Holland, MI 
Winstrom Preserve Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #10 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 193ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Perfect for casual and beginners

5+    12/15/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: nickster51
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy, approachable course.
- Fun, short, and open course for a beginner
- good course for working on approach shots and putting
Cons: - A few holes are crammed together making it easy to throw onto other fairways and even onto other tees.
- Not a lot of technical/challenging throws
- a couple confusing hole transitions (5 to 6, 10 to 11, 14 to 15).
(rough Course map just added)
- A lot of dead wood and stumps.
Other Thoughts: I never played this course before it was "gutted." I've heard it used to be quite a bit more difficult. I think it's a fun local course for the more laid back and/or newer disc golfers. I live just down the road, and I'll often stop and play a few games quickly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very fun first time here.

1    6/20/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: Robocision
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads

-18 short, very fun holes.

-Great use of elevation.
Cons: Next tee is not well marked at all. This was my only complaint
Other Thoughts: I was in Holland for vacation. Tossed a few discs in the trunk just in case there were a couple courses around the beach. I found this one.

I did not see the course before they cut the trees. Perhaps this is why the current state didn't bother me in the least. The wood chips and whatnot prevented me from slipping in the mud.

I thought the course was great all the way around.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good turned into decent

5+    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: DudeGoDiscGolfing
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is in a fantastic location on the corner of Ottawa beach road and 152nd. The breeze is fantastic because it is near the lake. The course has many friendly golfers. It has a little bit more of a tighter course atmosphere witch helps because the holes are small, so it is nice to have a couple of trees to make it more difficult. Concrete tees are a huge pro of the park, and I personally love the innova disc catcher baskets.
Cons: A couple of very unfriendly disc golfers go there. There are a lot of sticks and twigs around but they are working to clean it up and since then it has gotten much better. It is nice that they have the tee signs but they are heavily defaced.
Other Thoughts: There is pretty decent flow a couple of holes are kind of tricky like the walk from 9 to 10. (After the hole walk to the straight right down the path and the tee pad will be on the right.) Another tricky on is the walk from 14 15. (walk back up the fair way that you just came then walk down the paved path and it will be on the right.) I personally like the park it is a fantastic park for bigginers, but it could use a little clean up, and then it would be a fantastic short holed park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good, but messy.

1    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: ninjasousaphone
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
Pros: *Nice Course For Beginners and Amateurs.
*Holes are designed well.
*Flow isn't bad.
*Offers nice variety.
*The 14th and 18th hole are the best.
Cons: *It looks like the forrest was clear cut and they left all the scrap there. I went with my dad who has knee problems, and I was afraid all day that he would trip over the mess.
*The tee signs are defaced heavily.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely play here again, but it would be nice to see the park cleaned up so the course is more easily navigable. New signs and maps would also be nice.

 Quick play

5+    7/15/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: The course is located in the woods and its only 10-15mins away from my cottage.
Cons: Until the course is cleaned up, it is difficult to walk through with out tripping on a small stump or any of the other 5 million pieces of wood. The large trees were removed from the course in the spring, they are slowly cleaning things up. It currently looks like a tornado went through or possibly a scene from a WWII movie. I would recommend waiting to play here until things are cleaned up. It will look nice once all the loose sticks and knocked over trees are taken care of. They do needs some new maps to help navigate the course, you need to walk around and look a bit in order to find your way.
Other Thoughts: The majority of the holes are quite short. Hole 18 is probably my favorite hole on the course.

 Once a fun course, now gone

5+    3/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: None anymore! It looked like tornado wreckage in March.
Cons: There is no longer a reason to play here.
Other Thoughts: This course was once a solid four rating with me but this spring they ripped out a huge percentage of the trees, which was the appeal. Not worth playing whatsoever now.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/13/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: wow the pictures on the site is nothing like in real life, it was like a bomb went off in the forest. Nice tee pads a little short but its standard, alot of birdies and aceables holes on this course, throught the forest built in trash cans, decent baskets
Cons: well I guess If we didnt have a local play with us we wouldnt of found alot of the holes, only one bathroom by the soccer field, just pee in the forest if u are a guy.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course, my dad didnt but its a nice course for what little land they have.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Winstrom DG Review

1    8/7/2011   5/3/2012
Review By: markdh92
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's a good beginner course as far as learning how to play disc golf - short holes, tight fairways, etc. Great course to hone your skills at.
Cons: Heavily wooded, short course.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course because it fits my game. I throw hammer-style more often than not, so the tightness of the course doesn't bother me very much.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tight As A [Censored]

1    3/10/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This tightly-wooded course plays through tall, mature pines. The fairways range from partially wooded to ridiculously tight. Dense clusters of trees make up the "fairways" on more than a few holes, but undergrowth is largely absent. The final few holes work out of the woods into more open ground with a few deciduous trees. A small water hazard on the back nine spices things up a bit. Winstrom is comprised mostly of shorter-length holes, but these present enough of a challenge to not be mindless.
- The course winds back and forth over and around a modest scrap of elevation, but the spills and thrills come from navigating through the wall of pine.
- Concrete tees in average shape.
- Perfect for putter or one-disc rounds. Trust me, you'll feel utterly ridiculous bringing a bag along.
Cons: - Signage, where it exists, is basic. Several holes have defaced or missing tee signs. The flow is a bit awkward with one or two improbably long walks that might be a bit tricky your first time through.
- While squeezing the most out of the available land, Winstrom feels pretty cramped in places, with several safety hazards in the design quickly becoming apparent. Baskets near each other with a blind shot leading to one of baskets. Baskets near tees. Fairways near walking paths. Having to backtrack one hole's fairway to get to the next hole (still a bit of a distance off). Exacerbating this list of safety hazards is a "rules" sign on the first hole that explicitly forbids any "formal" or "league" play; and most on the course (at least the multitude that were out when I played) exhibited a very relaxed etiquette. "Casual" only. And the casual come in droves.
- The design tries its best, but ultimately Winstrom falls a bit flat. Repetitive and one-dimensional, not to mention more than a bit unsafe.
Other Thoughts: - Winstrom feels just a bit like a relic from the days of Steady Ed: throwing lids through the trees and whatnot. In that sense, the course succeeds. But in the end, the cramped conditions and frenetic traffic spoils a lot of the charm. As long as you can hit it during an slow time when the traffic isn't overwhelming, Winstrom is good in a pinch. But don't go out of your way or expect it to blow your mind.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not safe!

1    3/10/2012   3/17/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice little pine forest. That makes for tight lines and a unique setting. There isn't much rough, but the trees are dense enough that if you find your way off the fairways it can be challenging to save par. The tees are concrete, and though they're small they have plenty of room for the short holes here. The short, tight shots offer some fun short game challenges, this would be a good spot for putter or superclass rounds.
Cons: The safety issues here are pretty extreme. It's a really popular course, especially with casual players. With holes very near each other, including a couple spots where baskets are within 50' of one another, the amount of less accurate throwers compounds the potential issues. A few blind holes and players who don't know to check if the hole is clear or yell fore adds a little extra danger. There are a few navigation issues, with long unmarked walks and limited signage. Many of the tees are numbered, but a few aren't. The course gets a bit monotonous, with mostly hyzer and straight short shots, there's plenty of opportunity for more shot shaping variety.
Other Thoughts: Beginners can have a lot of fun here, as evidenced by the popularity with casual locals. The holes are short but still offer some challenges, and the atmosphere is pretty relaxed. More experienced players won't find many different challenges, and the business and safety issues on a nice day make this course a lot less fun to play. If I lived nearby, I'd probably only play at off-peak times, though it would be a fun place to work on your short game.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.