

3)To get to hole 15 from hole 14, you must cross over holes 16 and 17 (odd layout)

4)can be very Muddy after rain

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Try and finish strong! 17 and 18 are TOUGH

1    12/31/2009   1/5/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Huge concrete trapezoidal tees. Always a staple to make me enjoy my round a little more.

2) Benches and garbage were visible in many spots. Not essential aspects of a good course but it generally does keep the course cleaner, and on busy days would mak your round a little more enjoyable.

3) DGA Signs are in pretty good shape. I like these tee signs in that they show some obstacles and the general routing of the hole. They list the distances and the hole # making finding your next hole easier.

3) DGA baskets with # plate and they always are facing the tee, which is something I think needs should have attention paid to it on many courses. It really helps the first timer to find the correct basket.

4) Course has a pretty interesting layout. There are some cool parts of this property and all of them are used in the design.

5) Water was used on several occassions which is an asset because this course is definitely lacking in elevation change. It is a fairly flat property so having water and tucked baskets (and sometimes combinations of both) goes a long way in making this course enjoyable.

6) Park has a classic open feel with wall to wall turf but with spotty trees placed (I know the baskets are placed around the trees but it is easier to say this way) to force you to pick your lines.

7) Portopotty by the ampitheatre is acceptably close to the 1st tee and also to hole #7.

8) The closing holes on this course are the hardest of the day. Tight fairways (not just with trees but also with water). Setting the 18th basket where it is took some imagination and forethought, from the fairway the landing area looks tiny but I found it to be bigger than it looked from that distance . . . and I parked my approach from about 150 to give myself a drop in par . . . I was very thankful.

9) Artificial OB and a mando give some interest to holes 9 and 10.

10) Turf and grounds are in good shape, the trees seem to be well maintained and the park is obviously a priority for the municipality. It is massive and open and includes all sorts of activities and amenities. I could spend all day here if I wasn't on the road.

11) Beginner friendly course because of its open feel. The last few holes might be tough for beginners because of how close the basket are to water and trouble, but they just have to be aware of the areas.

12) Variability in hole distance is large. This is a big bonus here also because it forces you to throw different discs and have different length approaches. Some of them are not reachable in 2 shots for many people so that third shot is crucial to limiting yourself to a 4.
Cons: 1) Compaction and erosion are visible in many spots on the course. It isnt surprising because of the local soils. It is going to happen, but it does take away from the course.

2) No really tight wooded holes which I generally feel is essenial to an all around course. It fortunately does have the water and the key basket placements to make it pretty diverse. The elevation changes are very subtle on each hole, there isn't much rolling it is just usually gently uphill or gently downhill.

3) Road comes into play on hole A which isnt a huge issue but worth noting because it is a danger for people driving. It is virtually throwing over a turnaround so I would hope people watch when to throw and when to wait for the car to move on past before throwing.

4) Course variety isn't the best in shot selection. You can generally just throw your drive out there layup and make the short putt for par. I like to play different courses and I would every day if I could because I thoroughly enjoy standing on the tee and picking what I want to do and how I want to shape the shot, and where the best approach would come from.

5) One hole does cut across a large field which likely would be crowded with a soccer game or kids playing football, this could create some dangerous issues and also keep you from playing the hole on occassion.

6) Course is set into 4 or 5 different areas which could create some confusion for first timers. I didnt struggle too much except in finding #15. It didnt take long for me to realize where the tee was but it is always a little strange when you have to walk past other holes to get to the one you are supposed to be playing.

7) Portopotty has a little hole drilled out right about pecker height over the urinal area. Someone shoved toilet paper in there to block the hole but it must have been some pervert who wanted to compare his package to others. The other portopotty is butted right up to it however, so it would be impossible to get in between them, but if it ever gets moved look out!
Other Thoughts: All in all I really enjoyed this course. It has that classic feel of being mostly open with basket placements that bring an appropriate amount of trees into play. Some of the baskets are tucked tightly and many of the holes have water brought into play too. It lacks only major elevation changes and the tight wooded shots that really balance a course. The shot selection is fairly open to your own liking because of this open feel, which allows more people to have a good day out there (not discriminating against lefties or FH or BH players. Pick your shots and execute them.

Some of the basket locations bring a lot of trouble in play and I love it. This course can challenge you but I could also see some longer throwing eating up many of these holes even if the tougher ones get you to bogey or worse.

Get out and play it if you have the chance and are in the area. You will enjoy it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Favs!

5+    12/21/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything is done really well at this coarse. The tee boxes are a great length and some of them have extensions for the longer holes. The sinage is perfect and there are multiple pin placements so sometimes the hole will be moved to an alternat spot which keeps you on your toes. The coarse is well kept and is a great place to work on you long shots, especially hole 8.
Cons: If it rains then you will be dealing with a lot of mud. There is a lot of water but that is just part of the game. There aren't enough technical shots. If you have an arm then you will shoot well.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite coarses. Great people, great challenge, great fun.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  A great course to play alone or in a group.

2-4    11/11/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: spyder123
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only thing I can think of that this course does not have is a heavily "wooded" hole or section save the tee-off at 18). So, if you really only love those courses that are in heavy woods, you might want to check out the Cottage Hill Park course. If woods are not a must-have though, the couse is a real beauty. Solid concrete tees on every hole, good signage at every tee, and sturdy baskets for holing-out make for a pleasant experience. This course features a variety of hole types including short hops over or near water (hole 3, 4, and 5), long, mostly open holes that test your muscle (hole 8 and 17), and a few with "hidden" baskets that test your accuracy and approach around bushes (holes 1,7, and 12). The course is well-kept and has always been clean when I have played it. Well-spaced trees and shrubs and enough obstacle to challenge you but not too much to overwhelm.
Cons: Hole 18 is a monster that doesn't let you off the course with a gimme like many others I have played. This could be a pro depending on your point-of-view. Personally, I see it as both. You tee off looking at a tight tunnel shot where accuracy is priceless. Water lies along the entire length of the hole's left side from start to finish. To the right sits a long fenced in out-of-bounds area for tennis courts. The basket lies in the center of an island that doesn't allow too much room for error. Even though it always makes me want to pull my hair out, I love this hole.
Course can be crowded at times (weekends especially), but other than these, I can't think of too much negative to say.
Other Thoughts: Well-designed. Well-kept.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The best course in the MOB

5+    11/1/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.1 Years
Pros: I got my start at Langan Park, also known as Muni or Municipal Park to local. This course is hands down the best in Mobile, which has a great variety of 11 courses within 30-45 minutes of my home. This is the course I play most often, because it is the total package of what I'm looking for in a DGC> Good variety, lots of open distance with light trees. Hole 1 is a short ace run whole over azalea bushes, hole 2 is a hyzer skip ace run at about 300 feet. the "A" hole has water in play on the left side pitching toward the pin out on a peninsula, hole 3 plays back over water and shule to another pin on a peninsula. Hole 4 plays down a tunnel shot between trees with water in play on the left, basket sits right on the water in alternate pin placement. Hole 5 is a 385 footer between lots of trees with a creek/ shule in play on the left. Hole 6 plays about 360, with a giant live oak creating a tunnel shot route off the tee or a big hyzer out over the OB road. Hole 7 is a sweet one with wind always in play, about 250 past pines and over shrubs. Hole 8 is a beast, 685 with two levels of mature pine trees to navigate en route to the pin with OB in play on the left. Hole 9 is long and wooded with a ditch in play on the left and an OB parking lot on the right. Hole 10 is a mando ani window shot for 350+ with many trees in the fairway. Hole 11 plays 350+ with an open but treed fairway with a ditch in play on the left, road OB on the right and the basket sittin across the ditch deep. Hole 12 plays as a booming hyzer for about 400 feet or an ani over the OB road with huge red oaks in the fairway deep near the basket. Hole 13 is shorter, about 240 feet, with an old trainer airplane in the background (the plane hole to locals). Hole 14 plays either a booming hyzer or ani around trees and OB road on the left with a real live full scale fenced steam locomotive in play on the right (the train hole to locals). Hole 15 is about 400 feet downhill to the pin on the other side of a creek with a ditch in play on the left. Hole 16 is back up hill under some trees, about 280. Hole 17 is rough, a 700 footer from elevation, through a tunnel with bad shule and creek on the left, more shule and creek on the right, with the pin hiding in a wooded alcove at the other end of the island. Hole 18 is terrible, throwing a tunnel shot from an island, over a creek with the creek in play on the left and a fence OB on the right, throwing to a pin on another island and over another creek. All in all, just great variety. Plenty of difficulty, but lots of chances to just get out the cannon and open it up on the long shots. Some unbelievable winds blowing up off the lake give great opportunities to reall finesse a lot of distance. Well maintained public park with restrooms at the other end, pretty safe area altogether. Plenty of signs and benches, tee pads are really, really nice A-line pads poured smooth with concrete. Tees have extensions on longer holes. Local club changes the pins up to alternates every once in a while, and they change things enough that it keeps the course interesting. Can be busy on weekend, but not before about 1 p.m. so get there early or play on a weekday. The Municipal Gold course, listed on this site as a separate course, is across the lake so you can pretty much play 28 holes without ever getting in your car. Good picnic areas as well, really everything anyone could want in a disc golf course. I really feel lucky to have this course 4 minutes from my house.
Cons: A few teepads have ugly dropoffs, but nothing too bad. It's hard to find much bad to say about this couse, it's the class of the Mobile DG scene.
Other Thoughts: Bring distance drivers because you'll need them. Rollers may come in handy, lawns are generally well kept and aside from pine cones, are great for rollers. As I mentioned before, the GOld course is on the other side of the lake, and the University of South AL, the 2nd best course in town, is literally 3 minutes away. Awesome for all skill levels, if you're in the MOB it is a must play.

 Great Coarse

2-4    10/29/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: chainbanger14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I loved this coarse. each hole had its own unique characteristic! Long and short shots, pretty open coarse. Loved the 649 ft hole! Go play this coarse!
Cons: Nothn too bad really! Didnt have too much trouble finding holes. Pins were hard to pick out on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Watch out fo gators!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.