Vancouver, WA 
WSU-Vancouver Share



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 wsu- practice course

5+    8/1/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: pdxslowpoke
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I use this course to figure out new discs and their flight patterns. Good views. Nice baskets.
Cons: No challenge whatsoever. No elevation changes, poor tee pads, super tall grass. I often have to wear soccer socks and look like I am a wanna be pro because the grass is so tall it makes my legs itch. I am a newbie and can shoot under par on this course. Like I said, okay place to figure out a new disc, not much else.
Other Thoughts: Please someone, save this course! Rebuild surrounding the campus, there are so many places on that campus that offer a great opportunity for holes that it could be on par with Leverich if some time and design work were done.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lost in the Grass

1    6/27/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: tazzmann
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beutiful campus and views of Mt. Hood and Mt. St. Helens. Nice PDGA baskets.
Cons: Tall grass even in fairways, no obstacles, too short. After driving through the campus and seeing all the beautiful park-like settings, it was disappointing to see such an un-kept course. We spent an average of 2-5 minutes on each hole looking for our discs because of the tall grass even on the fairways. We quit after hole 4 because my son threw his disc and we spent 45 minutes looking for it in the tall grass since #4 hole didn't have a mowed fairway so we were throwing to the WRONG BASKET. If they would expand their course to 18 holes to include some obstacles and elevation changes and then actually kept up the course, it COULD be a nice place to play. Overall, we were severely let down.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worst Course in the Area

1    6/13/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: himynameismatt
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A short course, located on a beatiful campus.

Nice Baskets.
Cons: This is quite possibly the worst DG course in all of Southwest Washington/Portland Metro Area.

Too short. Leave your drivers in your bag. Actually every hole on this course is reachable with a putter.

Surprisingly easy to lose a disc. Fairways are mowed but surrounding area is knee high grass.

Tee pads are bark chips, or in some cases "were" bark chips and all that remains is some crappy landscape fabric.

Generally uneven ground all over the course makes for very uncomfortable walking given the short distance of the course.

It gets REALLY windy, I 've seen discs get too high and get carried right off the side of the hill by wind gusts never to be seen again.
Other Thoughts: This course is kind of a tragedy. They've got really nice baskets and you can tell at some point people actually used care about this course.

That's long gone now one look and it becomes obvious that this course has been long forgotten about.

Which is sad, this is a nice campus with plenty of room, that could easily expand or make a nicer course with the extra property they have.

I honestly would never play here again. It's a short course, that disguises itself as beginner friendly but couldn't be further from that, these are the kinda of courses that ruin this sport's reputation.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 WSU-Vancouver

1    5/2/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
WSU-Vancouver DGC is nestled just below the school library, at the very end of the main road which meanders through this beautiful campus. With great views of Mt. Hood and Mt. St. Helens, this course has a lot to offer when it comes to scenery. Since the course is located on campus, there is plenty of parking in the lower lots for disc golfers. However, I came on a weekend when no one was there so I am not sure if a permit is needed for the lower lots so just beware.

This course is located in a fairly large grassy field, with little elevation change and completely open. Even with the reconfiguration of this course, it is still nine holes and primarily a pitch and putt with the exception of a couple holes which are close to 300 feet. When I was there the grass was mowed, although previous reviewers spoke of tighter fairways with long grass on both sides which would have made the course slightly more challenging. The course design made sense for first timers and was easy to follow. Every tee pad had wooden sticks with laminated number signs on them for easier navigation. The DGA baskets are great, allowing for at least some putting practice and windy upshots. This course is perfect for beginners, students looking to get out of class to take a break, and those looking to improve their short game.
Cons:
The course is wide open (with the exception of the blackberry bush on hole #9), monotonous, and presents little to no challenge unless it is windy. The tee pads are very uneven, with landscaping cloth underneath a mound of woodchips, making footing rather difficult.
Other Thoughts:
If the school could eventually take the current land their using as well as all the open space in the valley below, this course could be pretty decent. There are several obstacles below, and with the addition of the elevation above, could make for a whole lot of fun. There was talk of expanding the course and making WSU-Vancouver 18 holes using the extra land. I hope it hasn't fallen by the wayside, as there is so much potential!

**NOTE**
Course Map and hole distances are currently outdated as of May 2010

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/7/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you went to this school you could throw into an open field with baskets during lunch time. This is a good place to bring someone who isn't familiar with the game just to show them how to throw a disc. The baskets aren't bad and they keep the tee pads with plenty of wood chips.
Cons: Hole nine is the only hole you could potentially hit something and you would have to shank one pretty bad to do so. There just isn't any obstacles to keep this place from becoming boring, this isn't a great place for a course with how open and easy it is. Since you can see every basket from every tee pad, a lot of the time you aren't sure where you are throwing to.
Other Thoughts: There is a ton of land around the campus and they decided the pick the worst spot out of the whole place, that's a little disappointing. They could have used the better land they have and made a truly decent eighteen hole course right their back yard, oh well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 wow

1    11/20/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is there for the people that go to school to practice. Nice baskets too.
Cons: The tee pads are a major con. They are not flat and made out of landscaping cloth covered by bark dust. The holes are also very short and play back and forth in a very small field on a huge campus.
Other Thoughts: It is an ok practice course that I would use if I was going to school there. You could get some great short work done. It would be nice if it used more of the area around it and was a little longer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Terrible

1    6/27/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: Atrium Lounge
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery. Views of Mt. Hood and St. Helens.
Cons: Everything a disc golf course shouldn't be. Not challenging. BORING. Super Short. Poorly maintained.
Other Thoughts: Don't go long on hole 6 or you will end up in an oversized nettle forest. Don't even attempt to look for your disc, it's not worth it.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Could be better

5+    4/14/2008   6/14/2008
Review By: Discwog
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2008
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good practice course
Convenient for students
Beautiful views of Mt Hood & Mt. St. Helens
Cons: No obstacles
Little variety as most holes have little elevation change or scenery change.
Other Thoughts: The view from the course might be the best part of this course. The course has undergone several changes over the past year or so with new construction at the campus.

The school has said they are planning to develop a new course on surrounding land, expanding to 18 holes.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Reason To Skip A Class On A Sunny Day!

5/25/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a little pitch and putt course located below the library and the on-going construction site at the WSU-Vancouver campus. The course is basically in a field with 12' wide fairways mowed out of taller grass. There are no concrete pads, no tee signs, not that they're really needed here. The course had to be partially moved due to some new campus construction, was orginally a nine hole course, then reduced to a six holer because of the construction but now is back to nine holes. Nice baskets. Very little chance of lost discs other than in the foot high tall grass. Pretty view of the little valley below. It sure beats sitting in some lecture hall on a beautiful spring day listening to the Prof drone on.
Cons: It's short! Holes 1-7 are all straight and fairly short. It's a bit of a hike back up to the parking lot after finishing. Bark, uneven teepads are uncomfortable to throw from, even on this course.
Other Thoughts: Hole # 9 is a short 150', blind, dogleg left.The bark teepad is right beside a large blackberry bush which blocks your view of the basket. In order to gain a better angle, the WSU student golfers have increasingly teed off farther to the right. They have pushed the bark teepad material about 4 feet to the right of the orginal teepad. Don't they know this is cheating? Do you they realize what a scandal this could be be if the national news media were to find out! Look what happened to Florida State's football. Thirty-eight members suspended from a bowl game in a cheating scandal! I implore these WSU students to push the bark material back into the proper tee area and tackle this 150" behemoth head on.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.