Mounds View, MN 
Silverview Share
Uploaded By: mstephens627 Hole #2 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 147ft.   3 / 151ft.   3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Go to Hansen instead

1    5/4/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's a bit of elevation change and some different shot types. The baskets were fairly nice.
Cons: Dirt tees with no indication where to throw from. Signs missing from most holes. Two holes were missing. Navigation is difficult.
Other Thoughts: Hansen is only a few minutes away from this and is much better.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/31/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: blowil
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: multiple tees, a few maps on holes that dont need them
Cons: hard to find next holes, hard to locate pins from tee, no maps on tees that you cant see the pin from.
Other Thoughts: kind of fun played it twice and wont be going back

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/27/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: ElectricBoogaloo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Uses the terrain and trees well.

--I like #3--A shot up the hill to a blind basket. If you go a little too far, you end up at the bottom of the hill on the other side.

--The baskets are well placed. None of the holes are wide-open ace runs, they all use trees to protect baskets pretty well.

--Pretty hard to lose a disc here. Hardly any underbrush.
Cons: --Like teeing off from a sand volleyball court? Come here. Most of the worn tee areas have loose sand in them, which sucks to tee from.

--Number 5's tee is special. A 3x3 piece of turf with a large board in front. Worst attempt at a tee I've seen.

--Slow groups everywhere. None of them have learned the etiquette of playing through or yelling "clear".

--I'm still not sure where #8 tees from.

--Signage is there on a few holes, but it's either vandalized or useless.

--With no signage or defined tees, it can be hard to navigate for first-timers.
Other Thoughts: If you even halfway know how to throw a disc, you will look like a pro. I parked number 1 and got wide eyes from the groups behind and in front of me. Feels good to be admired for being average.

If you're in the area, stop on by. Other than that reason, don't make the trip for this course. My excuse for being there? Uhhh.....It's on the way to BRP for me.

Some basic improvements such as real teepads and good signs would GREATLY improve this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A beginner's course that is very beat up

5+    8/6/2010   3/27/2011
Review By: coolbrees15
Played: 544  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course holds a soft spot in my heart because it is the course I learned to play on. The course is very short and every hole is birdieable. The first four holes are more open than the last five. The course does use elevation fairly well on holes two and three. There really are some good design elements in the course. The course requires one of most extreme left break throws I have seen anywhere on seven. The course seems to be balanced for both right and left break on the throws or neutral allowing the player choose either break. The wooded final five has a bit of technical element to them but the players on the course have ripped out so many of the bushes and shrubs on the sides of the fairways landing in the rough is not too big of an issue. It is one of the few course where I expect to be under par every time I play there. The course is a good beginner course because of the lack of distance and the different types of shots needed.
Cons: The course is very beat up. The tee areas are basically just ruts in the ground. Last summer a local pro filled back in the ruts but within three weeks the ruts were back. The course would be much better served with real tee pads. At least the city seems to have decided that putting wood chips down on the tee areas was a bad idea because they did not put any down last summer and that is really good thing because the woodchips made the tee areas even more dangerous. The wait at Silverview seems to get worse every year. It is fairly normal to seek a long line on hole one. The people who play Silverview are generally very rude and inconsiderate to both other players and the course. Hole two use to be much tougher but the players have ripped out so much of the shrubs and bush to the left of the hole that is no longer a tough out. Last summer alone someone knock down part of a tree on hole five and on hole four someone lit a fire under the tee basket and then kicked the pin after the metal heated up and the pin is now bent at a slight angle. Some players have also decided that it is a good idea to have add a tee for the fourth hole at the top of the hill right next to the basket on three. I guess they do not think most people can get there disc to the pin on three in one but there were multiple instances when I had to ask them to move when I threw or when my disc almost hit them because they did not move. There is signage on the first four holes with distances and pars but there are no signs on the final five holes.
Other Thoughts: I wish Silverview was better maintained but I do not see the course be improved anytime soon. I will still have fond memories of the course but it gets harder and harder to play because the lines are so long and the course is in such a state of disrepair.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch & putt course that shows its age...

1    10/5/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: dispatch1313
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first few holes are ok because they use elevation changes. These ones are in the park area. The other half of the holes are in the woods area surrounding the park.
Cons: Typical pitch & putt park course. You could use your putter on the entire course. The dirt "tee pads" are worn way down and really rutted up. The baskets are as old as my grandma.
Other Thoughts: If you live nearby play this course because its close, otherwise don't waste your time. Go to Lochness Park in Blaine, its only 5 mins away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mehhh....

1    4/2/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: CReb
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like the hill, the woods add a little extra challenge, very narrow for the most part. Kinda fun. Very courteous locals/players.
Cons: TOO much forest, I know I said they add a challenge but on a 197' hole I shouldn't try for a good fifteen minutes to find a bright orange disc! There are no real tees. Just patches of dirt that look like they have been used for tees. Poorly marked. Holes and tees too close together in some spots. I almost got hit on hole 3.
Other Thoughts: On hole 4 there are two dirt patches in which people tee off from. Which one do you use? This course needs some marking.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lame course

5+    5/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: Moffwicket
Played: 55  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Uses elevation to make something out of nothing.
-Not a busy course.
Cons: -Very short holes.
-One hole plays directly adjacent to a playground with small children.
-Dirt tee boxes. On some holes (I'm looking at you, 4) there seems to be several places to tee from, and nothing to tell you which is the "long." Not even sure why there is more than one spot to throw from here, as the course too simple to warrant a "short" tee.
-Every wooded hole is merely a throw down the existing walking trail. It's as if the course was put in just because it could fit, not because it would be an interesting place to play.
-I wouldn't even say this is a good beginner course. There are no real open holes for them to practice a solid regular throw on. The only open holes are either uphill or downhill. The other two "open" holes are heavily guarded by trees with low-hanging branches. I could see a beginner getting very frustrated with that. The wooded holes are a combination of throwing down a path too narrow for beginners to throw and tight turns.
Other Thoughts: Hole 8 is the only somewhat difficult hole. After a straight drive down the walking trail, it requires you to land in a failry small window where you can throw down the path after it takes a sharp left.

The basket on hole 9 was stolen a few years ago, but I believe the culprit was caught entirely due to the efforts of a person or two on the MFA Yahoo group.

The only purpose I can see for this course is to try and squeeze in a quick round on your lunch break if you work nearby. It literally takes about 20 minutes to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.