Disc Golf Store
Mounds View, MN
Silverview Share
Uploaded By: mstephens627 Hole #1 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 189ft.   3 / 207ft.   3 / 207ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Hansen is only a little bit away

1    7/16/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: nightwriter
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many chances for an ace... Quick
Cons: Well, it's way too short. It's great for beginners, just go with someone else who knows the course. No numbers on the baskets, but you'll probably figure them out.
Other Thoughts: I'd try to talk you into heading to Hansen Park just a short drive up Silver Lake Road. First left after you cross over 694

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Beginer Course

5+    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: buzzkid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers plenty of elevation change, as well as some technical shots. Hole 1 is great for doing a hyzer flip shot. Grab a good stable to under-stable midrange and just send it right in. Love this hole! Hole 4 provides a good opportunity to work on anhyzers. The added dificulty of the hill and the blind basket makes it that much more fun. Hole 6 is one of my all time favorite shots alongside hole 4 at blue ribbon pines. Have good shot placement and you are going to be fine. This course is a good quick 9 to get warmed up on. I usually hit this course before going to Acorn, or any other course south of Blaine.
Cons: Hole 2 used to be one of the most fun holes ever because it was tucked into the trees and had a nice downhill shot. Now the hole has been moved to the bottom of the hill and there is no challenge. I have seen about 5 aces on that hole in the past 3 times I have gone there...so dissapointing to see one of the signature holes go. The pin placement change on hole 7 is depressing because it also messed with technical difficulty of hole 8 and the fun of having a nice hyzer shot is gone from this course. My biggest complaint is with the kids that are at that course. They always have their music cranked in the parking lot, screaming, and just making playing difficult. The amount of littering and vandalism just makes me sad because this is the course that I started playing on and it has just been destroyed in a matter of months by a bunch of dumb kids.
Other Thoughts: Fix holes 2, 7, and 8, pour some concrete tee pads, and get the dumb kids off the course and this will be one of the most fun 9 hole courses around!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent course

1    8/2/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: The_Babanator
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1-4 had really nice baskets and area around the baskets. Great terrain there was some challenging holes that were very hilly. 1-4 were my favorite out of all the courses that I have played because it is intermediate and challenging. That is where I am at so it was great but after that it was pretty much down hill from there.
Cons: After 4 the baskets were not as good and very hard to navigate. All the tees after 4 were just terrible and I couldn't even find some of the tees and never found hole 9 so it was very hard to navigate if you have never been there.
Other Thoughts: I think that they should make better tees, teeboxes and number the baskets better. Just play 1-4 a couple times and you'll have a great time. I really hope the city can put some more work into it for 5-9.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/31/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: blowil
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: multiple tees, a few maps on holes that dont need them
Cons: hard to find next holes, hard to locate pins from tee, no maps on tees that you cant see the pin from.
Other Thoughts: kind of fun played it twice and wont be going back

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What did they do!!

5+    10/28/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 140  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides you with a variety of shots, uphill, downhill (sometimes both on the same hole). There are short putter drives, as well as those holes to throw your roc/buzzz/fuse/? There is/was only one hole that I would throw a driver on, and that WAS hole eight. My favorite holes are hole one, which could be a RHFH, RHBH (snap HARD), or a Tomahawk hole, and hole four, when properly teeing off from the bottom of the hill. This shot is about 275', and you need to throw up, and then downhill towards a blind basket. When I first started playing, 15 years ago, the rough on four was rough, now it's much more forgiving.
Cons: They recently (past two weeks) moved the pin for hole 7 to the right, removing one of my favorite skip holes of all time. Now, hole 7's basket is straight past where hole 8's tee box was. Now that they've done this, hole 8's tee box has been moved forward, but it is still 10-20 feet from hole 7's basket. Now, not only do you have to wait for the morons who created an easier tee box on the hill for hole four (DON'T TEE FROM THERE!!!, Walk down the hill!!!), but you also have to wait for the group to clear the box on hole 8 before you throw. Not that any players here will really exercise consideration, but I guess I expect too much.
Other Thoughts: I still like this course. I use it as a warm up for the day, or as a course to play after a night of work. Hole six was recently stolen, dude was caught, and it was returned, and there is a sign at the entry warning against the course being pulled due to littering. There are definitely nicer courses around, and the lack of amenities (proper tee pads, etc.), and the modification of holes 7/8 have me pushing this one lower. The one bright side I see to the move is at least the city is paying some attention to this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great local course.

5+    10/15/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: nickc
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Silverview is an excellent course located in the Northern Suburbs of St. Paul. It utilizes varying hole distances, as well as elevation.

Holes do have multiple tees, however, it is easy to tell where people play most by the dirt spots.

Almost every shot imaginable can be used at Silverview.

Great for beginner and intermediate players

Not always busy

Decent Fairways

Open fields great for driving practice

Porto-potties on site

Only one water hazard

Room for more baskets!
Cons: No concrete tees, however this isn't terrible. You can throw from where your most comfortable.

Can be busy.

Holes are kind of short.

Fair amounts of litter and graffiti.

Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and makes excellent use of elevation.

Also, this is a pretty recent change, but Hole 7's basket has been moved to the left of where Hole 8's tee use to be. Hole 8's new tee is where the trash can is located.

Please note, for hole 3, do NOT start at the top of the hill.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/27/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: ElectricBoogaloo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Uses the terrain and trees well.

--I like #3--A shot up the hill to a blind basket. If you go a little too far, you end up at the bottom of the hill on the other side.

--The baskets are well placed. None of the holes are wide-open ace runs, they all use trees to protect baskets pretty well.

--Pretty hard to lose a disc here. Hardly any underbrush.
Cons: --Like teeing off from a sand volleyball court? Come here. Most of the worn tee areas have loose sand in them, which sucks to tee from.

--Number 5's tee is special. A 3x3 piece of turf with a large board in front. Worst attempt at a tee I've seen.

--Slow groups everywhere. None of them have learned the etiquette of playing through or yelling "clear".

--I'm still not sure where #8 tees from.

--Signage is there on a few holes, but it's either vandalized or useless.

--With no signage or defined tees, it can be hard to navigate for first-timers.
Other Thoughts: If you even halfway know how to throw a disc, you will look like a pro. I parked number 1 and got wide eyes from the groups behind and in front of me. Feels good to be admired for being average.

If you're in the area, stop on by. Other than that reason, don't make the trip for this course. My excuse for being there? Uhhh.....It's on the way to BRP for me.

Some basic improvements such as real teepads and good signs would GREATLY improve this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lot of thought, Not much action.

5+    9/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 186  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) On 5 and 6 there are water hazards that only come in to play if you completely shank your drive.

2) Front 4 are all hilly and open, Back 5 are fairly flat but heavily wooded. Nice mix.

3) 2 is THE hole to empty your bag for an ace, just a soft little left-curving downhill. Birdie every time.

3) Other reviewers have complained about the litter, well, there's a sign in the parking lot threatening to close the course if littering continues and it's obviously worked. there was no litter at all when i played most recently.

4) 7 is a short left shot into trees. Great for pinball.
Cons: 1) Every tee is rutted to the point that other tees are being worn down right next to the originals.

2) No signs on 5-8.

3) no tee on 8

4) 5's tee is astro-turf bolted to plywood and tucked back by some trees. This looks worse than just dirt. Also the tee is only about 3 feet long, watch your step.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a very promising course if someone would replace tees and signs and just take care of it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Older Beginner Course That Has Issues!

1    7/21/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Silverview is set in a nice little neighborhood park. It plays somewhere between a pitch & putt and a true beginner course. In my opinion, it's a little too technical to be considered a pitch & putt, hence the beginner label. The first four holes play on the grassy, hilly more open area of the park. The baskets are older but are fine for this course. There aren't really clear teepads on many of the holes. 2-3-4 are all blind shots on mostly hidden baskets. They're short enough to be easy birdies. There are a couple of nice ACE runs here. There's some elevation to play with and a nice balance of short and then some longer holes.
Cons: The tee signs are either missing or covered with grafitti. The course is covered with litter. It's pretty disgusting in places. The rough is mostly forgiving as players have broken down branches or completely taken out some smaller trees/bushes. The ground is pretty compacted in places, some woodchips around the baskets would be nice, especially in wet weather.
Other Thoughts: This is kinda of a fun little course but it's crying out for someone, anyone, to give it a little TLC. Start with the teepads. I don't think it even needs concrete but some kind of permanent, marked teepad such as patio, paver blocks inside 2" x 4"s would be great.

The next thing needed is a guardian angel type of person like some courses are lucky enough to have. Like a retired disc golfer who would walk through the course weekly and empty the garbage cans. Someone who would take some pride in the course and clean it up some, collect the cans and bottles. Maybe come up with some vandal-proof metal teesigns.

Silverview is a nice little course in need of some TLC. Who's willing to step up to the plate here?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Its fun

5+    8/2/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Timmylom
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is what it is, its short and plays really quick. That isn't a con. Its a great location and its clean. I am a very new player with very few rounds under my belt, that said I can shoot fairly well on this course because of its layout. Most of the holes are clearly marked with both track and distance.
Cons: The course can get very busy and is obviously frequented by Richards as evidenced by the vandalism. A few of the holes have no obvious tee locations and in my last round I actually saw 3 different groups in front of me drive from 3 different locations on hole 8. If you don't like playing courses that are busy then this isn't the course for you.
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect location for a new player that wants to shoot well, or a group that wants to level the playing field for everyone. The course gets a bad rep for being an easy course, however I feel it brings so much more then that to the table then that. This course throws out the big drivers and forces an accurate hand for the putts and approach shots. Great suburban Twin Cities course for locals.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.