Disc Golf Store
Winchester, TN
Winchester City Park Share
Uploaded By: seanlanefuller Hole #6 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 190ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Thrown together

1    6/3/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: mobilemurphy96
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You dont have to go to far from Tee to tee. There is adequate shade for hot days. If you get confused, you could always watch the birds nests nearby or watch a softball game to ease the confusion. And as an added Bonus....... THey actually have installed that missing 9th basket. (which is luckily I found it due to the unorganized layout of tees)
Cons: Not organized in any way. Could not find one hole to the next.
Other Thoughts: This course is just to mess around. Not really enjoyable for an actual game. Use this course for practice. If they were to at least mark the basket with a number, at least you could find the correct basket.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/15/2008   8/10/2009
Review By: msudog_
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There really isn't much going for this course. There are 8 baskets now, and that is the only positive thing. Well, it's never crowded either.
Cons: This is one of oldest courses in the state. Unfortunately, I don't think it's been touched since it was installed.

There use to be 9 baskets, but one basket (5 I think), was hit by something and removed. It's a very short 8 hole course with rusty single chain baskets on most holes.

The tee pads are terrible. Most are breaking into pieces and pretty unsafe to drive on. One tee is about 3 feet long. The grass is mowed regularly, but the course is a mix of grassy spots/dirt spots.

There are some older tee signs, but they need to be replaced. This course needs an overhaul.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I ever go to this course is when I visit family that live in the town. It's still really difficult for me to go and play, it's so terrible!

The only reason this course doesn't get a 0 rating is because it has baskets. You might be better off making your own course with the baskets that are there.

Don't go out of your way to play! You will be disappointed!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 At least the lake is pretty...

1    4/24/2007   1/27/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 133  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The views of the lake are really nice. In the spring the breezes feel really good. Being close to the water, it doesn't seem like it would ever become unbearably hot. It is historically significant from what I am told.
Cons: Only 9 holes. This is not typically a concern of mine. However, this course is really off the beaten path. It is about 20 minutes from the nearest Interstate. So it is kind of a let down to go that far and only get 9 holes.

The baskets and tee pads are in really bad shape. Like I said before, the course is old.

The design is very basic. There is a little bit of elevation. Anhyzer and Hyzer shots are both needed but the holes look like millions of others that you have all probably played somewhere else.
Other Thoughts: Some throws are very close to softball fields. I only mention this because they take softball very seriously in Winchester. I play in softball tourneys a lot during the summer. There are at least 4 that occur on these fields and they are a big deal. I know that the tourney known as "the Chronicle" has about 150 teams playing. With crowds like these, you have no chance of being able to play the course at that time. If possible, you should call the Parks and Rec department to make sure no softball tourneys are going on. This course really deserves to be a .5 but if it is the oldest in the state, I can bump it up to "poor=1.0" for some significance. The bottom line is simply this...unless you are absolutely set on playing the oldest course in Tennessee, or you have a goal to play all courses in Tennessee, you will do yourself a favor by passing this course up. The drive is too far off the beaten path and Winchester, while charming, is as much of a "one-horse" town as any you might find.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/31/2012   7/9/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course provides scenic views of Tims Ford Lake, but the course itself is not on the lake. It is, however, in a decent city park across the road from the lake. There is ample parking, restrooms, picnic pavilions, other normal park activities, and a boat ramp across the street.

If you want to play a course nobody else is playing, then this is your place.

There are tees, baskets, and obstacles to at least make 9 holes of better-than-nothing disc golf.

Update- there have been some improvements made to this course since I last played it 7 years ago. A few of the baskets have been replaced with newer Machs. New tee signs have been placed over top of the old ones. I have bumped up my rating from 0.5 to a 1.0.
Cons: There are only 9 holes, but the main problem is that the course is really old and rundown. The tees are cracked and crumbling, many of the baskets are rusted, bent, have large holes, etc. If this was the first disc golf course somebody came upon, they would look at it and laugh, and go do something else.

Navigation is difficult. The baskets are not numbered and the holes are really close together. I only found 8 baskets (I played 5 and 6 to the same one), however, a recent reviewer said that found 9 baskets.

Most of the baskets are right next to a tee box, which would be very dangerous if the course was crowded, but it will probably never be crowded.
Other Thoughts: New pads, or removing the old and making natural pads, along with new baskets would make this a fun beginner/family course.

If you don't live in the area, it is not worth the drive as it is near nothing. If you live in the area I would find someplace else to play, create an object course somewhere, or go fishing!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

6/5/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: treethacker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like a course with historical connections then this is it. I have heard that this course is the oldest disc golf course in the state of Tn,having been built in 1988! Which leads us to the...
Cons: cons of this course..it looks like the last time anyone took care of this course was 1988.
The fifth hole was hit by a mower (read tractor)a little while back and was mashed all to pieces.It was eventually pulled up and I thought they were going to replace it with another but ..Nope! Its just gone so you have no fifth basket just a fifth tee whose ground underneath it is slowly been washed away.
The only reason you might want to go to this course is to maybe pratice your drives on the ninth tee..don't use the tee its self though cause it has broken into three large pieces,just stand beside it and throw!
If you live in this area and need to pratice some putting or drives then you might want to come by ,nine times out of ten you'll have it all to yourself
If your looking for courses to play and your driving a long ways-skip this one,its not worth your time unless your curious about what a course would look like if no one took care of it then by all means take a look! By the way I have seen this course used for a parking lot when they had baseball games at the near by baseball field.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dissapointed

4/28/2008   4/28/2008
Review By: Rogue Skunk
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole layout is acceptable.
Cons: Maintenance is inexistent. Most tee pads are crumbling to bits. Some tee pads are so short it is difficult to take a single step. Different style baskets used throughout the course. Some are ok, most are not.
Other Thoughts: We took a short detour on a trip to Huntsville from Chattanooga to check this course out. I have no plans to return. If you happen to be in the area (though I cannot think of any reason you would be) it might be worth stopping by to check another course off your list and increase your appreciation for your home course. Not worth a special trip.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.