Florence, AL 
Veterans Memorial Park (Lakeside DGC) Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 276ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    12/9/2012   1/8/2013
Review By: EsquireDyer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting layouts, varied distances and one my favorite holes of all time make the course one to be played. The views are fantastic. Several of the later holes in the woods closer to the lake are especially fun to play.
Cons: Without a lot of research online before playing some of the holes are very confusing to find. I can not remember a single sign on the entire course directing you from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: The course favors long throwers on many holes as the holes were open all the way to the basket with few obstacles.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Historic Old Course Is A Fun Throw!

1    7/8/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great piece of land for a course. The elevation change and wooded areas provide for a great throw. I agree with the reviewer who called this a medium length course. It's certainly more than a pitch and putt. The rough can be very unforgiving on a couple of holes. It was mostly signed. There are some benches placed around the course. I was lucky enough to hook up with a couple of locals otherwise I think it would have been a difficult to navigate the first time. Nice view of the river/harbor area.
Cons: Start with the baskets. They're certainly well constructed if they've lasted since 1983. I have no problem with the single chains but the saucer shaped baskets are going to kick out their share of putts. The carpet teepads are a little uneven and apparently a problem after rain. Navigating the course for the first time would be difficult.
Other Thoughts: I'd have no problem playing this as my home course. The baskets are fair for all that play here. It won't challenge the pros or more advanced players but provides an enjoyable afternoon of disc golf for most of us.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/22/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: Justin L
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A historic course with a variety of shots, accuracy and multiple skill shots (backhand, forehand, overhand) rewarded. Unique history of this course makes it a must play.
Cons: The carpet tee pads can get slick when wet and are unlevel in places. Course markings can be confusing for players unfamiliar with the course.
Other Thoughts: I couldn't decide to but the unique baskets as a pro or con. They definitely change how you play the course, and personally I would prefer them be replaced, perhaps relocated to a "pitch and put" style beginner course. If you have the opportunity stop by and play this course, you won't be disappointed! Huge props to SFC, the local club, for keeping this course in great shape!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/28/2010   12/1/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to play for all skill levels. It is mostly a pitch and putt course from the regular tees for pro level players, but there are some long tees and several of the holes have alternate pin placements that make the course a little more challenging. I would consider the course as mostly open, but with plenty of trees in the fairways to force your shot off the tee. The design is good, using these trees and elevation change to give the course a good shot variety, with a few interesting shots and force accurate shots off the tee. It is the kind of course to where every hole can be birdied with an accurate shot, but very few holes are actually gimmies.

The park is well taken care of and there are select benches placed throughout the course. Every hole has tee signs and the course loops back to the parking lot at the half way point, where there is also a pavilion and bathrooms. Camping is allowed in the park. The tees are a mix of concrete and carpet, which work well for the most part, although a few could use some work.
Cons: The locals consider their home made baskets a part of the course's long history and do not want to get rid of them. The idea sounds good, but for such a good course, my opinion is that it really detracts from your enjoyment of the round when you are waiting for your next good putt to get spit out. Yes these baskets will catch most putts in the sweet spot, even harder putts, but I have seen many good putts spit out that shapes my opinion of these baskets. Hole 15 has a concrete tee pad in which the rocks have become smooth to the point that they are always slick and when they are slick, it is like teeing off on ice. A couple of the carpet tees could use fresh carpet, where they have been trounced with mud and other wear and tear in recent years. A few more could use some more build up to counter the erosion, such as hole 1 with the roots, forcing a tough run up.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really like this course. It is very enjoyable to play and I like stopping to play if I am in the area, as well as attending their tournaments. The club small, but has several active and dedicated members. I would recommend this course if you are in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.