Holland, MI 
Winstrom Preserve Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #5 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 254ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A Hucksters Dream...but...dude where's the next tee?

1    8/2/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 37  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Innova Disc Catcher baskets with that conspicuous yellow ring on top.
- Concrete tee pads.
- Nice multiuse park setting where the course is out on it's own away from other activities.
- Semi-wooded course
- Several intesting holes - in particular #14 where long shots are punished with the stream behind the basket. #16, #18 were also fun.
- There was a nice mix of right hand and left hand doglegs throughout.
- Clean which is surprising considering the utter lack of trash cans. There were some occational beer cans but nothing that detracted from the course in general IMHO.
- No real safety issues that I could see. There is a walking path that meanders through the course but did not seem too close.
Cons: *sigh*

Where to start?

- Navigation is dissapointing to say the least. I would strongly recommend carrying a copy of the map off of this site. Without that, it can take a long time to find the next tee. Tee signs are knocked over and in some cases GONE.
- Most baskets are in acceptable shape but several are in serious need of serious TLC - soon. Some chains are not connected correctly, #4 has a bottom ring that needs to be welded back on - just to name a few.
- Short. Holy crap is this course short. Lot's and lots of ace runs in the middle of the course. It appears as if many trees has been removed so the challenge from many of the holes is also gone.
- Rough. There really isn't any. This could be a con or a pro depending in your skill level. Errant throws are not punished so long as you can throw over brush that is about 4 to 6 feet tall for the most part.
- The tee pads are very small. And that's ok because run ups really aren't needed but some of them are starting to break and shift so more TLC is needed. #17's tee pad is just plain wierd. It points one way and the basket is way off to the left.
- Layout - for much of the course the flow was fine but having to walk back up #14's fairway to get to the #15 tee felt just...odd.
Other Thoughts: This course is in dire need of a club to take care of it. With the rolling hills and modest foliage a decent 12 hole course could easily be configured. New tee signs and "next tee" signs are also desperately needed. 18 holes is a possibility but it's tough to say because I have no idea where the park boundaries are.

This course is actually a fantastic place to bring beginners to teach them the game. It's modestly interesting but not punishing. And of course with the multitude of ace runs it's the perfect for the hucker with a warp speed driver in one hand and a beer in the other. Experienced players are going to be a little bored and not challenged at all. In fact, if you can drive more than 350' don't bother with the drivers at all. Just bring a few mids and a putter and you'll be all set.

This course is a dissapointment for me. It's obvious that prior to the large removal of trees it was a challenging well designed course. Now, I am having a very hard time justifying anything higher than a 1.5. With some changes, it could easily be much better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mostly trashed.

1    7/9/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Near the beach
Cons: Poorly done tree removal throughout most of this coarse has littered it with thousands of sticks every where.
Most discers are out of towners, with little respect for the coarse.
Poor flow.
Rampant vandalism.
Other Thoughts: This coarse needs a dedicated club to love it.
It was coarse 10 on our summer vacation and very near our camping spot.
If I am ever in the area again, I will play somewhere else.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect for casual and beginners

5+    12/15/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: nickster51
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy, approachable course.
- Fun, short, and open course for a beginner
- good course for working on approach shots and putting
Cons: - A few holes are crammed together making it easy to throw onto other fairways and even onto other tees.
- Not a lot of technical/challenging throws
- a couple confusing hole transitions (5 to 6, 10 to 11, 14 to 15).
(rough Course map just added)
- A lot of dead wood and stumps.
Other Thoughts: I never played this course before it was "gutted." I've heard it used to be quite a bit more difficult. I think it's a fun local course for the more laid back and/or newer disc golfers. I live just down the road, and I'll often stop and play a few games quickly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very fun first time here.

1    6/20/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: Robocision
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads

-18 short, very fun holes.

-Great use of elevation.
Cons: Next tee is not well marked at all. This was my only complaint
Other Thoughts: I was in Holland for vacation. Tossed a few discs in the trunk just in case there were a couple courses around the beach. I found this one.

I did not see the course before they cut the trees. Perhaps this is why the current state didn't bother me in the least. The wood chips and whatnot prevented me from slipping in the mud.

I thought the course was great all the way around.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good turned into decent

5+    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: DudeGoDiscGolfing
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is in a fantastic location on the corner of Ottawa beach road and 152nd. The breeze is fantastic because it is near the lake. The course has many friendly golfers. It has a little bit more of a tighter course atmosphere witch helps because the holes are small, so it is nice to have a couple of trees to make it more difficult. Concrete tees are a huge pro of the park, and I personally love the innova disc catcher baskets.
Cons: A couple of very unfriendly disc golfers go there. There are a lot of sticks and twigs around but they are working to clean it up and since then it has gotten much better. It is nice that they have the tee signs but they are heavily defaced.
Other Thoughts: There is pretty decent flow a couple of holes are kind of tricky like the walk from 9 to 10. (After the hole walk to the straight right down the path and the tee pad will be on the right.) Another tricky on is the walk from 14 15. (walk back up the fair way that you just came then walk down the paved path and it will be on the right.) I personally like the park it is a fantastic park for bigginers, but it could use a little clean up, and then it would be a fantastic short holed park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but messy.

1    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: ninjasousaphone
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
Pros: *Nice Course For Beginners and Amateurs.
*Holes are designed well.
*Flow isn't bad.
*Offers nice variety.
*The 14th and 18th hole are the best.
Cons: *It looks like the forrest was clear cut and they left all the scrap there. I went with my dad who has knee problems, and I was afraid all day that he would trip over the mess.
*The tee signs are defaced heavily.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely play here again, but it would be nice to see the park cleaned up so the course is more easily navigable. New signs and maps would also be nice.

 Quick play

5+    7/15/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: The course is located in the woods and its only 10-15mins away from my cottage.
Cons: Until the course is cleaned up, it is difficult to walk through with out tripping on a small stump or any of the other 5 million pieces of wood. The large trees were removed from the course in the spring, they are slowly cleaning things up. It currently looks like a tornado went through or possibly a scene from a WWII movie. I would recommend waiting to play here until things are cleaned up. It will look nice once all the loose sticks and knocked over trees are taken care of. They do needs some new maps to help navigate the course, you need to walk around and look a bit in order to find your way.
Other Thoughts: The majority of the holes are quite short. Hole 18 is probably my favorite hole on the course.

 Once a fun course, now gone

5+    3/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: None anymore! It looked like tornado wreckage in March.
Cons: There is no longer a reason to play here.
Other Thoughts: This course was once a solid four rating with me but this spring they ripped out a huge percentage of the trees, which was the appeal. Not worth playing whatsoever now.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/13/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: wow the pictures on the site is nothing like in real life, it was like a bomb went off in the forest. Nice tee pads a little short but its standard, alot of birdies and aceables holes on this course, throught the forest built in trash cans, decent baskets
Cons: well I guess If we didnt have a local play with us we wouldnt of found alot of the holes, only one bathroom by the soccer field, just pee in the forest if u are a guy.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course, my dad didnt but its a nice course for what little land they have.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Winstrom DG Review

1    8/7/2011   5/3/2012
Review By: markdh92
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's a good beginner course as far as learning how to play disc golf - short holes, tight fairways, etc. Great course to hone your skills at.
Cons: Heavily wooded, short course.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course because it fits my game. I throw hammer-style more often than not, so the tightness of the course doesn't bother me very much.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.