Disc Golf Store
Mobile, AL 
Langan Park Share
Uploaded By: ninja-don Hole #9
5 / 398ft.   3 / 398ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun Park Course

1    12/26/2010   1/17/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large grassy park with open fields, areas with scattered trees, and some areas that have denser trees and some brush to contend with. That makes for some nice variety throughout the course, with some open bomber type shots to stretch your arm, some holes where you have multiple lines to choose from through the trees, and a few tunnel type shots. There are several water hazards in play, and they're used well to make challenging but fair holes that will punish errant drives. A couple holes have risky basket placements near the water hazards, making for some fun greens.

There is a decent mix of hole shapes on the shots that have more defined lines. you'll need to throw some different shots to be successful on the tighter parts of the course. There is good length variety here, with a few holes long enough to really stretch out your arm and some shorter ace run shots mixed in.

The park is well cared for in general, with not a lot of trash or vandalism. The tees are nice concrete pads with enough texture that they're not slippery even with a little water on them. The signs are basic, but have plenty of information to know where to throw for the most part. The course flows well enough that there are only a couple spots that aren't obvious where to find the next tee. Even then, those couple spots aren't all that hard to figure out.
Cons: The alternate pin placements looked like they would change up the course nicely, adding some variety and different looks to the course, but with some hidden pins from the tees it would be nice for the signs to indicate the current pin position. There are a few holes where you'll have to walk up to see exactly where to throw. It looked like the alternate tees would change things up too, but with natural pads I can't see them getting all that much use compared to the nice concrete set.

The course gets a little repetitive at times, with several holes that are mostly open field shots with just a few trees. There are some great holes here, but there are also a few that really just feel like they're only there to get you to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park course with some cool holes, but also some boring, typical park holes. Beginners might find it a little long, and some of the water hazards could be intimidating for newer players. More experienced throwers will find some cool challenges and some holes to air it out a little more, but it's a little lacking in different challenges to be a top notch course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice open friend course

5+    9/29/2007   7/13/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 220  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice scenic park with other activities to keep you occupied after your round. Mostly long open holes with some water that comes into play. Great course to learn rollers on.
Cons: Course always seems to be under renovation. I haven't played there in several years but it was always getting changed up so navigating it quickly wasn't always easy. Some holes seems to mirror each other.
Other Thoughts: Worth the stop with USA, Springhill Hobbit, Cottage Hill and other courses close by.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great time at Muni

2-4    6/12/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TheCarGuy
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
Pros: Very pretty park and fun to play. Has a good variety of shots. Water is in play on multiple holes and forces you to choose your shot carefully. There are plenty of opportunity's to birdie or bogey. There is usually more than one route to the basket which forces you to think.
Cons: Can be very crowded, Very open so there is not a lot of shade. I could see where pros might find it on the easier side.
Other Thoughts: Very fun to play. I played it the day before a tourny and then again during the tourny. I would highly recommend playing this and USA if you are in the Mobile area.

 Decent course...

1    6/26/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Madmoojuice
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
Pros: - Good variety of skill shots for all
- Very good use of water hazards!
- Good looking park
- Not too crowded in the morning
Cons: - Watch for runners/walkers!
- Very good use of water hazards!
- Occasional hole is hard to find if not familiar
- Not completely out in the sun, but a lot is
Other Thoughts: Overall, I'd recommend this course to anyone looking to play in the area. It was a good all-round course. Watch for the water on a few of the holes, especially 18. The basket is on a very small island. If you miss, its going into muck...deep, thick muck.

 

1    3/5/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: HogieBogey
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The only course that accommodates a big wind up with really big tee-pads. It's an absolutely beautiful walk through the park, and has 2 separate post spots for the baskets.
They put good use to the small streams and ponds running through the park, and make for some really interesting shots, but if your not careful you'll end up in the mucky muck.
This was one of my first courses to learn on and I now consider it my home course, even though I no longer live in Mobile. I would highly suggest checking it out if your in the area.
Cons: Very popular so you might get behind a pretty big group
Lots of water holes, so pretty high risk of losing a disc
Other Thoughts: I've played this course several times, and I would never get tired of it, and I'm still working on mastering a couple of the holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great but not a par 3 every hole.

1    3/30/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: Great course with many different shots included. Every level can enjoy this course. You can let your disk really fly for many holes.
Cons: Many holes should have been at least a par 4. Last 4 holes were very confusing by the layout of the course. Directional signs need to be updated.
Other Thoughts: Loved this one but skipped holes because of the layout of the last 4. Soon as that is fixed this will be a perfect course.

 Good course

2-4    3/20/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Probably the best tee boxes in the area

2) Challenging shots across and beside water.

3) Very Clean Course

4) Multiple tees on almost every hole

5) A Wide Variety of challenges from sheer distance, to water hazards, to accuracy through trees.

6) Hole 18 is the single most challenging hole i've ever played
Cons: 1) Course has an odd layout, Hard to navigate without some help (which is normally not a problem on the weekends, because the course can be a little crowded)

2) with 500+ foot par 3 holes, it's tough for relatively new players to get anywhere near par

3)To get to hole 15 from hole 14, you must cross over holes 16 and 17 (odd layout)

4)can be very Muddy after rain

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Try and finish strong! 17 and 18 are TOUGH

1    12/31/2009   1/5/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Huge concrete trapezoidal tees. Always a staple to make me enjoy my round a little more.

2) Benches and garbage were visible in many spots. Not essential aspects of a good course but it generally does keep the course cleaner, and on busy days would mak your round a little more enjoyable.

3) DGA Signs are in pretty good shape. I like these tee signs in that they show some obstacles and the general routing of the hole. They list the distances and the hole # making finding your next hole easier.

3) DGA baskets with # plate and they always are facing the tee, which is something I think needs should have attention paid to it on many courses. It really helps the first timer to find the correct basket.

4) Course has a pretty interesting layout. There are some cool parts of this property and all of them are used in the design.

5) Water was used on several occassions which is an asset because this course is definitely lacking in elevation change. It is a fairly flat property so having water and tucked baskets (and sometimes combinations of both) goes a long way in making this course enjoyable.

6) Park has a classic open feel with wall to wall turf but with spotty trees placed (I know the baskets are placed around the trees but it is easier to say this way) to force you to pick your lines.

7) Portopotty by the ampitheatre is acceptably close to the 1st tee and also to hole #7.

8) The closing holes on this course are the hardest of the day. Tight fairways (not just with trees but also with water). Setting the 18th basket where it is took some imagination and forethought, from the fairway the landing area looks tiny but I found it to be bigger than it looked from that distance . . . and I parked my approach from about 150 to give myself a drop in par . . . I was very thankful.

9) Artificial OB and a mando give some interest to holes 9 and 10.

10) Turf and grounds are in good shape, the trees seem to be well maintained and the park is obviously a priority for the municipality. It is massive and open and includes all sorts of activities and amenities. I could spend all day here if I wasn't on the road.

11) Beginner friendly course because of its open feel. The last few holes might be tough for beginners because of how close the basket are to water and trouble, but they just have to be aware of the areas.

12) Variability in hole distance is large. This is a big bonus here also because it forces you to throw different discs and have different length approaches. Some of them are not reachable in 2 shots for many people so that third shot is crucial to limiting yourself to a 4.
Cons: 1) Compaction and erosion are visible in many spots on the course. It isnt surprising because of the local soils. It is going to happen, but it does take away from the course.

2) No really tight wooded holes which I generally feel is essenial to an all around course. It fortunately does have the water and the key basket placements to make it pretty diverse. The elevation changes are very subtle on each hole, there isn't much rolling it is just usually gently uphill or gently downhill.

3) Road comes into play on hole A which isnt a huge issue but worth noting because it is a danger for people driving. It is virtually throwing over a turnaround so I would hope people watch when to throw and when to wait for the car to move on past before throwing.

4) Course variety isn't the best in shot selection. You can generally just throw your drive out there layup and make the short putt for par. I like to play different courses and I would every day if I could because I thoroughly enjoy standing on the tee and picking what I want to do and how I want to shape the shot, and where the best approach would come from.

5) One hole does cut across a large field which likely would be crowded with a soccer game or kids playing football, this could create some dangerous issues and also keep you from playing the hole on occassion.

6) Course is set into 4 or 5 different areas which could create some confusion for first timers. I didnt struggle too much except in finding #15. It didnt take long for me to realize where the tee was but it is always a little strange when you have to walk past other holes to get to the one you are supposed to be playing.

7) Portopotty has a little hole drilled out right about pecker height over the urinal area. Someone shoved toilet paper in there to block the hole but it must have been some pervert who wanted to compare his package to others. The other portopotty is butted right up to it however, so it would be impossible to get in between them, but if it ever gets moved look out!
Other Thoughts: All in all I really enjoyed this course. It has that classic feel of being mostly open with basket placements that bring an appropriate amount of trees into play. Some of the baskets are tucked tightly and many of the holes have water brought into play too. It lacks only major elevation changes and the tight wooded shots that really balance a course. The shot selection is fairly open to your own liking because of this open feel, which allows more people to have a good day out there (not discriminating against lefties or FH or BH players. Pick your shots and execute them.

Some of the basket locations bring a lot of trouble in play and I love it. This course can challenge you but I could also see some longer throwing eating up many of these holes even if the tougher ones get you to bogey or worse.

Get out and play it if you have the chance and are in the area. You will enjoy it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Favs!

5+    12/21/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything is done really well at this coarse. The tee boxes are a great length and some of them have extensions for the longer holes. The sinage is perfect and there are multiple pin placements so sometimes the hole will be moved to an alternat spot which keeps you on your toes. The coarse is well kept and is a great place to work on you long shots, especially hole 8.
Cons: If it rains then you will be dealing with a lot of mud. There is a lot of water but that is just part of the game. There aren't enough technical shots. If you have an arm then you will shoot well.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite coarses. Great people, great challenge, great fun.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  A great course to play alone or in a group.

2-4    11/11/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: spyder123
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only thing I can think of that this course does not have is a heavily "wooded" hole or section save the tee-off at 18). So, if you really only love those courses that are in heavy woods, you might want to check out the Cottage Hill Park course. If woods are not a must-have though, the couse is a real beauty. Solid concrete tees on every hole, good signage at every tee, and sturdy baskets for holing-out make for a pleasant experience. This course features a variety of hole types including short hops over or near water (hole 3, 4, and 5), long, mostly open holes that test your muscle (hole 8 and 17), and a few with "hidden" baskets that test your accuracy and approach around bushes (holes 1,7, and 12). The course is well-kept and has always been clean when I have played it. Well-spaced trees and shrubs and enough obstacle to challenge you but not too much to overwhelm.
Cons: Hole 18 is a monster that doesn't let you off the course with a gimme like many others I have played. This could be a pro depending on your point-of-view. Personally, I see it as both. You tee off looking at a tight tunnel shot where accuracy is priceless. Water lies along the entire length of the hole's left side from start to finish. To the right sits a long fenced in out-of-bounds area for tennis courts. The basket lies in the center of an island that doesn't allow too much room for error. Even though it always makes me want to pull my hair out, I love this hole.
Course can be crowded at times (weekends especially), but other than these, I can't think of too much negative to say.
Other Thoughts: Well-designed. Well-kept.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.