Minneapolis (Plymouth), MN 
Zachary Playfield Share
Uploaded By: Jenga54 Hole #1 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Oddly fun...

1    9/22/2015   12/22/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 227  Reviewed: 152  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course that winds around a multi-use park in the burbs of Minneapolis, MN.

Nice enough DGA baskets. Run of the mill, well mounted, decent enough shape. One pin position per hole.

Concrete-ish tee pads. We'll call them paved. Definitely good enough for what's going on here. One tee position per hole.

Holes 1-4 play in a small section of woods right next to the parking lot, and around the water tower. Tight lines through the trees on 1-3, and a little hyzer shot around the water tower on 4. They're not long, but they're technical.

Nice water carry on hole 5, and just a touch of elevation on hole 7.
Cons: The navigation here is not intuitive, to say the least. 1-4 and 5-9 are kind of in different areas of the park. After hole 4, you need to go to the OTHER side of the pond...if you didn't know that beforehand, you could spend some time trying to figure it out.

Holes 5-9 are in the open area of the park, and there's decent traffic here, especially around the very nice playground. Hole 8 plays right next to a baseball field fence, as well. You can very easily end up on the wrong side. These holes are kind of just dropped in wherever there seemed to be space. Not great.
Other Thoughts: The holes themselves aren't bad...it's just getting to them that is quite odd here. I'd never play it on a really busy day, as I imagine the park gets quite full.

Not a horrible course, but definitely not something to go out of your way for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 City planners forgot about this one...

5+    4/4/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: Deadbishop
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 20.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: IF the city got around to it, this would be a great course. Used to be much better than this.
Cons: #1, #2, #4 all seem fairly identical. Shoot through trees. After #4, it seems like the city can't make up it's mind how to lay things out. #6 doesn't even have a basket! It's just a pole with an orange sticker.
Other Thoughts: It seems like this course has been half finished for years now. I wish the city would stop screwing with the layout. Not worth laying until they clean up and finish this mess.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not Quite Sunnyside

5+    9/8/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 251  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) There is a map posted at the start of the course, which is good, you're probably going to need it.

2) Only 1 water hazard, and it's easily avoided

3) #6 is a nice long bomb downhill shot

4) #s1, 2 and 4 are mid-range corridor shots. very tight and controlled fairways
Cons: 1) From Basket 1 you have to back-track down the fairway to get to #2

2) Rude Tennis players

3) Course does not flow very well. there is a lot of time spent wondering where to go, map at beginning is nice but I'd like to see signs.

4) I play this course about once every 2 months and every time i play it's a little different, but it's never good
Other Thoughts: Worth playing if Sunnyside or Plymouth Creek are busy, or for a quick warm-up.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/5/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only pros with this course that I can see is that the first shots in the woods are pretty challenging. Other than that, you only have to worry about throwing over the pond.
Cons: There are no signs that tell you where the next hole is so if it's your first time, good luck finding where to go. The few times I've played it, I've never played the same holes. Everything seems to be different each time I have gone.
A building was recently built in the way of the fairway on hole 3 I think.
All throws are pretty short, I'm not sure there was a need for a driver the last time I went.
I have only ever played 8 holes here, and they've been different ones each time.
Other Thoughts: This course could be an ok course if there was more directions on where to go. If I go back and there are 9 holes and maybe a little bit of signage, I might update my review. If in the area, go a mile to Plymouth Creek or to sunnyside or bassett.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  First 4 Holes Great

2-4    5/30/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: jon61575
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first 4 holes are great for working on your short or mid-range game. They are in a tight woods and will test your accuracy.
Cons: Only 8 holes total. The last 4 holes are nothing special.
Other Thoughts: After playing through the whole course twice I went through the first 4 holes several times working on my accuracy and mid-range game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.