Holland, MI 
Winstrom Preserve Share
Uploaded By: timg  
Course Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Mostly trashed.

1    7/9/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Near the beach
Cons: Poorly done tree removal throughout most of this coarse has littered it with thousands of sticks every where.
Most discers are out of towners, with little respect for the coarse.
Poor flow.
Rampant vandalism.
Other Thoughts: This coarse needs a dedicated club to love it.
It was coarse 10 on our summer vacation and very near our camping spot.
If I am ever in the area again, I will play somewhere else.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed feelings.

2-4    10/2/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: lazydisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete teepads
- Easily defined fairways
-This time in late fall none to not alot of underbrush makes it feel very open even with trees.
-Super tight will make you attempt to be more precise
Cons: -Difficult to follow layout
- Short holes
- Very many trees.
-Sometimes to tight of turns.
- Some fairways run very close together.
Coupled with trees makes disc dodging something to watch for.
-Bugs. Didnt get any this time, however we went in the fall. Earlier this year it was cloudy.
- General atmosphere? "no swearing, no drinking, no smoking, no league play allowed. rules strictly enforced." followed by threats of closure on sign right next to tee one.
Other Thoughts: Maybe make it friendlier? Winstrom is a township park squished into a corner lot next to the soccer fields. This lot is used for "nature trails" and disc golf. Even smoking a cig in the parking lot got me dirty looks. If your in the area, skip this course and go to Shore Acre in suagatuck. Or if this is your kind of a course. take a drive out to Cold brook.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 meh. only once...

1    8/25/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: TeePads-- Nice, big, cement

Baskets-- New, and in great condition.

Location-- Beautiful forest for disc golf.
Cons: TeeSigns-- Either the distance or hole number was missing on a good portion of the tees. Also, there was no directional marks as to where the basket was, much scouting was needed.

Navigation-- No directional marks where to go from tee to tee. I can site 10 to 11 as a prime example where you have to walk down a path to find the next tee.

Plastic wrapped trees-- Discs bounce about three times as far as normal off of these bastards. A great shot that might bounce off of a tree onto the edge of the fairway, now is twenty feet into heavy woods.

Lanes/Fairways-- Many holes that have no discernable lanes in which to throw. Makes it hard to find the basket and even hope for par.

hole 9-- 'nuff said.
Other Thoughts: Disappointing to say the least. We were miserable by 10. They could have done so much more with this great piece of property. On the bright side, there were some unused soccer fields that were great for field practice.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/19/2010   3/19/2010
Review By: geocachenut
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads, with new baskets. A great piece of property nestled in a park. Loved the idea that you only need to bring your Magnet to throw with. Excellent parking (lot is bigger than the area that the first 9 holes are located on).
Cons: Very, very tight lanes (if that is what you call them). Not much thought put into placement of baskets. In some locations, your basket may be located just a few feet from another. I don't expect a fairway, but the placement of baskets in the middle of 8 close trees makes getting a shot off nearly impossible at times.
Other Thoughts: Gave a 1 simply because of the tee pads and nice baskets...rate this course as if you were playing a mini putt putt course. Don't waste your time if you are a thrower, or if you think this will help your short game....

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.