Estacada, OR 
Timber Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #19 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 362ft.   3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

2-4    6/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 52  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout with holes that keep your attention. A few short holes, a few long, and lots of in between. Really liked playing this course!

Went back and the old 19 were back! Still really liking this course!!
Cons: A few fairways are close and play against each other. So watch out for fellow players.

Just wish there was some tee signs with hole info on them.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Coarse

5+    7/10/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: alozano
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great and challenging coarse!
The holes are a great distance from the tee with obsticals.
Its a great walk.
Has great Variety through out the park.
Theres 9 open holes so you have some great straight throws the rest make you use some technique.
Cons: A couple holes are a little hard to find.
Easy to lose discs if your throw is off

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Big Timber

1    7/15/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 192  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 24.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Reminds me somewhat of Pier Park with the heavy evergreen timber and subtle undergrowth to define the fairways, but is different due to the lack of elevation. Timber Park is a fun course that let's you air out some long shots, but has enough trees to allow you to shape most of them. There are a couple of neat holes that are tight, thrown in as well. You will find a nice variety of left and right turning holes and some things in-between. I could imagine someone bringing their roller game, too. You will find the fairways and landing zones fairly ample, too. After playing some really hair-pulling courses before this (Horning's Meadow and Stub Stewart), I found this to be a relaxing, but still challenging change of pace.

Timber seems to have lived in the shadow of Milo next door, but if I lived in the area, I would surely play here frequently. As a WA guy (and not what I'd call a course bagger), I had never made the time to come here, as I would head directly to Milo. I'm glad I came here and judged Timber on its own merits.

The locals were friendly and helped guide us to some of the upcoming holes (a little tricky to find some with the outdated map 7/'11)
Cons: I wish there were more danger zones to create some drama on the course. Other than a couple of mandos (and a fairly menacing rough on #17), it seems that there are not elements to punish poor shots unless you hit a tree early.

The map is a little outdated and we had to ask people where to go next on a couple occasions. Hole #19 tee used to be near the end of #18, but now you must make a small walk back toward #1 pin to find the new tee.

There are no signs. The consolation is that they have neon numbers on the tee pads themselves and numbers on the baskets - I guess those two aspects would be considered a pro.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice place to get in an enjoyable round. If you have never been to Milo or Timber, I would suggest you come here first. You will likely enjoy what the course offers, then go to Milo. It is like having your main course before dessert.

I like the guy in the photo with the plaid shirt around his waist. I thought, for some time, that he was wearing a Kilt! Imagine that Huk Lab.......Or not!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dry and dog friendly!

5+    4/1/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: matt2680
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This may not matter to some, but if you like bringing your dog along for the walk, then Timber Park is a course you're going to love. As long as you keep a decent rein on him and clean up after him no one will make a big deal about your dog being off-leash.

I really enjoy coming here during the fall/winter because it usually stays pretty dry compared to a lot of other course around the area.

Some delicate layouts thru the trees as well as some wide open holes. Good mix.
Cons: If you aren't a dog lover, then you probably won't enjoy all the freedom dogs are aloud on this course.

Somewhat confusing if you haven't played it or aren't with someone who has.

Sh*t creek. Especially during the winter, if you are unlucky enough to lose one in the creek it is very unlikely you'll get it back. It's not as bad during the summer but it gets pretty deep and swift the rest of the year.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course a 4 because it has a good mix of holes, is usually kept up pretty well, and because it is so dog friendly.

This place is just a good time. More often than not the people are friendly and laid back.

There are enough different shots needed during the round that it should be enjoyable for all skill levels.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 TIMBER

5+    7/5/2010   1/20/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 418  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 16.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Timber is a beautiful well kept park set in the tall trees of Estacada It is often overlooked because legendary Milo Mciver is just around the corner. This course will keep your mind active as you negotiate the mandos the many obs,and charting your course through the many trees. There are several birdie opportunities even for the amateurs but concentrate and park the birdie holes because sooner or later the ob or trees will nab you. There are 19 good tee pads, fine baskets and restrooms. There also is an elevated volcano hole in the B position of hole 10. You could hit the volcano with a good shot and then roll ob. Make a great long day of it by starting here and moving to Milo for the 2nd round for a total of 46 holes.A great mix of different shots and varying distances.
Cons: I suppose a hardened critic could find some flaws but I like Timber just the way it is.
Other Thoughts: Make it a yearly stop on your disc golf rounds if you live within striking distance.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 TIIIMMMMMMMBERRRRRR!!!!!!!

1    11/27/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 231  Reviewed: 223  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As long as you try not to compare this course to its neighbor Milo Mciver you are going to have a really good time at a very good course. I recently played this course for the first time after playing Milo for the second time in my life and I had a really good time here and it was a bit relaxing and more fun than trying my best to conquer Milo if that's even possible. The mix of open and wooded sections of this course is quite impressive for any course just to have either one but this course has both, it kind of reminds me of a Milo/Pier hybrid; not quite that good or long though. With the exception of hole 18 I really enjoyed the multiple holes with the giant trees and no underbrush to the open field holes. The last two holes on the course (1 and 19) involve elevation with hole one being an uphill pitch to a tree protected basket sitting underneath the tree with hole 19 being a short shot with the dangerous "bowl" if you go long which adds strokes.
Cons: I have never been a huge fan of using a mandatory in course design and the ones that are here do not make much sense. Protecting a tee pad or fairway is the only reason a mandatory should be used and even then the question should be would it have been better to change the hole or use less holes overall on the course if there is an issue with space?

Some other reviewers have commented about following the course so I thought I would address this. I played with people that had played the course before so we didn't have much of an issue but if I would have tried to play it alone I more than likely would have been frustrated trying to find my way around. A couple of next tee signs would go a long ways here and it wouldn't take much money or resources to do so. It is nice though that the hole number is written on the correct tee pad.
Other Thoughts: There are some really memorable holes both good and bad here but this is a fun break from the demanding Milo Mciver Park and only a mile away. This course is well taken care of there was even someone who goes around and talks to the players and does work in the park in their golf cart; now if he could only sell snacks and drinks!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Probably Suffers The Milo Comparsion!

2-4    9/25/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 994  Reviewed: 941  Exp: 38.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Timber Park is nice wooded park filled with mature Douglas Fir trees and very little underbrush. The course plays mostly flat except for the for the first and the last (19th)holes. The course starts and finishes at the parking lot. There are concrete pads but no signs of any kind. Even without signs, it's a fairly logical, easy to follow navigation. The only tricky part is when you get to hole # 18. Not only is it the only hole on the course over 400 ft., it stands out by the power lines by itself at 600 ft. The course does a nice job of mixing in open fields, some more technical holes, a severe anhyser hole and the two before mentioned holes where you get to throw off some hills. You start the course with an interesting ACE run probably throwing an hyser off over the parked cars to a partially protected basket on a hillside. It's a fun little hole to start off with. The course was clean and free and litter. There's no signage for the idiot teens to grafitti up. It's suitable for beginners/families but challenging enough up to the upper Rec type player.
Cons: The lack of signage is a concern but then again it sure makes for a nice clean playing enviroment for a course without all those signs around. Advanced to pro players probably won't find this course challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: Being in such close proximity to Milo has probably been both an advantage and a disadvantage for Timber Park. I'm sure many players drive out here, play Milo, then come over and are disappointed. I think that's what happened to me the first time I played Timber. This time when we drove out here and found Milo shut down for a Civil War Re-enactment, we came over and played Timber and really enjoyed it. It's a great little throw! Most areas would love to have this course in their town or city.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Timber Park

5+    6/12/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Bdugan85
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2010
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: tons of friendly people willing to show new player where the holes are at, well manicured and clean.
Cons: Not a great beginners course, long tee shots, lots of ways to lose your disk here, holes not marked but easy to find where the tees at unless your that ignorant. Hole # 11 is a pain unless you like jumping in the creek.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, I grew up laying on this course and it will always be one of my favorite courses!!

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The "other" course in Estacada

1    12/21/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Fun design.
*Good flow.
*Most of the baskets can be seen from the tee.
*Lefts, Rights, Straights, Tights, Opens.... great variety
Cons: *No tee signs, no real signs at all, except for the course map at the parking area (which you should try to memorize, there's some tricky walkouts, I think from 4 to 5 or from 5 to 6)
*No real elevation to speak of, besides the first and last (#19) hole...
* #18 doesn't fit the flow of the course at all. All of the holes to that point have been under 400 ft, then out of nowhere, you step up to this 600 ft monster.... It was just a random, distance adding hole.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in probably some of the most miserable conditions I've ever played in, but..... I still had a great time.

This course is really fun. It seems to reward a consistent player with a good sense of course management. There's nothing too long, besides #18, and most of the holes are birdiable with some good shots off the tee.

Even though there are no navigational signs, there are blue waste buckets next to each tee, so that helps with navigation.

If you're feeling a little defeated after Milo and you have some time, swing by Timber for a quick pick me up.....

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Favs!

5+    8/6/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Reis Just Reis
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ Great variety of technical holes with a variety of obstacles, distance, and dog-legs.
~ Several places where you get to "grip it and rip it".
~ Minimal chances for lost discs (you have to throw REAL bad and not pay attention to where you threw)
~ Scorecards with map provided at first hole.
~ Tee pads and baskets in good condition.
~ NO $3.00 State Park Fee!!!
Cons: ~ The path from 17's pin to 18's pad can be easy to miss. Just know you have to head thru the trees to the power line tower. If you look in the right direction you'll see where you need to go :)
Other Thoughts: Easily one of my favorite courses! There is a sports bar in Carver (which is on your way if you are coming from the Portland area) where the food is great and the servers are awsome. Great place to stop after playing thru Timber Park or Milo McIver.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.