Disc Golf Store
Mounds View, MN 
Silverview Share
Uploaded By: mstephens627 Hole #4 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 302ft.   3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Long Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Don't waste your time

1    5/17/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Fepowerguy8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: None..................................................................................
Cons: Impossible to navigate and poorly marked. The few holes I played weren't a challenge. Don't waste your time going to this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short course now shorter

5+    5/7/2014   5/7/2014
Review By: KnifeHyzer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, quick course. Ace potentials and a bit of elevation.
Cons: This was already a poorly maintained course, but now there are two holes missing. There used to be a nice "over the hill through a couple trees" shot on four, but that has been replaced by a kids playground. Then two holes later, what was once hole 6, the chains are gone and half the trees are cut down. In general, it's just a poor course that is now worse. Don't waste your time here. Hit up Hansen and play the old school cones!
Other Thoughts: It used to be an entertaining short course with a couple of interesting holes. Clearly the city doesn't want the disc golfers around. Couple more years and all the chains will be missing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Go to Hansen instead

1    5/4/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's a bit of elevation change and some different shot types. The baskets were fairly nice.
Cons: Dirt tees with no indication where to throw from. Signs missing from most holes. Two holes were missing. Navigation is difficult.
Other Thoughts: Hansen is only a few minutes away from this and is much better.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hansen is only a little bit away

1    7/16/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: nightwriter
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many chances for an ace... Quick
Cons: Well, it's way too short. It's great for beginners, just go with someone else who knows the course. No numbers on the baskets, but you'll probably figure them out.
Other Thoughts: I'd try to talk you into heading to Hansen Park just a short drive up Silver Lake Road. First left after you cross over 694

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginer Course

5+    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: buzzkid
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers plenty of elevation change, as well as some technical shots. Hole 1 is great for doing a hyzer flip shot. Grab a good stable to under-stable midrange and just send it right in. Love this hole! Hole 4 provides a good opportunity to work on anhyzers. The added dificulty of the hill and the blind basket makes it that much more fun. Hole 6 is one of my all time favorite shots alongside hole 4 at blue ribbon pines. Have good shot placement and you are going to be fine. This course is a good quick 9 to get warmed up on. I usually hit this course before going to Acorn, or any other course south of Blaine.
Cons: Hole 2 used to be one of the most fun holes ever because it was tucked into the trees and had a nice downhill shot. Now the hole has been moved to the bottom of the hill and there is no challenge. I have seen about 5 aces on that hole in the past 3 times I have gone there...so dissapointing to see one of the signature holes go. The pin placement change on hole 7 is depressing because it also messed with technical difficulty of hole 8 and the fun of having a nice hyzer shot is gone from this course. My biggest complaint is with the kids that are at that course. They always have their music cranked in the parking lot, screaming, and just making playing difficult. The amount of littering and vandalism just makes me sad because this is the course that I started playing on and it has just been destroyed in a matter of months by a bunch of dumb kids.
Other Thoughts: Fix holes 2, 7, and 8, pour some concrete tee pads, and get the dumb kids off the course and this will be one of the most fun 9 hole courses around!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    8/2/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: The_Babanator
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1-4 had really nice baskets and area around the baskets. Great terrain there was some challenging holes that were very hilly. 1-4 were my favorite out of all the courses that I have played because it is intermediate and challenging. That is where I am at so it was great but after that it was pretty much down hill from there.
Cons: After 4 the baskets were not as good and very hard to navigate. All the tees after 4 were just terrible and I couldn't even find some of the tees and never found hole 9 so it was very hard to navigate if you have never been there.
Other Thoughts: I think that they should make better tees, teeboxes and number the baskets better. Just play 1-4 a couple times and you'll have a great time. I really hope the city can put some more work into it for 5-9.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/31/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: blowil
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: multiple tees, a few maps on holes that dont need them
Cons: hard to find next holes, hard to locate pins from tee, no maps on tees that you cant see the pin from.
Other Thoughts: kind of fun played it twice and wont be going back

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What did they do!!

5+    10/28/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 157  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides you with a variety of shots, uphill, downhill (sometimes both on the same hole). There are short putter drives, as well as those holes to throw your roc/buzzz/fuse/? There is/was only one hole that I would throw a driver on, and that WAS hole eight. My favorite holes are hole one, which could be a RHFH, RHBH (snap HARD), or a Tomahawk hole, and hole four, when properly teeing off from the bottom of the hill. This shot is about 275', and you need to throw up, and then downhill towards a blind basket. When I first started playing, 15 years ago, the rough on four was rough, now it's much more forgiving.
Cons: They recently (past two weeks) moved the pin for hole 7 to the right, removing one of my favorite skip holes of all time. Now, hole 7's basket is straight past where hole 8's tee box was. Now that they've done this, hole 8's tee box has been moved forward, but it is still 10-20 feet from hole 7's basket. Now, not only do you have to wait for the morons who created an easier tee box on the hill for hole four (DON'T TEE FROM THERE!!!, Walk down the hill!!!), but you also have to wait for the group to clear the box on hole 8 before you throw. Not that any players here will really exercise consideration, but I guess I expect too much.
Other Thoughts: I still like this course. I use it as a warm up for the day, or as a course to play after a night of work. Hole six was recently stolen, dude was caught, and it was returned, and there is a sign at the entry warning against the course being pulled due to littering. There are definitely nicer courses around, and the lack of amenities (proper tee pads, etc.), and the modification of holes 7/8 have me pushing this one lower. The one bright side I see to the move is at least the city is paying some attention to this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great local course.

5+    10/15/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: nickc
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Silverview is an excellent course located in the Northern Suburbs of St. Paul. It utilizes varying hole distances, as well as elevation.

Holes do have multiple tees, however, it is easy to tell where people play most by the dirt spots.

Almost every shot imaginable can be used at Silverview.

Great for beginner and intermediate players

Not always busy

Decent Fairways

Open fields great for driving practice

Porto-potties on site

Only one water hazard

Room for more baskets!
Cons: No concrete tees, however this isn't terrible. You can throw from where your most comfortable.

Can be busy.

Holes are kind of short.

Fair amounts of litter and graffiti.

Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and makes excellent use of elevation.

Also, this is a pretty recent change, but Hole 7's basket has been moved to the left of where Hole 8's tee use to be. Hole 8's new tee is where the trash can is located.

Please note, for hole 3, do NOT start at the top of the hill.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/27/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: ElectricBoogaloo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Uses the terrain and trees well.

--I like #3--A shot up the hill to a blind basket. If you go a little too far, you end up at the bottom of the hill on the other side.

--The baskets are well placed. None of the holes are wide-open ace runs, they all use trees to protect baskets pretty well.

--Pretty hard to lose a disc here. Hardly any underbrush.
Cons: --Like teeing off from a sand volleyball court? Come here. Most of the worn tee areas have loose sand in them, which sucks to tee from.

--Number 5's tee is special. A 3x3 piece of turf with a large board in front. Worst attempt at a tee I've seen.

--Slow groups everywhere. None of them have learned the etiquette of playing through or yelling "clear".

--I'm still not sure where #8 tees from.

--Signage is there on a few holes, but it's either vandalized or useless.

--With no signage or defined tees, it can be hard to navigate for first-timers.
Other Thoughts: If you even halfway know how to throw a disc, you will look like a pro. I parked number 1 and got wide eyes from the groups behind and in front of me. Feels good to be admired for being average.

If you're in the area, stop on by. Other than that reason, don't make the trip for this course. My excuse for being there? Uhhh.....It's on the way to BRP for me.

Some basic improvements such as real teepads and good signs would GREATLY improve this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.