Estacada, OR 
Timber Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 342ft.   3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #?



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Probably Suffers The Milo Comparsion!

2-4    9/25/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 613  Exp: 36.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Timber Park is nice wooded park filled with mature Douglas Fir trees and very little underbrush. The course plays mostly flat except for the for the first and the last (19th)holes. The course starts and finishes at the parking lot. There are concrete pads but no signs of any kind. Even without signs, it's a fairly logical, easy to follow navigation. The only tricky part is when you get to hole # 18. Not only is it the only hole on the course over 400 ft., it stands out by the power lines by itself at 600 ft. The course does a nice job of mixing in open fields, some more technical holes, a severe anhyser hole and the two before mentioned holes where you get to throw off some hills. You start the course with an interesting ACE run probably throwing an hyser off over the parked cars to a partially protected basket on a hillside. It's a fun little hole to start off with. The course was clean and free and litter. There's no signage for the idiot teens to grafitti up. It's suitable for beginners/families but challenging enough up to the upper Rec type player.
Cons: The lack of signage is a concern but then again it sure makes for a nice clean playing enviroment for a course without all those signs around. Advanced to pro players probably won't find this course challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: Being in such close proximity to Milo has probably been both an advantage and a disadvantage for Timber Park. I'm sure many players drive out here, play Milo, then come over and are disappointed. I think that's what happened to me the first time I played Timber. This time when we drove out here and found Milo shut down for a Civil War Re-enactment, we came over and played Timber and really enjoyed it. It's a great little throw! Most areas would love to have this course in their town or city.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Timber Park

5+    6/12/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Bdugan85
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2010
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: tons of friendly people willing to show new player where the holes are at, well manicured and clean.
Cons: Not a great beginners course, long tee shots, lots of ways to lose your disk here, holes not marked but easy to find where the tees at unless your that ignorant. Hole # 11 is a pain unless you like jumping in the creek.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, I grew up laying on this course and it will always be one of my favorite courses!!

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The "other" course in Estacada

1    12/21/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Fun design.
*Good flow.
*Most of the baskets can be seen from the tee.
*Lefts, Rights, Straights, Tights, Opens.... great variety
Cons: *No tee signs, no real signs at all, except for the course map at the parking area (which you should try to memorize, there's some tricky walkouts, I think from 4 to 5 or from 5 to 6)
*No real elevation to speak of, besides the first and last (#19) hole...
* #18 doesn't fit the flow of the course at all. All of the holes to that point have been under 400 ft, then out of nowhere, you step up to this 600 ft monster.... It was just a random, distance adding hole.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in probably some of the most miserable conditions I've ever played in, but..... I still had a great time.

This course is really fun. It seems to reward a consistent player with a good sense of course management. There's nothing too long, besides #18, and most of the holes are birdiable with some good shots off the tee.

Even though there are no navigational signs, there are blue waste buckets next to each tee, so that helps with navigation.

If you're feeling a little defeated after Milo and you have some time, swing by Timber for a quick pick me up.....

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Favs!

5+    8/6/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Reis Just Reis
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ Great variety of technical holes with a variety of obstacles, distance, and dog-legs.
~ Several places where you get to "grip it and rip it".
~ Minimal chances for lost discs (you have to throw REAL bad and not pay attention to where you threw)
~ Scorecards with map provided at first hole.
~ Tee pads and baskets in good condition.
~ NO $3.00 State Park Fee!!!
Cons: ~ The path from 17's pin to 18's pad can be easy to miss. Just know you have to head thru the trees to the power line tower. If you look in the right direction you'll see where you need to go :)
Other Thoughts: Easily one of my favorite courses! There is a sports bar in Carver (which is on your way if you are coming from the Portland area) where the food is great and the servers are awsome. Great place to stop after playing thru Timber Park or Milo McIver.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Aaaarrrg

1    5/30/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: Nodosaurus
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2011
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Nice scenery and good drive to the course, mostly empty of players/people, supportive encounters, ok course
Cons: Spent a lot of time looking for holes and tees, no map board, no maps available. It really needs better markings - at least for a noob.
Other Thoughts: This review targets experienced players new to the course!

Do have a copy of the map if you're unfamiliar with the course, I'm sure its better with some understanding, my experience was poor

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

5+    8/17/1998   3/17/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 32.9 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's been awhile since I've been there, but Estacada was a place that was always very enjoyable to play. Nice setting, nice park, we camped in or near the park, and there was other lodging close by also.
The course is moderately wooded /moderately open, and while the holes in general had some variety, there is only one really distinguishing topographical feature on the course.
In the center of the park, there is a large natural amphitheatre (like a big giant 3 sided bowl) where they host (or used to host) lumberjack competitions - hence the name Timber Park (I think). This feature comes into play on two holes that force you to throw over the edge of the bowl in one instance, and across the heart of it in another - both extremely fun shots. The woods are generally very large old growth trees, and so even in the summer time, it's well shaded and not uncomfortable to play.
Cons: Maybe just a little off the beaten path - about 20 miles east of Portland. But that's not much of a con.
Signs are needed.
Other than the one topo feature, the course is mostly flat.
Other Thoughts: Teepads were natural when I was there last, but apparently now has concrete pads.
I liked the mix of shots in and amongst the big trees. There are a couple places to let loose, and a few others that encourage creative shots off the tee (i.e. rollers, skip shots, etc.).
I think Estacada has been overshadowed by courses that have gone in since (McIver/Dabney) - but it's still worth the trip if you're in the area.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 The name say's it all

1    2/15/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Beautiful wooded course
*Well maintained course
*Trash cans and benches are provided
*Alternative basket locations
*Mandatory flight paths
*Nice tee boxes
*Baskets are in ok condition
*Offers fun playability for all skill leveles
*Offers other activities for non players
Cons: I didn't like that the course didn't offer hole maps/guides. I can see it being hard to navigate for that reason alone. No posted pars were made available either.

A few of the baskets were beat up and w/ the change of one of the hole locations, makes them now numbered wrong.

some of the baskets were hard to see, it would greatly improve the visibility of them if numbered correctly and or painted in a bright color or even having a few flags as the bare metal blends in w/ the course's natural surroundings. it also was crowded.
Other Thoughts: i really loved this course and enjoyed playing in the canopy of trees. i was very happy that it flowed well and the space was utilized perfectly not being a crammed course. Having the mandatory flight paths made it fun and challenging. there are many other offered activities to do if you don't play disc golf making it a good family outing. Milo McIver is just on the other side of the river offering a 2 course playable day.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Timber

1    2/15/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: topdawgy58
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice course and very challanging. Lots of trees and alot angles. Some long holes and some short. Nice park.
Cons: No Tee signs. Baskets are hard to see because they have no color on them.
No maps or scorecards. Pars are not posted anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Could be a great course when its done.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The "other" Estacada course

5+    2/3/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Nice variety of holes.
- A few birdie opportunities, but no easy gimmes.
- Well-defined fairways on every hole.
- Very little underbrush; almost impossible to lose a disc here.
- Well-drained land; never sloppy/muddy, even in winter.
- Most holes have alternate pin placements.
- Excellent concrete teepads.
Cons:
- Very little elevation.
Other Thoughts:
The part of Portland General Electric's Timber Park set aside for disc golf is used ONLY for disc golf, and has been for years. So it has the feel of a "mature" course with straightforward fairways and very little brush to get lost in. Most of the course is under trees, but with enough open area that you don't feel like it's a crapshoot. No one hole stands out in my mind as much better or worse than the others; they're all different, all fun, and they flow together well. The only real negative I can come up with is that there isn't a lot of up and down; most holes are flat.

Timber is right across the Clackamas River from Milo McIver State Park, and lot of people think of Timber as an inferior alternative to McIver. I disagree; I think McIver has too many long, wide-open shots, whereas Timber mixes it up better. Besides, every time I finish at McIver I feel like the course has beaten me up, but I've never felt that way about Timber. It's not only that it's easier or shorter -- it's just more fun somehow.

Update, November 2009: they've finally re-opened the road down into the "bowl," updated the map on the kiosk, and changed the numbers on the baskets and teepads to reflect the new 19-hole layout.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Time at Timber

2-4    2/5/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 52  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge evergreen trees throughout the course. Should gives some good shade during the summer.
I think the quality of the holes is excellent, some short, some long, mando's to keep everyone safe and add to the difficulty. Enough open shots to really show your distance and some technicals thrown in.
Multiple Baskets, not sure how often they get moved.
Tee Pads are made of concrete and have a good length to them. Most have the hole number painted on them.
I think it is pretty hard to lose a disc on this course, except for hole 17. If you over shoot that one its a 50 foot drop off towards the dam. Elevation only come into play on #19.
Many of the tee's have benches next to them, some have picnic tables, and almost all of them have a trash bucket. This place was clean, no bottles or cans stuck in the bushes like other courses.
Cons: No tees sign made navigation difficult. That is the biggest con of this place. The tees are pretty easy to find but finding the basket was hard. I walked out on many tees to find the basket. On Tee 2 I got a heads up from a local on where the basket was. It wasn't where I was looking. Mach 2 baskets are hard to see in the trees for the first timer in the park. I prefer Discatcher Pro for that yellow band on the top.
The map of the course from this this website and the course home page are hard to read. Both are missing the new hole 19. I'm not a big fan of satellite pictures made into a maps. To much extra useless detail. The box for maps at the course was empty. No distance listing at the course or on the maps.
Other Thoughts: Of course it being winter the restrooms close to course are closed, but there is a porta-john at #19 tee and the restroom at the outer parking lot is open. The bridge over the creek is closed right now. This forces everyone to park in the outer parking lot and walk in. I think that is why I only saw one non-disc golfer on the course.

With economy the way it is I wonder if PGE could be persuaded to install tee signs? (Portland General Electric owns the park) They did install #19 tee pad and basket recently. That would give it another point on the rating scale in my book.

I think it's great that this place is so close to Milo. If you have the time play both courses in one day do it. I would definitely like to live near this place if I worked somewhere in the Portland area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.