Mounds View, MN 
Silverview Share
Uploaded By: mstephens627 Hole #4 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 302ft.   3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent course

1    8/2/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: The_Babanator
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1-4 had really nice baskets and area around the baskets. Great terrain there was some challenging holes that were very hilly. 1-4 were my favorite out of all the courses that I have played because it is intermediate and challenging. That is where I am at so it was great but after that it was pretty much down hill from there.
Cons: After 4 the baskets were not as good and very hard to navigate. All the tees after 4 were just terrible and I couldn't even find some of the tees and never found hole 9 so it was very hard to navigate if you have never been there.
Other Thoughts: I think that they should make better tees, teeboxes and number the baskets better. Just play 1-4 a couple times and you'll have a great time. I really hope the city can put some more work into it for 5-9.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What did they do!!

5+    10/28/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 157  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides you with a variety of shots, uphill, downhill (sometimes both on the same hole). There are short putter drives, as well as those holes to throw your roc/buzzz/fuse/? There is/was only one hole that I would throw a driver on, and that WAS hole eight. My favorite holes are hole one, which could be a RHFH, RHBH (snap HARD), or a Tomahawk hole, and hole four, when properly teeing off from the bottom of the hill. This shot is about 275', and you need to throw up, and then downhill towards a blind basket. When I first started playing, 15 years ago, the rough on four was rough, now it's much more forgiving.
Cons: They recently (past two weeks) moved the pin for hole 7 to the right, removing one of my favorite skip holes of all time. Now, hole 7's basket is straight past where hole 8's tee box was. Now that they've done this, hole 8's tee box has been moved forward, but it is still 10-20 feet from hole 7's basket. Now, not only do you have to wait for the morons who created an easier tee box on the hill for hole four (DON'T TEE FROM THERE!!!, Walk down the hill!!!), but you also have to wait for the group to clear the box on hole 8 before you throw. Not that any players here will really exercise consideration, but I guess I expect too much.
Other Thoughts: I still like this course. I use it as a warm up for the day, or as a course to play after a night of work. Hole six was recently stolen, dude was caught, and it was returned, and there is a sign at the entry warning against the course being pulled due to littering. There are definitely nicer courses around, and the lack of amenities (proper tee pads, etc.), and the modification of holes 7/8 have me pushing this one lower. The one bright side I see to the move is at least the city is paying some attention to this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Older Beginner Course That Has Issues!

1    7/21/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Silverview is set in a nice little neighborhood park. It plays somewhere between a pitch & putt and a true beginner course. In my opinion, it's a little too technical to be considered a pitch & putt, hence the beginner label. The first four holes play on the grassy, hilly more open area of the park. The baskets are older but are fine for this course. There aren't really clear teepads on many of the holes. 2-3-4 are all blind shots on mostly hidden baskets. They're short enough to be easy birdies. There are a couple of nice ACE runs here. There's some elevation to play with and a nice balance of short and then some longer holes.
Cons: The tee signs are either missing or covered with grafitti. The course is covered with litter. It's pretty disgusting in places. The rough is mostly forgiving as players have broken down branches or completely taken out some smaller trees/bushes. The ground is pretty compacted in places, some woodchips around the baskets would be nice, especially in wet weather.
Other Thoughts: This is kinda of a fun little course but it's crying out for someone, anyone, to give it a little TLC. Start with the teepads. I don't think it even needs concrete but some kind of permanent, marked teepad such as patio, paver blocks inside 2" x 4"s would be great.

The next thing needed is a guardian angel type of person like some courses are lucky enough to have. Like a retired disc golfer who would walk through the course weekly and empty the garbage cans. Someone who would take some pride in the course and clean it up some, collect the cans and bottles. Maybe come up with some vandal-proof metal teesigns.

Silverview is a nice little course in need of some TLC. Who's willing to step up to the plate here?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great variety, but needs better care

5+    6/7/2012   9/5/2010
Review By: mstephens627
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes:
1- low ceiling shot through trees
2- blind shot down hill to basket under large oak tree (now out in open in front of tree)
3- uphill shot
4- shooting over a tree-covered ridge
5- pitch past a small pond to basket behind tree
6- narrow straight shot through woods
7- a short, but hard dogleg left into the woods (now longer, straight shot to basket guarded by thick pines)
8- long narrow alley with a few scattered trees in the middle
9- dogleg to the right

Course navigation is fairly straight forward and the fairways are well mowed.

Mach 3 baskets in good shape except for number 9 with missing section of bottom basket piece.



Cons: There is a lot of trash scattered throughout the course, especially in wooded areas. More trash cans on the course would help.

Dirt tee boxes have become, broad, well worn craters that leave players guessing sometimes from where they should be teeing off exactly.

Signs on each tee have a map of the hole and distance, but some are inaccurate or missing from their post altogether. These signs have been slowly disappearing.
Other Thoughts: Silverview is a decent course, but I would think more highly of it if locals and the city took more pride in taking care of it. The excessive trash, vandalized signage, and dirt craters were the main reason why I had to give this course a 2. If these issues were resolved I would give Silverview a 3. Nonetheless, I do enjoy playing the course for its diversity of hole types.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's fun

5+    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: Spiky
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I just like this course. The holes are short, but quite varied. They give a bunch of different looks and moderate challenges. (ok, more like puzzles to figure out, not so much "challenge") It feels like 7-9 very different holes. The variety is interesting, if not particularly challenging, although aces are hard due to the weirdness of almost all the holes.
Cons: Short. And the dumbest, shortest tee pad I've ever seen for 5. We mostly tee off next to or behind every tee location due to:

Absolutely no upkeep on the tees. There was never more than a block of wood sunk in the ground for a tee (except for 5's dumb little pad thing), and now those are gone and they are mostly just craters, and almost no signage. Many people don't know where they are, and just play randomly. The ground is very sandy, so it is easily damaged into these craters. This course just screams, "give me concrete!"

Ex: people seem to have made a new tee for 4 right on the green for 3, directly in the line from 3's tee to its pin. 4's tee is actually down the hill away from the 3 fairway in a perfectly logical location, but the sign has been gone for years and apparently it's too hard to figure out. I had to wait yesterday for the slow beginner group in front of me to tee off for 4 before I could tee off 3. I don't think they expected us to throw that far, and I'm hardly a pro, but I shot it right through their makeshift "tee".

Many people at the park whenever I am there. The golf holes are mostly not impacting the other areas, but it does feel crowded on a couple holes like you could hit someone.

#2 used to be down a hill, then dogleg behind bushes into a tree-covered pin. The bushes in front have been gone for awhile, now it is a rather drab straight shot down a hill.
Other Thoughts: This course was really only 4 playable holes for many years. So glad they brought it back. I'd actually go play the 4 holes several times through back then, they are that much fun.

As I said, I just plain enjoy most of the holes here. But it doesn't deserve a high rating due to the problems and non-challenge.

As someone who has played this for over a decade, I thought I'd add this if it helps since other reviews seem to ask about hole 4:
There are 2 "real" tees. The long tee is straight down the hill from the #3 pin, heading back towards the #1 tee. It is pretty recognizable as a large crater. The short tee is kinda gone, now, I'm not even sure there is a dirt patch/crater to mark it. It was farther away from the 3 pin, up the walking path a bit from the long tee, towards the picnic area. (but not near the picnickers) It isn't a whole lot shorter, but it has a more direct line to the 4 pin. The patch up on the #3 green is NOT the 4 tee.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/23/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, easy warm-up, good introduction for beginers as there is some variety of holes, without the distances being overwhelming
Cons: did I mention short? Only hole 8 is not dueceable by any reasonable player (I am unhappy if I don't shoot under par at this course). Lots of interaction with other park users, need to watch for walkers and kids
Other Thoughts: Be prepared to play this course a couple times, it plays really quick, tee boxes could be better, but it is short so a big run-up is not needed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/29/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: MannyGetYourFun
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good "second level" course for beginners, meaning there's a decent variety of elevation/terrain. Good mix of open and tree-lined fairways. Nothing over 300+ feet (except hole 8, a challenging but cool tree-corridor shot).
Cons: Some holes make very good use of the terrain (2 through 4 in particular). Others, however, get squeezed out to dry. Hole 5 -- the lone "water hazard" hole -- is a 150 ft. joke that even beginners will snicker at. Hole 7 -- which forces you to use the am tee because the long shot goes through a playground -- also needs reworking. Not much love for left-handed or forehand throwers, except for holes 6 and 9. Tee pads are just spots of dirt.
Other Thoughts: Silverview may be a short round, but it definitely offers something to players of all skill levels. By virtue of proximity, I play here more than any other course. To many of my experienced friends, it's a good warm-up before a game at Acorn or Blue Ribbon. But to a beginner, it's a good introduction to dealing with elevation, trees and making smart decisions.

Hole(s) of note: 3 (Open, blind shot up a hill. Pin sits in a weird position near the top. Bad decisions can lead to a disc rolling 20-50 feet away. I won't even talk about windy days).

FYI: An unhealthy mixture of a-hole kids (I grew up here. Believe me, I'm not generalizing) and throwers who refuse to clean-up butts/beer cans/etc. have led to a greater presence of MV cops during peak hours. There's a suitable number of garbage cans around, so please don't litter.

UPDATE: Though it's still the same course, it's starting to fall into serious disrepair.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Too short

1    4/18/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: varzac
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A quick course to play if you are short on time. Good course for beginners to play. Mix of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Way too short for a competitive player. Most of the holes can be over driven without even trying.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/13/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A short, quick playing course that makes good use of the low hills with sparse trees and woods provided. Usually not too busy.

The flow is good and it is usually pretty well maintained. My favorite holes were probably 2 and 3. 2 plays 219' down a hill into a little grove of mature trees and 3 plays 261' over the top of a small hill. The basket is pretty much at the start of the opposite side downhill. Kinda fun design. This course is mostly a beginner course.
Cons: Teepads need lots of work. The paths through the park do cross hole 4s fairway. This is a blind shot as well and there is a picnic structure nearby so check for children before you throw. Hole 7 plays past a swingset so again be careful.
Other Thoughts: Plan on playing through it 2 times if you go since the course plays so fast.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center