Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #5 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 163ft.   4 / 447ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Immaculately maintained

2-4    5/24/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The thing that really sticks in my mind about this place is how nice this place looks. Every green had a soft layer of shredded cedar mulch on them. The tees had garbage cans, recycle bins, and benches, signs, and bag holders. All fairways well mowed and the rough trimmed out. Thank you!

The course reminds me somewhat of the Hiestand course I had played in Madison, WI a couple days prior. The fairways are fairly wide and well- defined - it's when you hit the rough edges that can mess with your score. There are not many holes in which you find a lot of trees "in" the fairway. Often times the fairway trees affect either the drive or the approach, but usually just one or the other.

Dual pins (both permanent in the ground) give you options. The Innova yellow bands on the short pins help you home in on the long pins which are less visible.
Cons: Just as Hiestand in Madison, there was a glut of right turning fairways (about half), which was a bit repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I joined a group of singles that were gathering on the first tee. I'm glad we did - good company and one of the guys got an ace on hole #11! Much better than playing through all day (crowded on a Saturday - we had to wait to tee on nearly every hole).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly Beautiful Course

2-4    7/3/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: emiller3
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
+ This course is incredibly well kept up and beautiful, well worth the $5 fee
+ Great use of elevation
+ Wide variety of shots required
+ Love that both baskets are in place all the time
+ Trash cans, benches, bag hangers galore.
+ Tee signs well done and very clear signs pointing you to the next basket
+ Tee pads in great shape
+ Overall, course flow is well done
+ Fairways are well defined and rough is typical for the area, thick but you can get in their a usually find your disc.
+ Hole 17 is epic, a couple others are very scenic as well
Cons:
- Overall challenge could be better, I've played this course three times over the last three summers and am pretty much guaranteed to shoot under par (playing par 55) in the long pin positions. The course par is a bit of a joke, I think I was -11 according to the posted par, I would recommend playing everything except 8 long as a par 3.
- Pin positions are static, wish they had more.
Other Thoughts: I play Bryant Lake Park every summer on my annual trip to visit the in-laws. It's an incredibly well cared for course, it's been a unique experience for me, it's the closest experience to the country club atmosphere of ball golf that I've had. If they added alternate pin positions that increased the challenge a little, I'd rate this course a 5, there would be nothing I could find wrong with it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    7/21/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 419  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large, multi-use park with lots of other activities going on. Luckily, the disc golf is well separated from everything else, there shouldn't be any interference.
- Majority of the course are holes with mowed fairways and nasty rough to avoid. While there aren't many trees to avoid in the fairway itself, there are definitely lines that need to be hit, and places to get in serious trouble. A good variety, with RHBH hyzers, anhyzers, flicks, and tricky straight shots. Hyzers include a gradual one on #9, #10, and #14, and a sharper one on #10. Some shorter flick shots like #3 and #6, and longer annys like #8 and #18. Some cool straight shots like #1 past some trees, a flex on #2, a pinch point on #5, and a long downhill bomber on #17.
- A few other holes have more trees to contend with, like a very small RHFH hyzer on #13, a tight downhill tunnel hyzer on #16, a gap over a hill on #15, and a very cool basket placement behind trees and a built-up wall on #4. There is a wide route on the left, otherwise it's a dead straight shot.
- A good amount of spots have elevation changes, both gradual and pretty extreme. #1 is a low valley, #3 is a slight uphill, #5 has an elevated pad, #6 is back uphill, #9 is slightly uphill, #10 has a good downslope, #13 is slightly down, #15 is up and over a hump off the tee, #16 is downhill, and #17 is a BIG downhill. A very good mix from start to finish. There are also many spots where the land slopes off of the fairway, so an errant shot can be in SERIOUS trouble. #6 and #7 are very nasty to the left, past the basket on #9 is rough, must be avoided at all costs.
- Some very cool basket positions, #3 is on a built-up platform, #7 is up a multi-tiered structure, #15 is on an 'island' past some sand, #16 is located directly behind a large boulder, and #17 is on a HUGE built-up, multi-level wood platform.
- A few spots with water, more marshy than anything else. Still hazardous, and something to look out for.
- Amenities here are top-notch; excellent signs, great teepads and baskets, benches, erosion control, paths, stairs, you name it. Only thing missing is a practice basket.
Cons: - Since most of the holes are out of the woods, there are some pretty open lines. Being able to follow the usual hyzer or anyhyzer lines can be good enough to score well. There are holes with gaps to hit, certainly, but a lot of them are very forgiving.
- Course is pretty friendly to left handed players, with only a few holes that require a true hyzer line. A straight shot is usually good enough in almost all cases if all else fails.
- A little bit on the shorter side; there are five holes under 250', and some of the longer shots are downhill, like #1, #5, #10, #11, #16, and even the longest hole #17.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a very enjoyable course that has a very high fun factor and a good variety of shots. There are a lot of unique holes, like the block-off green on #4, the gap shot on #15, the cool boulder on #16, and of course the mega-bomber on #17. The elevation changes really make things interesting, and missing your lines can be big trouble. Beginners might want to hold off on this one for a little bit, everyone else should thoroughly enjoy it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautifully groomed

1    10/2/2011   1/23/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a scenic park with some excellent views on many holes. This is one of the most manicured courses I've played, the grounds were immaculately kept and the amount of work that has gone into retaining walls, terraced greens and steps on the steeper hills is just amazing. There is lots of timber and stone work around the tees and greens that really adds a special vibe to this course. There are dual pads and dual pin positions, many holes had two baskets in play when I visited to add some variety and different challenges. The long tees have decent signage, the course flow is easy to follow with no major navigation issues.

There is a nice mix of hole shapes, lots of straight shots with a handful of left and right turning holes. A few longer holes mixed in with the mostly reachable shots keeps things interesting. There is elevation throughout the course, with some really fun downhill holes and some tricky uphills. Many of the greens offer roll away potential. Hole 17 is an empty your bag shot (too bad it wasn't the last hole, it would make a perfect ending to the course), with a great looking view off the tee and space to watch the disc fly.
Cons: The biggest issue with the course for me is the lack of challenge. Even the long tees and pins don't offer much challenge for better players, and the short setup is pretty beginner friendly. A few holes feel a bit like filler at times. There are several pretty open holes with long grass rough, my least favorite obstacle as it adds frustration not challenge.

Hole 17 is a ton of fun, but the road, path and parking lot in play are a bit of a safety issue. I would like to see a bit better indication of which holes have multiple permanent pins, and which placement is in use on others. With a handful of blind holes it adds some time scouting out the baskets.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun playing this course, it's not that tough but it's an enjoyable course in a nice park. Beginners can have a lot of fun here, with reasonable lengths and only a handful of really technical shots that punish misses. More experienced players can enjoy the work on their short game here, but won't find too many different parts of their game truly tested. I love to see courses that get this kind of care and attention, especially with a fairly reasonable price tag to play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Scenic

1    6/6/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bryant Park DGC is easily the nicest course I have ever seen. The groundskeeping is amazing with neatly mowed fairways and well-defined rough, concrete tees that sit in built-up and framed tee boxes, mulched greens surrounded each basket in a large circle. The course has many benches, excellent bag hangers, and great tee signs. Navigation was a breeze without the map, but you do get a map and scorecard once you pay. I can't express in words how much time, effort, and attention to detail that has been put into this course (check out the pics and you will see). Also, this park does not feel like it is in a big city as it has grassy hills, large trees, and spectacular views of the lake that can be seen from many of the holes.

The course itself features a solid design with good variety of open/wooded, left/right/straight, and flat/up/down. There are two sets of tees for each hole- the shorts are great for any level player and the longs offer more challenge of length and often a different angle. Even from the longs, this course is on the shorter side of the modern day average, but there is enough rough, obstacles, mandos, and o.b. to keep you honest.

There was no repetitive or filler holes. There were, however, multiple unique/memorable/signature holes. For example, #7 features a tiered green, #15 has an artificial "water" hazard, and of course #17 which is one of the ultimate "top-of-the-world shots".
Cons: Just a very few nitpicky things: There is no water in play, despite the name of the course!

There was one longer than normal walk somewhere in the middle that could have used a sign or two to help navigate through the woods as there were multiple paths.

The hill to #15 tee was steep and did not have stairs- they are found all over the rest of the course but badly needed here. There appeared to be some (presumably temporary) construction/maintenance on holes 15 and 16 so, I unfortunately did not get to play #16 with the big rock as was intended, but instead there was temp discatcher set up short. I am not sure, but #15 may have been different than the normal set up as well.

There were 2 baskets in the ground for each of the first 4 holes, but the rest only had 1. (Maybe 2 per hole is a work in progress?)

The shorter tees did not have a tee sign of their own.
Other Thoughts: It does cost $3/person/day to play here, but you can clearly see those dollars at work. Bryant is a beautiful course with its natural scenery and the man-made luxuries. It offers a country club feel that you normally only see on ball golf courses.

This course is more about having fun in an amazing setting, rather than being difficult- and it succeeds and exceeds its purpose. Those looking for the ultimate challenge will not find it at Bryant Lake so keep that in mind, and if I lived here I would probably get bored after a few rounds here and would seek courses with a higher level of difficulty. However, it is no pitch and putt slouch either- the holes are interesting enough and you still have to throw quality shots to shoot well.

Also, this course is really close to Gotta Go Gotta Throw, so be sure to check out their large inventory while you are here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Its a very purty course, albeit some underwhelming holes

1    6/10/2010   2/15/2011
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great intermediate to recreational level course. Probably in terms of amenities and manicuring, Bryant Lake probably ranks at the top of any course that I've ever played. Beautiful detailed signage, spacious dual pads, and often dual baskets on many holes. Terraced tees and pin areas which add a fun element to approaches. Lots of trees and schule to avoid and great elevation changes. Everyone needs to play the signature downhill bomb on 17 long-long just once. $3/day $35/year fee keeps a lot of the riff-raff element away.
Cons: Advanced to pro level players will be underwhelmed here (although they can still enjoy themselves). For all of its manicured beauty, the amenities do seem to be putting a facade on a course that simply isn't that challenging. I'm not that great a player, and even playing this course for the first time I was able to shoot 6 up from the long pads (albeit to what was the short basket in most instances because it took me awhile to realize some holes had two baskets). I like the idea of having dual baskets as they give the players choices, but they can lead first timers here to confusion as they're not common at most courses. Distinguishing them with different colored flags would help. While I love the shot on 17, there is potential for hitting people on the roadway or bikepath below, or for hitting cars in the parking lot to the area right of the baskets. Watch before you throw if you decide to shoot from the long pad.
Other Thoughts: Yeah, while it wasn't exactly BRP, I'd definitely come back here and play again, and I think people should stop by here if they're in the Twin Cities just to see what is possible as far as sprucing up their course if we start embracing the idea of pay to play. If you come here, definitely keep an eye on your throws or send out someone to spot as there are plenty of spots off the fairway that can hide your disc.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!!!

1    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is exceptionally nice & challenging. It has everything a top tear course should have (with the exception of very little water). The use of the property is well though out and there are some incredible views. It is very clean and well maintained.

- Wide variety of shots.
- Big long tee pads.
- Two tees and pins on most holes.
- Lots of elevation changes.
- Exceptional landscaping & maintenance.
- Wooded holes, open holes, rights, left, ups & downs.
- Great signage & benches. Awesome tee pad areas in general, best I have seen.
- Sand traps. THIS IS SUCH A GREAT IDEA!!!!
- Hard for beginners but doable because of short tees and pins.

This is one of the nicest course I have played it is right up their with Blue Ribbon Pines. There are three or four signature holes and the rest of the course is awesome as well.
-The 17th hole is what this course is known for 542ft over the parking lot off a massive cliff. Very sweet but can be dangerous as well.
-16 has a very cool rock in the middle of the fairway that comes into play and makes this hole interesting.
-14 or 15 has a sand trap, which I think is a great idea. I wish there was more holes like this and more course that put traps in use.
-Hole 7 is set atop a four-tear, landscaped pyramid that was made for erosion control. It is very intimidating and can make for some bad rolls.
Cons: 1)Most of the difficulty of this course comes from the length. It has some interesting hole placement but for the most part you don't have to think about your line to much. Don't get me wrong I think this is a wonderful course I just think some of the pins could be placed better.
2)There is very little water on this course and only if you have a real bad throw dose it come into play.
3)There are some places where there is the chance of getting hit by a disk. 17 & a big down hill hyzer I think 9 or 10 are the two most dangerous.
4)This course can get busy and if there are leagues you might as well go some place else. It is great that the course is so well received but I think their needs to be another top tear course near by to relive some of the pressure.
5)This is not a con for me but may be for some pay to play.
6)This is not a con for me but there are lots of good players and it can get a little bit intimidating sometimes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    8/19/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: mauimark
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mixture of challenging tees and distance tees. Very well maintained and nice landscaping. Great views of the lake and fairly close to the city. Some good elevation changes also make this a challenging course.
Cons: There are a couple holes that I consider "disc eaters". but then again that's the challenge. Almost always crowded with waits at multiple tees.
Other Thoughts: I play Bryant at least once to twice a month, it is definitely one of my favorites.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very well maintained above average course

1    8/1/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very well maintained
-Good balance
-Varied hole distances
-Multiple tees/baskets
Cons: -A bit short of parking
-a safety concern with #17
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a large regional park in Eden Prairie, easily accessible from the interstate. The beginning of the course is just inside the entrance but some signage pointing the way from the parking lot would be helpful for first-timers. The course is pay-to-play, which is a good thing when you look at all the maintenance that is being done to keep the course tidy and looking good. There seems to be a frequent mowing schedule as the course was neatly cropped in the fairways and the rough was not too terribly tall. Lots of retaining wall and steps to prevent erosion and improves the overall look of the course.

Most of the holes have two tees and two permanent baskets, providing a fair challenge for a wide range of abilities. While the look of the course is spectacular, the actual play of the course is somewhat less so. Could use some more multi-shot holes.

#17, while the most interesting hole to play, does have a safety issue in the form of the parking lot located just to the right of the landing zone at the bottom of the valley. The most desirable route to the basket actually has you throwing over the parking lot and that can be a problem if you turn it right or leave it short.

In all, it's a good round of golf that I certainly don't mind paying to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 long long throw

1    4/17/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: chad-o
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: awesome grounds, and great course layout. All tee pads are landscaped and makes you feel like a pro each time you tee off. The holes are mix of mid to harder diffaculty. And the view from hole 17 is awesome, Way up on a cliff and 540ft away from the basket shooting of a road and a parking lot towards a lush green lawn is always fun.
Cons: busy but managable, cost three dollars a round but it didn't look like they were enforcing the pay every round thing.
Other Thoughts: one of the best courses in minnesota .

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.