Holly Springs, MS 
Wall Doxey SP - The Jungle Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 175ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    9/13/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: SirGawain
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Solid technical course. Not a lot of distance but some technical shots. A lot of narrow corridors to throw down. The fairways are pretty free of stray branches and debris. This could have been because it was a tournament and the TDs took care of it.
Cons: Not a lot that I disliked. Played it a bunch and knew what I was getting into. The shop was where I bought the majority of my starting off discs and had a nice selection. From what I have heard, it was closed down. I didn't get a chance to see because there was never anyone there to go inside and check it out. Just a sign that said they were out in the park all day long
Other Thoughts: Moved the baskets to new locations that a lot of people are unfamiliar with. I have been playing it for years and never seen them in this location until this past weekend. Not bad, not good, Just different.

Poke and hope

5+    11/28/2011   10/28/2012
Review By: rhynoman
Played: 26  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *This is one of a pair of 20-hole courses in this nice state park with camping etc.
*Great disc selection on-site.
*Concrete teepads
*Garbage cans
*Beautiful setting
Cons: There's a lot of "poke and hope" on many of these holes. Though the course was designed very well, it is constantly devolving because of the park managers' refusal to cut a single tree. Every single sapling that pokes through the surface of the ground is left to grow up in the middle of the fairway.

I think this course could easily be a 4.0 with some *very modest* trimming of *baby* trees (to at least maintain the original course design). After moving to North Mississippi, I can honestly say that these courses hurt my game. I found myself more irritated with lower scores compared to better, more difficult courses which tested skill over dumb luck, or course familiarity, and that's after learning the course like a local.

If you're coming through the area and want to stay in a park with 40 holes of disc golf, this one's nice, but Tupelo, MS is just a little farther away and is an outstanding disc golf destination with several fantastic courses. This one could be a beauty if the managers would set it free and trim a few. The state of MS has done the same in Tupelo and Morton, MS to make two of the best courses in the state.

I've talked to the rangers at this park about it on more than one occasion and they swear that it's illegal to trim *anything*, *ever*. Meanwhile, Trace State Park a few miles away has one of the best courses in the state with a lot of trimming done. The same has been done for the outstanding state park course in Morton, MS. Please, set this course free!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice shorter technical course

2-4    8/27/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: UKfan
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice technical course that requires more right turning shots on a single course that I can remember. I really had to use several FH shots and I threw my best on 11 when I almost aced it. For better players (those better than me) there are several potential ace runs. It was a good time.

The course navigation is not bad with the exception of maybe two holes. After you finish a hole you need to look for a yellow post which points you in the direction you need to go for the next tee box. (Although many of the posts have nothing written on them.) However, after the 12th basket you need to cross the road and cross the picnic area to go to the next basket. The 18th tee box is a good distance from the 17B basket. You need to walk towards the 6th basket and follow the path up to the 7th tee since the 18th and 7th share a tee pad.

This is a Miss. state park and it has a second 20 holes not far away in the same park. A real plus for a good day of disc golf.
Cons: On several holes there are trees in the middle of the fairway in such a way that it was really pure luck to miss trees. Several holes basically require throws like you were trying to throw through goal posts.

I saw at least two shorter pads after I teed off the longer pad that has a sign. The short tees are not marked and you don't really know where they are if you would like to use them.
Other Thoughts: The course name has changed to Spring Creek and needs to be changed on the course directory.

There were other reviews that mentioned the park's pro shop. I did find the employees were very pleasant but on the day I was there there did not know much about disc golf. They have a huge selection of discs from different companies. This was the best disc selection I have seen in a pro shop or outside a stand alone disc shop. The manager has apparently changed and he told me that they were going to quit buying discs and were going to only sell discs on consignment in the future? This might be a bad idea.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 40 Holes of Disc Golf!

1    3/25/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of two 20-hole courses on site. Overall, the course is in excellent shape- clean, mature, and well planned out. The first 3 holes are relatively open then it is in the woods for the rest. The wooded holes have mature, well-defined fairways. There is a good mix of left, right, and straight requiring a nice mix of shots, and there is always a clear path to the hole. The basket locations are excellent as they are strategically placed. The course has some elevation and is filled with trenches/ravines. This is a great course for birdie/ace opportunities and for testing your mid-range skills. I liked that each hole was unique and distinctive from every other hole. A few of the holes had alternate tees as well. The Mississippi-shaped signs were not flashy, but were informative; they were in front of the tee but are really short, so not in the way. We were the only ones on the course that day (the $3 fee probably keeps many people away!)

There is a nice practice basket in the grass island by the parking lot between the park office and #1 tee. Be sure to visit the park office- they have an incredible disc inventory of several brands that you can purchase as well as other supplies, including bags. Be sure to pick up your free scorecard that also has a course map on it. The public restrooms in the park office were very nice, too. And I have to make mention of the extremely courteous and knowledgeable workers we encountered at all Mississippi State Parks. Everyone we talked to knew all about disc golf and the course, and they showed that they cared about and took pride in their courses.
Cons: Hole 18 finishes in the middle of the course so you have a decent walk back to the parking lot. Some holes are pretty close to each other and navigation is a little questionable at spots, but nothing that you can't figure out- the scorecard has a map. The $3 a day fee may be a con for some, but it is $3 a day per car and there are 2 courses on site you can play all day, so the price ends up being very reasonable. We even played multiple parks in the same day and the workers told us our daily fee was good for all parks that day!
Other Thoughts: The scorecard at the park office calls this course "Spring Creek" instead of the Jungle. This is the shorter of the two courses and is just a little bit easier. Overall, this course is not too difficult (most of the holes are in the 150' - 250' range, and 11 holes are less than 200'), but it makes for an enjoyable round. Note that #7 and #18 share the same "V" shaped tee box, and holes A and B are inserted in between #17 and #18, which makes for 20 holes.

I strongly endorse the Mississippi State Parks Disc Golf courses. The courses are fun and the people are nice. They are perfect for taking a disc golf vacation with your friends or family! Wall Doxey is especially nice because it has 40 holes of disc golf on site!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Now known as "Spring Creek"

2-4    5/9/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: mcdavis17
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "The Jungle", now known as Spring Creek, starts right across the road from the park office. Overall, the course is fairly easy to navigate with informative tee signs and yellow poles indicating the next tee easily visible from the basket. Concrete tee pads are in place on all holes, as are benches and bag holders at the tee pads. Trash cans are found fairly regularly, and the course is fairly free of trash and litter. After the 1st couple of holes, the course heads into the woods, but visible routes are there. Minor elevation changes come into play on some holes. Most basket locations felt well-thought out. The pro shop in the main office is well-stocked, and the staff is very DG-friendly. RR facilities are available in the main office.
Cons: As others have said, the baskets are single-chain -- I had several putts scoot through that most likely would have stuck on a double-chain basket. There can be heavy concentrations of poison ivy in areas, and you had better wear your bug repellent during warm weather. Some areas of the course will stay a bit soggy after heavy rains, so watch your footing. On the holes where am tees are present, they were not marked on the sign, and those pads were not always readily visible. We were intorducing some people to the sport, and after some disastrous tee-offs, we would start walking down the hole for the next set of throws, only to see the alternate tee pad that would have made those holes a bit less punishing for a newcomer.
Other Thoughts: This course, like the other course on site, Turkey Hollow, offers a lot of risk-reward scenarios. You can play it safe for par on most holes, or make an agressive run for birdie that, if it goes wrong, will leave you scrambling for bogey. You will need to bring every throw in your bag and then some on this course. If you only throw RHBH, you will likely not enjoy this course, as many holes finish to the right. I do feel that the Back 9 is a bit tighter than the Front 9, but it is still an enjoyable course. I threw more anhyzers here than I have thrown on a course before -- but that's a good thing -- it makes me develop my game.

There is a $3/vehicle entry fee for the park - if you play both of the courses here in one day, that is 40 holes, or 7.5 cents per hole. Well worth it, in my opinion.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Technical and short...

1    3/25/2009   3/31/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a quiet state park. There are some other things going on, but the areas for disc golf are set apart for disc golf only. There are benches and bag posts at each tee. While this course is short, it is not necessarily easy. It is a very tight course and requires strong course management to post a low score. Tee pads were in solid shape. Signs on each hole were in great condition and very informative. Good use of moderate elevation.
Cons: Single-chain Discatchers...they just are not a favorite of mine. The length of each hole becomes redundant. They are mostly between 175 and 240. If you have a few fairway drivers and a few mids, you don't need to bring anything else (other than a putter). Hole 18 finishes in the middle of the course which is kind of confusing. You then have to walk past certain previous holes to get back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a solid little course. The park station sells discs and supplies and they had quite a selection. I actually picked up a limited edition Sparkle Z Force for $12. They had only one left after my prchase if anybody wants one. The bathrooms in the station were very clean and very close to the course itself.

As I mentioned previously, the course was short but not necessarily easy. There were a number of times that I got to the tee found a good path for me...only to find that a hanging branch would force me to throw a laser or a skip-shot. I actually like this as it adds to the challenge. There is another course in the park that is located farther from the clubhouse making this park a nice spot to spend some time.

For reference, the Course has been renamed "Spring Creek".

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing

2-4    10/30/2007   11/3/2008
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course for people with a little accuracy. Good variation between setups from hole to hole. will leave you happy you made the drive to play it!
Cons: As most courses in MS you can easily beat your disc to death on the trees. Watch out for benches in the summer. It seems the ticks in the area know that people will come to the benches. they flock around on them like a bunch of sheep.
Other Thoughts: Great draw to the area for sure! two great courses to close to each other!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to the Jungle

5+    2/8/2009   9/29/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees and benches on every hole. This course is great if you like wooded courses. The variety is good, with a mix of easy and challenging holes. Decent elevation and plenty of trees. Multiple pin placements on holes 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9, 12, and 18, but they are not moved around very often from what I can tell.

It is a fun course to play, but mostly good for amateur level players and newcomers. Typical of MS state parks, camping and bunk houses are available. The lodge has a great selection of discs, as well as snack machines and running water.. There is also a 2nd, tougher course in the park, with room for a 3rd if the park ever decides to expand. There are bathrooms at the lodge and the course does loop back at the half way point.
Cons: I am not a fan of the original single chain DISCatchers. There are no holes where you can really "air it out." As a blue level pro player, I throw putters on 90% of the holes (although the course is much better balanced when everything is in the longs).

It cost $3 per vehicle to enter, but yearly passes can be purchased for $42 and are good for all MS state parks.
Other Thoughts: This is the easier of the 2 courses in the park and it can be a lot of fun to play. The course starts off with 3 open holes along the road before diving off into the trees. The first 9 or so holes are fairly easy birdie holes as the course gets progressively tougher on the back half. If you like technical courses, this park is the place for you to visit, with 2 good courses of differing skill levels.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.