Disc Golf Center

Course Extinct
Hudson, WI 
Willow River State Park Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My Hometown Course

5+    4/18/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: manzilla86
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is right across the river from where I grew up, and I learned to love disc golf here. With that said, it is obvious I am biased toward this course and so take my review with a grain of salt.

This is a beautiful course and even if you are hitting every tree in the park it is hard not to admire the view from the lake or the feeling of being in dense woods. The course makeup has a good variety of out in the open holes and wooded holes. Mostly short and some long holes. If you use this course to train and have fun (like I do) you will appreciate the ability to practice tightening your shots on the narrow wooded holes while also having the opportunity to play more forgiving holes in the open.

I love this course, it is near and dear to me.
Cons: Most cons have been mentioned in other reviews. I would NOT say the fact that it is 13 hole is a con, considering that is 4 more than many 9 hole courses I come across. An understandable con is the fact that some holes are ridiculously easy, but then the next hole will be close to impossible. You'll have one hole out in the open, only 180ft long with no obstacles, then the next is a hole that is in the woods with no fairway.
Other Thoughts: I POSTED A WALKTHROUGH VIDEO IN THE LINKS SECTION. I made this video a while ago, and it's on YouTube.

While I love this course, as I have stated many times, I always have an annual pass to the state park, which isn't expensive for me since I live in Wisconsin. If, however, you live in nearby Minnesota, the daily vehicle fee is 10 bucks, and quite frankly, there are enough cool courses for free in Minnesota and Wisconsin that you might not want to spend the money. If you are looking for a fun day, the state park has a beautiful waterfall with a high overlook. That is why I didn't put this in the cons section, because while it does cost money, it can be worth it depending on what you make of it!

Thanks.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/2/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: maeittreim
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok course not to many long or really difficult holes. If you are a beginner this should be a good course for you to look at playing.
Cons: only 13 holes to choose from. Pretty short in length too. Lost a disc as well which makes it pretty tough to favor the course :)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/17/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: Philofthefuture87
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Challenging play in the woods
2. Nice view of the river, as well as fun enclosed wooded holes. The location is wonderful
3. The rest of the park of outstanding with a beautiful waterfall.
Cons: 1. Shorter holes for people who like a nice wide open course.

2. Can be frustrating. You can have a great round and golf well under par, and then the next round you may find yourself with your worst score ever. The tight enclosed holes can be deadly.
Other Thoughts: I grew up next to Willow River and it is a true gem. Lots of fun to play. I go pretty much every weekend when the weather is nice.

There is a man that plays this course named "George." He is a sight to see because he rides his bike many miles to get there, with a backpack full of sparks.(a hybrid beer/energy drink). His discgolf style is unlike any other because he literally tomahawks his drives. If you see him do not be afraid.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    3/26/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: Limp Forehand
Played: 119  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The Holes in the woods make you really think about flight, and provide a windless, shady environment in the summer.
-state park scenery,
-a good mix of open and tight fairways, -secluded holes w/benches for breaks.
You'll see some good nature- Bald Eagles, deer, turtles, etc.
Cons: State Park Rangers- think they're so big.
No Trash cans- if u bring it in take it out.
Not a full 18.
Pay
I've heard big talkers put it down b-cus the holes aren't all 300+ but the nice scenery and wooded holes aren't a cake walk.
Other Thoughts: Getting to holes 1-4 are easy to navigate but you must backtrack on 4 to get to #5- it's the first one in the woods-u'll see a bench.

Do not send your disc into the water on the last hole

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Willow State Park

5+    3/21/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: bloodydisc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Very well maintained course.
Cons: Very Short Holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for recreational Disc Golf. All but 3 holes are in the woods and pose a challenge weaving in and out of trees. There are select lanes you can choose from. and use all natural elements of the land.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.