Florence, AL 
Veterans Memorial Park (Lakeside DGC) Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 234ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >

5+    3/28/2010   12/1/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to play for all skill levels. It is mostly a pitch and putt course from the regular tees for pro level players, but there are some long tees and several of the holes have alternate pin placements that make the course a little more challenging. I would consider the course as mostly open, but with plenty of trees in the fairways to force your shot off the tee. The design is good, using these trees and elevation change to give the course a good shot variety, with a few interesting shots and force accurate shots off the tee. It is the kind of course to where every hole can be birdied with an accurate shot, but very few holes are actually gimmies.

The park is well taken care of and there are select benches placed throughout the course. Every hole has tee signs and the course loops back to the parking lot at the half way point, where there is also a pavilion and bathrooms. Camping is allowed in the park. The tees are a mix of concrete and carpet, which work well for the most part, although a few could use some work.
Cons: The locals consider their home made baskets a part of the course's long history and do not want to get rid of them. The idea sounds good, but for such a good course, my opinion is that it really detracts from your enjoyment of the round when you are waiting for your next good putt to get spit out. Yes these baskets will catch most putts in the sweet spot, even harder putts, but I have seen many good putts spit out that shapes my opinion of these baskets. Hole 15 has a concrete tee pad in which the rocks have become smooth to the point that they are always slick and when they are slick, it is like teeing off on ice. A couple of the carpet tees could use fresh carpet, where they have been trounced with mud and other wear and tear in recent years. A few more could use some more build up to counter the erosion, such as hole 1 with the roots, forcing a tough run up.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really like this course. It is very enjoyable to play and I like stopping to play if I am in the area, as well as attending their tournaments. The club small, but has several active and dedicated members. I would recommend this course if you are in the area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Mature Course

2-4    10/17/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lakeside DGC is a mature course that is a medium length course (i.e., big arms aren't a huge plus here). It sets up well for the finesse player with good control and a good bag of tricks. If you don't stay in the fairways, your score will suffer. The course is very well taken care of and the locals are friendly and willing to help. It has lots of topography and forces you to compensate for elevation differences. There are lots of trees (and shade), but it is still pretty open because there is very little understory. Water really only comes into play on a couple of holes, and then only if your shot is very errant.
Cons: The only real complaint I have about Lakeside DGC is that it could be better marked to get you from hole to hole. I had to do a little searching to find my way around, but this is a minor complaint
Other Thoughts: Lakeside DGC is a must play if you are in the area. It is a really good course and I only wish I could take it with me. Many people complain about the baskets; which were custom made in 1983 (and are still around; testament to construction). However, if you hit center chains like you are supposed to, you are golden. You might get a few scoop outs because the bottom of the basket in sort of saucer shaped, but it isn't that bad. Everyone plays the same course, and the complaints you hear will be from people who couldn't find anything else to blame their low score on. I have only played 9 different courses in my time, but Lakeside DGC is in my top 2.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


3/15/2008   3/17/2008
Review By: The Drake
Played: 97  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 12.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As one of the oldest courses in the world Veteran's memorial in Florence is a very well designed course. It has a good mix of open and wooded holes with many short and one or two longer holes. Accuracy is the key on this course. For new players this is an ideal course to learn the game on as most of the holes are fairly short. For advanced a pro players low scores are possible but not a given for two reasons. The first is the utilization of elevation changes on the greens, the second is the fact that the course poses the first Headrick designed baskets (in a hand made fashion. Ask one of the locals to give you the story behind it) which provide for the dreaded "Florence Scoop"
Cons: The only real cons I have for this course are the baskets which provide for some serious spit outs and ridiculous scoop outs. You'll just have to play to really get a feel for them. Also some of the tees and pins are very close together, which during a tournament can provide a slight issue but nothing too bad. Many of the tee pads are carpet which works great as long as there hasn't been rain recently in which case they get extremely muddy and slick.
Other Thoughts: Simply because its one of the oldest courses around I highly suggest everyone try and play this course if you're in north Alabama. The SFC (Shoals Frisbee Club) does a great job of keeping the course in good condition.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.