New Whiteland, IN 
Grassy Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: LaserGlide68 Hole #9 (Taken 8/2015)
4 / 352ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Across from Rascals Fun Zone. Drop the family off and throw some plastic!

1    12/22/2015   12/24/2015
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 367  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful creek flowing through both parks that comes into play on a couple of holes. I believe hole 12 is the signature hole!
West Park is full of older mature trees.
Fairly easy to navigate if you pay attention to the extremely nice tee signs.
Good variety of hole lengths/ shots.
Some elevation in a flat part of the state!
Cons: Natural tee pads.
8 & 9 pretty much share a fairway.
Weird walks between 9 and 10; 17 and 18, but not horrible if you pay attention to the signs.

I was forced to cross 13's fairway to get to 11's tee pad from 10's basket. 13's teepad backs right up to the creek so there's no way to avoid it. It can be fixed by playing the course this way: 10, 13, 14 then walk to road to safely go around 11's basket, play 12, 11, and go to 15.

This course plays over or around other park amenities (benches, basketball court, etc.) and really close to parking lots.

Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course that I could play daily and not get tired of. Concrete tee pads would be a real upgrade for this course after some of the items in the cons get fixed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A little something for everyone

1    10/11/2015   10/12/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 291  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Still fairly new, Grassy Creek has a front nine in the fairly open section of a multi-use park, and a wooded and more rolling back nine just across the bridge in the southwest section of the park. Excellent signage with hole layout and distances (and bag hooks) adjoin natural tees marked by the ground-level, red, Innova tee markers that allow for easy mowing and maintenance. A practice basket by the parking area, picnic table and port-a-potty, joins the other 18 brand new DisCatcher Pros that are easily spotted most of the way. Hole distances range from 178 to 452 feet (easy to justify them all as par threes for the average player), but there are also white blocks embedded closer to the first nine baskets for kids to throw shots from a lot closer, where there's virtually no chance of losing a disc.

For a little more challenge, the back nine rolls along a slight rise and amongst large, mature park trees beside a pretty creek. Hole 12 is especially scenic, running about 300 feet right to left and downslope toward the creek. There's even a tight double mando on the shortie back there on 15, where control off the tee tends to really shorten your glide, meaning it's not just an ace run. There are opportunities (especially on the wooded back nine) to shape shots in both directions, and to learn how to adjust for the slight elevations back there. You even finish back in the open on the east side of the park with an island green 18th. Not very long, but you've got the creek crossing in front and on the right, and the driveway beyond. A fun shot.
Cons: My biggest concern was the number of times I saw a park bench, picnic table, or even a basketball hoop in the line of flight. Probably occurring on half the holes, (or at least it felt like it), you do play over an old baseball field bench on 5, right at the parked cars on 6, along the neighbor's fences on 7, and right at the basketball court on 8. You have to walk across the 13th fairway to get from 10 to 11. The rhbh hyzer line on 16 goes over another parking lot and picnic table, and the hyzer lines on hole 17 for lefties and righties pass over the baskets on 13 and 16, respectively. So there are safety concerns if the park is busy, or if they want to hold a 'full' tournament here.

Although there were some next tee signs, and there's a course map and scorecard available at the hole 1 kiosk, it's a little confusing for first timers to head to the other side of the park for hole 10. Walk across the paved lot, beside the building, and then left, over the bridge, and the 10th tee is just down the slope past the guard rail.

The wooded half definitely has poison ivy on some of the trees and down on the creek banks, and might get a little buggy as well during the wet seasons.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very nice course, where we were actually saying, if I lived here, I'd play this often!

My buddy was driving, and glanced down at the Nav, then felt terrible about driving over a guy's Ace Race disc on the way out. If he wants, we'll have a half dozen to choose from after the 24th, if he wants a replacement. Message me here. So Sorry!

Reviewer Background as of this writing: age 54 w/ 4 yr experience, rated 900+/-, played 238+ courses in 23 states, 80% w/in 3hr drive of Cincinnati. Thrown with folks rated 600's to 1000's, ages 9 to 85 in events and leagues at all tiers. Seldom drive beyond 300-330, but have a solid up-shot and putting game. I haven't designed any courses, but try to lend a hand (with my severely desk-job limited skill set) when I can.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Starter/beginner Course. Back nine is better.

1    9/22/2015   9/23/2015
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 53  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +The signs are very good (although several on the front show trees that don't exist.)
+Grass is well mowed, or at least it was on the day I was there.
+Plenty of trash cans.
+Youth "tees" on the front nine make a decent score attainable for beginners and may encourage them to stick with the sport.
+Good quality baskets with thick chains.
+Decent flow and little difficulty finding your way around for the most part (from 9 to 10 is the only spot that's a little hard to find and you do have to cross one fairway to get to the next hole on the back nine.)
+Practice basket (although it is close enough to a fairway/basket on one of the holes that you could get hit with by a bad drive.)
Cons:
-The front nine is nearly devoid of obstacles on some holes.
-Several holes are very close together. With this being a beginner-level course, one would expect errant shots and if there's much traffic someone is probably going to get hit. There are also baskets and holes close to other things in the park (benches, volleyball court, basketball court, etc.)
-Even though the course is new the natural tees are already worn to the dirt. Even on a dry day I managed to slip on one tee. This is a negligible complaint, as the course is new and actual pads could be in the plan (I have no idea if this is the case or not.)
Other Thoughts:
1-186'. Straight shot with no obstacles other than the road to the right which is OB. It's not that far from the basket but the hole is short enough it shouldn't be a problem.
2-217'. OB to the right. The basket is under a large tree on the left side of the trunk so you have to come in low for an ace run. The road gets very close to the tree, so a regular right-handed hyzer could hit it and end up OB.
3-241'. OB to the right and two tennis courts (also OB) to the left make for a fairly narrow fairway. You have to play left-to-right, as there is a mando tree in a direct line towards the basket to keep you from throwing over the road.
4-423'. Pretty much a wide-open fairway. A bit downhill for the first 150 or so but not much elevation change. There is a volleyball court just off the side of the tee and if it would be in use you'd actually be throwing over a corner of it. The basket is built up on about two steps on a platform. The sign shows some trees near the basket so I hope that means they're going to plant them but they currently don't exist.
5-234'. Slight but steady incline. There is a fence that runs behind the basket that is OB, but the oddest (and ill-conceived) obstacle is a pair of metal park benches that sit a direct line between the tee & the basket about 2/3 of the way up the fairway.
6-303'. Downhill about the same grade as 5 is uphill. The fence to the right is OB. The basket is very close to the parking lot (OB) so cars are in danger of being hit. A throw off the tee that goes left also has the capability of hitting someone using the practice basket.
7-309'. OB fence along the right of the fairway, which is pretty much wide open until you get to the basket area. The basket is guarded by two pretty good-sized trees you have to split. They'll likely call for a lower approach shot. OB beyond the basket as well, but not likely to come into play.
8-353. A mando tree sits about 50' in front of the basket. Unless you have a big enough arm to throw a long, high hyzer you'll likely be forced to keep your drive low to get under the canopy of the mando tree. When you get to the basket you have to avoid throwing more than a few feet past it or you'll be on a basketball court. There also is a port-a-pot next to the basket that can come into play.
9-352'. Road to the left is OB, and it's lined with trees all the way to the basket. The trees are actually in a direct line to the basket so you have to get right of them. Don't get too far right off the tee or you could hit the port-a-pot. The road curves right and goes behind the basket as well.
10-230'. Walk from #9's basket across the street, through the parking lot, cross the bridge to get to 10. You'll be in West Park, which is wooded. Throw straight with your drive curving to the right at the end to get through the trees, but don't let it turn too much or you'll be in the creek. The entire fairway slopes left to right down towards the water.
11-452'. Somewhat narrow lines through the trees where, at about 200' or so you'll come to a hill with an ascent all the way to the basket. Don't get too far right or you'll be in the water.
12-308'. Downhill with a sweeping turn to the left, but you can't let your disc turn too soon or too much because the right side of the fairway is lined by the creek. The basket is probably only about 20 feet from the bank.
13-235'. The fairway narrows the closer you get to the hole. Your best bet is going to be a throw that tails off to the right at the end. This one goes slightly uphill and the basket is pretty well-guarded.
14-335'. There almost appears to be no line on this one. Most people will play a bit of an "S" shot to navigate the trees. There is a very slight gap a bit more to the left, but it's not for the faint of heart as you have to get between two trees that are probably 20 or 30 feet from the tee and they aren't but about six feet apart.
15-178' Short hole that is derives its difficulty from a double mando. You have to split two trees off the tee that are 30 feet or so away and only 6 or 8 feet apart.
16-293'. Two large trees off the tee have to be avoided and they force a fairly straight shot. There is a street to the right of the basket that is OB.
17-305. About the last 2/3 of this hole go downhill. You can choose a left or right line, but you can't go straight. The basket is very close to trees and there is OB to the right of the basket.
18-196'. Short but tricky. The fairway is narrow with a creek to the right and a parking lot to the left, both OB. Furthering your difficulty is a telephone pole about 100 feet away and a tree smack dab in the middle of the fairway about 40 or 50 feet past that. A ditch runs behind the tree down to the creek, and it is also OB with a street behind the basket creating an island of a landing area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Holes very close together

2-4    6/24/2015   6/26/2015
Review By: BBQ SQUID 9
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Odds are that around this area, the typical disc golfer is not a seasoned veteran due to the limited number of courses so the difficulty of this course is good for beginners to low intermediate.
-Fun use of mando's on #3 and #15.
-#1 is a good warm-up hole.
-#11 and #14 provide good use of trees.
-Good hole signage
-Water is in play, but you won't lose your disc if you throw it in since it is shallow. (big plus for a water course for me as I cant stand losing discs!)
Cons: -Most of these holes play very close to each other, so if you see a lot of people playing, you might want to pick a different course in order to not get hit.
-This course is very easy and could have some more difficult pin locations.
-#6 is a hated hole (by me) since you throw at parked cars and over a building so a near perfect drive is necessary to be safe from other people/car damage.
-Lack of concrete tees or even flat tee pad areas causes concern of sprained ankles on a few holes (especially on the back 9)
-youth pads are hard to see
-Needs to have all par 3 scoring for pro style play
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to get out and throw for low scores for veterans, especially on the front.
-I played especially well the first time I played there (-8 according to course standards) and even eagle'd 14, which i believed to be the 2nd or 3rd hardest hole on the course.
-This course does not have a lot of space, as I played the second and third time I tried to figure out if there were better uses of space for the area they had to work with. I couldn't really find any better places for things in this park so props for that.
-Overall, I rate it a 3 out of 5.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tale of Two Courses: East vs West Park

1    5/24/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: ajbova
Played: 106  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid beginner to intermediate level course that spans across both East (holes 1-9 and 18) and West (10-17) Park in New Whiteland. Playable by any age of disc golfer.

Baskets - 18 brand new Discatchers that catch great. Only one pin location per hole. There is also a practice basket near the defunct concession stand.

Signs - 1 sign at each hole that includes a map, distance, par, location of next hole, and sponsor. There is also a course map at the start that lists info about disc golf for newcomers. When needed, there are signs pointing you towards the next tee.

Tees - Tees at this course are natural. Regular tees are marked by two red disc sized markers in the ground that are easy to spot. Tees are level for the most part. 1-9 have dual "junior" tees that are short and a straight shot to the basket. Junior tees are marked by a 1' x 2' white block that is easy to spot. These are listed on the signs for the hole as well as course map. Fiance played from junior tees and absolutely loved it.

Variety - Front 9 is almost completely open minus a few trees, concession building, and some fences and is mostly flat. 4-7 have elevation changes. Holes 10-17 (located in west park) are the signature holes. These holes have multiple trees that create a shaded canopy. 11-16 have significant elevation changes in addition to the shade. 10-12 have a small creek creating more challenge. Even though it was wide it was less than a foot deep. 17 is a tricky downhill shot with a few lines due to the trees. Hole 18 (East park) is a short high risk high reward shot with a creek beside the hole and near the basket. Distances vary from 175ish to 400+ feet.

A few Mandos (3, 8, and 15) create additional challenge.

Benches and trash cans thoughout course. More benches in west park where the shade is.

A playground at each park (East and West).

Course was easy to navigate thanks to the signs and course map. For first timers, could be difficult from hole 3 to 4, 9 to 10, 15 to 16, and 17 to 18. Use maps!

Multiple options outside of course for food and snacks if you go north on highway 31 (gas stations, grocery store, fast food).

Much needed course for the area, especially with a crumbling Freedom Park. Compliments Blue Herron.

Very peaceful park inside of a neighborhood.
Cons: Several baskets near road, parking lot, other holes. 2 and 3 are next to parking for basketball area, cars will park around basket. 6 and 8 are within 10 feet of parking area. 9 is 8 feet from a road into park. No issues on back 9.

Several fairways border each other or houses which can cause issues if busy. 7-9 all border each other. 6 and 7 borders several houses with fences (trespassing issues?). 11 and 12 could share a fairway if not careful. 16 and 17 get pretty close as well. This is only an issue if course is busy, otherwise it shouldn't be a problem.

Have to cross hole 13 fairway to get to tee of 11.

Besides safety issues, my next biggest con is poison ivy in West Park. The Mando trees on 15 are covered with poison ivy. Be careful. Bring sanitizer.

I do not mind natural tees if they are marked. Some people will complain about a lack of concrete or gravel tees.

Why are the junior tees only holes 1-9? Holes 10-18 need these too. It would be still be challenging and would elevate the game of a junior player. The markers would not cost too much more to add to every hole.

Could use a few more directional signs from holes 9 to 10 (East Park to West Park) and from 17 to 18 (West Park to East Park).
Other Thoughts: This was a great course. I will definitely come back if I get the chance. If I came back, it would be because of holes 10-17. The holes in East Park are too open for my liking. If trees were added to East Park, it would change everything.

East = completely open and mostly flat. West = Hilly and wooded aka technical.

Honestly, if given the chance I would rate this a 3.25. It's better than a 3 but not quite a 3.5. The openness and shortness of the holes in East Park would made me lower my vote. When/if the course adds trees to East Park, I will update the review after replaying course. If each hole had concrete tees and a junior set, I would definitely give this a 3.5.

I would recommend this course to any beginner or intermediate player. It's a great course to practice any type of shot. Advanced players will enjoy West Park. It's a short drive from Greenwood, I-65, and even from Franklin.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

1    5/24/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: zadkisson
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really uses the grounds available quite well. Every hole has a nice sign and they even include course maps on hole 1. There are OB lines through out the course that are marked clearly on the maps that add some extra challenge to the throw. Hole 15 is a great example of such. The grounds are well kept and the back nine incorporates some mature trees making for a tougher back nine. I also thought the elevated basket for hole 4 was very nice.
Cons: The front nine is for the most part, primarily flat and open. The flow of the course can be troubling in places. There were not any tee pads, however the markings for tees are well marked and clearly visible pointing strait to the basket. The biggest complaint I would have about this course is the fact that most of the course plays right along people's back yards. The neighbors seemed friendly however I could see a yanked disc hitting something in a yard and causing issues. Other than that, no complaints. Beautiful course.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play with your friends. Would definitely come back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Intermediate Course

1    5/9/2015   5/11/2015
Review By: Awturner762
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This course has a beginner friendly front 9 with junior tees that offer a shorter hole distance for beginners or younger players. The front 9 is mostly open with some trees here & there.
- Pretty well-designed course with a good balance of open holes and obstacles to play around, especially on the back 9. The back 9 is mostly all wooded with much more challenging holes than the front.
- Being a new course, the signs are brand new with a map included at the first hole and two hooks to hang disc bags at each hole. The front 9 is a little easier to find each hole, but the back 9 you might need the map for.
- I thought the par 4's were pretty forgiving. Gave me a good opportunity to recover from a bad throw or putt on a previous hole. A couple of them could be par 3's in my mind.
- This is a pretty safe course in terms of losing a disc. There are only a few holes that run next to the creek which is pretty shallow and could easily fish out your disc. Except for hole 18 - Good God don't overthrow 18 into the ditch... It's a swampy mess that I wouldn't fish my disc out of, but maybe that's just me.
Cons: - No concrete tee pads, just two red tees indicating where to throw from.
- The park is right next to a neighborhood and a bad throw could end up in someones yard, hitting a house, on someone's roof, etc.
- There's not really a great place to park without running the risk of getting hit by a disc. Hole 6 & 8 run the risk of nailing a car on your drive from the tees. My car got hit while I was playing (no damage - it landed on the windshield under my wiper...it was a good laugh but could have really nailed it)
Other Thoughts: - The back 9 is almost all in the woods so bug spray might be a good idea :)
- A few mandos throughout the course. Some those can be really frustrating, but I didn't mind them on this course. I thought it was pretty fun/challenging to force my throw.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.