Estacada, OR 
Timber Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 328ft.   3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Great course that comes up short

1    9/12/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 95  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.4 Years
Pros: Lots of variety. Great practice for all types of shots. Good ranges. Tees marked. Not overly crowded. Good wind but not too windy. Cement tee pads.
Cons: No tee maps or pin location indicators/markers. Playing the course the first time, had to scout most holes. Front nine were a little clearer than the back 9. 18-19 broken/missing? Pins for 4, 15 & 17 are all within a few feet of each other. Course map?
Other Thoughts: The back nine seem like more of an afterthought to the front nine. I didn't play Milo didn't know about it when I played this course and wouldn't have had time to play it on this trip anyway. This is another course that could be really great with a little help from tee maps, overall map, better direction markings, etc. This seems to happen to too many decent courses.

 Check it out!

5+    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of parking, Restrooms, Water, Pavillion with benches, Warm-up basket, Large concrete tee pads, good mix of RHBH and LHBH shots, Kiosk, Multiple pin placements, Dog friendly, Friendly locals and best of all it's FREE!
Cons: No tee signs, Crowded at times, Navigation can be difficult for first time.
Other Thoughts: Cool locals are very helpful with tips and navigation through the course. Tee pads have the number painted on them to assist with navigation. This course has all Mach III baskets and is one of the first DG course installed in the state of Oregon. This is a fun and challenging course and suggest that if you are in the area its a must play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Timber!!!

1    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: huckit541
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Parking, Bathrooms, Picnic Areas
Terrain and the large abundant trees create unique challenges on most holes. A few open holes for the longer arms. Great baskets and cement Pads on most tees. Multiple pin placements on most holes.
Cons: Needs tee box markers, no distance or placement info.
Other Thoughts: Worth the trip anytime you're in the Portland Area!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 49  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout with holes that keep your attention. A few short holes, a few long, and lots of in between. Really liked playing this course!

Went back and the old 19 were back! Still really liking this course!!
Cons: A few fairways are close and play against each other. So watch out for fellow players.

Just wish there was some tee signs with hole info on them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Big Timber

1    7/15/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Reminds me somewhat of Pier Park with the heavy evergreen timber and subtle undergrowth to define the fairways, but is different due to the lack of elevation. Timber Park is a fun course that let's you air out some long shots, but has enough trees to allow you to shape most of them. There are a couple of neat holes that are tight, thrown in as well. You will find a nice variety of left and right turning holes and some things in-between. I could imagine someone bringing their roller game, too. You will find the fairways and landing zones fairly ample, too. After playing some really hair-pulling courses before this (Horning's Meadow and Stub Stewart), I found this to be a relaxing, but still challenging change of pace.

Timber seems to have lived in the shadow of Milo next door, but if I lived in the area, I would surely play here frequently. As a WA guy (and not what I'd call a course bagger), I had never made the time to come here, as I would head directly to Milo. I'm glad I came here and judged Timber on its own merits.

The locals were friendly and helped guide us to some of the upcoming holes (a little tricky to find some with the outdated map 7/'11)
Cons: I wish there were more danger zones to create some drama on the course. Other than a couple of mandos (and a fairly menacing rough on #17), it seems that there are not elements to punish poor shots unless you hit a tree early.

The map is a little outdated and we had to ask people where to go next on a couple occasions. Hole #19 tee used to be near the end of #18, but now you must make a small walk back toward #1 pin to find the new tee.

There are no signs. The consolation is that they have neon numbers on the tee pads themselves and numbers on the baskets - I guess those two aspects would be considered a pro.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice place to get in an enjoyable round. If you have never been to Milo or Timber, I would suggest you come here first. You will likely enjoy what the course offers, then go to Milo. It is like having your main course before dessert.

I like the guy in the photo with the plaid shirt around his waist. I thought, for some time, that he was wearing a Kilt! Imagine that Huk Lab.......Or not!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 TIIIMMMMMMMBERRRRRR!!!!!!!

1    11/27/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As long as you try not to compare this course to its neighbor Milo Mciver you are going to have a really good time at a very good course. I recently played this course for the first time after playing Milo for the second time in my life and I had a really good time here and it was a bit relaxing and more fun than trying my best to conquer Milo if that's even possible. The mix of open and wooded sections of this course is quite impressive for any course just to have either one but this course has both, it kind of reminds me of a Milo/Pier hybrid; not quite that good or long though. With the exception of hole 18 I really enjoyed the multiple holes with the giant trees and no underbrush to the open field holes. The last two holes on the course (1 and 19) involve elevation with hole one being an uphill pitch to a tree protected basket sitting underneath the tree with hole 19 being a short shot with the dangerous "bowl" if you go long which adds strokes.
Cons: I have never been a huge fan of using a mandatory in course design and the ones that are here do not make much sense. Protecting a tee pad or fairway is the only reason a mandatory should be used and even then the question should be would it have been better to change the hole or use less holes overall on the course if there is an issue with space?

Some other reviewers have commented about following the course so I thought I would address this. I played with people that had played the course before so we didn't have much of an issue but if I would have tried to play it alone I more than likely would have been frustrated trying to find my way around. A couple of next tee signs would go a long ways here and it wouldn't take much money or resources to do so. It is nice though that the hole number is written on the correct tee pad.
Other Thoughts: There are some really memorable holes both good and bad here but this is a fun break from the demanding Milo Mciver Park and only a mile away. This course is well taken care of there was even someone who goes around and talks to the players and does work in the park in their golf cart; now if he could only sell snacks and drinks!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Probably Suffers The Milo Comparsion!

2-4    9/25/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Timber Park is nice wooded park filled with mature Douglas Fir trees and very little underbrush. The course plays mostly flat except for the for the first and the last (19th)holes. The course starts and finishes at the parking lot. There are concrete pads but no signs of any kind. Even without signs, it's a fairly logical, easy to follow navigation. The only tricky part is when you get to hole # 18. Not only is it the only hole on the course over 400 ft., it stands out by the power lines by itself at 600 ft. The course does a nice job of mixing in open fields, some more technical holes, a severe anhyser hole and the two before mentioned holes where you get to throw off some hills. You start the course with an interesting ACE run probably throwing an hyser off over the parked cars to a partially protected basket on a hillside. It's a fun little hole to start off with. The course was clean and free and litter. There's no signage for the idiot teens to grafitti up. It's suitable for beginners/families but challenging enough up to the upper Rec type player.
Cons: The lack of signage is a concern but then again it sure makes for a nice clean playing enviroment for a course without all those signs around. Advanced to pro players probably won't find this course challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: Being in such close proximity to Milo has probably been both an advantage and a disadvantage for Timber Park. I'm sure many players drive out here, play Milo, then come over and are disappointed. I think that's what happened to me the first time I played Timber. This time when we drove out here and found Milo shut down for a Civil War Re-enactment, we came over and played Timber and really enjoyed it. It's a great little throw! Most areas would love to have this course in their town or city.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The "other" course in Estacada

1    12/21/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Fun design.
*Good flow.
*Most of the baskets can be seen from the tee.
*Lefts, Rights, Straights, Tights, Opens.... great variety
Cons: *No tee signs, no real signs at all, except for the course map at the parking area (which you should try to memorize, there's some tricky walkouts, I think from 4 to 5 or from 5 to 6)
*No real elevation to speak of, besides the first and last (#19) hole...
* #18 doesn't fit the flow of the course at all. All of the holes to that point have been under 400 ft, then out of nowhere, you step up to this 600 ft monster.... It was just a random, distance adding hole.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in probably some of the most miserable conditions I've ever played in, but..... I still had a great time.

This course is really fun. It seems to reward a consistent player with a good sense of course management. There's nothing too long, besides #18, and most of the holes are birdiable with some good shots off the tee.

Even though there are no navigational signs, there are blue waste buckets next to each tee, so that helps with navigation.

If you're feeling a little defeated after Milo and you have some time, swing by Timber for a quick pick me up.....

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

5+    8/17/1998   3/17/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.2 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's been awhile since I've been there, but Estacada was a place that was always very enjoyable to play. Nice setting, nice park, we camped in or near the park, and there was other lodging close by also.
The course is moderately wooded /moderately open, and while the holes in general had some variety, there is only one really distinguishing topographical feature on the course.
In the center of the park, there is a large natural amphitheatre (like a big giant 3 sided bowl) where they host (or used to host) lumberjack competitions - hence the name Timber Park (I think). This feature comes into play on two holes that force you to throw over the edge of the bowl in one instance, and across the heart of it in another - both extremely fun shots. The woods are generally very large old growth trees, and so even in the summer time, it's well shaded and not uncomfortable to play.
Cons: Maybe just a little off the beaten path - about 20 miles east of Portland. But that's not much of a con.
Signs are needed.
Other than the one topo feature, the course is mostly flat.
Other Thoughts: Teepads were natural when I was there last, but apparently now has concrete pads.
I liked the mix of shots in and amongst the big trees. There are a couple places to let loose, and a few others that encourage creative shots off the tee (i.e. rollers, skip shots, etc.).
I think Estacada has been overshadowed by courses that have gone in since (McIver/Dabney) - but it's still worth the trip if you're in the area.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/29/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out design.
Good variety on the tee, mandos, shots that force you to curve it left, right, or keep it straight.
Good Baskets.
Course is kept up very well, Nice benches on the tees, trash cans.
Good use of OB areas give the course some well needed difficulty.
Cons: Nothing too challenging, outside of hole 17, could be a con for some advanced players.
No tee signs, it can be a bit difficult a few holes.
Can get quite crowded in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Timber park is a great all around course, it just seems to fit the needs of all players. I can come out on a nice summer day and find first time players, kids, and 20 year disc veterans enjoying the course. It's tough enough for most amature players to find some real challenge but not too tough to take out some first timers. Timber is also a great course to try out new shots, develope that forehand you always wanted.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.