Estacada, OR 
Timber Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #18 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 257ft.   3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Must Play

2-4    3/8/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent tee pads
-Multiple pin locations
-Mach 2 baskets catch great
-Beautiful setting
-No cost to play!

Cons: -Signage is minimal
-Can get very crowded
-More garbages and more benches would be nice!
Other Thoughts: With this being so close to McIver you can make a whole day of discing out of it. I really like this course actually. First time I played it I was exhausted from playing McIver beforehand. Course can get crowded on weekends with it being a "free to play" course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dry and dog friendly!

5+    4/1/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: matt2680
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This may not matter to some, but if you like bringing your dog along for the walk, then Timber Park is a course you're going to love. As long as you keep a decent rein on him and clean up after him no one will make a big deal about your dog being off-leash.

I really enjoy coming here during the fall/winter because it usually stays pretty dry compared to a lot of other course around the area.

Some delicate layouts thru the trees as well as some wide open holes. Good mix.
Cons: If you aren't a dog lover, then you probably won't enjoy all the freedom dogs are aloud on this course.

Somewhat confusing if you haven't played it or aren't with someone who has.

Sh*t creek. Especially during the winter, if you are unlucky enough to lose one in the creek it is very unlikely you'll get it back. It's not as bad during the summer but it gets pretty deep and swift the rest of the year.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course a 4 because it has a good mix of holes, is usually kept up pretty well, and because it is so dog friendly.

This place is just a good time. More often than not the people are friendly and laid back.

There are enough different shots needed during the round that it should be enjoyable for all skill levels.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Favs!

5+    8/6/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Reis Just Reis
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ Great variety of technical holes with a variety of obstacles, distance, and dog-legs.
~ Several places where you get to "grip it and rip it".
~ Minimal chances for lost discs (you have to throw REAL bad and not pay attention to where you threw)
~ Scorecards with map provided at first hole.
~ Tee pads and baskets in good condition.
~ NO $3.00 State Park Fee!!!
Cons: ~ The path from 17's pin to 18's pad can be easy to miss. Just know you have to head thru the trees to the power line tower. If you look in the right direction you'll see where you need to go :)
Other Thoughts: Easily one of my favorite courses! There is a sports bar in Carver (which is on your way if you are coming from the Portland area) where the food is great and the servers are awsome. Great place to stop after playing thru Timber Park or Milo McIver.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The name say's it all

1    2/15/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Beautiful wooded course
*Well maintained course
*Trash cans and benches are provided
*Alternative basket locations
*Mandatory flight paths
*Nice tee boxes
*Baskets are in ok condition
*Offers fun playability for all skill leveles
*Offers other activities for non players
Cons: I didn't like that the course didn't offer hole maps/guides. I can see it being hard to navigate for that reason alone. No posted pars were made available either.

A few of the baskets were beat up and w/ the change of one of the hole locations, makes them now numbered wrong.

some of the baskets were hard to see, it would greatly improve the visibility of them if numbered correctly and or painted in a bright color or even having a few flags as the bare metal blends in w/ the course's natural surroundings. it also was crowded.
Other Thoughts: i really loved this course and enjoyed playing in the canopy of trees. i was very happy that it flowed well and the space was utilized perfectly not being a crammed course. Having the mandatory flight paths made it fun and challenging. there are many other offered activities to do if you don't play disc golf making it a good family outing. Milo McIver is just on the other side of the river offering a 2 course playable day.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Timber

1    2/15/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: topdawgy58
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice course and very challanging. Lots of trees and alot angles. Some long holes and some short. Nice park.
Cons: No Tee signs. Baskets are hard to see because they have no color on them.
No maps or scorecards. Pars are not posted anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Could be a great course when its done.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The "other" Estacada course

5+    2/3/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Nice variety of holes.
- A few birdie opportunities, but no easy gimmes.
- Well-defined fairways on every hole.
- Very little underbrush; almost impossible to lose a disc here.
- Well-drained land; never sloppy/muddy, even in winter.
- Most holes have alternate pin placements.
- Excellent concrete teepads.
Cons:
- Very little elevation.
Other Thoughts:
The part of Portland General Electric's Timber Park set aside for disc golf is used ONLY for disc golf, and has been for years. So it has the feel of a "mature" course with straightforward fairways and very little brush to get lost in. Most of the course is under trees, but with enough open area that you don't feel like it's a crapshoot. No one hole stands out in my mind as much better or worse than the others; they're all different, all fun, and they flow together well. The only real negative I can come up with is that there isn't a lot of up and down; most holes are flat.

Timber is right across the Clackamas River from Milo McIver State Park, and lot of people think of Timber as an inferior alternative to McIver. I disagree; I think McIver has too many long, wide-open shots, whereas Timber mixes it up better. Besides, every time I finish at McIver I feel like the course has beaten me up, but I've never felt that way about Timber. It's not only that it's easier or shorter -- it's just more fun somehow.

Update, November 2009: they've finally re-opened the road down into the "bowl," updated the map on the kiosk, and changed the numbers on the baskets and teepads to reflect the new 19-hole layout.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Time at Timber

2-4    2/5/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 52  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge evergreen trees throughout the course. Should gives some good shade during the summer.
I think the quality of the holes is excellent, some short, some long, mando's to keep everyone safe and add to the difficulty. Enough open shots to really show your distance and some technicals thrown in.
Multiple Baskets, not sure how often they get moved.
Tee Pads are made of concrete and have a good length to them. Most have the hole number painted on them.
I think it is pretty hard to lose a disc on this course, except for hole 17. If you over shoot that one its a 50 foot drop off towards the dam. Elevation only come into play on #19.
Many of the tee's have benches next to them, some have picnic tables, and almost all of them have a trash bucket. This place was clean, no bottles or cans stuck in the bushes like other courses.
Cons: No tees sign made navigation difficult. That is the biggest con of this place. The tees are pretty easy to find but finding the basket was hard. I walked out on many tees to find the basket. On Tee 2 I got a heads up from a local on where the basket was. It wasn't where I was looking. Mach 2 baskets are hard to see in the trees for the first timer in the park. I prefer Discatcher Pro for that yellow band on the top.
The map of the course from this this website and the course home page are hard to read. Both are missing the new hole 19. I'm not a big fan of satellite pictures made into a maps. To much extra useless detail. The box for maps at the course was empty. No distance listing at the course or on the maps.
Other Thoughts: Of course it being winter the restrooms close to course are closed, but there is a porta-john at #19 tee and the restroom at the outer parking lot is open. The bridge over the creek is closed right now. This forces everyone to park in the outer parking lot and walk in. I think that is why I only saw one non-disc golfer on the course.

With economy the way it is I wonder if PGE could be persuaded to install tee signs? (Portland General Electric owns the park) They did install #19 tee pad and basket recently. That would give it another point on the rating scale in my book.

I think it's great that this place is so close to Milo. If you have the time play both courses in one day do it. I would definitely like to live near this place if I worked somewhere in the Portland area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course For Anyone

5+    7/19/2008   8/28/2008
Review By: PDXDuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained.
Plenty or trash cans and benches.
Variety of distances and hole layouts.
Enough trees to make it interesting.
Not too many nasty places to lose a disc.
Just down the road from McIver
Cons: Can get really busy in the summer.
No signs to next tee (a few tees harder to find).
Dark discs hard to spot in the shade.
Other Thoughts: A great course for any player and significantly shorter than McIver for new golfers. With McIver so close, you can play both courses in one trip. This park also offers fishing, picnicking, soccer fields and can be reserved through PGE.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/7/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: carp
Played: 57  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: it is hard to lose a disc and is a great course for all skill levels. nice variation of holes. some elevation changes but mostly flat.
Cons: no signs and usually no maps. if you dont know the course it is hard to get through.
Other Thoughts: this is my home course and do love it. the course has a good flow.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

10/17/2007   12/2/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: For one of the oldest in oregon, this is well thought through. Worth the time and mcIver is just down the road.
Cons: Flatter terrain than advertised.
Other Thoughts: Estacada is a little haven for campers. Not too far from mt. hood

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.