St. Stephen, MN
Mississippi River Park Share
Uploaded By: jskatt21 Hole #3 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 191ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    9/23/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: djgimli
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging fairways, a great course for perfecting shots around broad obstacles without too much penalty for failure. There is undergrowth but it's more navigable in finding discs than many countryside courses, and there are many fairly open shots too. A skillful curve will do you well, but you can survive without it.
There are rarely others on this course (of the 30+ times I've thrown it, I've seen others only once) and so it makes for nice privacy and relaxation. It's very secluded and not near traffic, a town, etc….sometimes the tee signs are the only reminder of civilization. You'll really get disoriented walking out there (a good thing) which makes you feel like you're on a hike. I've even taken a nap at hole 8 without incident.
A decent variety of holes, no two are the same and although it's wooded, there are at least patchy openings on almost every hole.
Cons: Hole 11 has a very thick, 15-foot tall thorny patch in which it's quite easy to lose a disc, and there are some fairways where the branches could use a little trimming. This course could very easily become a 18+ hole course…in fact, I've gone off down splits in the trail and tossed at trees I've scoped out previously just to extend my play on a lazy day. It's true, if you walk up to some of the baskets and try real hard, you can get a disk throught the grill....
Other Thoughts: I know this breaches protocol for reviews, but I think it's important to point this out: the most common 'con' listed by previous reviews is in regards to the baskets, and several of those have been replaced with nice baskets just this summer, so that problem is half taken care of. I throw this course frequently and have had a fall-through occur only once in 30+ rounds. Don't worry about it happening on a hole-in-one, this course isn't designed for hole-in-one's....

I enjoy this course more than many others with high overall ratings (Riverside, Hidden Lake, etc.) I should probably just be saying that this course sucks, I'd prefer to keep my hidden gem to myself I guess....

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Natural Course

1    8/4/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: hornu007
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nicely groomed fairways.
-More challenging than the courses in town due to all the trees and thick, tall grass.
-Enjoyable for the nature hike itself.
Cons: -Rough is definitely getting tall and can make finding and retrieving discs a pain.
-Some baskets let discs fall through, saw it happen with my friend's putt.
-Lots of bugs; the spray kept the mosquitoes away but not the biting flies.
-Tee pads were natural with a small strip of concrete at the front; they were usually just fine but a couple were more difficult to use.
Other Thoughts: -A tree was down across the fairway of the first hole making it quite difficult to even walk through, let alone throw a disc.
-Without the provided map, we probably would have had a hard time finding some of the tees.
-New baskets, better tee pads, and trimmed up rough would make this an even more enjoyable course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy needed!

1    8/24/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Trees everywhere!
-Good variations of distance.
-No two holes were the same, they went straight, right, left.
-Scorecards/maps at the start were very helpful.
-Maps weren't even necessary because all holes had great signs and smaller signs helped to navigate the course.
-Dual tees
-Bugs weren't bad when they are at almost all MN courses at this time.
-Hole 7 is similar to blue ribbon pines #4, great hole. I almost aced it from the long tee too!
-Nice mowed fairways, appears to be upkept fairly well.
Cons: -Tees and baskets!! The tees were just small 1x3 concrete strips laid in the ground. The baskets were all different kinds and none of them I had ever seen before. I too had one of my discs slide out the bottom which should never happen! They also had odd amounts of chains and seemed to be taller than normal.
-Break-ins have been reported so be careful with what you leave in your car.
-Also used for hiking and other nature like things so dont hit anybody!
-Keep in on the mowed fairways or you might not find it in the very tall grass and brush.
-Not alot of elevation but its challenging enough without it.
Other Thoughts: Could be made into a 18 or more hole for sure. This park is huge. If 6 or more quality holes were added and the baskets and tees replaced this course would become at least a 4.5. It was highly enjoyable to play there in its current state and could be even better!

To get there keep taking the left of the fork til you get to a parking lot with a shelter and bathrooms.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could be better.

5+    5/6/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: d4nk
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Usually not crowded, sometimes it can be, but usually not. Secluded.
Cons: Trees, trees, trees I don't mind the trees but I do mind that they haven't once bothered maintain the trees, many of the holes have become overgrown making for very frustrating play the trees need some branch pruning.

The baskets are just awful here, not regulation at all, nor are they even the same baskets some holes have ones that curve inward making it a very hard put. Some of the baskets have too wide of spacing allowing discs to fall out the bottom...what if you got a hole in one and it fell out??? wtf...
Update this course it could be so much better.
Other Thoughts: 12 Holes, but plenty of room for the powers that be to add another 6 holes, perhaps they could do that if they get real baskets.

Hole 7 is a neat hole.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/12/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is layed out in an easy way to follow. There are good signs at every tee, with distances of both tees and also the general location of the hole. There are signs to the next tee eveywhere so you just have to watch for them.
The course has a lot of very tight fairways, so it can get frustrating. There are opportunities for birdies, though you'll need some luck.
Signature hole #7 is a very tough hole. Two rows of pine trees run parallel for 309 feet.
The pro par is generally a few strokes higher than the rec par even though the "pro" tees are only 20 feet behind the rec tees.
This course doesn't really favor forehand or backhand. It has a good mix of forehand and backhand holes.
There are very few baskets you can see from the tee, so it's good to scope it out before you throw.
Cons: The baskets here tend to spit out discs. Also the bottom part of the basket is large enough so a disc that has gone in can escape.
There's a lot of extra room, it seems as if an 18 hole course could be built pretty easily.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

7/13/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: marcusriewer
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course in the woods. They did well designing it in the space they had provided. Not a long walk between holes. Also a challenging couse due to the amount of trees and location of the pins. Score cards were available, and they showed how the course played out.
Cons: The skeeters were terrible. The grass was too long for my liking. Every hole was like the previous one in the fact that they are all narrow. The pars on the secondary pins did not corespond with the primary ones. A longer more challenging shot could be a 4 compared to a shorter par 5 on the same hole.
Other Thoughts: Bring the spray for the mosquitoes. If your in the area, give the course a chance. One of a kind hole number seven is a must see!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mississippi River Park

6/7/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: mike_riewer
Played: 44  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Definitly a unigue course and well designed with its site. Going from hole to hole was easy and there were score card available to see the layout of the course. Dual tees are a plus, closer tees usually much easier. The signature number seven hole is a must see. The hole runs between two rows of pine trees but they are trimmed up at least 14 feet so the hole is not unreasonable.
Cons: The dual pins are nice but they the pars seem to change out of proporsion with the pacement of the tees. Some holes the shorter tee moves up 20-25 feet but the par drops by 2 strokes. THe course is tucked into the woods, making very narrow fairways if any at all. If one strays off the path trees and tall grass and shrubs will make for dificult shots. The baskets seem to be old and discs can fall out. Because of its placement in the woods, mosquitos are terrible, so bring spray.
Other Thoughts: The couse is like a disc course on a walking trail. But it has great character. To change the couse for the better while keeping this character, better baskets and mowing the path woult help.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.