Disc Golf Store
Estacada, OR 
Timber Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #2 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A Must Play

2-4    3/8/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 46  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent tee pads
-Multiple pin locations
-Mach 2 baskets catch great
-Beautiful setting
-No cost to play!

Cons: -Signage is minimal
-Can get very crowded
-More garbages and more benches would be nice!
Other Thoughts: With this being so close to McIver you can make a whole day of discing out of it. I really like this course actually. First time I played it I was exhausted from playing McIver beforehand. Course can get crowded on weekends with it being a "free to play" course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course that comes up short

1    9/12/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 93  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Lots of variety. Great practice for all types of shots. Good ranges. Tees marked. Not overly crowded. Good wind but not too windy. Cement tee pads.
Cons: No tee maps or pin location indicators/markers. Playing the course the first time, had to scout most holes. Front nine were a little clearer than the back 9. 18-19 broken/missing? Pins for 4, 15 & 17 are all within a few feet of each other. Course map?
Other Thoughts: The back nine seem like more of an afterthought to the front nine. I didn't play Milo didn't know about it when I played this course and wouldn't have had time to play it on this trip anyway. This is another course that could be really great with a little help from tee maps, overall map, better direction markings, etc. This seems to happen to too many decent courses.

 Check it out!

5+    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of parking, Restrooms, Water, Pavillion with benches, Warm-up basket, Large concrete tee pads, good mix of RHBH and LHBH shots, Kiosk, Multiple pin placements, Dog friendly, Friendly locals and best of all it's FREE!
Cons: No tee signs, Crowded at times, Navigation can be difficult for first time.
Other Thoughts: Cool locals are very helpful with tips and navigation through the course. Tee pads have the number painted on them to assist with navigation. This course has all Mach III baskets and is one of the first DG course installed in the state of Oregon. This is a fun and challenging course and suggest that if you are in the area its a must play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Timber!!!

1    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: huckit541
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Parking, Bathrooms, Picnic Areas
Terrain and the large abundant trees create unique challenges on most holes. A few open holes for the longer arms. Great baskets and cement Pads on most tees. Multiple pin placements on most holes.
Cons: Needs tee box markers, no distance or placement info.
Other Thoughts: Worth the trip anytime you're in the Portland Area!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 46  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout with holes that keep your attention. A few short holes, a few long, and lots of in between. Really liked playing this course!

Went back and the old 19 were back! Still really liking this course!!
Cons: A few fairways are close and play against each other. So watch out for fellow players.

Just wish there was some tee signs with hole info on them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Coarse

5+    7/10/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: alozano
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great and challenging coarse!
The holes are a great distance from the tee with obsticals.
Its a great walk.
Has great Variety through out the park.
Theres 9 open holes so you have some great straight throws the rest make you use some technique.
Cons: A couple holes are a little hard to find.
Easy to lose discs if your throw is off

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Big Timber

1    7/15/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Reminds me somewhat of Pier Park with the heavy evergreen timber and subtle undergrowth to define the fairways, but is different due to the lack of elevation. Timber Park is a fun course that let's you air out some long shots, but has enough trees to allow you to shape most of them. There are a couple of neat holes that are tight, thrown in as well. You will find a nice variety of left and right turning holes and some things in-between. I could imagine someone bringing their roller game, too. You will find the fairways and landing zones fairly ample, too. After playing some really hair-pulling courses before this (Horning's Meadow and Stub Stewart), I found this to be a relaxing, but still challenging change of pace.

Timber seems to have lived in the shadow of Milo next door, but if I lived in the area, I would surely play here frequently. As a WA guy (and not what I'd call a course bagger), I had never made the time to come here, as I would head directly to Milo. I'm glad I came here and judged Timber on its own merits.

The locals were friendly and helped guide us to some of the upcoming holes (a little tricky to find some with the outdated map 7/'11)
Cons: I wish there were more danger zones to create some drama on the course. Other than a couple of mandos (and a fairly menacing rough on #17), it seems that there are not elements to punish poor shots unless you hit a tree early.

The map is a little outdated and we had to ask people where to go next on a couple occasions. Hole #19 tee used to be near the end of #18, but now you must make a small walk back toward #1 pin to find the new tee.

There are no signs. The consolation is that they have neon numbers on the tee pads themselves and numbers on the baskets - I guess those two aspects would be considered a pro.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice place to get in an enjoyable round. If you have never been to Milo or Timber, I would suggest you come here first. You will likely enjoy what the course offers, then go to Milo. It is like having your main course before dessert.

I like the guy in the photo with the plaid shirt around his waist. I thought, for some time, that he was wearing a Kilt! Imagine that Huk Lab.......Or not!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dry and dog friendly!

5+    4/1/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: matt2680
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This may not matter to some, but if you like bringing your dog along for the walk, then Timber Park is a course you're going to love. As long as you keep a decent rein on him and clean up after him no one will make a big deal about your dog being off-leash.

I really enjoy coming here during the fall/winter because it usually stays pretty dry compared to a lot of other course around the area.

Some delicate layouts thru the trees as well as some wide open holes. Good mix.
Cons: If you aren't a dog lover, then you probably won't enjoy all the freedom dogs are aloud on this course.

Somewhat confusing if you haven't played it or aren't with someone who has.

Sh*t creek. Especially during the winter, if you are unlucky enough to lose one in the creek it is very unlikely you'll get it back. It's not as bad during the summer but it gets pretty deep and swift the rest of the year.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course a 4 because it has a good mix of holes, is usually kept up pretty well, and because it is so dog friendly.

This place is just a good time. More often than not the people are friendly and laid back.

There are enough different shots needed during the round that it should be enjoyable for all skill levels.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 TIMBER

5+    7/5/2010   1/20/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 273  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Timber is a beautiful well kept park set in the tall trees of Estacada It is often overlooked because legendary Milo Mciver is just around the corner. This course will keep your mind active as you negotiate the mandos the many obs,and charting your course through the many trees. There are several birdie opportunities even for the amateurs but concentrate and park the birdie holes because sooner or later the ob or trees will nab you. There are 19 good tee pads, fine baskets and restrooms. There also is an elevated volcano hole in the B position of hole 10. You could hit the volcano with a good shot and then roll ob. Make a great long day of it by starting here and moving to Milo for the 2nd round for a total of 46 holes.A great mix of different shots and varying distances.
Cons: I suppose a hardened critic could find some flaws but I like Timber just the way it is.
Other Thoughts: Make it a yearly stop on your disc golf rounds if you live within striking distance.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 TIIIMMMMMMMBERRRRRR!!!!!!!

1    11/27/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As long as you try not to compare this course to its neighbor Milo Mciver you are going to have a really good time at a very good course. I recently played this course for the first time after playing Milo for the second time in my life and I had a really good time here and it was a bit relaxing and more fun than trying my best to conquer Milo if that's even possible. The mix of open and wooded sections of this course is quite impressive for any course just to have either one but this course has both, it kind of reminds me of a Milo/Pier hybrid; not quite that good or long though. With the exception of hole 18 I really enjoyed the multiple holes with the giant trees and no underbrush to the open field holes. The last two holes on the course (1 and 19) involve elevation with hole one being an uphill pitch to a tree protected basket sitting underneath the tree with hole 19 being a short shot with the dangerous "bowl" if you go long which adds strokes.
Cons: I have never been a huge fan of using a mandatory in course design and the ones that are here do not make much sense. Protecting a tee pad or fairway is the only reason a mandatory should be used and even then the question should be would it have been better to change the hole or use less holes overall on the course if there is an issue with space?

Some other reviewers have commented about following the course so I thought I would address this. I played with people that had played the course before so we didn't have much of an issue but if I would have tried to play it alone I more than likely would have been frustrated trying to find my way around. A couple of next tee signs would go a long ways here and it wouldn't take much money or resources to do so. It is nice though that the hole number is written on the correct tee pad.
Other Thoughts: There are some really memorable holes both good and bad here but this is a fun break from the demanding Milo Mciver Park and only a mile away. This course is well taken care of there was even someone who goes around and talks to the players and does work in the park in their golf cart; now if he could only sell snacks and drinks!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.