Disc Golf Store
Mobile, AL 
Langan Park Share
Uploaded By: TheGlueGunner Hole #2
4 / 254ft.   3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The best course in the MOB

5+    11/1/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.6 Years
Pros: I got my start at Langan Park, also known as Muni or Municipal Park to local. This course is hands down the best in Mobile, which has a great variety of 11 courses within 30-45 minutes of my home. This is the course I play most often, because it is the total package of what I'm looking for in a DGC> Good variety, lots of open distance with light trees. Hole 1 is a short ace run whole over azalea bushes, hole 2 is a hyzer skip ace run at about 300 feet. the "A" hole has water in play on the left side pitching toward the pin out on a peninsula, hole 3 plays back over water and shule to another pin on a peninsula. Hole 4 plays down a tunnel shot between trees with water in play on the left, basket sits right on the water in alternate pin placement. Hole 5 is a 385 footer between lots of trees with a creek/ shule in play on the left. Hole 6 plays about 360, with a giant live oak creating a tunnel shot route off the tee or a big hyzer out over the OB road. Hole 7 is a sweet one with wind always in play, about 250 past pines and over shrubs. Hole 8 is a beast, 685 with two levels of mature pine trees to navigate en route to the pin with OB in play on the left. Hole 9 is long and wooded with a ditch in play on the left and an OB parking lot on the right. Hole 10 is a mando ani window shot for 350+ with many trees in the fairway. Hole 11 plays 350+ with an open but treed fairway with a ditch in play on the left, road OB on the right and the basket sittin across the ditch deep. Hole 12 plays as a booming hyzer for about 400 feet or an ani over the OB road with huge red oaks in the fairway deep near the basket. Hole 13 is shorter, about 240 feet, with an old trainer airplane in the background (the plane hole to locals). Hole 14 plays either a booming hyzer or ani around trees and OB road on the left with a real live full scale fenced steam locomotive in play on the right (the train hole to locals). Hole 15 is about 400 feet downhill to the pin on the other side of a creek with a ditch in play on the left. Hole 16 is back up hill under some trees, about 280. Hole 17 is rough, a 700 footer from elevation, through a tunnel with bad shule and creek on the left, more shule and creek on the right, with the pin hiding in a wooded alcove at the other end of the island. Hole 18 is terrible, throwing a tunnel shot from an island, over a creek with the creek in play on the left and a fence OB on the right, throwing to a pin on another island and over another creek. All in all, just great variety. Plenty of difficulty, but lots of chances to just get out the cannon and open it up on the long shots. Some unbelievable winds blowing up off the lake give great opportunities to reall finesse a lot of distance. Well maintained public park with restrooms at the other end, pretty safe area altogether. Plenty of signs and benches, tee pads are really, really nice A-line pads poured smooth with concrete. Tees have extensions on longer holes. Local club changes the pins up to alternates every once in a while, and they change things enough that it keeps the course interesting. Can be busy on weekend, but not before about 1 p.m. so get there early or play on a weekday. The Municipal Gold course, listed on this site as a separate course, is across the lake so you can pretty much play 28 holes without ever getting in your car. Good picnic areas as well, really everything anyone could want in a disc golf course. I really feel lucky to have this course 4 minutes from my house.
Cons: A few teepads have ugly dropoffs, but nothing too bad. It's hard to find much bad to say about this couse, it's the class of the Mobile DG scene.
Other Thoughts: Bring distance drivers because you'll need them. Rollers may come in handy, lawns are generally well kept and aside from pine cones, are great for rollers. As I mentioned before, the GOld course is on the other side of the lake, and the University of South AL, the 2nd best course in town, is literally 3 minutes away. Awesome for all skill levels, if you're in the MOB it is a must play.

 Great Coarse

2-4    10/29/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: chainbanger14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I loved this coarse. each hole had its own unique characteristic! Long and short shots, pretty open coarse. Loved the 649 ft hole! Go play this coarse!
Cons: Nothn too bad really! Didnt have too much trouble finding holes. Pins were hard to pick out on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Watch out fo gators!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/2/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Slugger
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for all levels of play. The concrete tee boxes are in great shape and even have extensions on a few of the long holes. Many of the holes have multiple basket locations that they change out every now and then. There are signs on each whole that give distances to both basket locations as well as a preferred shot.
Cons: The creeks that run through the course need to be cut on a regular basis during the summer months. The brush is real thick and if you throw a disc in the brush you better now right where it is or it is most likely gone. Definitely watch out for snakes. As of yesterday the bridge to get to the basket on hole 15 was covered with thick brush so be careful.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I love playing it. There is always someone there playing it so at times it can be crowded. I recommend to play this course if you're ever in Mobile.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Langan

2-4    6/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: Sparkyant18
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the tee boxes here. The A shaped concrete boxes give you plenty of options and room to work with. Almost every hole has about 5 different options for an approach toward a good second shot. Nicely spread out with a very good range of distances on the holes. Very nice chains. Played it twice today and it was nice to see how much better it is after your first time through. That is with most courses though.
Cons: I was lucky to have played it on a nice day when it hasn't rained in a while. This course would be awful after a rain. You might have to wait a week before you play it after a good rain shower. Hole 18 is just terrible. If I play this course again, I'm skipping it. It's almost guaranteed to go into the marsh. Luckily there is an extra hole between 2-3, so if you agree with what I said about 18, you have that option. Bugs are bad but you're gonna get that anywhere down south.
Other Thoughts: I could see this being a long day for short throwers if you played from the long tees. It's nice that they have the red tees and I saw a lot of people playing those. I saw some ladies doing some work on the red tees, and that's always nice to see. Overall, beats out U. South Alabama in my opinion by just a notch. I'd pick South Alabama after a good rain though for sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 May 2009 Review

5+    5/8/2009   5/8/2009
Review By: poling2482
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love how each tee offers something different. With water, trees, distance, and concrete tee boxes this course is defently one of Mobile's best.
Cons: If you do throw one in the water good luck getting it out. I myself got staph infection getting a disc out. Hole 18 is awful, you start in the woods and really has no good way out. Hole 7 I beleive is 655 feet and rated par 3?
Other Thoughts: On a windy day you will have a tough time with this course. Its wide open so the wind plays a major factor. Overall this course is a lot of fun for any leval.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/31/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: Wheat
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great clean course, Multiple tee pads, Benches on most holes. It is a diverse course mixing extremely long holes with tighter technical ones.
Cons: Some of the par 3 holes are too dificult for most, and there are plenty of chances to loose a disc along the way.
Other Thoughts: It is a great, fun course that will teach you alot. If you have the chance, go play it, it will be worth your time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/24/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good long concrete tee pads with Mach III baskets that are in good shape. This is a good course in a very big park that seems to be well taken care of by the locals/park department. It is a fairly open course with little elevation, but with scattered trees on most every hole and lots of OB. The design utilizes these trees very well to force the intended shot and allow for a large variety. There is a good mixture of long and short shots, as well as multiple pin placements on most holes to offer even more variety for all skill levels.

There are a couple of holes that play along side the water and several holes that play along side a fairly large ditch that usually contains water. Holes 9-11 contain a concrete drainage ditch that is usually played as OB. There are good tee signs on every hole, with seemingly correct distances and nice benches placed on several of the holes.
Cons: Although the park is in good shape, I personally wish the tall grass near the ditch was kept clean in areas, although this is very minor. Also as mentioned, it would be nice if a realistic par was listed on the tee signs instead of listing everything as Par 3. If players want to play everything as Par 3, then that is their business. I do not know of any bathrooms on or near the course or any place with a water fountain. Also, the course does not loop back at the half way point (there was a forced re-design of the course due to the tennis center adding more courts).
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play, especially if you like letting loose on some long pulls, while still maintaining accuracy. Thankfully this course has a lot of OB and there is usually a decent amount of wind, but otherwise, there is not a lot of shule to lose a disc in or make any particular shot too difficult to recover.
The best part about Mobile in general is how well all the courses compliment each other. Each course offers a different and unique challenge that will test your overall game if you have time to play multiple courses while you are in the area. If you like longer open courses, then I would recommend a stop here if you are in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Langan Park

1    2/27/1998   11/16/2008
Review By: Disc_Pro
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Nice clean course with good tee pads and signs. Huge, towering pine trees throughout the park. Course has Pro and Am tees.
Cons: Langan Park was named after a mayor of Mobile, AL. When I went there to play the course, no one knew where Langan Park was. Turns out the park is now known as "Municipal Park".
Other Thoughts: At the time I played this course, one tee pad was on a small island in the creek. I think it was hole 5. A unique hole I haven't seen anywhere else.

 Do you like DISTANCE????

1    11/16/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite "PRO" of any course is when they are free, and this one was free!!!
Signs are pretty nice, they show you where the tee's are, and the baskets... which there are more than one placements on most of the holes as well as the direction to the next hole. They have a line on them to show the recommended path of the flight.
The course is very clean, and has plenty of friendly people on it. Well maintained grass, trees, etc...
Holes were very challenging, but not impossible... most of the time you could see or move to where you could see the baskets from near the tee (with the help of the tee signs).
Cons: Some of the signs show basket placements that are incorrect.
No course map. (pay attention to the tee signs for the direction to the next tee.)
The tee signs had dual distances on most of them, but didn't tell you witch was the correct distance, also they had optional tees on the signs, but no tee pads for those tees, or distance from them.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome, very open. Can be very deceptive on the distance, especially if you've played on courses that are small and cramped.
PAY ATTENTION TO THE TEE SIGNS if it is your first time playing here, it will help you find the next tee. The tees are very easy to see, but you may not be looking at the right tee.
I was debating putting this under CONS, but it's not too bad I guess... But the 9th hole ends across the park from the 1st tee, so if you were only planning to play 9 holes, you'll want to park somewhere in the middle.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sweeeeeeeeet...

1    11/1/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfect cement tee boxes with excellent Mach 3 baskets to shoot at. Some of the cement tee boxes are even extended on the long holes for ease of approach to the long throw. The park and grounds are well maintained with a perfect mix of challenging shots that you have to contend with water, cement and trees.
Cons: No map or score card available. The par 3 standard score on every hole is unrealistic even for a pro. The transfer between hole 6 and 7 is confusing where you actually have to walk backwards and across the street passed the old jet to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. As a relative newcomer to this sport it offered a good amount of challenging shots, but not too too hard to make for a long day of bogey disc golf. Par is a decent score for an amateur. The water holes were pretty awesome and I highly suggest playing the unnumbered hole - A right after hole #2.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.